Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Casa Blanca Beach Apartment at Coconut Row, Center Hopkins, Daily Cleaning & A/C

Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Welcome to Coconut Row Guest House! Our beachfront apartment is right on the Caribbean beach in the heart of the Garifuna village of Hopkins, Belize.

We are located directly in the center of the village, within walking distance of all Hopkins’ restaurants, bars, stores, cafes, and other attractions. But you’d never know it while relaxing on our beach, which confers a high degree of privacy and solitude. Right next to the apartment lies beautiful shaded seating area under the coconut trees, perfect for a bbq or reading a book. Eat or drink all the coconuts you like - they're delicious!

The Casa Blanca is a two bedroom garden beach apartment with air conditioning. It is on the beach only 100 feet from the water’s edge, although it is set back slightly behind the Sunrise Suite, which obstructs the sea view from the doorway. It has a porch attached to the living area which opens to a bbq/sitting area on a private beach. This apartment has a kitchen area, a living area, and two bedrooms.

The first bedroom has a queen size bed, a shelving system, and a ceiling fan. The second bedroom has two single beds, a shelving unit, and a ceiling fan. The kitchen has a stove and oven, microwave, refrigerator, all pots and cooking utensils necessary for meal preparation, a coffee maker, plates, glasses, silverware and a dining table. The living area has a ceiling fan, glass table and chairs.

We provide lounge chairs, beach towels and wireless internet free of charge to our guests, and there are laundry and transportation services available, as well as bicycles for those who wish to ride through the village. The beach is raked and maintained and the apartment is cleaned every day. We always have staff on the premises for assistance and security.

We offer transportation to/from the International Airport, Dangriga Airstrip or any other location. We can help arrange any tour or activity, and there is a lot to do!

Dive, snorkel or fish the world’s second largest barrier reef, explore the many Mayan ruins, hike through the rainforest and swim in spectacular waterfalls, go cave tubing or cave exploring, ride through the jungle on horseback, canoe or kayak down the river, learn about Mayan and Garifuna culture, go birdwatching, take a pleasure/snorkeling cruise on a catamaran, search for manatees… this is just a sample of the incredible number of things there are to do here! We can help you do them all!

Keywords: apartment, beach apartment, garden apartment, beach house, beach house, hopkins belize, rental house, rental hopkins belize, family rental, vacation house

More Details

Property Manager
Damian Grieco
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 9, 2018

About Damian Grieco

Damian is from Upstate NY and moved here 12 years ago. He met his wife Nisha here and they had a daughter, now 3 years old. After working in the citrus industry for some years, Damian decided to try working for himself. Nisha left her teaching job to help him, and the rest is history (so far!)

Why Damian Grieco chose Hopkins

I was living in the property next door, which my family owned. We had a very nice neighbor here; she was Belizean and had been a teacher in Chicago. She retired 30 years ago in Belize, before they had running water or electricity. Before passing away, she decided to sell the property to us.

What makes this apartment unique

It's so much better to be in the village than outside of it, where most of the rentals are! The people are friendly, there are stores and restaurants within walking distance, the bugs are much fewer, and it's a better atmosphere. Plus, our beach is amazing!


Hopkins Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:30 PM / Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • The bathroom at Casa Blanca has a shower with hot water, toilet and a lovely tiled sink. Towels are provided to guests and there is a shelf for all your toiletries.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Our master bedroom has a comfortable queen size bed and a ceiling fan. Nightly A/C is provided at no cost. The room is equipped with a shelf/closet combo and has a safe for all your valuables. Our second bedroom is perfect for two and also has a ceiling fan,shelf system and nightly A/C. Daily housekeeping is included and sheets in both rooms are changed every three days during your stay. Daytime A/C is available for a cost of USD $10.00 /day per unit.
  • Books
  • Games
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • limited accessibility
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Daily cleaning service, Beach raked daily, Private BBQ/Picnic Area


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
16% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Casa Blanca Beach Apartment at Coconut Row, Center Hopkins, Daily Cleaning & A/C
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 12 reviews

Great Location, Friendly Staff

  • 3 of 5

We (family of 4) stayed here for 4 nights in April 2017. The rooms are well positioned in Hopkins village close to the beach and the facilities. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was cleaned every day. Beach towels were provided. Whilst I think this was nearly a 4 star facility I felt a few minor items let them down. Whilst the showers were nice and hot, the hot water to the sink in the bathroom and the kitchen had not been connected. The air conditioning also did not work as well as it could. Whilst not a fault of the apartment visitors should note that the ATM in Hopkins does not take chip and pin cards as is the case with a large number of ATMs in Belize and as most of the local facilities do not accept credit cards visitors should ensure they have a good supply of cash before they visit. The owners will provide a cash advance for a 7% fee.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Michael, thanks so much for your review. I just wanted to mention that as soon as we read about the AC, we fixed the issue - had I known while you were here, we would have fixed it immediately! As for the hot water, while the shower is hot, it is true that there is no hot water in the sink as this requires major breaking of the walls and hasn't been an issue for most guests. We will certainly address it during an offseason. The ATM situation is indeed frustrating, though I should note that, until recently, there was no ATM at all in town! While we do provide a cash advance for a fee, please note that our bank charges us 5% on each credit card transaction and a monthly fee, so we are certainly not trying to charge a high rate; simply trying to not lose money while we provide a service. We are also happy to pay guest bills (at restaurants, etc) with check, and we will not charge guests anything at all for this service.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming and peaceful

  • 4 of 5

Coconut Row rooms are nice but don't come expecting a five star hotel. The rooms are clean and ours had a full kitchen which was great! The beach at coconut row is awesome, and the staff are super friendly and accommodating. Playing Banana Grams with the front desk gals, Kyra and Tyesha, in the afternoons was a fun bonus!!

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful staff friendly so close to the beach beach goes on for miles and miles of sand. Apt unit is nice quiet, close to store food shopping. Staff arrange trips easy just make sure you have a car if your staying more then a week we stayed three weeks

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Beach cottage

  • 5 of 5

The beach house was wonderful! Absolutely beautiful and steps away from a white sand beach. We were greeted on arrival by our hosts and were treated to a coconut rum drink - a REAL coconut! after we'd settled in and sat on the beach. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Thank you for a wonderful Belize adventure. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Western N.Y.

Great Place!! Excellent staff!!

  • 4 of 5

We had the opportunity to stay here twice. It was very pleasant and comfortable for our party of four. The rooms were very clean and clearly well taken care of. The beach was impeccably clean and even raked daily. I was impressed with temperature of the warm and clear. We were given complementary coconut rum drinks, which were tasty. The staff was attentive and arranged all our activities. Kyra arranged a awesome day snorkeling with Ash, Bo and Juice. What a once in a lifetime experience! That day we made lifelong friends. The village was the best part of Hopkins. Nicest people ever!! We were very safe and felt as if we were part of the culture and village with the warm and welcoming Garifuna people. They have more love and kindness then anywhere I have ever been. Happiest people in the world. We became totally immersed in the village from super great food, drumming and cute beach bars with music. If your coming to Belize- come to Hopkins and stay at Coconut row. You wont be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable like-home in Hopkins

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at Coconut Row! Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Having the apartment was perfect because we had room for our family of 4 and comforts of home. We were able to cook the fish we caught or make breakfast instead of eating out every meal. It felt like we were visiting new friends instead of being a hotel guest.

They helped us book our tours, told us where to eat on the best days (Driftwood for pizza and Garifuna drummers - so good!) and loaned my son some sand castle building tools and a friend to help. We had a mix up on our way out and had booked zip lining that didn't work out with our transportation back to Belize City, but they were fine with giving us a refund.

Being in center Hopkins means you are in the village within walking distance to the grocery store and several restaurants, but you will need a cab ($6) or to rent a golf cart ($65 for the whole day) if you want to eat at the resorts or other restaurants at that end of the town. No biggie, but I didn't realize this ahead of time. My younger son and I had fun driving around the town shopping at the local gift shops and exploring while the others in our party took a dive trip.

Also, a lot of the good restaurants are closed on Mondays and some Tuesdays so we did not have a lot of options on the first night within walking distance.

We practically had the beach to ourselves the first 2 days. Things pick up later in the week, but it's definitely a place to relax and get away from crowds or the typical resort experience. It's hard to be back to reality and we hope to return!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Dangriga Airstrip (from Belize International BZE)
Nearest Barpub
30 Metres
Treetop Bar, Winds Chief
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Southern Highway
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Thongs Cafe, Tina's Kitchen, Luba Laruga, Xiomara
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
Your front yard
Car: not necessary

Dive, snorkel or fish the world’s second largest barrier reef, explore the many Mayan ruins, hike through the rainforest and swim in spectacular waterfalls, go cave tubing or cave exploring, ride through the jungle on horseback, canoe or kayak down the river, learn about Mayan and Garifuna culture, go birdwatching, take a pleasure/snorkeling cruise on a catamaran, search for manatees…




Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 9.0%

All rates include nightly A/C in both bedrooms. Daytime A/C (in bedrooms only) is USD$ 10.00/day per unit.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties