About the property
- Apartment650 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay3 nights
Mississippi Duplex. Spacious AC Private 1 Bdrm 1 Bath Apt. Walk everywhere!
Great Space and Great Location! AC !! Your 2nd floor Private 1 bedroom 1 bath apartment is newly refinished, clean, comfortable and well-appointed. This apartment is in a charming 1909 Craftsman, and is located on the 2nd floor. You can walk to the Max Trimet Train and catch the train to downtown Portland.
The spacious bedroom features a comfortable queen size bed, wonderful sheets and pillows. The beautifully furnished living room features a queen size futon - perfect for relaxing and lounging around. Sleeps UP TO 4. The bath ( Access through the bedroom) includes a tub/shower. There are plenty of towels, wash cloths, shampoo and soap. WiFi and Flat Screen TV/ Cable.
You can request the place for 3- 4 people and we will provide additional sheets and towels for the living couch. The additional fee is $20.00 per person per night. Please let us know and we will be ready! We have quiet hours from 10 pm - 7am so respect the guests on the first floor.
Also to protect our floors we are a SHOE FREE home.
The kitchen is equipped - basic step up for preparing and enjoying meals. Microwave, Toaster, Coffee Maker dishes and pots and pans. HOWEVER, We say enjoy all the amazing restuarants and food carts in Portland. It's Foodie Heaven!
Relax on a super front porch.
Anything that you may need can be gathered easily from our local New Seasons (gourmet grocery) or Fred Meyers, big/full-service grocery/home store; either within a few minutes walk or a MAX ride away. There a dozens of food and restaurants and bars and coffee shops.
Why stay in a hotel when you can live like a local in a location close to Mississippi Historic Distrist?
Our property manager, my daughter, Stephani, lives a mile down the road feel free to ask her for help at anytime. Stephani can give you restuarant and sightseeing suggestions.
This apartment is well furnished, with everything you need to make your stay wonderful, giving you maximum comfort including AIR CONDITIOING. Large windows ensure the unit is well lit. There is private entrance with an keyless entry making it very easy to check in and guarantees you complete privacy.
You will get our personal recommendations for shopping, dining and activities.
This is our part time home, and we absolutely love it. We guarantee you will feel the same. Come and be part of our family as you sample all the Mississippi - Overlook Neighborhood and everything Portland has to offer!
Eisenhower Bagels is the closest coffee shop. 2 blocks away.
Overlook Diner - 1 block great diner with huge portions. Try the hash browns well done- yum!
MIHO Japanese small plates super Yummy 1 block right on Interstate.
Pause - 3 blocks greatest neighborhood late-night burger and only steps away.
The Hop & Vine- bottle shop)
Sweedeedee On Albina Avenue offers up the best breakfast and lunch place. Great homemade desserts as well.
Lucky Lab Brewery on Killingsworth has great board game meet ups.
The Alibi - Tiki torchs bring you straight back to 1970' Karaoke Amazing Neon Sign.
Walk or Bike on the over pass bridge ( 7 minutes walk ) to Mississippi where you will find more food carts, restaurants and interesting boutiques.
Equinox Great indoor and outdoor cafe wonderful food selections.
Mississippi Pizza Great pizza even a gluten free variety.
Por Que No? Mexican- Super funky worth the line.. it goes quickly.
Wolf and Bear - Great falafels. Food Truck on Mississippi.
POA Kid friendly with wonderful food!
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- May 6, 2018
Local Services & Businesses
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
GREAT APARTMENT in fun area!
Two of us fit perfectly in this apartment in the Mississippi district. It was very clean, the mattress was extremely comfortable, bathroom very clean, plenty of space to lounge in the living room, nice air conditioner and the kitchen was great. Easy access to freeway and walking distance to fun Mississippi street with food trucks and unique shops. Joelle was always available via text and answered right away. I would definitely recommend this place and stay here again. We LOVE Oregon!!
Clean, neat, close to restaurants and public transportation. Five star rating.
Thank you for taking the time to review my vacation property. I am so happy that you enjoyed all the wonderful eateries on Mississippi. I will have to try Lovely's 50/50 for Pizza and Ice Cream --- sounds super yummy!
Great Location and very responsive/helpful management.
We spent 4 nights in this very cute rental. We found Manager, Stephanie, to be very responsive to our queries.
The unit itself is an older building with windows that need some work and quite a steep stairwell to enter but overall well maintained with higher end linen and comfortable furniture.
Pro's: Plenty of street parking. Central Location with easy access to highways. Clean and well equipped kitchen.
Cons: AC is not central but rather a stand alone unit. No Cable TV but we were happy to use our Netflix account. The unit is upstairs with heightened awareness needed for possible guests downstairs - wasn't a problem for us but something to consider if you're traveling with children and/or don't want to be concerned about making a noise.
Overall, we had a great weekend despite visiting during "record high" temperatures. Our highlights were a day trip to the coast; visiting Multnomah Falls; ice cream from "Salt and Straw"; pizza from "Apizza Scholls".
Does not Meet Expectations - Not Recommend to a Friend
Let me begin by stating I was initially going to keep my negative comments to myself, as I had originally felt that I wouldn't recommend this place to a friend or plan a return visit, but that for the convenient location, others might find it reasonable for the price compared to a downtown Portland hotel.
However, my attitude changed when I received notification that the property manager had claimed for damage to a comforter. I find this absolutely preposterous considering that my husband and I take very great care of everything we own and do the same for others' property. We felt uncomfortable in the home due its lack of care and cleanliness. The kitchen had ants crawling across the counters, with ant poison in the cupboard being stored with dishes as well as out on the floor - something I could deal with for a weekend considering we weren't spending a great deal of time in the apartment and we washed dishes prior to use, but if I had brought children into the home I would not have found this acceptable. What if I hadn't noticed and found my 2 year old chewing on ant poison?? Unacceptable. Overall the kitchen and bathroom did not strike me as very clean, the home had a dingy smell that lingered in our clothing and suitcases when we arrived home. The linens provided were cheap and old (the shower towels were in about as good of condition as our car wash towels). There was no bathroom soap provided, and although the ad says there are toiletries, do not plan on this because there were only almost empty bottles of cheap shampoo and conditioner. also claims to have other items, such as a hairdryer and there was not one present. The furnishings were cheap / mis-matched and not very inviting or comfortable. There is barely any water pressure and this is even more minimized if the downstairs neighbors are there also using the water. At one point the sink was on full blast while my husband was attempting to shave and not a drop of water came out.
The location is great, very close to the Mississippi Ave shops, restaurants, and bars so that is about the only positive thing to say. The price is not unreasonable compared to other areas near downtown Portland but it is not great for what you get so recommend taking the time to look around.
PLEASE PLEASE READ
First of all thank you for taking the time to voice your disappointments while staying at my property.. I am confused by your review as you never contacted us to voice your issues while you were staying at the property. As the homeowner this is very upsetting.
You stated many issues in your review that it seems that you probably should have checked out immediately. We would certainly have refunded your entire stay. Reviews are important - BUT your comfort and satisfaction are more important.
Since we are not a big chain hotel, and we are on Homeaway. we treat our guests one at time and it is our intention to please.
I take all our guests reviews seriously and if there is a valid point we certainly take it into consideration we do it .
Also it confusing that your entire attitude changed because we filed a claim with the insurance company. Accidents happen and this is why we have our guests purchase insurance! I am so sorry about your experience and AGAIN .. for anyone reading this review if you have any problems contact us right away so that we can resolve your issues promptly,
I wish all the best in your travels.
Great location for very quick access to I-5. Perfect size for my girlfriend and I. The apartment was clean and comfortable. Nice quite neighborhood. I normally try not complain in my reviews but parking space is at a premium especially if you have a full size vehicle. I would recommend the place for people using public transit or even small car parking might be ok.
Great place. Clean, quiet and in a great location
My wife and I loved this place and will definitely stay here again
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
Please note our cancllation policy NO Refunds 30 days prior to arrival. A fee of $250.00 for any cancellation 30 days or more admin fee. Below are our rental contract and rules. RENTAL RULES AND REGULATIONS 1.CHECK-IN TIME IS AFTER 2 P.M. MST AND CHECK-OUT IS 10 A.M. NO Early Check-ins. 2. This is a NON SMOKING unit. 3. Pets are not permitted in rental units under any conditions 4. DAMAGE FEES- A specific damage/reservation deposit is not taken. However, tenants shall be responsible for damages unless the following conditions are met. a. No damage is done to unit or its contents, beyond normal wear and tear. b. No charges are incurred due to contraband, pets or collection of rents or services rendered during the stay. c. All debris, rubbish and discards are placed in trash, and soiled dishes are washed. d. All keys are left in the lockbox and unit is left locked. E. No linens are lost or damaged. f. NO Early check-in or late check-out. . 6. PAYMENT - An advance payment equal to 50% of the rental rate is required TO RESERVE THE PROPERTY THE REMAINDER IS DUE 60 days before arrival. The BALANCE OF RENT is due 60 DAYS ( SIXTY) before your arrival date. 5.. CANCELLATIONS - A 30 DAYS notice is required for cancellation. Cancellations that are made more than SIXTY (60) days prior to the arrival date will incur a $250.00 transaction fee. Cancellations or changes that result in a shortened stay, that are made within 90 days of the arrival date, forfeit the full advance payment and damage/reservation deposit. Cancellation or early departure does not warrant any refund of rent or deposit. 6. MONTHLY RESERVATION CANCELLATIONS - Monthly renters must cancel one hundred twenty (120) days prior to check-in. Monthly renters who make a change.