check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

1160 Land's End Road - Sidney, B.C. - 30 Minutes from Victoria

18 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

North Saanich House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, MAXIMUM 6 PERSONS 2016

Discover the quiet serenity of Land's End Road.

Nestled alongside the ocean on a one-acre wooded lot, this home is perfect for romantic getaways, honeymoons, or a secluded and relaxing family vacation.

Wake up to morning sun and coffee on the deck and enjoy sunset barbecues. Stairs lead to a private beach with spectacular views. The spacious living room has a high-power telescope, perfect for viewing native sea mammals and passing boats.

Don't feel like cooking? Visit Deep Cove Chalet (and adjacent MUSE winery), or Bistro Suisse, our favorite, just minutes away in beautiful “Sidney by the Sea”. Day trips to the Gulf Islands depart from nearby Swartz Bay ferry terminal; a five-minute drive down scenic Lands End Road.

The world famous Empress Hotel, with its coveted English tradition of afternoon tea is typically twenty-five minutes by car, or a leisurely sixty minutes via double-decker bus.

PLEASE NOTE: THIS SITE DISPLAYS AN AVERAGE NIGHTLY RATE WITHOUT SPECIFYING A CURRENCY. THIS IS AN AUTOMATICALLY CONVERTED USD AMOUNT, NOT CANADIAN. THE CANADIAN RATE IS $300 WINTER AND $500 SUMMER PER NIGHT. WE APOLOGIZE FOR ANY CONFUSION. WE HAVE ATTEMPTED TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM FIXED BUT VRBO AND HOMEAWAY HAVE BEEN UNRESPONSIVE.

Keywords: Waterfront House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 18 traveler reviews

1160 Land's End Road - Sidney, B.C. - 30 Minutes from Victoria
average rating of 4.888889 based on 18 reviews
5

Best property on the island!

  • 5 of 5

This property is a true gem for a vacation on the island. The location is close to get to the ferry terminal and airport. Shopping, restaurants, local farmers markets are nearby. The large property was exceptionally clean, well appointed with kitchen, laundry and bathroom supplies. The custodian and owners were easy to contact and always eager to answer any questions. The view was breathtaking! Beachcombers delight for sea glass. The wildlife (seals, sea otters, fish, rabbits and deer) kept our teenagers entertained. We were two families of three attending a wedding and visiting for a week. We plan to stay again and would without hesitation recommend this home to anyone.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
California, USA
5

Excellent Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

I cannot say enough about what a wonderful vacation home this lovely Lands End property proved to be! Five close friends and I enjoyed a "ladies getaway" week here for a special birthday celebration and we all agreed that we couldn't have chosen a better venue.

The house itself was lovely - large and spacious, perfectly appointed and fully furnished with no detail left unattended to. From the lush linens in the bedrooms and bathrooms to the fully stocked kitchen, we wanted for nothing. The beautiful deck provided total privacy along with a spectacular waterfront view to enjoy.

The location was perfect as well - just a few minutes drive to charming Sidney, a short ferry ride to lovely Salt Spring Island, a brief drive to beautiful Buschart Gardens and only a half hour from all that lovely Victoria has to offer. We enjoyed great shopping, wonderful dining and more activities than we could even begin to fit into a single week!

Our great dilemma was that there was so much to see and do in the area and yet the home was so pleasant and relaxing that we didn't want to leave. Our solution is that we all vowed to return again for another weeks vacation next year!

Thanks so much, Selwyn, for making our experience so pleasant and seamless - we look forward to planning our next visit with you in 2016

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vancouver, BC
5

Return visit even better

  • 5 of 5

This will be my second visit to Land's End House, this time with different guests. We agree with the accolades that other discriminating and sensitive renters have offered here regarding the views from deck and windows, the cleanliness of the house, the variety of amenities - kitchen equipment, linens, soaps, etc., and also the outstanding comfort of the furnishings and bathrooms. However, what we would like to add is one more accolade to Selwyn and Marisa themselves as the owners. We have rented all around the world in some expensive and some reasonably priced accommodations using VRBO. What has given all these properties the edge in many cases has been the efficient responsiveness of the owners together with their obvious pride in and generosity with their homes. Selwyn has been one of our most memorable hosts. He has also managed to add an extra bonus by having great helpers in Dave, the caretaker, and Diane the house-keeper. They do a great job. Additionally the town of Sidney and the surrounding area are a delight for dining, long walks and shopping. We particularly enjoyed the Country Market store on West Saanich at Wain that had a wide variety of organic and gourmet foods. We shall return to Land's End introducing new friends to its delights. We tried to stay on by pretending to be staff - cocktail waitress and butler, but Selwyn was on to us, unfortunately!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lihue, Hawaii
5

Outstanding home

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this home approximately three weeks prior to "Sherri F". We found the house meticulous...the caretaker was responsive and easy to reach. Prior to arrival, Selwyn was always very quick to respond to any questions I had. It is an outstanding property and we still think about it and miss it so very much! The views are gorgeous and it is only a few minutes away from Sidney. Don't hesitate to rent this place!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful house overlooking the water

  • 5 of 5

Four of us -- my wife, our 13-year-old daughter and my 90-year-old mother -- stayed in this fabulous home for a week. We all wished it could have been longer, and I'm confident we'll go back. The house is spacious, clean, comfortable, well appointed and perfectly situated to make the most of the fabulous views. It had everything we needed to make ourselves at home. We ate many meals outside on the deck, watching the wildlife and the boats. The sunsets were sublime. On most days we'd watch a seal or two playing in the water. Several times we saw a ramp of otters as dusk fell. And on the last night we saw orcas! (We were grateful for the powerful binoculars set up in the living room.) Pure magic.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Sherwood Park
3

Beautiful view, tons of space, but falls short in a number of ways

  • 3 of 5

Pros: Beautiful location. Stunning views. Literally minutes from the ferry. Rocky beach with small tidal pools. Sea otter family living on the beach next door. Large house with plenty of space for our family (Grandparents, husband and I and two teens.) Two master suites. Main floor living room AND master suite have large floor to ceiling windows facing the ocean - beautiful to wake up to!

Cons: The house wasn't ready for our arrival, despite me confirming our dates in every communication - caretaker thought we were checking in Monday instead of Sunday, and wasn't even in town when we arrived - luckily for us we had access to the key and were able to get into the house (I doubt we would have found accommodation anywhere else in July for 6 people last minute!). He arrived the next day to blow off the deck, replace the dishwasher cover, locate missing patio cushions and try to fix the badly leaking bathroom fawcet in the basement. Unsure if bedding in main master was washed - mascara marks all over the pillow, and a dead moth between the sheet and comforter. Kitchen utensils were old and need replacing (ie: only one spatula, and it was the narrow one and all cracked and breaking apart; 1 frypan was old with Teflon flaking off - used the cast iron one for everything instead). No shortage of old coffee makers in the cupboards though! "Commercial grade ice machine" in kitchen wasn't functioning and was filled with plastic grocery garbage bags. NO bbq tools at all anywhere, and we looked! Cobwebs hanging from the ceilings over stairs and in basement. Also you should be aware this property does not allow booking through VRBO, and instead ask for bank transfers, as well as requesting a non-refundable deposit of $1500 AND full payment THREE MONTHS prior to check in date. We rent vacation properties a lot and never have we had to issue full payment more than a month prior. Let me tell you, I was nervous about this booking from the first payment in January! Communication from the owners was lacking - they sent us a Guest manual shortly after receiving our deposit which covered most of the basics, but nothing further other than a thank you for our full payment on April 30. We had to contact them at the end of June asking about how to access the house and to confirm everything was ready for us for our arrival on 19th of July.

So much potential but sadly lacking pride of ownership here. We'll be staying someplace else on our next visit to the island.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful location, the stunning views, the beach and tidal pools, the floor to ceiling windows, wildlife and waking up each morning facing the ocean. Sorry about the cracked spatula, (there were two others), the aging frying pan (three others), the leaking faucet (since replaced) and missing BBQ tools (also replaced). I can assure you that the house was cleaned before your arrival and has been professionally cleaned since. All linens are washed and ironed between guest visits. And, the extra patio cushions were in the main closet by the front door; the deck box holds only four. Our Caretaker lives a few minutes away and has been highly responsive for the past ten years, without complaint. We, (and our many repeat guests), love this place but in the words of Anais Nin: “Sometimes we don’t see things as they are, we see them as we are”. Thank you for taking the time to offer such detailed, albeit painful, feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 6

Map

Other Activities: shopping, kayaking, boating, wildlife viewing

Photos

Rates & Availability

North Saanich House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$227
$1,591
$4,789
 

Additional information about rental rates

Standard Cleaning Fee $189 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.0%

ALL RATES IN CANADIAN DOLLARS. $300 CAD Winter and $500 CAD Summer, per night. Please note that VRBO and HomeAway display the average nightly rate on the front page in USD, even though it does not specify a currency. We have complained but they are UNRESPONSIVE! Do not confuse the 'average nightly rate' as a Canadian dollar amount. IT IS NOT! The rate is $300 and $500 CANADIAN, NOT $229!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

North Saanich House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (2) Main floor master bedroom: hypo-allergenic silk duvet with cotton cover. Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • live theater
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
Notes:
Numerous upgrades, including NEST Learning Thermostats, Flat screen TV's, BluRay Player, Internet Media Player, Patio furnishings, upgraded wiring, area rugs, lamps, bedding, Whisper-Quiet dishwasher, and much more.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties