check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jeanne Paul

Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Romantic Steiner Log Cabin at Mt Hood, Oregon's playground for skiing & hiking

24 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Rhododendron Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-8)

Dancing Bear Log Cabin is a beautifully preserved example of the Steiner Log Cabins that are unique to the Mt Hood Area in Oregon and a highly valued piece of its history. Steiner is well known for having also worked on the construction of Timberline Lodge. This vintage, three bedroom, one bath cabin is located on historic Barlow Trail nestled next to Hackett Creek. Let the creek lull you to sleep as it babbles under your window-- backing to a canopy of old growth fir trees and whispy alders. Cross the creek on a wooden bridge to your own private picnic area where you can toast marshmellows by the outdoor firepit or play a friendly game of horseshoes at the horseshoe pit. The back deck overlooks Hackett Creek and the woods and there is a private creekside hot tub. The authenticity of this home has been carefully maintained, and the furnishings artfully capture the period in keeping with the spirit of the 1930's era. The master bedroom has a queen log bed with luxurious Pendleton Woolen Mills bedding, rustic light fixtures and furnishings. The guest bedroom offers a double bed. On the main level you'll find a third bedroom with a day bed/trundle and a second TV/VCR. Two futon sofas in the living room provide extra sleeping space. The massive stone fireplace provides warmth and a feel for what our beautiful Mt. Hood area must have been like back in the day. Romance, charm and a warm fire await you at this lovely home. This is a great place to experience Mt Hood from an historical perspective. Sleeps up to 6 adults in beds, with living room futon for additional sleeping space.

Keywords: log, cabin, Mt Hood, ski, cozy, view, creekside, hot tub, historic, lakes, trails, biking, charming, fireplace, trees, private, Steiner

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Jeanne Paul (Property Manager)
Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Jeanne Paul

We live in the Portland area and have vacationed at the cabin for over 12 years with our sons…skiing, hiking and taking in all that the Mt Hood national forest has to offer. There is no better place to enjoy everything that Oregon has to offer.

Jeanne Paul purchased this cabin in 1999

Why Jeanne Paul chose Mount Hood

We've enjoyed Mt Hood for over 45 years--especially the year round skiing at Timberline Lodge where they have one of the nations only glaciers offering summer skiing (and they host the US Ski Team). My parents honeymooned at Timberline Lodge in the 1950's.

In the summer months we boat and swim in one of the many mountain lakes (our favorite is Trillium Lake) and we frequent the miles and miles of hiking trails--a family favorite being the Mirror Lake Hike. Pack a lunch and eat along the lake or continue up to Tom, Dick and Harry ridge for amazing views of the cascade range. The kids enjoy the Wildwood Park Trail with interactive displays beaver dam and underwater view of the river.

Our cabin feels like it's remote, but it's only an hour from Portland, 10 minutes from charming Sandy Oregon, and 20 minutes to some of the best skiing Oregon has to offer.

What makes this cabin unique

After a good hike we love to relax on our deck by the babbling Hacket creek, fire up the barbeque and then enjoy a game of horseshoes on the deck. Our ritual includes at least one dinner at Burro Loco for a little Mexican food, and a breakfast at the Barlow Trail Inn. For special occasions we treat ourselves to a meal at Rondezvous --they never disappoint. Or if we're up at Timberline lodge for a historic tour and hike we make it a point to enjoy the world-class brunch (YUM).

Guestbook comments from the manager

loved the craftsman expertise, the Steiner history book , all the perfect TLC touches. Adored the deck, bridge and creeks beyond. The fact that the owners share this is a gift to us".
May 2012
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.8
based on 24 traveler reviews

Romantic Steiner Log Cabin at Mt Hood, Oregon's playground for skiing & hiking
average rating of 4.75 based on 26 reviews
5

Absolutely Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin is like a fairytale come true. We felt like we had found the proverbial "Three Bears" cabin. The setting is in old growth fir trees with a creek running behind. At night, with the bedroom windows open, you can hear the sounds of the forest along with the rippling sounds of the creek. The decor is charming, with it's Pendleton blankets, log interior and bear motiff. Throw pillows abound to make it even cozier. The craftsmanship is a must see! It was large enough for six of us and the kitchen was well-appointed with darling dishes, cookware and two refrigerators. Our family spent a lot of time on the attached deck, eating, lounging and playing games. We also enjoyed the hot tub. Even though Barlow Road runs in front of it, we still had the feeling of privacy and of being immersed in the forest. Our experience was in the summer but I can only imagine how beautiful it must be in the winter with the snow falling! Lovely place-can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. You captured the essence of what we've worked to create at Dancing Bear. The winters are indeed enchanting and the ski slopes are just up the hill :) Keep it in mind for a winter escape.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful log cabin

  • 5 of 5

If you want to experience a Steiner cabin that still has its original charm, this is it. It was my second stay and I enjoyed it as much this time as I did the first. My 8-yr-old nieces were thrilled with the "bear bedroom", as well as the rest of the cabin and thought that it was like something from a fairy tale. The kitchen is very well-equipped and the dining nook has two walls of windows which look out over the creek and into the woods. A beautiful, cozy, historic place to stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vancouver, Washington, USA
3

Nice, historic cabin in an (almost) perfect location

  • 3 of 5

The cabin is historic, and it has been lovingly been taken care of. I would recommend this house to anyone who has an interest in historic structures. It's a cozy place and is very nicely furnished and decorated (especially if you like bears). Jeannie, the owner, was great about communication and making sure everything was well cared for and we were taken care of. The location is very good, but it is not perfect. The front door of the cabin is exactly 50 feet from the Barlow Trail road, so expect some traffic noise. The road is not super busy, but when it is otherwise very quiet a car (or logging truck) traveling 35 mph can be heard coming and going for quite a while. The creek is nice, the vegetation is nice, if it wasn't for that road... Location aside, there are a couple of other things I'd consider before staying here. First, it's not really a three bedroom house as advertised. The "third room" does not have a door, and it is just off the living room. Also, the trundle bed in this room is very squeaky (springs) and the mattresses "crinkle" a lot due to the material on the outside of the mattress. It's loud to sleep on. Second, anyone sleeping downstairs is going to get a lot of noise from people moving about upstairs. There are lots of creaks and squeaks from the second floor's floor that could disrupt anyone sleeping below. This is, however, to be expected from the old house, especially since the first floor's ceiling is also the second floor's floor--- There isn't anything to offer as sound insulation. Otherwise, a few things could be replaced (the picnic table on the back deck had a rotten leg and wasn't stable, the BBQ was ancient and was pretty basic/cheap when it was new and it could easily be replaced [though it DID work!], the DVD player in the living rooms is a BLUE RAY machine and there are no discs to play on it, and the only movies on hand are VCR tapes that play on a 12" tube TV in the third room). I think this place would be great as long as you only plan on using the two upstairs bedrooms.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

When we arrived we were amazed at the look of this historic cabin.

  • 5 of 5

This nostalgic Stiener cabin is such a treasure to be able to rent. The owners keep it very clean and had ample firewood ready for the Mtn. evenings. They had their hot tub maintenance person stop in shortly after our arrival and answer any questions on the hot tub and offer all kinds of differing activities for our family. The owner responded quickly to requests and was very accommodating. My uncle built 30 cabins in the area in the 1960's and it was a trip back in time to visit Rhododendron again. We will return for another long weekend. Thank you for sharing your families treasure with us.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, OR
4

Simple, quaint, warm and inviting.

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful cozy log cabin. I felt I was back in simpler times. Played games with the family, watched movies, good meals and conversation. Would definitely go back.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great authentic gorgeous log cabin!

  • 5 of 5

It was so great to stay in a real log cabin. The family room is cozy, warm and inviting. The patio out back opens right onto the river with a gorgeous forest view. The house is really well kept up and has so many great details like the wood branch door knob in the kitchen, the pendleton interior and the cozy breakfast nook.

Thank you so much for having us!

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Rendezvous Grill
"Excellent food for the area. They offer a nice happy hour nightly with reduced rates on food..."
El Burro Loco
"If ya like a good Mexican meal in a casual environment this is your go-to on the mountain. I..."
Hoodland Thriftway
"This is the largest nearby grocery. Not a huge selection, but certainly good enough to get y..."
Wildwood
"Great hiking and an especially experiential hike for youngsters. Can easily be hiked within ..."
Timberline Lodge
"This national monument is well worth the trip to the great NW and should not be missed. Buil..."
Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Portland International Airport (PDX)
Nearest Barpub
2.2 Miles
Brightwood Tavern
Nearest Golf
5.6 Miles
Resort at the Mountain
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
HWY 26
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Zig Zag Inn
Nearest Ski
15.6 Miles
Ski Bowl

Not only is America's playground at your doorstep with the Mt Hood Wilderness and ski resorts, and the Alpine slide, but you're also a 45 minutes to the Hood River gorge which offers world class Windsurfing. Enjoy year round skiing at Timberline where you can ski into the historical Timberline Lodge and enjoy a world-class meal with a three-peak view of the valley and Cascade Range. Or enjoy 18 holes at the Resort at the Mountain, and stop for a dinner experience at the Rondezvous Restaurant where you'll be tantalized by delicious concoctions. For more casual fare we like the Burro Loco for a margarita and Mexican food.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rhododendron Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$170
$900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100

rates are based on double occupancy and step up $20 per couple based on the number of people staying. Max recommended is 8 persons.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Rhododendron Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • located on the main level, includes claw foot tub and shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , trundle bed on main level
    Convertible bed - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Futon in the living room for added sleeping space
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) Twin Trundle Bed on the main level. In addition there is a full size futon in the living room
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
You'll forget that civilization is nearby in this lovely wooded setting by a babbling brook, but restaurants, skiing, hiking, boating, and an alpine slide are all within 4-15 miles of this cozy cabin.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties