check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Secluded New Log Home With Luxury Amenities, WiFi, Flat-Panel TVs, Huge Hot Tub

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
lodge
Sleeps
18
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
4
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

New Log Home Set In The Woods. 5 Bed/4 Bath Sleeps 18, With Large Common Areas

The Summit Lodge is a locally-crafted, luxury cedar log home set in the heart of the Hocking Hills, just 5-10 minutes from leading attractions. The Summit Lodge is located off a secluded township road, on a wooded hillside lot. Aside from our smaller Frontier Cabin a few hundred yards away, there are no other rental properties nearby.

We welcome family gatherings, corporate and group retreats, and mature groups of friends seeking quiet enjoyment of the beauty the Hocking Hills offers. If you are looking for a place to party, save yourself the trouble and look elsewhere. Excessive noise and loud music will not be tolerated.

The Summit Lodge features our favorite luxury amenities, including:

- Free high-speed WiFi and phone with long distance

- Large hot tub

- State-of-the-art entertainment, including flat-panel TVs with satellite

- Upscale kitchen with full-size appliances, with high-end grill on the patio

- Gas fireplace

- Lots of thoughtful extras to make your stay more enjoyable

The Summit Lodge is our newest offering, completed in 2014. It is a custom-built cedar log home, with a spacious 4000 square foot of living space on 3 floors. It features 6 bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms and several large common areas. It is a great location for large gatherings.

Please be certain to read the Information and policies section at the bottom of this description.

----------------------------------------------------

Layout of the Summit Lodge:

----------------------------------------------------

Luxurious main level

- Gourmet kitchen with full-size appliances, granite counter tops, including a huge island. Lots of space to prep food and socialize.

- Dining room features large custom-built table with a one-of-a-kind tree stump base. Seats 12 people comfortably.

- Hallway near kitchen features bench with storage underneath, and lots of hooks. Great area to keep your shoes and coats out of the way.

- Great room has vaulted ceiling with impressive log gables above, gas fireplace with stone chimney, massive leather sectional that seats 10+, and a flat-panel TV with HD satellite and Blu-Ray. The windows provide a stunning view of the woods in front of the lodge. You won't want to leave this room!

- Bedroom/Bathroom 1: luxurious master suite with king bed, sitting area, dresser and night stands, and closet. French door provides great view and access to the front deck with sitting area right outside. Attached bathroom has gorgeous granite counter top, and custom tile walk-in shower.

- Bedroom/Bathroom 2: Queen bed with chest and night stand. Attached full bath.

- Bedroom 3: Queen bed with dresser and night stand. French door provides great view and access to the front deck with sitting area right outside.

- Bathroom 3: Spacious full bathroom, located in the hallway near the kitchen.

Full walkout lower level

- Huge rec room: Home theater with 60' flat panel with HD satellite and Blu-Ray, and massive leather sectional couch that seats 10+. Foosball table, air hockey table, and game table. Wet bar with sink, and a SECOND full-size fridge with water and ice.

- Bedroom 1: One-of-a-kind bunk room with custom-built log triple bunk beds. Kids love this room, and it works for adults, too.

- Bedroom 2: King bed, dresser, and night stand.

- Bedroom 3: 2 double-size futons with comfortable mattresses, so this room can sleep up to four comfortably. Has flat-panel TV with DVD.

- Bathroom 1: Centrally-located full bathroom with lots of hanging, cabinet, and counter space.

- Laundry room: guest accessible, features 2 full-size washers and dryers. Great for long stays!

Loft escape

- Two unique leather chase chairs, can be used for relaxing and sleeping.

- Flat panel TV with HD satellite and DVD.

Outdoor living

- 1200+ square feet of deck to enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

- Front deck: Accessible from 4 locations, the front deck spans the entire house and features gorgeous locally-built red cedar swings and gilders.

- Rear deck: Accessible from the dining room, the back deck has the largest hot tub we could purchase, an 8'x10' monster that seats 9. The high-end propane grill is also located here.

- Ground level: Outside the lower level we have a grassy area for games, and a fire pit with plenty of seating. There is also plenty of nice flat parking out here for all your family and friends.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Important booking information and policies:

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A weekend stay requires 2 nights at the weekend rate. A weekend stay is any stay that includes either a Friday or Saturday night. Holiday stays require 3 nights at the peak weekend rate if falling adjacent to a weekend, and 2 nights at the peak weekend rate if not adjacent to a weekend. Holidays include Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's. Pricing displayed may not be correct and is subject to review before acceptance. Please send us an inquiry for a firm quote.

A $100 fee applies to any cancellation. Cancellations made from 30 to 60 days prior to arrival result in a cancellation charge of 50% of the total booking. Cancellations made 30 days or less from arrival receive no refund. If the days in question are booked by another guest, we would refund you up to the amount recovered from the successive booking, less the $100 cancellation fee.

The base rate for The Summit Lodge is for 8 guests. Additional adults or children over age 7 are $25/person/night. Maximum occupancy is 18 guests, though exceptions can be made to this; contact us for details. The name of all guests is required on our rental agreement. You may update your guest count prior to check in, but please make sure it is accurate. The guest count will be verified by staff at check-in time.

At the time of booking, we charge a $300 refundable security deposit. This deposit is automatically refunded 7 days after your stay, provided that all check-out instructions are followed and there is no damage to the property. We ask that you inspect the premises and report any damages right away so that you will not be charged for them by mistake.

Unless special arrangements are made, all guests who are on the property at any time must be paid for and appear on the rental agreement. Visitors are not permitted during your stay. In certain circumstances, we may be willing to accommodate visitors or special events. Please send us an inquiry with details.

Due to the rustic hilltop location, the Summit Lodge has a steep driveway. It is paved and can be traveled by all vehicles in most weather, but 4-wheel drive is recommended in times of possible inclement weather. During winter weather, we do our best to keep the driveway cleared of snow and ice. However, in severe conditions, it may be necessary to make the short walk up the hill.

The minimum age to rent The Summit Lodge is 25. A copy of current state-issued id is required. The renter must be present for the entire booking and is responsible for all additional parties.

Smoking is strictly prohibited inside The Summit Lodge. Smoking outside in designated areas is permitted. Please dispose of all smoking items properly.

Pets or other animals are not permitted anywhere on the property, inside or outside, at any time during your stay.

Hunting, fishing, operation of ATVs, and the discharging of firearms are strictly prohibited on our property.

More Details

Owner
Cut Above Cabins
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 22, 2017

About Cut Above Cabins

Cut Above Cabins is owned and operated by two couples, all native Ohioians. We attended OSU (Go Bucks!) and OU (Go Bobcats!). Both families are frequent travelers and have young children, and we pay careful attention to the details that are appreciated by like-minded folks.

Cut Above Cabins purchased this lodge in 2007

Why Cut Above Cabins chose Ohio

We, like you, want and expect more out of a Hocking Hills vacation. We’re long-time visitors to the region, with an avid love of the region’s rugged, unspoiled beauty.

We enjoy relaxation and luxury too - who doesn’t? - but in the past couldn’t find just the right place for our vacations. The places were either too far removed, too cramped for groups of friends, or lacking in some of the basic upscale amenities we desired.

We decided, what better way to create and share the perfect experience than to build it ourselves? In 2007, we started Cut Above Cabins and built The Frontier Cabin (originally called The Shenandoah) with the sole purpose of creating the ideal luxury getaway, close to the region’s many attractions but still within pristine wilderness. In 2013, we extended on this tradition by building our second cabin, The Summit Lodge.

We hope that you will come visit us, so that you too can fall in love with the rustic splendor of the Hocking Hills!

What makes this lodge unique

We are self-managed and very responsive, and strive to provide a smooth experience for your stay. When you call or email us, you will correspond with the owner directly, not a property manager. We thankfully have a great on-site crew which can provide assistance with any issues that may arise.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

Secluded New Log Home With Luxury Amenities, WiFi, Flat-Panel TVs, Huge Hot Tub
average rating of 4.857143 based on 28 reviews
5

The cabin was great. The owners made it very cozy.

  • 5 of 5

This was a great cabin with plenty of room for all of our family. The kitchen was well supplied as well as accommodations for small children such as a high chair, pack and play and baby gates. The house is designed so people can spread out and be in different areas or just gather together in one space. I would recommend this cabin to others.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, well-equipped cabin!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time at this cabin and would recommend to everyone! The owners were great and welcomed us with gifts and wine to start our weekend off great. They were more than accommodating with all of our last minute questions and gave us a tour of the property when we checked in. We loved the floor plan and the large couches and tables. Plenty of room for a large group! The fire place made the space cozy and the hot tub was a perfect place to relax. This is a great place! Very close to many hikes/trails! You wouldn't go wrong renting this place! Thanks again for a wonderful time.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous cabin that we made lifelong memories in!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our Mother-Daughter Weekend. Twelve women stayed and there was plenty of room & enough bathrooms to accommodate us all. The fire pit and hot tub were wonderful amenities that we really enjoyed. The kitchen table was plenty big enough to play games and enjoy many laughs. We were also impressed by the size of the couches on both floors. This cabin was clean and well-maintained. Our only concern was that a couple of the chairs & bar stools were broken but that is such an easy fix. We definitely recommend this property to our friends and relatives. We hope to stay again in the future.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

"Rustic elegance" as described in the listing!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful lodge and wonderful time!! Four adult siblings

(65 and older!) and their spouses just spent 3 days in the lodge. We were visiting from North Carolina, Michigan, and Ohio. We loved our time together at the lodge. It was a great place for our sibling reunion providing lots of areas to gather inside and out. We enjoyed the family room, the deck and outdoor space, and the huge kitchen table! The kitchen was well stocked with appliances and dishes. The water was great! There was no need for our bottled water!! The inside is comfortable and relaxing. The beds were very comfortable!! Everything was clean and nicely decorated. Providing a list of tv channels and tv operational directions and labeling the light switches would be helpful additions.

The setting is rustic and secluded but upscale and elegant! The lodge is especially beautiful at night! It's closeness to all the Hocking Hills attractions, restuarants, and shopping was a plus.

The website was the most descriptive and easiest to use online. The owners were very helpful and gave some of us the opportunity to preview the cabin when we were in the area prior to renting! We really appreciated that.

We had a great experience at the lodge and would highly recommend this property to family and friends. We are looking forward to returning in the future!

The Hagan, Ameen and Muempfer families

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect spot for comfortable family gathering

  • 5 of 5

The website was a good indication that the cabin would meet our needs. We were all very happy that it exceeded our expectations completely. The cabin was very clean and the space generous and well furnished. Internet access was fine and the hot tub was relaxing. The kitchen had every utensil we needed, even a pastry brush. All enjoyed walking the trails in Hocking Hills Park which is a very short drive from the cabin. We hope to gather here again sometime soon.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Over priced cabin.

  • 3 of 5

Dirty and over priced. Much better values available in closer locations to attractions.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Since we strive to provide the best experience for our guests, we appreciate any and all feedback from our guests, even when it's less than stellar. We had no contact from this guest during his stay, and our attempts to reach out for more feedback have failed, so we have only this two-sentence review to work with. We have a dedicated crew of employees (not contractors or a cleaning service) that work very hard to clean and prepare the lodge for guests. We have a crew member greet guests at check-in, which is a perfect time to address any issues. As evidenced by our other reviews, they ordinarily do a great job. It's possible that they missed the mark this time, and we will work to improve on any issues that may arise. With regard to location, the Hocking Hills State Park itself is nearly 2400 acres, and the surrounding area that contains popular attractions is much larger. We are among the closest properties to the very popular Old Man's Cave and Cedar Falls hiking areas, and have a variety of other attractions within a short drive. Finally with regard to price, our continued research shows that we are priced very competitively for comparable properties, and this is reflected by our occupancy. We are sorry that this guest didn't feel we were a good fit, and hope he has a better experience next time he visits the Hocking Hills area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Port Columbus International Airport
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
US 33
Nearest Restaurant
15 Miles
Millstone BBQ
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Lake Logan
Car: necessary

We offer the best of both worlds: a secluded location, while being close by all the major attractions. Located just five minutes from Old Man's Cave in the heart of the Hocking Hills State Park. Enjoy hiking here and at numerous other areas in the park, including Cedar Falls, Conkle's Hollow, Ash Cave, Rock House. Dining, restaurants, shopping, and many other activities are with a 15-20 minute drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Logan Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off Peak 2017
Jan 3 2017 - Mar 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$249
From
$499
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak 2017
Mar 17 2017 - Jan 1 2018
2 night minimum stay
$449
From
$749
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Off Peak 2018
Jan 2 2018 - Mar 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$249
From
$499
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak 2018
Mar 16 2018 - Jan 2 2019
2 night minimum stay
$449
From
$749
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$749
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 13.0%

A weekend stay requires 2 nights at the weekend rate. A weekend stay is any stay that includes either a Friday or Saturday night.

Holiday stays require 3 nights at the peak weekend rate if falling adjacent to a weekend, and 2 nights at the peak weekend rate if not adjacent to a weekend.

Pricing displayed may not be correct and subject to review. Please send us an inquiry for a firm quote.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Logan Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 18 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Lower level bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Central bath has lots of hanging, cabinet, counter space
    Main level bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Spacious full bathroom, located in near the kitchen
    Master suite bath - toilet , shower , Luxurious master bath, granite counter, custom tile shower
    Bedroom 1 bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Convenient bath located in main level bedroom
  • The Summit Lodge features four full bathrooms, conveniently located throughout. Two are attached to bedrooms on the main floor, and there is one located centrally on main and lower levels.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Master Suite - 1 king , Luxurious master suite with great view and attached bathroom
    Main level bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Queen bed, dresser, nightstand. Great view and deck access.
    Main level bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Queen bed with chest and night stand. Attached full bath.
    Lower level bedroom 1 - 1 king , King bed, dresser, and night stand. Close to bathroom.
    Lower level bunk room - 6 twin/ single , One-of-a-kind bunk room with custom log triple bunk beds.
    Lower level rec room - 2 sleep sofa /futon , 2 futons with nice mattresses, can sleep 4 comfortably.
  • The Summit Lodge features four private bedrooms with king or queen beds. In addition, in the lower level, there is a one-of-a-kind bunk room with custom-built log triple bunk beds. Kids love this room, and it works great for adults, too.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • forests
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties