check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Rocky Mtn Ranch 11 Acre. Coal Creek Canyon/Boulder/Golden/Nederland-Furnished

31 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights


Coal Creek Canyon House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Office, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps up to 8)

Rocky Mountain Ranch Style Home. Experience staying in the beautiful community of Coal Creek Canyon. Conveniently located close to Boulder, Golden, Nederland & Denver Metro. Can comfortably sleep 6, 8 with the use of a futon bed. *(Extra person fee will apply over 6, anything over 8 would require approval by Owners and additional over occupancy surcharge). Wood burning fireplace. Private setting. Home sits in the center of 11 Acres. 10 Horses (including 1 pony are on the land and Pony/Horseback riding might be possible for children and (must be arranged in advance w/the owner of the horses) and for a fee. Enjoy Colorado's arid climate that is perfect for outdoor recreation. Paved roads all the way to the property with a level circle drive for easy entering & exiting property. Full-Service Kitchen, Full Laundry Room, 2.5 Baths, Large dining room and Large Living area. WI-FI, satellite television, pool table, exercise equipment all available during stay. Outside offers mountain views, Hot Tub, BBQ

grills/smoker, Umbrella table and seating, hammock, etc.

Keywords: Ranch Style, one level, 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, +1 1/2 Bath, Wood burning Fireplace (we provide the wood), Pool Table, Piano, Nordic Trek, Full Kitchen (w/2 ovens), Dining room, Laundry and Office, outdoor Hot Tub, child's play area with slides, swing, etc. 10 Horses (including 1 pony) are on the land.

Stars are really great up here above all the city lights at 8000', there are so many stars and on clear nights (especially in the Winter, one can often see the Milky Way)!

We are within a couple minutes drive to Walker Ranch (a nice hiking area that takes you up to the back side of the Flatirons of Boulder). Also, Gross Dam where one can fish, use non-motorized boats, picnic, (public BBQ's), hike, great view of the Sunset, etc. Lovely area!

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, Base rate includes up to 6 people/3 beds
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 4, 2016

About Kim

Property Owner in Travel Business for over 25 years and has worked on an 80' Yacht B & B in the San Fran Bay Area. She knows what good hospitality involves and strives to make your experience here on the Ranch a good one! If you have a special occasion, please advise Owner in advance as she'll be happy to decorate for you.

Kim purchased this house in 2000

Why Kim chose Front Range Colorado

This is our family home. We liked the idea that we could share our slice of heaven with others looking for the true rocky mountain high experience!

When owner is in town there is the possibility of family being on land. It's 11 acres, so lots of room! If in town during a booking & if they opt to stay on property during your visit, they have a separate, private fenced off area in which they stay, or separate entrance back apt. room, (which isn't part of the Vacation Rental). They totally respect guests privacy and are here to be of service if needed, otherwise, they keep to themselves and will never enter the main Ranch House rented during your stay.

Horse back riding, Special Events; parties, weddings, retreats and catering are available for extra fees.

What makes this house unique

Beautiful Views, wildlife, serenity, fresh mountain air, hiking and mountain biking near by, close to skiing, gaming, shopping, 45 min to downtown Denver. Less than 30 min to Boulder, Nederland & Golden. Lovely Coal Creek Canyon Community. We are away from City lights so the Stars at night from our land are truly wonderful, most of the time you can see the Milky Way, great to gaze upon while soaking in the outdoor Hot Tub!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We were fortunate to have a family reunion and to spend a week over Thanksgiving at this lovely Ranch home. The home is very nicely appointed and spacious inside and out. The kitchen has two ovens, which was great for holiday cooking and has everything anyone needs to cook with and serve. The living room has an awesome stone fireplace which added to the cozy ambiance and also has a wonderful pool table and nice leather furniture. The master bedroom has a great very comfortable king size Aspen bed and matching end tables. Our family felt right at home (as will yours) and would highly recommend this property to all!!!
Nov 2010
  • 1 of 1


based on 31 traveler reviews

Rocky Mtn Ranch 11 Acre. Coal Creek Canyon/Boulder/Golden/Nederland-Furnished
average rating of 4.709677 based on 32 reviews
Owings Mills, MD

Simply Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

I just returned from our family vacation at Kim's ranch home and words cannot describe how incredibly wonderful our stay was. :) Below is the list of things we absolutely loved and appreciated at the ranch:

- The house is HUGE!

- Kim has provided more than just the basic necessities all around the home for a comfortable stay. For example, besides coffee, sugar, spices, she also stocked some additional food items in the refrigerator for us to use during our stay. Including wine! :)

- Kim was personally there to give us a walkthrough of the home just so we could understand and operate all the things provided in the house for us to use. She was also available via phone to speak with in case we had any additional questions.

- Kim has been incredible with communicating any and all the necessary information that would make our stay extremely comfortable.

- Kim has also provided information about the local history and/or tour guides for local places to visit. The hot tub, wi-fi and home phone, pool table, piano, etc. were simply the icing on the cake! :)

- All the items provided in this home are very unique and novel. The unique lighting in the home simply added to the coziness and warmth of the place. We even got to experience a fox that came trotting right in our back yard and got some food. It felt like a genuine experience of living in the mountains of Coloraro. :)

- The home is located only 20-25 mins drive from Boulder and/or Golden. The drive to and back is also enjoyable.

Thank you Kim for sharing your home with us. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at your home and would most certainly come and stay there again next time. :)

  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kshama, It was so lovely having your family here, you are all most welcomed back anytime! Many Blessings, Kim
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

We all had a wonderful 4 day stay at Kim's Ranch for our handfasting celebration!

  • 5 of 5

The house is spacious and comfortable. The views of the mountains and horses are very relaxing and make you feel at home. My nieces and nefew enjoyed the playground and feeding the horses very much! We had everything we needed provided with the house to make for a wonderful occasion! The owners were very kind and helpful by giving us a lovely tour of their home and answering any questions we had. Thanks for everything Kim, you have a wonderful place!

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Something for Everyone!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Evans Ranch was positively enchanting. We woke to find horses grazing just outside our bedroom window each morning and then watched them run and play while enjoying our coffee on the patio. The large, beautiful home is perfectly situated on 11 acres of gently rolling hills, nestled in a quaint canyon neighborhood. It offers plenty of room and well thought out activities and is only a short commute to downtown Golden (such a great little town) and other places of interest. Overall it was a great location, making it easy to get to famed Colorado attractions in a very reasonable amount of time whether they were to the North or South. Local restaurants were very good and close by as were gas stations, grocery stores and other essentials. Can't say enough about our hosts either - they were were amazingly nice! They could not have been more thoughtful or accommodating. They provided a large variety of materials to help us tourists decide what we wanted to see and they were adamant about respecting our privacy while we stayed in their home. They also provided plenty of coffee items and pantry staples which saved us money on groceries. We are planning a return trip in the future and will definitely be staying at Evans Ranch again. Highly, highly recommend it!,

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Billy, Desta and Judy, Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was such a delight to Host your family at our Ranch! We truly enjoy sharing what we feel is our "little slice of Heaven" with people, we have had many wonderful Guests through the years now, but it is so nice when people such as yourselves, see and feel the effort we put into our Space and creating a welcoming atmosphere for our Guests. It was wonderful getting to know you guys and we can't wait to welcome you back to the Ranch again soon! All the Best, Kim and Bruce - Evans Ranch
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful location up in the mountains

  • 5 of 5

The place was perfect for our needs, big enough to fit our group and affordable when split between all the adults. Kim was so wonderful working with me while I planned my trip, I started a year out. My 1 1/2 year old was fascinated by the horses that live on the property and loved feeding them carrots. The location was centrally located between numerous small towns that we had a great time exploring while also being close enough to Denver for us to visit friends and see a few attractions there too. If you are more the home body type there is a large selection of board games that my 4 1/2 year old couldn't get enough of as well as a pool table and hot tub. The bird feeders brought so many wonderful birds to the yard and we had fun discovering what kinds they were, there was even a hawk's nest in one of the trees. We had such a great time and didn't even mind the fact our phones didn't get reception because we could still look up everything we needed to on the Wi-Fi. An absolutely wonderful vacation!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Caitlyn, Thank you for your nice review, it was a real pleasure Hosting you and your family and friends!:) Your children are so precious and your Mom a jewel! Thanks for leaving the place so clean and for the gifts you left, most appreciated, and can't wait to try the organic vanilla your Mom made! You all would be most graciously welcomed back anytime! We do also give return Guests a "repeaters discount" as well. Yes, up in our Canyon at 8000' in the mountains most cell phones don't work up here. But, just so any potential future Guests who might be reading this know, we do provide a land line for Guest use (or their friends/family to call you) which does include free long distance w/in the 48 mainland states. However, I'm with you, just unplug, and watch the wildlife up here, the peace and magic up here is in the beauty of nature and getting away from it all! I am also very glad that you were able to work out pony rides for the children with Donna while here. I know the horses all loved the extra attention and carrots you gave them! We are glad that you guys enjoyed your stay! We truly hope to welcome you back to our Ranch again someday. All The Best, Kim and Bruce - Evans Ranch
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very responsive and gracious

  • 5 of 5

I can just say that Kim was quick, responsive and gracious. I would recommend dealing with her. Thank you, Kim.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely location and host but trouble with appliances

  • 3 of 5

The pros: Kim is a lovely hostess and quick to respond to all questions. The house is clean and well stocked with towels, dishes and dishwasher and laundry soap. There was fun entertainment, like board games, hot tub, massage chair, feeding of the horses, children's playground, wooden swing and hammock. It is spacious and Kim is very welcoming.

The cons: We had trouble with three major appliances. The dishwasher did not work for us during our entire stay of one week with 4 adults and 2 kids. We did get a very nominal ($20) refund for the inconvenience but washing dishes was not what we wanted to have to worry about during our vacation. Then on the second to last day, the kitchen backed up with water from somewhere.

The washer and drying are very small so if you are counting on bringing few items and washing them there, be advised. The dryer did not work for us the last day we were there so we had to hang all of the clothes outside to dry.

We were warned about the freezer not shutting all the way and we had to constantly shut it so if you are planning to buy anything to go in there, ask if that has been corrected.

There is wi-fi but it is extremely spotty.

Advice: Print out directions to the house because we were sent to the wrong part of town via the VRBO app. Also, we called the owners of the horses that are boarded next door and they did not return our call so if you are planning on riding, I'd schedule it in advance or do as we did and go to a nearby company.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that you had experienced any appliance issues during your stay. Things do unexpectedly break down & the timing can't be predicted. We have totally replaced the dishwasher. Upon you advising of the dishwasher wasn't working for you, we tried to get a replacement sooner, but they didn't have the unit we needed available anywhere in CO and it would take 2 weeks to get by mail order. As a result, we drove out of state to WY to pick up our new dishwasher. Anyway, we didn't want to disrupt your stay by installing a new unit while there. Under the circumstances, I have to say that I'm a bit surprised by your response here. I had shared with you that my husband had a heart attack in March and subsequent surgery and due to that was having to stay home to recover & so we had been unexpectedly thrust into living off just my income till he can return to work again. Since your sister works with heart patient's, I would think you could have a little compassion for our situation. I realize the bottle of grape juice for your girls & $20 for you was not a large offering but I did speak to you about it beforehand, and factoring that we also had to buy a new dishwasher, that's what we could afford to offer you for the inconvenience and you said that was fine. Honestly, most mountain homes don't even come with dishwashers and we indeed installed ours after we got the house. While I realize hand washing is not what everyone wished to do, I feel your rating is unfair, especially considering what we're dealing with on our end, which I realize is our problem, but I still feel we did what we could, was quick to respond, came and personally spoke with you all about it, all smiles and no problem we understand and now to get this rating I feel is a bit harsh. At any rate, on the last day, the moment you advised you had an with the kitchen sink, I came right over, I think it was residual water from the dishwasher issue and once I cleared the water out of the dishwasher and ran the disposal it all cleared out. I not only did all your dirty dishes in the sink, cleaned the floor, took all our wet towels, I also took out your trash, recycling & compost as a further goodwill gesture for your inconvenience. The dryer totally works & it was just a matter of a button not being pushed in (it's a slight difference) & I told you about that. I ran numerous loads during turnover thereafter and it works fine. We live in the mountains, it's a place to unplug!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Point of Interest
Gross Dam Reservoir
Nearest Point of Interest
Eldora Ski Area
Nearest Point of Interest
Black Hawk/Central City Gaming
Nearest Point of Interest
Town of Nederland
Car: necessary

Close to world class skiing, casino gambling, Gross Dam Res. for fishing, canoeing and animal watching, close to Golden, Boulder and Denver for the 'Urban' experience and close to quaint mountain towns and restaurants.


Rates & Availability

Coal Creek Canyon House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Spooky Pre-Halloween Special
Oct 11 2016 - Oct 27 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
Halloween Weekend
Oct 28 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
Cool November Special
Nov 1 2016 - Nov 17 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
Thanksgiving Week
Nov 18 2016 - Nov 27 2016
5 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
Pre-Holiday Special
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 15 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
X-mas-New Year's Weeks
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 8 2017
5 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

CC fee ($ disc. avail.) $39
Pet Fee $100
Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $180
Tax Rate 5.0%

Our standard base rate is $199.00 a night w/a 2-night minimum up to 6 people & then it's $15 per person a night Extra Person/s fee (up to 8). If you're a larger group, it's up to Owner discretion if we can accommodate you as larger groups create a lot of extra wear & tear on house/property, more beds to set up, water use, more linens & towels, etc., (we charge an additional Large Group Surcharge for groups over 8 & allow 11 MAX). Additional tax, insurance, cleaning, pet and any other applicable fees. Holiday and other Seasonal Specials have varying rates and minimum night requirements. Request a Quote for a complete breakdown, of all charges. ALL RATES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE UNTIL BOOKING IS CONFIRMED/PAID IN FULL. We are 100% Non-Refundable, but will EXCHANGE equal nights booked (of equivalent season value booked) another time, based on availability. We suggest you get VRBO's Vacation Insurance if you have any concerns. We are privately Owned & Operated and aim to please and do our best to give you a 5-Star Rocky Mountain Experience! We believe we have a little slice of Heaven up here! :)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Coal Creek Canyon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5, 1 full has a combo bathtub/shower & the other full has a regular shower. Both full units have shower bars in them.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (2) The one in the master bedroom is a custom made Aspen bed (w/CA King mattress) and matching custom made Aspen & stone end tables., Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) We have an extra Queen Size Futon in large private Office room as well that can be made up for larger groups and 1 double that can be placed either in our of our large bedrooms or int he living room. *Please note that our base nightly rate includes up to 6 people & 3 beds (based on 2 per bed). If there are more than 6 people or 6 people wanting more then 3 beds, there will be a surcharge for such and it's up to Owners approval. Larger groups are more wear and tear on the property, more water used from the land and more linens/towels used and increasing laundry usage. Acceptance of larger groups are subject to Owners approval, and will be considered on a case by case request basis.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
We can do weddings and special events on the property as well! We have a playset with swing, slides, rock climbing wall, basketball hoop etc for children. There are 10 horses (including 1 pony) on the property & pony rides on the land can be arranged with advanced notice and for a fee. We are on almost 11 acres in old growth forest, so there is lots of room to roam. There are lots of outdoor things to do very close by, Gross Dam which allows non-motorized boats (canoe rentals available near by), hiking and mountain biking all very close to the house. There are a few restaurants in our Canyon and many good ones to choose from in the nearby old west mountain town of Nederland. Nederland also offers skiing and snow boarding at Eldora Mountain Ski Resort. We are less then 30 minutes from Golden or Boulder and about 45 - 60 minutes to Denver (depending upon where in area) & it's about 1:15 to/from DIA. The Fall is all aglow with yellow Aspen leaves! The Stars at night are great!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties