check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

David Wesley

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Gorgeous Beach House - Fantastic Location - Fresh & Modern

24 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Manhattan Beach House Rental Photos and Description

2 Floor House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Come have your next Manhattan Beach experience at HighlandHouse. Whether you’re visiting for the first time or a regular, you'll be delighted by the striking and eclectic design of this two bedroom, two bathroom house that sleeps up to six and entertains up to 10. Fully stocked with everything you need to cook gourmet meals, entertain, or kick back and relax by the fire. Glassware and bar ware for any occasion.

HighlandHouse surprises with over 16 pieces of original artwork and design details in every corner. Vibrant colors, bohemian chic, vintage charm and LA casual beach just start to characterize this cheery and inviting beach house. Before heading to the beach, soak in the sun on your very own private and enchanting landscaped patio space with upper deck off living area.

This house is ideal for groups or individuals. Main level living area offers a shared (lockable) entrance or a separate private entrance with bedroom, living room, bathroom, 42' led flatscreen, & laundry

We supply beach gear such as body boards, beach towels, toys, surfboards, football, volleyball, 5 beach cruiser bikes, and chairs/umbrella. We also supply a pack & play and stair guard for the little ones.

Property is located in a prime walkable Manhattan Beach location West of Highland. 2 blocks from the water you are at the center of the beach universe with shopping, surfing, strand biking, & exceptional bars/restaurants all within a 5 minute walk. This is a classic two level beach house in a sought after and laid back beach community.

Laundry and parking for a mid size vehicle or smaller are included.

Keywords: house, entertain, beach, ocean, pier, patio, garden, deck, grill, gas, walk, walkable, manhattan beach, redondo, hermosa, venice, el sugundo, lax, airport, parking

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
David Wesley (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About David Wesley

We have put an exceptional amount of attention to detail into each of our properties. Please visit all our LiveLikeItsYours properties on VRBO, Portland (listings 235163 & 562563 & 385954) & on the Oregon Coast (Listing numbers #300618 & 431930 & 495038) & Oregon Wine Country (listing # 511960) if you are touring the State, keep in mind we have properties in Los Angeles (441813) & Palm Springs (Listing # 652243 & 652254). Watch for our newest project in Walla Walla Washington in early 2016

David Wesley purchased this house in 2011

Why David Wesley chose Manhattan Beach

Beach access, walkability & location

What makes this house unique

Property is located in a prime walkable Manhattan Beach location West of Highland. 2 blocks from the water you are at the center of the beach universe with shopping, surfing, strand biking, & exceptional bars/restaurants all within a 5 minute walk. This is a classic two level beach house in a sought after and laid back beach community.

Guestbook comments from the owner

++ Original review posted & available on airbnb.com ++



The host, David was very timely and responsive, which allowed us to find, initiate a conversation and book the house in the time it took to drive from LAX to MB.



The house exceeded our expectations. It has obviously been newly redecorated, so everything feels crisp and new, and a aqua/orange color scheme predominates throughout, in to the minutia. The iron matches the knife set which matches the sofa, it's incredible and must have taken serious dedication.



The location is convenient, it's a short walk to the heart of MB and to the beach.



In sum, we enjoyed the flat and the renting experience itself. Highly recommend.
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 18

Reviews

4.6
based on 24 traveler reviews

Gorgeous Beach House - Fantastic Location - Fresh & Modern
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 42 reviews
2

Good Location but not a fresh (nor particularly modern) property

  • 2 of 5

This property did not meet our standard and was not described properly online. Not that we expected something as nice as our own homes but for the price, we expected a nice resort like experience not a “surfer bungalow”. From the start we felt misled by the glossy internet photos which did not realistically present the true quality of this property. The description overstates the condition and useful value of the amenities starting with your cover photo of the living room which is now a frayed and faded version of its former self. Much of what is described did not match what we experienced. The fully stocked kitchen had appliances that did not work. The 42” flat screen TV downstairs was not connected. It felt like the place was furnished with items purchased from a local garage sale. Though described as a two bathroom property only one bathroom at a time could be used for bathing because when one person used their shower, did the dishes, washed their hands or flushed the toilet, the other would get nothing but cold water from theirs. Coordinating four adults taking sequential showers takes some planning and did not allow for quick exits. The overall cleanliness of the property was lacking. This property has had a superficial upgrade probably to avoid needed deferred maintenance. The electrical system is old and a possible fire hazard. We could not safely plug in our laptops as all the plugs were two prongs and most computers need three. The description mentions two fire places but the one downstairs was blocked by furniture. To be honest we would probably not use the fireplaces but this is an example of another misrepresentation. We were prepared for the construction next door but not the overall condition of this property. I am not sure why the majority of the reviews are so glowing. We did not feel the reviews accurately represented this property.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Awesome Location

  • 5 of 5

We found the house as described in the listing. It was clean and had a cute style. We were met with friendly and helpful information. We were able to walk to downtown and where ever we wanted to go. In fact, we never used our car the entire stay! Bike riding on the beach was the best! However, one of the bikes didn't have a chain so it was unusable. The outdoor patio is quaint and comfortable to hang out in. The house provided everything we needed including extra blankets and pillows.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Beach House

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Highland house for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house has a great set up for families as it is two levels. We would put our toddler to sleep upstairs and then utilize the lower bedroom/den. The house is not fancy, but is nicely finished and well stocked. The best part about this house is the location ... it is just a few blocks over from the pier and all the best restaurants and shopping in Manhattan Beach. We would certainly rent this house again!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newton, MA, USA
5

The rental we've been looking for

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I have rented in Manhattan Beach for years, and are so glad we discovered Highland House . It has everything we want and more: nice size, all the rooms and furniture in top shape, nice patio and deck, a great collection of bikes with locks, even a sound system for my iPhone. We're near the water and Manhattan Beach's excellent coffee houses, shops and restaurants (but not too near). Yes, there was construction, but as mentioned below, it's happening all over Manhattan Beach, hard to avoid, and it didn't bother us much at all. The house has good insulation. Also heat, helpful in February. Dave and Doug were extremely helpful and friendly. We definitely want to go back.

  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We work very hard to maintain each LiveLikeItsYours to the highest standard. It's so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Very disappointed ! right next to construction !!

  • 1 of 5

Very disappointed ! No view to ocean and right next to construction site!!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: There is a lot of construction going on in Manhattan Beach, something we can't control, and unfortunately our neighbor is building a new house. We have notified all our guests of this, but sometimes noise can be excessive. Again, something we can't control. Also, our description doesn't mention an ocean view, possibly our guest may have inadvertantly thought there was. We do feel bad that they didn't have an outstanding experience, because we strive to offer that every time. UPDATE 03/01/16 (construction is partially complete but much less intrusive).
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Plano, TX
5

Fantastic Beach vacation

  • 5 of 5

Highland House was perfect for my family of 4. Beautiful walk to the beach and everything we needed to enjoy ourselves when we got there. Shops and restaurants just a short walk away, we parked the car in the garage on arrival and didn't take it out for 4 days! We will definitely be back next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
LAX
Car: not necessary

Property is located in a prime walkable Manhattan Beach location West of Highland. 3 blocks from the water you are at the center of the beach universe with shopping, surfing, strand biking, & exceptional bars/restaurants all within a 5 minute walk. This is a classic two level beach house in a sought after and laid back beach community.

You'll find Manhattan Beach located just a few miles South of the airport (LAX) and El Porto. As you head South you'll find it's near Hermosa, Redondo, Hawthorne, Palos Verdes, Torrence and Long Beach. As you head North you'll run into Marina Del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica, Pacific Palisades and Malibu.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Manhattan Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Peak 2016
Jul 5 2016 - Sep 1 2016
1 night minimum stay
$479
From
$499
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day 2016
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 5 2016
4 night minimum stay
$599
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Fall 2016
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 13 2016
1 night minimum stay
$389
From
$409
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 2016
Oct 14 2016 - Nov 23 2016
1 night minimum stay
$389
From
$409
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 27 2016
1 night minimum stay
$499
From
$499
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Winter 2016
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 22 2016
1 night minimum stay
$399
From
$419
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas Holiday
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$479
From
$499
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2017
Jan 2 2017 - Mar 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$399
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$449
From
$499
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $170 + Tax
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $450
Tax Rate 3.7%

Special event & holiday rates may apply, please inquire for a detailed quote.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Manhattan Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • One bath upstairs & 2nd on ground level
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Upstairs Living Room
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Two fireplaces, two gas grills, two furnished patio spaces, and two 'living spaces' complete this house that is ideal for groups or individuals. Main level living area offers a bedroom, living room, bathroom, 42' led flatscreen & laundry. We supply beach gear such as body boards, beach towels, beach cruiser bikes, and chairs/umbrella. Property is located in a prime walkable Manhattan Beach location West of Highland. 3 blocks from the water you are at the center of the beach universe with shopping, surfing, strand biking, & exceptional bars/restaurants all within a 5 minute walk. Laundry & parking for a mid size vehicle or smaller

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties