Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Best Views in North Georgia, near Helen and Nacoochee!

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 3,600 sq. ft.
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bedroom huge mountain top cabin with Hot tub, Decks and Spectacular Views

The Southern Comfort Lodge accommodates the guests of the Southern Comfort in Helen, who spent 15 years detailing the best vacation rental features, built into this custom North Georgia Lodge. They requested proximity to Helen and Sautee Nacoochee attractions, vineyards and restaurants combined with huge spaces, exclusive views and privacy. The Chalet sits on top of Eagle Talon Mountain, with views from cathedral windows and three huge decks over four states. Modeled after a Montana Dude Ranch, the property provides Hot tub, fire pit, wood fire and upscale kitchen, great room and bar facilities.

Upstairs, two private loft king sized bedrooms with double picture windows have an external landing over the great room outside their private bedroom doors. Both rooms look over North Georgia and the North Carolina Mountains. Connecting upper loft deck and landing look out the rear cathedral windows into South Georgia and Carolina and the floor to ceiling wood burning fireplace below.

Main floor facilities include open area kitchen, dining area and great room opening to back decks and floor to ceiling windows. Dining area accommodates Holiday guest diners with huge table and island on the same countertop level, with high top seats and surrounding windows! The Master bedroom and bath sit on the main floor with views over Helen valley and into Tennessee. Master Bedroom views sunrises and sunsets with 180 degree views from the comfortable room.

Downstairs decks link to the Hottub, fire pit and private sunning grotto. Accommodates large families and friends with double full bunk beds and the 5th, private fireplace, bedroom. No need to hit the couches and floors at the Southern Comfort Lodge, there is room for everyone!

More Details

Owner
Keith Buck
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 13, 2017

About Keith Buck

We built the original 'Southern Comfort' in Helen in 2001, modeling it after our Rocky Mountain Ranch. With our 15 years of wonderful guests and 5 star ratings, we incorporated recommendations into the original Cabin overlooking the Helen Valley. This year, we finished the Southern Comfort Lodge, incorporating all our guest custom lodge recommendations built into a brand new property. We offer the 3 bedroom Southern Comfort Chalet and 5 bedroom Southern Comfort Lodge to accommodate the unique space requirements of our guests.

Keith Buck purchased this lodge in 2015

Why Keith Buck chose Helen

When we chose the original Southern Comfort location, we hiked the mountains around Helen to find the best site. For the new Southern Comfort Lodge, we reviewed all sites within a 5 mile radius of Helen to locate the most spectacular view in the North Georgia Mountains. We found a site with mountaintop views in all directions, no longer allowed for new construction and only possessed by a handful in North Georgia.

With a unique 360 degree site line, there is no room without an inspiring view of the Uniquoi forest and surrounding mountains. During construction, we 'discovered' Sautee Nacochee vineyards, shops, local food stores and attractions within a couple miles of the cabin and have grown to love this area.

Our goal was to bring man closer to God through the appreciation of his majesty. We combined the inspiring external views with built in craftsmanship, to demonstrate combined beauty of creation in wood, tile and stone.

What makes this lodge unique

Each room has a spectacular view and built in features that provide the opportunity for rest and contemplation of God's creation. Our goal is to leave each guest relaxed and pleased with the world around them.

Map

Cool River Tubing Company
"Great location and wild rides in this year's rainy season!"
Anna Ruby Falls Visitor Center Gift Shop
Alpine Helen Mini Golf
"Beautiful garden kept manicured in this finest display of Helen's Putt Putt courses."
Cafe International
Hofer's of Helen
"Awesome breakfast spot in downtown Helen"
Betty's Country Store
Habersham Winery
"Excellent wine tastings. Our favorite is the 'blue bottle' reserve white. "
starburst stables sautee helen ga
"zip lines and horseback !"
The Lavender Cottage & Garden
Sautee Nacoochee Vineyards
Hofbrauhaus Restaurant and GI Germany Pub
Bernie's Restaurant at Nacoochee Valley Guest House
Sautee Nacoochee Vineyards Tasting Room
Hofer's of Helen
"Awesome breakfast spot in downtown Helen"
North Georgia Barbeque
"The only downside is the line at the most popular barbque on the Chattahoochee. We recommen..."
Mully's Nacoochee Grill
"The grill and next door pizzeria serve takeout that guests bring back to the deck almost wee..."
Old Bavaria Inn
La Cabana Mexican Restaurant
"In case you can't make the half mile wallk downtown without a break, Margarita's and reliabl..."
Folk Pottery Museum of Northeast Georgia
Helen Amusement Park
Old Sautee Store
"Try the Framer's Cheese!"
Cowboys & Angels Restaurant and Bar
"Awesome crabcakes!"
Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Atlanta
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Sautee Vineyards Wine Tasting
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Innsbuck
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
255
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Bernies
Car: necessary

The Helen area offers a wealth of attractions and our location atop the mountain above the valley provides relaxation in the North Georgia Mountains.

Amenities

Helen Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower
    Upper Floor Full Bath - toilet , shower , Full Bathroom for two upper floor bedrooms. Walk-in shower
    Main Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Master Bedroom - 2 queen
    Northern Loft King Bedroom - 2 king
    Southern Loft King - 2 king
    Fireplace Bedroom - 2 king , King Bed and sitting area with fireplace
    Crews Quarters - 8 double , Two bunk beds, with two full beds. TV, bar and game room
  • 2 King bedrooms, one queen bedroom, one bedroom with two full-size bunk beds and Fireplace King bedroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
2 miles from Sautee Craft shops, vineyards and restaurants, 3 miles from Sunburst stables, ATV and zip lines. Also convenient to Hiking, White Water rafting and Helen, GA shops and restaurants.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(60 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
16% Complete
1% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Best Views in North Georgia, near Helen and Nacoochee!
average rating of 4.7 based on 60 reviews
5

Beautiful views and great lodge

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful vacation at the Southern Comfort lodge. We are a group of 14, from ages 2 to 75. The kids loved it and had a great time, as did we all.

We saw deer on several occasions, turkeys, and our grandson actually caught a mole digging in the ground one night. Of course, he let him go once we all got a chance to have a peek at it.

Best of all, yesterday after all the kids had left, my wife and I came home to find a bear playing in the garbage across the street by the roundabout. Sorry the kids weren’t there to see it but I did get a few good pics.

We had a fantastic 10 days there and hopefully we will get to come back again, maybe at a different time of year like spring.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay and the unique addition to our list of local fauna! We look forward to your return. Keith
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

I would rate it a 4

  • 4 of 5

We had an awesome time with our Golden Girls ministry. The only complaints there were not bath clothes to match the towels. The 3rd level didn't have a bathroom and that made it a little inconvenient we winged it though. There were no TV's on the top level. Keith was very helpful in trying to accommodate us, I would recommend this cabin to others. It has a lovely view.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay. As the 7th religious retreat this year, we enjoy the ability to bring our guests closer to their religion through the appreciation of the beauty of God's nature visible from our mountaintop. We provide a handful of washcloths for each bathroom and dropped off extras for your stay on the first day of your stay at your request. We now stock a full 16 washcloths, in case the 12 typically provided are not sufficient. The lower level does not have a bathroom, as the bathroom dedicated to this floor is at the top of the stairs to provide easy access to the great room and dining rooms as well. We have three large screen TV's, two of which are in bedrooms that facilitate entertaining, as well as the large screen in the great room. Our goal is to bring our guests together for their entertainment to fully enjoy their time together. Thank you again for your stay! Keith
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our whole family had a great time!

  • 5 of 5

We had no problem comfortably sleeping all 16 of us. The owner was quick to respond when I had a question. We went tubing, did a wine tasting, spent a day in Helen, enjoyed the fire pit, corn hole and hot tub. Having a bedroom with bath on the main level made things easy for my octogenarian mother to navigate. Plus, we had a stunning view of the total solar eclipse!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Loved your guest book comments! We enjoyed having your family as our guests and look forward to you joining us at the Lodge for the next eclipse!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Properties of similar cost were cleaner and better organized. Walls and doors were dirty.

  • 2 of 5

Online Pictures did not fairly represent property. Views were obstructed and furniture worn and uncomfortable. Property needs interior painting. Nearby property much better maintained.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were selected for Cabellas catalog photo shoot this past spring as the top north Georgia property, after they scouted dozens of locations, confirming this review is irresponsible. However, we do implement all guest requests for maintenance or improvements before our next guest arrives. To address this guest's suggestions, we repainted interior doors, replaced sofa and removed five trees below the property to further enhance the views. All pictures are recent, including living room updates just posted. I will post more after our own wedding ceremony on the property this fall. Ours is the fifth one this year!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Great Location, Great Fun! Within 1 Hour of several locations

  • 5 of 5

We had a family get together for a week at this location with a total of 16 of us. We had 10 Adults, 6 children and we had more than enough beds for everyone. Beautiful place and very nice view. Everything went smooth and was great. Only real concern for those not used to the mountains is that you have to go through an unpaved/gravel road on the way up to the cabin. Other than that we had no complains and were able to create unforgettable memories. Visited Helen, Helen River Tubbing, Cabbage Patch Hospital, Tallulah Gorge, Toccoa Falls, Minniehaha Falls, and Lake Rabun Beach swimming area. All great areas and usually within an hour away. Also, drove down to Stone Mountain which is 2+ hours but still worth the drive. Thanks for everything Keith and for your quick responses as well as working with us throughout the process.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your comments and the great list of local attractions for our future guests! Thank you for your stay at the southern Comfort Lodge. Keith
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great location, mountain top views, plentiful activities and sights for the whole family

  • 4 of 5

House is spacious,lots of beds however an extra bathroom would have been nice for basement bedrooms. Documented some minor maintenance issues,but we're able to enjoy many outdoor activities like hiking to 3 different falls, tubing, white water rafting, horse riding, fishing, wine tasting, and the town of Helen.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay and list of maintenance suggestions, which we have completed. We enjoyed having you as guests and look forward to your next visit to the north Georgia mountains! Keith
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Cleaning Fee $100
$1000 damage insurance $49

Any damages reported by the guest are covered by $100 deposit, then damage insurance, up to $1000 in damages. This reporting allows us to fix any issues prior to our next guest's arrival. Guests are responsible for any non-reported damages.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.