check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sherry & Joe Pino

Member since: 2001
Call Manager
Speaks: english

5 Bedroom Home Across street from Ocean

40 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Avon House Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, Sleeps 12

This large, ocean view home is located in the pristine Cape Hatteras Nat'l Seashore with its unspoiled beaches. The beautiful, non-crowded beach is directly across the street from this well-appointed 5 bedroom home. Minutes away is sightseeing, shopping, restaurants, outdoor activities, and charter boat fishing.

Friday to Friday rental. You won't miss sitting in hours of traffic on Saturday. Start and end your vacation with a full weekend.

With ocean and sound views, VIRGINIA DARE has all the necessities for a great vacation. Many repeat guests love that they have everything they need to relax in our home. Yet many popular activities and sights are just a short ride away.

The first floor boasts a game room with a pool table where everyone can have hours of fun, bedroom with two sets of bunks, a half bath, bar & wine refrigerators and the entrance to the private heated (optional) pool and sun deck. Relax at the pool and listen to your favorite tunes from the superior sound system where volume is controlled on pool deck.

The second floor has three ocean-side bedrooms with sliding-glass doors to large east and south decks and bubbly six-person hot tub. The first bedroom has two twins, the second one a queen. The third bedroom is a master suite with a king and private bath. A second full bath and laundry room are located on this level along with a quiet area with desk for one who needs to keep in touch with business while away.

Dine in the third-level, ocean view, great room with tall ceilings, 42' flat screen TV, south and east decks, half bath, wet bar with second full size refrigerator with second icemaker, breakfast bar, chef-appointed kitchen, and seating for 16. Located off the comfortably and creatively furnished great room is a fifth, ocean view, master bedroom with a king, private bath and deck access.

Sun worshipers will love the miles of decks and loads of deck furniture. Enjoy music from the extensive sound system while swimming in the pool or relaxing in the hot tub.

Before or after the hectic pace of the summer, take advantage of the spring and fall months. The water temperatures are warm and rates are low. April and May and September and October are some the prettiest months on the Outer Banks with a slower pace.

We think you will agree, VIRGINIA DARE is the FIRST LADY OF THE COAST.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Sherry & Joe Pino (Property Manager)
Member since: 2001
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Sherry & Joe Pino

The Pino Family

We have been vacationing on the Outer Banks of NC for almost 30 years.

Joe visited the OBX as a teenager with a neighbor camping in Salvo. He loved it then and came back to fish throughout college.

We returned with our two young children in the mid 1980's first renting and then owning a small cottage on Ocracoke.

In 2000 we looked for additional rental property, selecting Avon for it's good beach and quiet neighborhood. The town of Avon has just enough business to meet our guests needs with Outlet Malls, area attractions and historical sites just a short drive away,

Our children are now adults and have never missed family vacations on the OBX even thru their college years.

With the addition of our first grandchild last year our tradition will continue thru the next generation.

Sherry & Joe Pino purchased this house in 2000

Why Sherry & Joe Pino chose Cape Hatteras

In 2012 we have gone Rent By Owner. You deal directly with us the owners, no realty whose reservationists have most likely never even seen the home.

We provide you with premier housekeeping complete with conceirge services.

Our home is well appointed. We use our home and have equipped with what families need to be able to cook, relax and have fun.

What makes this house unique

Virginia Dare with ocean views, sounds and smells from both our decks is like ocean front without the cost. A less than 2 minute leisurely walk puts you on the beach. Summed up by a guest's comment, they loved that they never had to leave for entertainment.

The addtion of permanently installed wooden gates on our outside decks as well as the stairwell on the upper level Great Room has proven to be very be very handy for corraling little ones and dogs. Reversed living provides fabulous views. But adds the challenge of keeping our little ones safe. Our interior gate eliiminates that worry.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Dear Pinos:



We had a great time at Cape Hatteras this week and your house was perfect. We have attached some photos of our kids Erin and Alex and dog Maizey having fun at your house. We will be back next June.



Scott, Michele, Alex and Erin

Louisville KY
Jun 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 40 traveler reviews

5 Bedroom Home Across street from Ocean
average rating of 4.875 based on 41 reviews
1

Great house, awful owners

  • 1 of 5

The actual house was great, but it was dirty when we got there. There was sand, dead bugs, and trash every where. And one of the chairs in the sitting area had a huge oil stain on it.

We called, and someone came to clean it, but she couldn't do a great job, because she was going to a wedding, so we had to finish cleaning it.

When we checked out we were charged for the oil stain, and a couple other things we didn't do to the house. The owner kept saying no one was in the house the week before, but obviously there was, and we had to pay for their fun.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We aren't sure when you stayed in our home. It wasn't the dates listed. Possibly you didn't stay in our home?? We were not contacted about the issues you're listing by a guest??
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Virginia
5

Fantastic home in fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

Loved our stay here- location is ideal (walking distance to grocery store, restaurants, and Avon pier). House was great- we had three young kids and the layout worked well for us. Heated pool was lovely and the owners were easy to work with!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Location, location, location.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at Virginia Dare. The location can't be beat. You get ocean views and super easy access to the beach without paying oceanfront prices. We were comfortable in the home and the Pino's were very accommadating. My favorite spot was the pool. When you're there you are saying "this is the life". Would not hesitate to return for another stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jennifer for taking the time to write a review. Joe and I are love hearing about how well our home works for our guests and their families. It's warms our hearts to know our home has added chapters to your families memory book!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Virginia Dare review

  • 5 of 5

The facilities were great. There were 5 in our party, but this house can easily accommodate a much larger number without crowding or skimping on the amenities. The house was spacious and very well equipped The kitchen utensils and electric appliances offered were a notch above from previous stays at other rentals.. The rental was well situated in a more isolated setting than other townships in the obx but close to food shopping, and the beach. Best of all the owners bent over backward in helping us arrange the vacation and very accommodative in allowing an extended stay due to my mistake in dates of departure. I recommend this rental without any reservations and would come here again if I make it back to the obx

  • Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Roy & Crew! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our home. It's always rewarding for us to hear how well our home worked for our guests! We try and keep our home to standards we look for when we travel. It's close proximity to the beach, major grocery, restaurants and other places of interest are why we bought in Avon. Glad we added a chapter in your family's memory book and we look forward to having you back on your next OBX vacation. Happy Memories! Sherry & Joe
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
United States
5

You Can't Go Wrong

  • 5 of 5

This house is crazy wicked. Joe and Sherry have put every possible amenity in it you can think of. The layout of the house is great and gives every one some space but also makes it easy to come together out on the decks. It is just a short walk to the beach and it feels secluded but it is close to restaurants, shopping and attractions as well. Sherry and Joe were great to work with. You can't go wrong with this house or these people.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sharon & Family, Thanks for a great review! Joe and I love reading our reviews and seeing how our home works so well for our guests. It is nice and roomy but with great spots to get away or have those one on one conversations. Nice big Food Lion is within walking distance and of course under 3 minute walk to the ocean. Enjoy your Memories! Joe & Sherry
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Roan Mountain, Tn.
5

Excellent family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Just returning from our family vacation at Virginia Dare! We had an awesome vacation here! The house was great! We really enjoyed the pool! Thank you so much for providing such a clean, accomodating house. We hope to return again!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ashley and Family, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments for us and our future guests. I will email our availability for June of 2016. Enjoy your memories. It warms our hearts that our home afforded you such a great, relaxing time. Warm Regards, Sherry & Joe
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
125 Miles
Norfolk, VA
Nearest Golf
40 Miles
Car: recommended

Kinnakeet Shores in quiet town of Avon on Hatteras Island. Shopping close by, Food Lion (large grocery store), plenty of Shops & Restaurants. Avon fishing pier just at end of road. Sound beaches minutes from house for windsurfing or swimming for young children, parking and restrooms.

Other Activities: boating, minature golf, shopping, kayaking, shelling, wildlife viewing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Avon House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Fall
Sep 2 2016 - Oct 6 2016
3 night minimum stay
$284
$1,420
 
 
Fall/Winter
Oct 7 2016 - Dec 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$244
$1,220
 
 
Early Spring
Mar 10 2017 - Apr 13 2017
3 night minimum stay
$244
$1,220
 
 
Easter
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$260
$1,300
 
 
Spring 1
Apr 21 2017 - May 11 2017
3 night minimum stay
$244
$1,220
 
 
Spring 2
May 12 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$265
$1,325
 
 
Summer 1
May 26 2017 - Jun 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$498
$2,490
 
 
Summer 2
Jun 2 2017 - Jun 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$718
$3,590
 
 
Summer 3
Jun 9 2017 - Jun 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,790
 
 
Peak
Jun 16 2017 - Aug 17 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,295
 
 
Summer 4
Aug 18 2017 - Aug 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,790
 
 
Summer 5
Aug 25 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,490
 
 
Early Fall
Sep 1 2017 - Oct 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$284
$1,420
 
 
Fall/Winter
Oct 6 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$258
$1,290
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $0
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.75%

Rates Range from $1095 to $4095
Pool Heat $500 April & Sept, Pet Fee $100, Bed Linens & Towels Included, Beds Made & Towels Hung Up, Personal Concierge Service, $500 Security Deposit Required
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
Dates available: March 13, 2015 thru January 02, 2015

3 and 4 Night stays available in Spring and Fall please contact us for rates

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Avon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Carport
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Upper Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Mid Level Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Upper Level Bath - toilet
    Game Room Level Bath - toilet
    Mid Level Hallway Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Mid level Hallway Bathroom has full size washer and dryer
  • All full size bathrooms have full size tubs with shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 4 twin/ single , 2 Bunk Beds
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master #1 with attached private bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Master #2 with attached private bathroom
  • Master Bedroom #1 is on upper level. Master Bedroom #2, bedroom #3 and #4 are on mid level. Bedroom #5 is on first level with Game Room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 16 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Other Activities:Ocean & Sound Kayaking, Wright Brothers Memorial, The Lost Colony, North Carolina State Aquarium, Jockey's Ridge State Park, Graveyard of Atlantic Museum, Cape Hatteras and Bodie Lighthouses, Fort Raleigh, Ocracoke Island, Gulf Stream and Surf Fishing, Four-Wheel Drive Beach Access, Health Center

Partner Offers