Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

Sweet Orange in the Heart of Historic St. Augustine!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,110 sq. ft.
Property type house
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning

Overview

About the property

**TeemingVR presents Sweet Orange in historic St Augustine, FL **

You will love Sweet Orange, this authentic 100+ year old St. Augustine Home that appears to have benefitted from healing waters of the Fountain of Youth. It is located on historic Orange Street just blocks to the Castillo de San Marcos and other historical monuments, downtown St Augustine and the Famous George Street where you will find plenty of dining, shopping and sightseeing tours! You can park your car in your own driveway, and walk or take the Sunshine Bus to supermarkets, tourist's attractions and the Beautiful St. Augustine Beaches.

The second you arrive you are greeted by the Classic Florida veranda style porch adorned with two white rocking chairs. As you enter the 1st level of this renovated home, you instantly feel the sunny sweet vibe of days gone by with a modern twist. The comfortable living room with hard wood floors is a mix of tasteful antiques, leather furniture and a TV with Cable, Wi-Fi and DVD. The large bright Kitchen is fully equipped and perfect for cooking southern inspired meals and dining on the family style kitchen table. From the Kitchen, out the back door, is the quiet, shaded, fenced in back yard with a stone patio making it the perfect place for morning coffee or cozy evening meals. Also on the 1st level is a convenient Master Suite with Queen sized bed, TV and Master Bathroom with a step-in shower. This area has also been renovated, but not to the point that it has lost its charm and comfort of its original era with Hardwood floors and charming old fashioned touches throughout.

Upstairs you will find a 2nd bedroom with queen sized bed and a bonus room that can act as a quiet upstairs TV/reading room or a 3rd bedroom with a twin daybed with trundle. The upstairs bathroom is easily accessible from both and has all the allure of an early 20th century spa with a step-in shower.

Once in St. Augustine you may never want to leave, as you will instantly be taken in by the Floridian lifestyle. You have plenty of nearby beaches to explore, the St. Augustine Pier is a great land based fishing opportunity and the Municipal Marina allows you to moor your boat! Nearby attractions include; The Alligator Farm, the Lightner Museum, Fort Matanzas National Monument, The St. Augustine Light house, Flagler College, Potters Wax Museum, Ghost tours and much more! Across the street from the home, are basketball and tennis courts. Head north on I-95 about 45 miles and you will find Jacksonville and the communities that make up "Jax Beaches". Head south on A1A and you will find, The Hammock, Palm Coast, Flagler Beach and Daytona.

Reserve your piece of Florida History Today. Book with Teeming Vacation Rentals.

More Details

Property Manager
Jeff & Gina - Send us a Message for the Special & Discounts
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2017

About Jeff & Gina - Send us a Message for the Special & Discounts

Hello, we are Jeff and Gina Paglialonga, owners of TeemingVR (Teeming Vacation Rentals). Our love for travel spans decades as does our romance (high school sweethearts, fellow UF graduates, married 30+ years with four children, traveled to 6 out of the 7 continents). Jeff also has owned an Allstate Insurance Agency since 1990, achieving the highest company award of Top in Country. We personally own 3 vacation rentals ourselves and manage over 225 properties, located in St Pete/Clearwater, St Augustine/Flagler and Panama City Beach. Pooling very different skill sets but very common passions, we make perfect partners. We are truly blessed, loving what we do and loving doing it together. We have built our home on faith, family, and fun; and strive to build this company on the same. We not only love to travel ourselves, but also love helping fellow travelers plan their ideal vacation. Email Us or Send A Message and someone from our helpful, friendly “teem” will help you book your dream vacation!

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had a great time in this house. The house was clean and had everything we needed including a keurig. We were in walking distance to old town St. Augustine and only a couple blocks from the hop on hop off trolley Only a ten minute drive to the beach. The house was wonderful. The only slight problem we had was that one of the upstairs bedrooms should have had a ceiling fan since it was a little warm.
Sep 2015
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Downtown Historic District House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2110 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • - toilet , shower
    - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Tennis ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Built 1900 2 Story Single Family Home 2110 s.f. NO Garage NO Pool

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Sweet Orange in the Heart of Historic St. Augustine!
average rating of 4.0 based on 9 reviews
1

Not what it seems

  • 1 of 5

Positive: Great Location! Well provided entertainment and recreational games/activities. Negative: 2nd floor AC went out even with 80 degree, overcast, rainy weather (called agent about issue and received no help; we ended up camping in the living room); Living room has poor air circulation (we had to buy a box fan -- and it was still better than the upstairs temp); Ants in the kitchen even after spraying; Not for 6 adults; Not for people over 5'5" for upstairs; You have to go through the 2nd bedroom to get to the 3rd bedroom; We ended up bringing our own towels just to ensure we don't get penalized because of the strict rules in the contract (but even then we are still worried they will find a reason to penalize us); No ice maker. Overall, we still had a great time in town but, it didn't seem to be a very hospitable rental deal.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This rental was a 3-day rental over Labor Day. Our local manager received a call on Sunday night that the air was not flowing properly upstairs. The guests were scheduled to leave the following morning with a check out time of our standard 10:00 am. Our manager responded immediately but was unable to secure an AC company on a Sunday night. We are very sorry that this happened and caused the guests discomfort, but these situations do sometimes occur. The guest was offered a late check out for the inconvenience. We do provide detailed instructions to our guests regarding our rental property guidelines so both guests and us as managers are on the same page. Most of our guests appreciate knowing what to look for upon arrival, check out procedures and who to call in case of issues or emergencies. As far as the lovely Sweet Orange home, the owners took great pride in updating this 100-year-old gem while maintaining its original charm. We apologize this was not a good fit for the guest, but appreciate the feedback. Jeff and Gina
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Clean, comfortable, quiet & great location!

  • 5 of 5

Loved it! Walking distance to everything for the downtown historic St. Augustine. Quiet, relaxing and clean. We would definitely stay here again! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We love to hear that one of our properties exceeded our guest’s expectations and appreciate you taking the time to submit your comments. Thanks so much! Jeff and Gina
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

DON'T BOOK - Rental Company Scam

  • 1 of 5

This is managed by a rental company, not a private owner. First off, the rate per night on HomeAway is different than when you proceed with the booking. This is in addition to the fees.

Owner's cancelled a week before our stay. We have paid in full for the rental via CC. We were told 'there was another reservation that just came up' and then immediately sold the 'other various units available'. None of which were in the area or in St. Augustine.

If the booking was placed, how did they take the credit card payment without knowing of the reservation?

Don't waste your time.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, this lovely St Augustine home is managed by Teeming Vacation Rentals. We currently represent over 200 properties in the areas of St Pete/Clearwater, St Augustine/Flagler and Panama City Beach. There was a mix up in this guest’s reservation and we could not have been more embarrassed or apologetic. This is the only time this has ever happened and we tried to the best of our ability to accommodate the guest with a comparable option. When it appeared we were unsuccessful in providing another vacation property for their liking, we of course provided a full refund. Again, we are terribly sorry for the mishap and can only use this opportunity to ensure it doesn’t happen again. As far as our rates are concerned, the following disclaimer is noted on the Homeaway site. ** Weekly rates shown include a discount. Nightly rates do not include a discount, therefore DO NOT calculate properly on this site! If not staying 7 nights the nightly rate is higher, thus the quote will be higher than advertised on ad sites. Rates change from week to week throughout the year and include discounts for different lengths of stay and arrival dates. For accurate quote please email us an inquiry. ** Rates do not include taxes, cleaning, etc. ** Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed by down payment ** We sincerely hope we have addressed this situation accordingly because future travelers do not want to miss out on this vacation gem! Jeff and Gina
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
5

Perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

The house was very clean and comfortable. Internet service was awesome, as well as tv service. My husband loved sitting on the front porch and watching the world pass by. Some traffic noise as it's a busy street but not unbearable. The location was perfect as we were able to walk to restaurants and attractions. We felt very safe. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you had a memorable vacation at Sweet Orange! Thank you for the review. Jeff and Gina
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We are 3 older women, school friends who meet several times a year in different places. This time we selected St. Augustine. The house was very clean and had everything we needed including a Keurig. There was some coffee there, but we brought our own also. Very close to old town St. Augustine and only a couple blocks to the trolley stop. We were able to walk easily. Only about a 10 minute drive to the beach. We loved it and would rent it again. The only problem we had was that one of the bedrooms upstairs was warm and could have used a ceiling fan. Other than that, all was perfect.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and especially for the 5 star rating! Your insightful comments are invaluable to future travelers and it is always nice to hear how much guests appreciate this wonderful, fully equipped vacation spot. Jeff and Gina
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Time at Sweet Orange

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely time visiting Sweet Orange. We stayed for our friends 30th birthday and could not have had a better time. This was the most accommodating VRBO I have ever stayed in. The pantry had cleaning supplies, extra toiletries and the kichen even came with a keurig with choice of coffee. The house was walking distance to anywhere we wanted to go downtown. Not to mention the home with so charming and comfortable. I would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We love to hear that one of our properties exceeded our guest’s expectations and appreciate you taking the time to submit your comments. Thank so much! Jeff and Gina
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Downtown Historic District House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
US Dollar
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Mar 25 2017 - Mar 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,809
 
 
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 7 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,860
 
 
Apr 8 2017 - Apr 14 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,910
 
 
Apr 15 2017 - Apr 21 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,683
 
 
Apr 22 2017 - Apr 28 2017
1 night minimum stay
$976
 
 
Apr 29 2017 - May 5 2017
1 night minimum stay
$929
 
 
May 6 2017 - May 12 2017
1 night minimum stay
$958
 
 
May 13 2017 - May 19 2017
1 night minimum stay
$994
 
 
May 20 2017 - May 26 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,182
 
 
May 27 2017 - Jun 2 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,344
 
 
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 9 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,311
 
 
Jun 10 2017 - Jun 16 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,335
 
 
Jun 17 2017 - Jun 23 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,359
 
 
Jun 24 2017 - Jun 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,383
 
 
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
1 night minimum stay
$2,079
 
 
Jul 8 2017 - Jul 14 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,444
 
 
Jul 15 2017 - Jul 21 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,422
 
 
Jul 22 2017 - Jul 28 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,415
 
 
Jul 29 2017 - Aug 4 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,303
 
 
Aug 5 2017 - Aug 11 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,287
 
 
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 18 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,128
 
 
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 25 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,025
 
 
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 1 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,131
 
 
Sep 2 2017 - Sep 8 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,477
 
 
Sep 9 2017 - Sep 15 2017
1 night minimum stay
$851
 
 
Sep 16 2017 - Sep 22 2017
1 night minimum stay
$888
 
 
Sep 23 2017 - Sep 29 2017
1 night minimum stay
$879
 
 
Sep 30 2017 - Oct 6 2017
1 night minimum stay
$869
 
 
Oct 7 2017 - Oct 13 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,038
 
 
Oct 14 2017 - Oct 20 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,122
 
 
Oct 21 2017 - Oct 27 2017
1 night minimum stay
$889
 
 
Oct 28 2017 - Nov 3 2017
1 night minimum stay
$924
 
 
Nov 4 2017 - Nov 10 2017
1 night minimum stay
$907
 
 
Nov 11 2017 - Nov 17 2017
1 night minimum stay
$898
 
 
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 24 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,582
 
 
Nov 25 2017 - Dec 1 2017
1 night minimum stay
$869
 
 
Dec 2 2017 - Dec 8 2017
1 night minimum stay
$876
 
 
Dec 9 2017 - Dec 15 2017
1 night minimum stay
$929
 
 
Dec 16 2017 - Dec 22 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,129
 
 
Dec 23 2017 - Dec 29 2017
1 night minimum stay
$1,272
 
 
Dec 30 2017 - Jan 5 2018
1 night minimum stay
$988
 
 
Jan 6 2018 - Jan 12 2018
1 night minimum stay
$1,011
 
 
Jan 13 2018 - Jan 19 2018
1 night minimum stay
$1,023
 
 
Jan 20 2018 - Jan 26 2018
1 night minimum stay
$1,053
 
 
Jan 27 2018 - Feb 2 2018
1 night minimum stay
$995
 
 
Feb 3 2018 - Feb 9 2018
1 night minimum stay
$1,159
 
 
Feb 10 2018 - Feb 16 2018
1 night minimum stay
$1,318
 
 
Feb 17 2018 - Feb 23 2018
1 night minimum stay
$1,439
 
 
Feb 24 2018 - Mar 2 2018
1 night minimum stay
$1,768
 
 
Mar 3 2018 - Mar 9 2018
1 night minimum stay
$1,656
 
 
Mar 10 2018 - Mar 16 2018
1 night minimum stay
$1,847
 
 
Mar 17 2018 - Mar 23 2018
1 night minimum stay
$1,773
 
 
Mar 24 2018 - Mar 30 2018
1 night minimum stay
$1,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning USD172

Notes

  • ** Weekly rates shown include a discount. Nightly rates do not include a discount, therefore DO NOT calculate properly on this site! If not staying 7 nights the nightly rate is higher, thus the quote will be higher than advertised on ad sites. Rates change from week to week throughout the year and include discounts for different lengths of stay and arrival dates. For accurate quote please email us an inquiry. ** Rates do not include taxes, cleaning, etc. ** Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed by down payment **
  • Damage deposit: $39.00
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers