check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Cathy Ingle

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Available Christmas, Luxury Custom Ranch, minutes from Town

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Crested Butte House Rental Photos and Description

Custom 4 Bed + Den Home, 4.5 Baths, Mountain Views, Streams Run Under, Ponds

Colvin Ranch House, a luxury custom estate home on 300 private acres 1 mile from Crested Butte! Total privacy with the convenience of town just a jaunt away. Tranquility and peacefulness at Colorado's finest. An exquisite custom home close to town with total privacy, wilderness access and fantastic views - Whetstone Mountain Ranch is totally unique. There are only 3 homes on this 300 acre ranch, with trails, ponds, and private access to the Slate River and world class fishing. CALL FOR DETAILS!

Colvin Ranch offers a 4 bedroom deluxe house with 4-1/2 baths. It is located 2 minutes from town. As you drive North into Crested Butte, the ranch is on the West side nestled underneath gorgeous aspen and pine covered mountains. There is excellent private fishing on the property - the Slate River, as well as several large ponds.

The home has an extremely private master suite with a king bed, clawfoot bathtub, large walk-in shower, and exercise room that takes up one whole wing of the house.

Two additional master suites are located downstairs. One has a king bed and large sitting area with couch. The other has a queen bed. The third downstairs bedroom has a queen bed with its own full bath across the hall. All downstairs bedrooms have large windows and exterior doors leading to a private covered patio and pond. Bedrooms are beautifully furnished, with new pillow-top mattresses and down comforters.

A large great room is perfect for entertaining, with massive gas fireplace and breathtaking views. A breakfast nook off the kitchen seats 6 and overlooks the pond in the front yard. You are surrounded by lakes, aspens, horses - it's part of Whetstone Ranch - acres and acres of land filled with vistas, lakes and horses. It is all yours. The biggest lake has a campfire area complete with picnic tables and barbecue pit.

Want some privacy to ski, fish, relax and have some space in the mountains? It doesn't get any better.

In winter, you can ski right out the front door. Summer is perfect for bikes, horseback riding, hiking, and fishing. It will take you 5 minutes to bike to town, 3 minutes to drive to golf.

The house is only a mile from downtown Crested Butte, with a public shuttle to the ski hill, restaurants and other amenities. Perfect for couples, families and small groups. The house and setting are truly one-of-a-kind.

Streams run thru the house - or rather, underneath it. The house is built on top of the streams, on bridges as it were.

For privacy, space and luxury, location, wilderness access and fishing, this home is absolutely unique in Crested Butte. The house is 3800 sq. ft.

Keywords: Ranch, views, private, secluded, water, light, family, fishing, biking, skiing, luxury, custom home, wilderness access

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Cathy Ingle (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Cathy Ingle

I am a custom home builder and developer.

Cathy Ingle purchased this house in 2005

Why Cathy Ingle chose Southwestern Colorado

I have been living in Crested Butte for over 35 years and enjoy sharing my love of the mountain lifestyle with others, and look forward to sharing my home with you.

What makes this house unique

I like having enough privacy not to need curtains. I like to take off on a hike right out my back door, ride dirt bikes or snowmobiles, and let my dog Louie swim in the ponds on the ranch.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We really liked the house, location and beauty. We had a great time, and I certainly loved the master set up! Skiing was great with three blue birds, restaurants were great. Really nice trip. Thanks!
Mar 2016
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)
Available Christmas, Luxury Custom Ranch, minutes from Town
average rating of 4.625 based on 10 reviews
5

Outstanding property; incredible views

  • 5 of 5

The property is as impressive as it appears from the website. All rooms have incredible views of greenbelt or mountains, and all have audible sounds of the creek flowing under the house.

We were there during a full moon, so the master bedroom was pretty bright for sleeping as there are no drapes.

Location, one mile from town is very convenient, but you still feel as though you are isolated when at the property because of how the home is situated.

Cathy, who managed the property was attentive and available.

Best local restaurant is Soupçon, which I highly recommend.

Would highly recommend this property.

.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Best House in Crested Butte!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed staying at this beautiful house with just minutes to the slopes! My husband and I, and our two grown adult kids had the best time staying here! The rooms were roomy and the beds very comfortable! The designer kitchen was very spacious with all the wonderful top quality Wolf appliances and three different eating areas ! My favorite was the stunning fireplace with all the smart systems ( surround sound, WIFI , music and smart Tvs) and much more. After skiing all day , we enjoyed the heated floors & steam shower! Spectacular views from every window ! Loved this place and will be back! And Cathy was very nice and wonderful to work with ! Thanks for a wonderful Christmas!! Love from Texas

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, we are so glad you enjoyed our home. Can't wait to have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dallas
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

The home was perfect for our two families and Bill was an excellent host. Great location immediately south of town. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Outstanding

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I, along with our grown children, their spouses and one grandchild loved every moment in this beautiful home. We thoroughly enjoyed the property and all it has to offer. The beds are heavenly, and the furnishings, WIFI, TV, music, and kitchen appliances and equipment are all high quality. Plenty of room for everyone to space out and enjoy the week without ever feeling crowded. We grilled out and enjoyed the multiple decks and seating areas. Showers are hot and we appreciated the nice touches of shampoo, soaps, makeup remover pads, etc. washer dryers worked perfectly after I figured out the controls. We would love to stay here again. Thank you for making our daughter's wedding week extra special for our entire family.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

First impression

  • 5 of 5

We arrived Monday and our family will be staying here until next Monday. There are 8 adults and an 11 year old. We will post again after our stay but had to share what an amazingly beautiful and well-appointed home this is. Aside from the setting being spectacular, the home itself is really beautiful. We are very impressed by the furnishings and comforts provided for us. We have cooked in the kitchen, grilled out on the deck, and done laundry. We love it.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Charles, Il
2

Disappointed...We would encourage you to look elsewhere

  • 2 of 5

Our family of 7 rented the "Lux" Colvin home for Spring Break 2014. We have 5 children and while we would say that the views were beautiful, the beds were comfortable and towels were plentiful, on the second day the dryer overheated and fried our daughters ski coat. (no reimbursement for that) We had ran it on regular heat as we do at home. The manager called a tech in and THE MANAGER CHARGED US FOR THE TECH VISIT!!! He informed me that I should start AIR drying all of our laundry and not using detergent. The washer leaked all over and that was "my fault" for using the detergent that was provided, the dryer upstairs didn't dry (glad we didn't mention that one for fear of more charges) and the tv did not work properly. Sound would go on and off along with the picture and we called the given number for assistance with A/V and they never phoned back and that issue was never addressed. The disposals overflowed, yes both of them along with water overflowing from the dishwashers. They are questionably plumbed under the sink. They plumbing system is open under the sink and not hooked up to the dishwasher. They backed up all over under the cabinet. We cleaned that one up for hours. Yuck! They blamed that one on us too. We "overloaded it." If you plan on using the disposal to clean up the spagetti dinner, be careful b/c it will back up and drain to the downstairs bedroom and they will blame you! We have the pictures of the plumbing, it is ridiculous. Our 5 year old knocked down the only coat rack that is in the front hall (no closet) trying to remove her coat and one of the tips of the arms broke off. This was a true accident and it was not used beyond normal wear and tear. It is a coat rack in front of the window (thank goodness it didn't go the other way) that is not tacked down, has 4 hooks and is supposed to house the coats for all! We explained to the property manager what happened and he was very understanding until time came to give us back our deposit. We were charged 70$ for the repair of the coat rack. There is no place for shoes either btw.

We had a great vacation in Crested Butte. This home ended up to be a real disappointment for our family. They took a chunk from the deposit for the listed things above. We have rented from VRBO numerous times and have had great experiences. This was not a great rental. We would recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Accidents happen. We charged these guests $150 against their $500 deposit, and did our best to be positive, friendly and polite, as we have done with all of our guests for many years now. These guests broke a wrought iron coat rack , and blame us for not bolting it to the stone floor. We have a large coat closet on the landing to the left of the front door and there is plenty of space in the entry for shoes. The repairman could find nothing wrong with our appliances and our plumbing is top notch. Overstuffing was his diagnosis - from the washing machine and dryer to the disposals. If you are considering a visit to Crested Butte, you have lots of options for lodging. Life is good here. Colvin House is unique - private, close to town, and very comfortable. We are totally booked every summer and we enjoy sharing our mountain lifestyle with like-minded people, especially families.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Actual House location
Nearest Point of Interest
Car: necessary

Over 900 acres of private land with access to premium trout fishing and to the trails on Whetstone Mountain behind the house.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Crested Butte House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Summer
Aug 8 2016 - Aug 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$900
 
 
Fall
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 9 2016
4 night minimum stay
$1,300
 
 
Winter Regular
Nov 18 2016 - Dec 16 2016
4 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
Winter Holidays
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
 
Winter Regular
Jan 3 2017 - Feb 15 2017
4 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
Presidents Winter Holiday
Feb 16 2017 - Feb 20 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
 
Winter Regular
Feb 21 2017 - Mar 9 2017
4 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
Spring Break
Mar 10 2017 - Mar 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
 
Winter Regular
Mar 27 2017 - Apr 10 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Booking Fee 3% $175
Pet Fee $500
Cleaning Fee (per week) $350
Tax Rate 8.9%

Pets and events are not allowed unless special arrangements are made in advance. All Bookings subject to 4% Booking Fee. Rates are subject to change at any time until reservation has been completed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Crested Butte House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4179 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4.25
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (2) 1 king bed in upstairs master, 1 king bed in downstairs master, Queen size Beds (3) 3 queen beds downstairs, Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) 2 airbeds with linens for extra guests
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Private access to over 900 acres - hiking, biking, 4x4, fishing, and skiing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties