Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Classic Nags Head style cottage...all new in 2015!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,510 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths w/ pool. Handicap accessibility with 2 ramps.

The Mermaid's Pillow was featured in the Fall 2015 edition of My Outer Banks Home. I was contacted regarding an article titled "Downsizing with Charm". We are fortunate enough to be giving the center fold. Also, my cottage was showcased in the annual "Parade of Homes" sponsored by the Outer Banks Homebuilders Association. We are pleased to announce that we were awarded the "Builders Excellence Award" by judges & with over 900 visitors through the cottage we were voted "People's Choice Award".

Cottage boasts classic Nags Head style with modern amenities. Color tvs, cable, internet & docking station. Fully appointed kitchen with electric range, microwave, refrigerator & dishwasher. Washer/dryer. Handicap accessible master bedroom & bath feature large roll-in shower and double vanity with roll-under feature for wheelchairs. Upstairs has 2 bedrooms and 1 bath with double vanities. Ramps front & back making for easy access. Private in-ground pool in fenced backyard. Cornhole boards are provided.

***Linens are NOT provided. You will need to bring sheets & towels***

***Paper products are NOT provided. You will need paper towels & toilet tissue***

SORRY - PETS ARE NOT ALLOWED !!!

More Details

Owner
Cindy Thornsvard
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 15, 2017

About Cindy Thornsvard

We have owned a 2nd home on the Outer Banks since 1999. As our children married & our family grew we found it necessary for a larger vacation home. In 2006 we built our new home in Nags Head and have been full time residents for almost 4 years.

Cindy Thornsvard purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Cindy Thornsvard chose Outer Banks

Since building our home we have a new son-in-law who is a quadriplegic. Our home is not accessible and their visits required staying in hotel. We decided to build a handicap accessible beach cottage for the use of our family & to put in a rental program. Our belief is that there are many families and/or individuals who will benefit from such a cottage. Whether is be a wheelchair, walker, cane or artificial limb. Although it is totally handicap accessible it is also the perfect cottage for those without disabilities.

What makes this cottage unique

Unique, cozy, affordable & conveniently located. Beach access is a short walking distance away with ramp leading to viewing platform. Open floor plan on ground level with master bedroom/bathroom. Covered porches front & back. Rear ramp make for easy access to pool deck & backyard. Plenty of parking.

Map

Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Norfolk International Airport (ORF)
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Tortuga's Lie
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Hatteras Island
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Nags Head Links, The Point, The Carolina Club
Nearest Train
80 Miles
Norfolk
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Croatan Highway
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Tortuga's Lie
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Bladen Street Beach Access, Nags Head
Car: necessary

For additional information: www.outerbanks.org

Amenities

Nags Head Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1510 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - Half bath features pedestal sink & toilet.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Features double vanity.
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master bath is handicap accessible with roll-in shower.
  • Master bath with double vanity (one vanity is roll-under), roll-in shower & toilet. **Towels are NOT included**
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Wall mounted TV
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master bedroom is handicap accessible. Wall mounted TV
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single , 4 twin built-in beds. Wall mounted TV. Pack 'n play.
  • Master bedroom and bathroom are handicap accessible. **Linens are NOT included**
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Please note: linens are NOT included. Guests need to bring sheets, pillowcases & towels. Check-in is 4pm. Check-out is 10am. Sorry...NO pets! This is a SMOKE FREE cottage.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Classic Nags Head style cottage...all new in 2015!
average rating of 4.888889 based on 45 reviews
5

Can't wait to book again for 2018!

  • 5 of 5

We are repeat visitors and this house did not disappoint. Clean, modern, thoughtfully decorated and arranged. Pool with picnic table and grill off the kitchen is such a treat. Right across the street from the beach, walking distance to some GrEAT playgrounds. Kids were upstairs and adults were downstairs. Couldn't ask for more and can't wait to rebook for next year!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's a pleasure having you & your family as my guests! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the cottage. I appreciate your kind words. I take great pride in offering quality accommodations. I look forward to your return visit. All the best, Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful! It was perfect for our family.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being my guests! I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay at The Mermaid's Pillow. Hope to see you in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing cottage!!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was amazing!!! Great location and everything was spotless. The owners were fantastic to work with, and it is clear they take great pride in their beautiful home. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and the pool was a wonderful plus. We will definitely be returning!

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's guests like you & your friends who make it all worthwhile! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your kind words. I am honored to host many wonderful guests each season. Please come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Bad experience

  • 1 of 5

I stayed at this cottage the weekend of Sept 1 2017. The first night we stayed there my friend and I shared the upstairs queen bed we both woke up the next morning and we had been ate up with bug bites. I had took my own sheets I use all the time and they were freshly washed. We went and looked in the bed didnt see anything so didn't think much from it. The next two nights the same thing happenend. We left Monday not knowing and I took my sheets off the bed put them on my bag and left. Thursday night I unpacked my stuff on my bed and the next morning my husband woke up with bites all over him. We had an exterminator come by and check our room at home and he did not see any but I had pictures of the bugs I found on my pillow the night before and he confirmed that it was bedbugs. The owner also had her house inspected and they did not see any but obviously that doesn't mean anythings if Orkin didn't see any but confirmed it with the proof I had. I have never in my life had dealt with bedbugs but it is a nightmare. We have to spend $900 spraying our house and spent about $200-300 washing everything and tubs to store our clothes in until we know they are gone. Luckily it is not a bad case of them and that we caught it in time before the spread more. The owner believes I did not get the bedbugs from her cottage but I have never in my life had anything like this happen until I stayed here. It was my mistake not to call about the problem after the first night or two to figure the what the problem was. It really is a shame I had such a bad experience because it was a beautiful house and very convenient to the beach.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am truly sorry that my guest had issues with bed bugs, insect bites, or whatever they were. I took very seriously her complaint about the issue and had my home inspected immediately by certified pest control specialists who service my cottages on a regular basis. They found no evidence of bedbugs throughout the house or in any of the bedding (comforters, mattress pads, pillow covers, etc.) or upholstered furniture. If indeed there had been bed bugs in my cottage they would not have all left with the guest. There would have been evidence of bugs in multiple locations. My cottage was rented the week prior to this guest arriving with no complaints of any kind registered and it was rented again the week after this guest. In both cases the bed room in question was used by the renters with no complaints of bites or anything else. I would accept responsibility if the inspectors had found any evidence to affirm this guest’s complaint. As you can see if you look at the review history for this property I have received uniformly outstanding reviews. I take the cleanliness of my property and the role of host very seriously. This is a wonderful cottage with excellent access to the beach and was a winner in the 2015 Outer Banks Parade of Homes. Respectfully, Cindy Thornsvard, owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Pinehurst, NC
5

Perfect cottage!

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was perfect! Just as described with beautiful furnishings, close to multiple beach accesses, walkable to shops/dining & perfect for 2 families! We can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It's a pleasure having guests like you. Please come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

BEST VACATION EVER!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing vacation experience at the Mermaid's Pillow. The cottage was impeccable! It was the perfect size for 4 adults and 3 children- we had more than enough room. It was extraordinarily clean inside and out. The pool was amazing and so relaxing. The beach is a very short walk away (right across the street then down less than half a block to the nearest access point) and very easy to do with young children. There are restaurants and activities within a short walk as well. Overall, we had a fantastic experience and we will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.75%

*Cleaning fee applies to stays less than 5 nights

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.