About the property
- House3600 sqft
- Half Baths1
- Minimum Stay2 nights
4 Bedroom 3 Bath Close to Beach and Nightlife
This remarkable, private, and comfortable 4 bedroom, 3 bath, home enjoys ocean breezes, and is in the perfect location for everything Costa Rica has to offer. (Sleeps up to 13)
This beautiful two-story home is gated and extremely safe, tastefully furnished, and makes you feel at home from the moment you enter. It features four bedrooms, three bathrooms and a large, well equipped kitchen, dining room and living room.
Beautiful hardwood sliding doors open to the private patio and pool. Just down the road is a great beach for surfing, and swimming. You can walk for miles on virgin beach with scenic jungles that come right to the edge of the beach.
This home is located in the best location for whatever experience you want from Costa Rica. Night life in Jaco, world famous Manual Antonio, waterfalls, rain forests and canopy tours are all just a short drive away. The home is just a nice walk or short bike ride away from one of the most beautiful and clean, cinnamon colored sand beaches in Costa Rica. This gorgeous beach features world-class surfing, side by side with romantic coves and tide pools which are safe for even small children to play in. This beach consists of miles and miles of untouched protected shore with plentiful wildlife.
The charming small town offers a variety of restaurants, and small well stocked supermarket. You find great atmosphere at the great local hangouts: The Barilito down at the beach and great food at Sin Rival, Tropezon and Los Almendros restaurants. Everything is within a 5 to 10 minute walk. There is frequent bus service to nearby towns of Jacó and Parrita, as well as the capital San Jose (airport) which is only 1 1/2 hours away.
Rental includes wireless internet access, cable TV, washer and dryer, private pool, outdoor BBQ area (No BBQ at this time), garden with fruit trees, garage, landscape and pool maintenance.
Bryan & Elisia Nielsen
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one hour
- Calendar last updated:
- May 19, 2018
Why Bryan & Elisia Nielsen chose Xihu Villas
We have traveled to Costa Rica many times and fell in love with the people and the country. We picked this area because it is close everything (Beach, Surfing, Nightlife, Shopping, Parks, Waterfalls, etc.) and is still very quiet and private. The house is a big roomy 2 story that will accommodate 2 families very easily.
What makes this House unique
This house is filled with gorgeous woodwork. Sleeps 13 has a beautiful private pool and observation deck. There is a separate TV / Computer room upstairs. Large TV in the Family Room and Smart TV’s in the master and upstairs TV room. More than enough room for everyone.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
This place is Awesome!!!!
Big roomy never felt crowded with a large group. The outside area and pool are great! The owners communicated well and gave suggestions for restaurants and tours. Esterillos Oeste is a cool little laid back Beach town. We will be coming back to Casa Nielsen!!!!
Thanks for taking care of our home. Please come visit again.
Bryan & Elisia
Wonderful home, wonderful setting!
Casa Nielsen was a wonderful setting for a week-long vacation with our two daughters and their young families. The house is amazing, large with every possible comfort and a lovely pool--all at a very reasonable price. We enjoyed Esterillos Oeste with its beach-front, small-town, untouristy nature, its friendly and helpful people and its proximity to wonderful ocean beaches, nature and the national parks. We all highly recommend.
This was the perfect spot for our family vacation. Close to all the activities that the kids wanted to do but then we would return to pretty much our own private beach. The house was big enough for several families to stay but it was also great for just the 4 of us. Both my teenagers could escape and have their own space. We spent a lot of time in the pool. The owner answered all my questions prior to arrival and the property managers were awesome. We had a list of activities we wanted to do and they set everything up for us. All in all, we would definitely stay here again. Thank you !
Pretty house, but had some issues.
The house was nice, but the oven didn't work and we were not able to use the grill as they had the wrong propane bottle connection. We purchased 280.00 worth of food to grill and bake and we had to throw most of it out and drive to Jaco to eat. Also, the washing machine was broke and there is one outside that we had to use...really weird! The property managers really need to clean the pool more often. It is a rectangular pool and in the creases there was build up and it looked nasty. We really didn't even get in it. We rented the house because they touted the "outside cooking area and pool" but we didn't use either for these reasons. We really didn't care for the location either. It was our first time in Costa Rica so now we know better areas to stay. Esterillos Oestes is VERY dirty!! We will definitely rent near Playa Hermosa next time.
The neighbors were nice and helped us out more than the property managers!
We are very sorry your stay was less than satisfactory.
I wished you would have replied to my email on how things were and if everything met your expectations or contacted us when you had a problem.
My wife and I went to the house about 5 days after you left, she baked cinnamon rolls in the oven and it seemed to work fine. We have never had a complaint about the oven not working. The house is also equipped with a microwave / Convection oven which means the microwave could be used as a convection oven instead of a microwave. Also available was an induction cooktop and a large electric grill.
The country is in the middle of changing the connections for propane tanks, like we did in the USA a few years ago. The gas grill was brand new and unfortunately when they exchanged the tanks they picked the wrong fitting. If I would have been contacted I would have had one of the guys from the hardware store bring the proper conversion to you. There was a charcoal BBQ available….It does say in the property description that there is no gas BBQ at this time, I will need to update this as we have a new one.
Many Costa Rica homes don’t have laundry rooms and the washer is outside (weird by North America standards) and they use the clothesline to dry. Our home does have a laundry room but does not have room for a side by side washer / dryer this is why we choose the stackable. The washer broke (dryer still works) and we are waiting for parts. I bought a new washer so guests would not be inconvenienced while waiting for parts and located it outside as many do, because it would not fit in the laundry room (it’s about 5 feet away from the laundry room)
As for the pool when I was at the house in December it was not to my standard, when we returned in January it was still not and we changed pool companies. We are very sorry you did not like our little village, we have one of the few Blue Flag beaches in country……
Again, I wish I would have been notified and some of these things could have been corrected very quickly. We rely on feedback to ensure things are in order. Having a house 3500 miles away is sometime challenging but with good communication can resolve most any situation.
Thank you for visiting and safe travels in the future.
PS - The neighbors said they enjoyed your group
Bryan & Elisia
Love the house and also the house manager were really nice!
Good place to stay with the family.
Great house close to San Jose
We had a nice and relaxing time at the property. Kate who supported our arrival was very helpful and quick to respond to our needs. The house easily accommodates large groups of people and the pool is big enough.
The beach is very near by and the location is quiet and allows to easily see birds like Guacamayas and parrots.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
Rates are subject to change until booking is confirmed. $220 per night for less than one week rental House Rules CHECK-IN TIME is AFTER 2 P.M. AND CHECKOUT is 11 AM NO Early Check-in or late checkout. The property managers have several houses and schedule times for each client. Please be on time to avoid an unwanted wait. This Is A NON SMOKING Unit! If You Smoke Outside Please Pick Up And Dispose Of The Butts. Smoking inside will result in loss of deposit and additional cleaning fees. INCLUSIVE FEES – Rates include a one-time linen & towel setup. Amenity fees are included in the rental rate. NO DAILY HOUSEKEEPING SERVICE – While linens and bath towels are included in the unit, daily maid service is not included in the rental rate. However, it is available at an additional rate With Advanced Notice. We do not permit bath towels or linens to be taken from the units, but we provide extra beach towels for your use. There is a Washer / Dryer for guests use. RATE CHANGES – Rates subject to change without notice. FALSIFIED RESERVATIONS – Any reservation obtained under false pretense will be subject to forfeiture of advance payment, deposit and/or rental money, and the party will not be permitted to check in. Only the number of people on the reservation is allowed, failure to comply with this will result in evection and loss of rent. .