check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

David Wesley

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Vintage Beach House - Fantastic Location

28 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Sand Section House Rental Photos and Description

2 Floor House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Come have your next vacation at Manhattan Beach. Whether you’re visiting for the first time or a regular, you'll be delighted by the striking and eclectic design of this two bedroom, two bathroom house that sleeps up to six. Fully stocked with everything you need to cook gourmet meals, entertain, or kick back and relax by the fire. Glassware and bar ware for any occasion.

Over 16 pieces of original artwork and design details in every corner. Vibrant colors, bohemian chic, vintage charm and LA casual beach just start to characterize this cheery and inviting beach house. Before heading to the beach, soak in the sun on your very own private patio space with upper deck off living area.

This house is ideal for groups or individuals. Main level living area offers a shared (lockable) entrance or a separate private entrance with bedroom, living room, bathroom, 42' led flatscreen, & laundry

We supply beach gear such as body boards, beach towels, toys, surfboards, football, volleyball, 5 beach cruiser bikes, and chairs/umbrella. We also supply a pack & play and stair guard for the little ones.

Property is located in a prime walkable Manhattan Beach location. You are at the center of the beach universe with shopping, surfing, strand biking, & exceptional bars/restaurants all within a 5 minute walk. This is a classic two level beach house in a sought after and laid back beach community.

Laundry and parking for a mid size vehicle or smaller are included. Large vehicles will not fit in the garage.

Keywords: house, entertain, beach, ocean, pier, patio, garden, deck, grill, gas, walk, walkable, manhattan beach, redondo, hermosa, venice, el sugundo, lax, airport, parking

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
David Wesley (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why David Wesley chose Manhattan Beach

Beach access, walkability & location

What makes this house unique

Property is located in a prime walkable Manhattan Beach location. You are at the center of the beach universe with shopping, surfing, strand biking, & exceptional bars/restaurants all within a 5 minute walk. This is a classic two level beach house in a sought after and laid back beach community.

Guestbook comments from the owner

++ Original review posted & available on airbnb.com ++



The host, David was very timely and responsive, which allowed us to find, initiate a conversation and book the house in the time it took to drive from LAX to MB.



The house exceeded our expectations. It has obviously been newly redecorated, so everything feels crisp and new, and a aqua/orange color scheme predominates throughout, in to the minutia. The iron matches the knife set which matches the sofa, it's incredible and must have taken serious dedication.



The location is convenient, it's a short walk to the heart of MB and to the beach.



In sum, we enjoyed the flat and the renting experience itself. Highly recommend.
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 18

Reviews

4.4
based on 28 traveler reviews

Vintage Beach House - Fantastic Location
average rating of 4.392857 based on 46 reviews
Boise, ID
5

Great Experience Overall - Quick and easy booking, communication and check in process

  • 5 of 5

Quick and easy booking, communication and check in process. The owners were very accommodating and have thought of almost everything. Lots of beach goodies to choose from! We felt this modest beach house reflected the photos online accurately and it was as clean as I've seen a vacation rental property. We ran out of supplies part way through our week at the house and David responded with a notification that a same day package from Amazon would be arriving with everything we needed... amazing! The location is to die for just a couple blocks from the beach & restaurants. You really can't get a better location without spending $1,000+ a night for an ocean front mansion. We hope to return again next year.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minneapolis, MN
5

Location, Value & Cleanliness! We couldn't have asked for much more.

  • 5 of 5

I agree with the other positive reviewers that this house is wonderful. While older, it's clean and well maintained (some outlets two prong & with multiple people using plumbing hot water cuts out momentarily). The owner David was outstanding to deal with, quick responses and easy booking process. Given the location, size and configuration, my wife and I felt it was a great value. The family made good use of all the beach gear which included towels, umbrellas, chairs, cooler, surf boards, boogie boards & we used the bikes every day. I noticed prior reviewers complaining about construction but we found the patio very nice & private with very little noise. In his review request, David asked me to be as specific as possible with items called out from prior reviewers. Apparently a recent group had problems with ants but we never encountered a single bug. We actually found the house to be pristine & cleaner than the majority of VRBO's we've booked. Street parking was difficult when friends visited but fortunately our vehicle fit in the garage (the listing & all communication did speak to parking specifics and limitations well in advance of our arrival). Kitchen was well stocked & all appliances looked new and worked as expected. We did accidentally break the coffee carafe but David was very kind, didn't charge us & had a replacement delivered within 2 hours of us reporting it. We plan to come back next Summer & we'd definitely recommend the house to anyone. It's not a brand new house but certainly a gem of a property in Manhattan Beach; lots of fun design touches that everyone appreciated.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Extremely disappointed!!! Dilapidated and infested with ants!

  • 1 of 5

The pictures of the rental are out of date. This is an older property, built in 1951, which has almost no updates with chintzy furnishings and garage sale decor throughout the house. The electrical in the entire house is old with only two prong outlets. There are extension cords running all over which are a fire hazard. The second bathroom downstairs is split. The shower tucked around the corner from the washer and dryer. The lower level feels like a basement.

The plumbing is terrible. Caution, if you are taking a shower anyone using cold water in the house may scald you because of the plumbing. Same goes for the hot water leaving you freezing. We had to schedule showers for one person at a time so no one else in the house would use the water. Only one towel per guest. Linens were not designer or luxury and were from Target.

The housekeeping was poor. Everything was wiped off but still had a film on it, like the difference between sweeping the floor instead of mopping it too. The dishwasher does not work and the housekeeper is not washing the dishes by hand. The dishes were rinsed off and returned to the cupboard. The glasses were cloudy and clear after washing by hand.

I found ants in every room of the house. Ants crawling on the walls in the downstairs bedroom and the headboard of the bed. Ants all over the kitchen, on the counters and in the cupboards. Ants crawling all over the couches upstairs and downstairs. Ants in the upstairs bedroom. I contacted David Anderson and he said that I was welcome to find another place to stay but that he would not refund any money. He did drop off some ant traps at the front door and I found some roach traps in the closet.

I felt deceived and swindled by the online listing. This property is not at all how it is portrayed. I will never stay here again and do not recommend this property in the strongest terms. The location is nice and a short walk to the pier.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First of all we have no record of a Brian staying at our property for those dates, so I'm not sure who this person is. In any event, we do strive to make sure our guests are happy at all times, and I am sorry they didn't have a good experience. We did have a guest staying by the name of David for those dates who, I think was expecting something more posh, not sure if that's who it is. We did have Amazon Now deliver kleenex, kitchen towels, toaster and ant traps the same day he called about not having any. Sugar ants are a problem at the beach and we try to be proactive about it. I believe this guest had expectations of a four star hotel, which our beach house isn't. It's a 1950's nice, clean and simple 2BR, 2BA beach pad a few blocks from the beach and a few blocks from the MB Blvd.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not depicted accurately

  • 2 of 5

We found the home to be far from as depicted in the pictures. The owner was not responsive prior to our trip. We had e-mailed regarding WiFi and he never responded. We went through VRBO and he did not respond. We had to e-mail him 6 days before our trip for entry details, though were told we would have them 10 days prior. You will not fit a mid-size car in the garage. It has to be compact. We parked anywhere from 1-8 blocks away each day. Tuesdays and Fridays had to get up and move the car for street cleaners, hassle. I can't put this on the owner, parking is a challenge everywhere in MB. But could have been told about it. Happened to read a street sign on one of my walks from parking.

We had ant issues. They were in the beds and kitchen. We bought Raid. The dishwasher did not work, we had to wash by hand. The downstairs shower was not fully functional, we had to prop up the shower head to shower hands free. The soap dispenser had dripped for quite some time as there was a large pool of soap on the shower floor indicating it had not been inspected before our visit. We had to buy two beach umbrellas, in spite of the fact its advertised with them. We e-mailed the owner about the ants and dishwasher, no response.It's an old home, built in 1951, and each time work has been done or modifications been made you can tell its been half-ass. The electrical is questionable. Upstairs the coffee maker and the toaster are plugged into a power strip that hangs from the wall. If you open the oven door, you have to move the cord to the power strip. When you open the front door you basically walk in to the stairwell, with the downstairs bedroom right there to your right. No way to sleep with windows open unless you are a heavy heavy sleeper. The private patio is only private in that its fenced. There is a three story building 5 feet away with scaffolding around it and workers working on it each day. There is another building 8 feet behind the house so the upstairs patio isn't private in terms of any conversation you might have. The "enchanted garden" is a complete stretch. It has not been maintained at all. The grill upstairs was too rusted to feel good about cooking on. Didn't try the downstairs grill. The location is great. The beds were clean and we slept very well. Would not return at the price we paid. It felt like the place was cleaned up like you might clean your own house when you hear friends are stopping by in an hour. Deposit was returned promptly.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that Nick and guests didn't have a positive experience. Looks like we dropped the ball with regard to communication. With regard to the property, I guess, I would have to disagree about the work on the house being 'half-ass' as Nick said. My wife and I worked very hard to make our 'beach pad' comfortable for all. Very disheartening to hear. We want everyone to be happy and have a good great time. There isn't much we can do with activity around MB. There is a lot of construction every where- very sad. We'll do a better moving forward!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Good Location but not a fresh (nor particularly modern) property

  • 2 of 5

This property did not meet our standard and was not described properly online. Not that we expected something as nice as our own homes but for the price, we expected a nice resort like experience not a “surfer bungalow”. From the start we felt misled by the glossy internet photos which did not realistically present the true quality of this property. The description overstates the condition and useful value of the amenities starting with your cover photo of the living room which is now a frayed and faded version of its former self. Much of what is described did not match what we experienced. The fully stocked kitchen had appliances that did not work. The 42” flat screen TV downstairs was not connected. It felt like the place was furnished with items purchased from a local garage sale. Though described as a two bathroom property only one bathroom at a time could be used for bathing because when one person used their shower, did the dishes, washed their hands or flushed the toilet, the other would get nothing but cold water from theirs. Coordinating four adults taking sequential showers takes some planning and did not allow for quick exits. The overall cleanliness of the property was lacking. This property has had a superficial upgrade probably to avoid needed deferred maintenance. The electrical system is old and a possible fire hazard. We could not safely plug in our laptops as all the plugs were two prongs and most computers need three. The description mentions two fire places but the one downstairs was blocked by furniture. To be honest we would probably not use the fireplaces but this is an example of another misrepresentation. We were prepared for the construction next door but not the overall condition of this property. I am not sure why the majority of the reviews are so glowing. We did not feel the reviews accurately represented this property.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry Donna and guests had a poor experience. We are very clear that our place is 1950's beach house, not a new modern home. There are a ton of those around MB, sadly. Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do about the construction that is now every where in MB. Our place is what MB was all about before all the mcmansions were/are being built. It's a nice, clean, simple beach pad in a great location - three blocks from the beach and a few blocks from MB Blvd. We've had many return guests because of it what our house represents- Old school Cali Beach House!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Awesome Location

  • 5 of 5

We found the house as described in the listing. It was clean and had a cute style. We were met with friendly and helpful information. We were able to walk to downtown and where ever we wanted to go. In fact, we never used our car the entire stay! Bike riding on the beach was the best! However, one of the bikes didn't have a chain so it was unusable. The outdoor patio is quaint and comfortable to hang out in. The house provided everything we needed including extra blankets and pillows.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
LAX
Car: not necessary

Property is located in a prime walkable Manhattan Beach location West of Highland. 3 blocks from the water you are at the center of the beach universe with shopping, surfing, strand biking, & exceptional bars/restaurants all within a 5 minute walk. This is a classic two level beach house in a sought after and laid back beach community.

You'll find Manhattan Beach located just a few miles South of the airport (LAX) and El Porto. As you head South you'll find it's near Hermosa, Redondo, Hawthorne, Palos Verdes, Torrence and Long Beach. As you head North you'll run into Marina Del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica, Pacific Palisades and Malibu.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sand Section House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer Peak 2016
Jul 5 2016 - Sep 1 2016
1 night minimum stay
$479
From
$499
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day 2016
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 5 2016
4 night minimum stay
$599
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Fall 2016
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 13 2016
1 night minimum stay
$389
From
$409
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 2016
Oct 14 2016 - Nov 23 2016
1 night minimum stay
$389
From
$409
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 27 2016
1 night minimum stay
$499
From
$499
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Winter 2016
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 22 2016
1 night minimum stay
$399
From
$419
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas Holiday
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$479
From
$499
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2017
Jan 2 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$399
$5,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$449
From
$499
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $170 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $450
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 3.7%

Special event & holiday rates may apply, please inquire for a detailed quote.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sand Section House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • One bath upstairs & 2nd on ground level
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Upstairs Living Room
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 4 bicycles
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
One fireplace, two gas grills, two furnished patio spaces, and two 'living spaces' complete this house that is ideal for groups or individuals. Main level living area offers a bedroom, living room, bathroom, 42' led flatscreen & laundry. We supply beach gear such as body boards, beach towels, beach cruiser bikes, and chairs/umbrella. Property is located in a prime walkable Manhattan Beach location West of Highland. 3 blocks from the water you are at the center of the beach universe with shopping, surfing, strand biking, & exceptional bars/restaurants all within a 5 minute walk. Laundry & parking for a mid size vehicle or smaller

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties