Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

'Smile House' Only 3 Blocks to French Quarter! Sleeps 2-10. On Streetcar line.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-10)

Nicknamed 'The Smile House' due to its unique front of the house that gives the appearance of a smiling face.

*****This House Will Be Exclusively Yours With Your Own Private Courtyard.*****

If this house is not available on your requested dates please see our other listing:

Vrbo #577066

This 1500 square foot historic home is located in the heart of the Marigny Triangle, only 3 blocks from the French Quarter and Bourbon St. And only 1 block from the music filled Frenchman St.

Please see reviews which all state pictures do not do the house justice!

The kitchen has custom made cabinets with marble counter tops and a unique pot sink. The kitchen is fully stocked with all your culinary needs to keep you busy during your vacation whether you are just looking to make a quick breakfast or if you are serving dinner for eight! Small courtyard in rear of house.

Enter the home into a sitting greeting room with 2 recliners and a daybed. Day bed has 2 TWIN size mattresses. Sitting room opens into main living room with oversized couch, 2 recliners, electric fireplace insert, 32' flat screen TV w DVD, Ipod dock w CD player. Beyond living room is the amazing updated eat in kitchen w table seating for 8, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, coffee maker,etc.. Off kitchen is laundry room, 2nd bedroom and bath. The bath features a just updated walk in shower stall. 2nd bedroom has 2 FULL size beds with linens.

Also off the entry sitting room is the master suite. Suite has its own living room with oversized couch and love seat, apartment size refrigerator, 32' TV w DVD, Ipod dock w CD player. Living room opens to master bedroom. The Master bedroom features a large armoire, QUEEN sized Tempur-Pedic bed w linens, desk, Chaise Lounge, 37' flat screen TV w DVD. Off the master bedroom is master bath including: Whirlpool Bathtub, separate shower w jets for 2.

ON DEMAND water heater. This means you will never run out of hot water no mater how many people are taking showers!

House features 12 foot high ceilings, original wide planked wooden floors, tile floors in kitchen and baths, tons of natural lighting, exposed brick chimneys, and much more.

The home is great for families and groups of all lifestyles. The neighborhood is friendly and accommodating to all, host to many local bars and restaurants for all tastes and styles. The home is non-smoking, but smoking is permitted outside in courtyard.

Keywords: House Mardi Gras French Quarter

More Details

Owner
Jesse
Member since: 2011
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

About Jesse

I have searched for a second home in this neighborhood for several years. I feel that I have found the perfect location, central to everything you need, and the peacefulness of a safe residential neighborhood. I am extending my home to you when I am not there because it is too beautiful not to share.

Jesse purchased this house in 2011

Why Jesse chose Faubourg Marigny

1 block form Frenchman street which has the best music and food to be found in New Orleans.

3 blocks from French Quarter.

Tons of amazing restaurants and shops within the surrounding blocks.

Safe and friendly residential neighborhood.

What makes this house unique

Historic home with all the right updates while keeping all the important vintage features.

12 foot ceilings and floor plan make for a very cozy yet open home.

Amenities

Faubourg Marigny House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • ON DEMAND water heater. This means you will never run out of hot water no mater how many people are taking showers! Master bath has amazing whirlpool bathtub and stand alone oversized stone walk in shower. Second bath has claw foot tub with shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (1) In master bedroom. Tempurpedic. , Double Beds (2) 2 full sized beds in 2nd bedroom., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Daybed with 2 twin matresses. Can be pushed together or kept seperate.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(202 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
'Smile House' Only 3 Blocks to French Quarter! Sleeps 2-10. On Streetcar line.
average rating of 4.9158416 based on 202 reviews
5

Great house! Great location!

  • 5 of 5

Booked "The Smile House" for a bachelor party of 9 and could not be happier with our choice. House had more than enough space for everyone, tons of beds, and even the guys who slept on a couch were comfortable. This entire property is exceptional...kitchen is well appointed, big table/island area to gather around and a nice little patio setup. Bathrooms were large and hot water lasted forever. Can't forget the most important feature of the home...A/C! House stayed cool on hot days even with people going in and out frequently. Found some fans in the laundry room which were great as well.

Smile House location was awesome. If you've never been to NOLA you might question the area at first glance but no need to worry. We walked back and forth to Frenchmen and Bourbon all weekend (only about 15 min) and had no problems at all, even at 3-4am. Any closer to or on Bourbon would have been a hassle with all the traffic and nightly street closures. "The Ruby Slipper" is about 100ft from the house and had some incredible breakfast food! Small coffee shop a little further down, and 24hr Iggys bar that you can see from the porch. Walgreens was a 5 minute walk away and had all the beer/liquor and small grocery items you'll need. My only caution for your stay is that there's no full sized grocery store very close, and not much for late-night food in the area. So plan a stop on the way in to stock the fridge, or get your UberEats app warmed up.

If you're a sports fan and it's football season...The SuperDome is a must see! The entire downtown area came to life and the inside of that building was ridiculously impressive.

Lastly, Jesse was an exceptional owner. He was responsive to every question within the hour, and was more than accommodating with check-in and check-out times. If he can help you in any (reasonable) way, he definitely will. Can't wait to get back here!!

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great REVIEW. I could have directed ya to good late night eats, as well as a reasonably close grocery. Next time don't hesitate to ask. See ya'll next time!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house, great location

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautiful, and in such a great location. Jesse was incredibly helpful, and responsive even when we thought a hurricane was going to make a direct hit on NOLA (ended up missing us). Awesome experience, and would definitely recommend!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

VERY NICE HOUSE!!!

  • 4 of 5

The house was wayyyy nicer than I expected. The master was amazing! It can fit 8 people but 6 "comfortably" the house is so close to everything. The owner was amazing. We Couldn't have picked a better house! I would def book this house again!

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Comer back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Smile House Stay

  • 5 of 5

Sleeps 10 comfortably, easy walk to the French quarter and really affordable. I wouldn't have changed anything about our visit. Couldn't want much more from a lodging perspective. I recommend the Smile House.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Come back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful place!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the house, perfect for a large group to stay! Great location! Overall pleased!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Nice place, but non-functioning A/C made it a tough stay. Would not stay again.

  • 2 of 5

The interior of the house was really nice and well taken care of - as described. We went down as a bachelor party of 10 and did not struggle with only having 2 bathrooms, though your miles may vary depending on the group.

However, the biggest issue and flaw we had was lack of A/C while we were there. Our stay was 4 days in the middle of June, and we were without A/C for roughly 2 of those days. It was absolutely BRUTAL. 85+ degrees in the house made it unbelievably difficult to sleep, function, and have a good time. Upon our arrival (2pm Thursday), we tried to turn the A/C on, but were unsuccessful. We waited some time before reaching out to the owner to ensure that there was no way the A/C was working. Upon notifying the owner, we were told that he had reached out to his service tech, but it was probably too late in the day to have someone come out and fix the problem so we would have to wait until the morning. In the meantime, we were told to "go out and have a few drinks, and when we got back we wouldn't notice the heat anymore."

The service tech came the following morning (Friday), poked around for an hour or so, said our issue was fixed and went on his way. The A/C worked for less than 24 hours. Saturday afternoon we notified the owner once again that the A/C had stopped working, to which we were told that he had called another service tech that worked on the weekend about our issue, and that he was to come by the house between 5-6pm. However, it wasn't until after 7:30pm that anyone showed up. I was called at approximately 8pm by the technician to be told that he could not complete the work that evening, and would need to come back the following morning (Sunday) at 8am to take care of the A/C unit. Promptly at 8am, he showed up and worked for the following 4 hours to get our A/C up and running. Thankfully, he got the job done, and we had A/C for the remainder of our stay. Our check-out was Monday at 10am.

We were given a refund of 1/25th of our total spent for our inconvenience - hardly worth it for the time we spent there without proper A/C that we PAID for. I would never recommend this house to any group that was going to the area during a hot time of year. Yes, the location is convenient and the house is furnished nicely, but I would trade both of those things to get a proper night's sleep and to not have to stay around the house babysitting service techs to make sure our belongings weren't stolen.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sadly sometimes things are out of our control. As the guest stated, as soon as they contacted me I got on the phone to get a service guy there for the AC issue. Unfortunately as guest said it took about a day and a half for the issue to get fully resolved. I am sorry they felt short handed in this experience. I did everything I could including paying both holiday and weekend rates (Father's day weekend) to resolve the problem. Many owners would have waited until Monday to save money. This was an isolated situation of dissatisfaction which the rest of my 5 STAR reviews will show.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Cafe Du Monde
Bourbon Street
The French Quarter
Jackson Square
Audubon Zoo
Aquarium Of The Americas
Natchez Steamboat
Mardi Gras World
Saint Louis Cemetery #1
Magazine Street
Lafayette Cemetery
Spotted Cat Music Club
Preservation Hall
National World War II Museum
Tipitina's
New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum
Court of Two Sisters
Coop's Place
Riverwalk Marketplace
Pat Obrien's Piano Bar
Elizabeth's
Old U.S. Mint
Blue Nile
Oz
Snug Harbor Jazz Bistro
Frenchmen St
Port of Call
Emeril's New Orleans
French Quarter Festival
Louis Armstrong Park
Tulane University
French Market
D.B.A. New Orleans
La Peniche -- CLOSED
New Orleans Healing Center
Johnny's Po-Boys
Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop Bar
Frenchmen Art Market
BMC Jazz Club
Adolfo's
Angeli On Decatur
Mother's Restaurant
Nola Restaurant
Buffa's Bar & Restaurant
New Orleans Museum Of Art
Mercedes-Benz Superdome
New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival
House of Blues
Pat O'Brien's Bar
St. Louis Cathedral
Riverwalk
Commander's Palace
Central Grocery Company
Brennan's Restaurant
Hard Rock Cafe
Lafayette Square
St. Charles Streetcar
Metairie Cemetery
Felipe's Mexican Taqueria
Emeril's New Orleans
The American Bicycle Rental Company
Yo-Mama's Bar and Grill -- CLOSED
The Theatres at Canal Place
Mahalia Jackson Theater for the Performing Arts
Ye Olde Original Dungeon
Cajun Pride Swamp Tour
New Orleans City Park
Pat O'Brien's
Acme Oyster House
Audubon Park
Royal Street
Audubon Insectarium
Rock-N-Bowl
Dat Dog
Three Muses
Cafe Amelie
Cafe Negril - Taco Truck
Country Club
Mimi's in the Marigny
Fleurty Girl
Who Dat Coffee Cafe
Emeril's Delmonico
Banksy Mural: Umbrella Girl
Nearest Airport
15.37 Miles
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Iggy's at Marigny-Bywater
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
0.05 Miles
I-10
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Ruby Slipper at Marigny-Bywater
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Insurance $49
Cleaning Fee $99

CANCELLATIONS - A thirty (30) day notice is required for cancellation, and 60 days for festival bookings. Cancellations that are made more than thirty (30) days prior to the arrival date will incur a $149. Cancellations or changes that result in a shortened stay, that are made within 30 days of the arrival date, forfeit entire amount paid. Early departure does not warrant any refund of rent or deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.