Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

$200/nt or $1200/wk- JUNE 2017!! HOT TUB!! POOL TABLE!! WIFI! 5 BEDRMs

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms. 4 bathrooms.

JUNE SPECIAL!

$200 per night or $1200 for a week!

JUNE SPECIAL is valid for all reservations made on or after 24 May 2017, for only June 2017 nights, and is not valid with any other discounts.

This home, Chestnut Villa, is professionally managed by Massanutten Vacation, a local vacation rental home company.

Reservations must be made on our website. We'll email the link to you when we receive your email inquiry. We do not have reservations enabled on HomeAway.

Home Description:

1 king bed. 5 queen beds. 1 queen sleep sofa.

HOT TUB, WIFI, CABLE TV, FIREPLACE, POOL TABLE, HUGE WINDOWS AND MOUNTAIN VIEWS!!!

This eclectic, 3-level, A-frame house is brimming with charm! Comfortably furnished and colorfully decorated. Paintings and vintage decor are in every room.

HOT TUB on the back deck off the middle level with views up into the George Washington National Forest!

Stone and marble floors, hardwood floors, beamed living room ceiling and walls of windows so you can enjoy the views year-round! The George Washington National Forest is your backyard.

Lounge and soak in the antique claw-foot bathtub, snuggle near the fireplace with a good book, lose yourself in the views, appreciate the artwork on the walls of every room. Chestnut Villa is a thoughtful blend of the antique, vintage and new.

High speed WIRELESS internet service, cable TVs in the living room and in the king bedroom.

1-3 minutes away is our Mountain Retreat homes. A 2-3 minute drive away are these homes of ours: Double B, Great Escape, Poplar Cottage, Gobbler's Roost, Bear's Den & Old Coot's Cabin.

SMOKING IS PERMITTED OUTSIDE, ONLY, ON THIS PROPERTY.

LINENS FOR ALL BEDS INCLUDED. GUESTS MUST BRING TOWELS, and LINENS FOR THE SLEEP SOFA.

MAXIMUM CAPACITY: 14

Enter the house from the ground level or go up the stairs to the deck on the middle level and enter the house.

Ground Level: This level of the house has a family room converted to a bedroom with a queen bed. There is also a full bathroom with a tub/shower combo, a laundry room, and the garage is now a game room with a pool table. Keep warm in the game room with the toasty space heater.

Upstairs (middle level): Go up the stairs into the kitchen. This cool eat-in kitchen is right next to the dining area in the great room. Patio doors take you from the kitchen to the deck. The deck wraps around the back, one side and the front of the house! The kitchen is outfitted with all major appliances (stove has 2 burners and a Jenn-Air-type grill. You can cook in pots on the grill section, too!) and quite a few small appliances. There is a hand-held food blender, and a food processor, and more. A breakfast bar and a tall bar table are in the kitchen. There is also a wine fridge!

Off the kitchen is the big, long great room. Closest to the kitchen is the dining area. A big table, several chairs and an antique church pew give your family room to eat together.

On the other side of the great room is the living room. 2 sofas and a recliner, flat screen cable TV, colorful paintings and lots of windows so you can really enjoy the view. Between the dining & living areas is a large stone gas log fireplace (for use Oct 1st through Mar 31st, only) with side windows so you can see the fire from anywhere in the room!

Off the living room, and also down the hall from the kitchen, is a bedroom with 2 queen sleigh beds. This bedroom has a full bathroom, and a door leads out to the hallway. The bathroom is quite large (all the bathrooms in the house are big) and it has a step-in shower AND an antique claw-foot bathtub!

A flight of stairs takes you to the Top Floor: 3 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms are on this level. The bedroom in the front of the house has a king bed and a flat screen cable TV. A door in this bedroom leads to another bedroom. That bedroom has a queen bed and has another door out to the hallway. A full bathroom with a tub/shower combo is in the hallway, just outside the king bedroom.

At the back of the house there is another bedroom with a queen bed, and a full bathroom with a tub/shower combo. This bedroom has patio doors that lead out to a deck. Stairs from the deck lead to the deck of the middle level of the house.

This Massanutten Vacation Home is approximately 2500 square feet, and is ready for your visit with the following items:

* Central air & heat

* Linens for all beds

* Pillows, Blankets

* Toaster or toaster oven

* Coffee maker and filters

* Cookware, bakeware and dinnerware

* Washing machine & dryer

* Microwave oven

* Cable TVs

* Dishwasher

Items you will need to bring:

* Bath towels, hand towels and washcloths

* Cell phone (no landline phone at this home) * Dishwasher & dish detergent

* Laundry detergent

* Camera & film

* Trash bags

* Paper goods (bathroom tissue & paper towels)

* Baby items

* Toiletries

***10% MILITARY DISCOUNT on the rental fee given when you reserve this home. Holidays are excluded. Thank you for your service!

Stipulations:

1) The reservation must be in the name of the person whose name is on the military ID.

2) A copy of your unexpired U.S. military ID card, current orders, or Veteran's Administration ID must be submitted with your signed rental contract to get this discount.

Mark through all social security numbers on the military ID copy.

Write MILITARY next to the Payment Details on page 1 of your rental contract.

Your rental contract will not show the discounted amount. Military discount will be applied once your rental agreement & military ID are received in our office.

3) Military IDs received after payment has been made will not be honored for the discount.

4) This discount is given to active duty, reservists and retired military persons.

5) Military discount is not given to civilians, civilian affiliates, contractors, Senior Executive Service (SES), Federal affiliates or Military affiliates accompanying the Armed Forces.

All Reservations: Refundable security deposit and cleaning fee additional.

ALL DISCOUNTS & SPECIALS:

1) Not valid in combination with any other discounts.

2) Not valid on reservations made previous to special rates being posted.

Please call 540-289-9033 for more info.

More Details

Property Manager
Katrina, Laresa, and Kathy
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 19, 2017

Amenities

Massanutten House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , This bathroom is between ground floor bedroom & billiard rm.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , Clawfoot tub. Shower. Off 2 qn bedrm/down hall from kitchen.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Top floor, near King bedroom.
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Top floor back queen bedroom suite.
  • 4 full bathrooms. Bathroom(s) on each floor of the house.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Ground floor family room is now a bedroom. Full bath.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen , 2 queen beds off great rm on middle level.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , King bed in the top floor bedroom at the front of the house.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Queen bed. Room is accessible from hallway & king bedroom.
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Queen bed. Room is at back of house. Full bathroom.
  • 5 bedrooms. 1 on the ground floor, 1 on the middle floor, and 3 upstairs. The living room has a queen sleep sofa.
Entertainment:
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

$200/nt or $1200/wk- JUNE 2017!! HOT TUB!! POOL TABLE!! WIFI! 5 BEDRMs
average rating of 3.7777777 based on 9 reviews
5

Nice stay at Chestnut Villa

  • 5 of 5

Overall the house was nice and had plenty of room. The room on the first floor was a little cold. The driveway is a bit steep but a majority of the driveways were steep...the house is on a mountain. Katrina and Laresa were great!

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review, and your kind words about Laresa and Katrina. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to having your family come stay with us, again! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Out of date but acceptable

  • 3 of 5

The most disappointing thing was the kitchen. We brought food to make breakfast and ended up ruining most of our food because the stove was impossible and the pans were so old so everything either immediately burned or didn't cook. The kitchen desperately needs an upgrade. Also only 2 people got hot showers. The water was then ice cold and some people just chose not to shower while others endured freezing showers. This was very disappointing and frustrating. All other accommodations were satisfactory but we would not stay at this house or recommend it to anyone else.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Chestnut Villa! We appreciate your feedback (and would have liked to have known about the issues while you were still here, so we could fix them) and will do what we can to make improvements in the home. We'll look into the kitchen issues, though families who stayed after you complimented the kitchen amenities and were able to cook & bake with no problems. As is standard knowledge, the conventional hot water heater needs as much time to heat water for everyone who wants to shower, just like the hot water heater in any other home (except for tankless water heaters). If 14 people, in a row want to shower they will not all have hot water unless they wait. When in your own home, or in a vacation home, showers should be planned so everyone has the hot water they need. Our goal, for all our guests, is for every one of them to have a wonderfully memorable stay. When this does not happen, we work hard to make certain the home is improved for everyone else who will be coming to stay. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation tea,
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Funky layout but great stay!

  • 4 of 5

Beds were comfy and the house was clean. Property is right on the resort so that made it really convienent. The stove should be replaced it doesnt heat well. They dont provide bath towels or even toilet tissue so be prepared. Overall it was fun.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We're so glad you had a fun stay! We have contacted the home owner about the stove. It has always worked before, but if it isn't working it'll be fixed or replaced! We do not provide bath towels so that we can give you a later check-out time. Having towels in the house means the housekeepers would need more time to do the laundry...meaning they'd need to get in the house at 9 a.m. instead of 11 a.m. We conducted a survey to see what guests would prefer and bringing their own towels so they can have a later check-out won. The lease, which can be read before signing & paying, explains to our guests to bring their own towels. Housekeepers leave toilet tissue when they have it, but we get phone calls all the time asking for different toilet tissue, so we just don't make it mandatory in the houses. If previous guests leave toilet tissue, the housekeepers leave it for the next guests. Guests know what toilet tissue they prefer and they can bring it, as the listing for each of our homes states they must. We hope you took time to relax in the hot tub, enjoy a fire in the unique fireplace, and shoot some pool! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Spacious

  • 5 of 5

My family of 8 had a great time. There was plenty of space for everyone. Everything was clean and well kept. My sister and brother-in-law enjoyed the hot tub on the back deck. One small, small thing would be just to add another TV. My mother wanted to watch her Game Shows all day. LOL. But I would definitely recommend this house to my friends and family. Looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review. We're so pleased you enjoyed the house. We look forward to having you come stay with us, again! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Do Not waste your money for this house

  • 1 of 5

Do Not go by view the house you don't know what is going inside the house. Full of alive bugs. AC wasn't working the sheet comforters beding are smell bad. Hotles much cleaner than this. So please don't make this family vaction.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry you did not like the house. In response to your deceptive review I will reply with the following: 1) The house is treated for pests every 4 months, by a professional pest control company. It recently had a treatment. The entire exterior of the house was coated. Every window and dorway was treated, inside and out. Any insents, spiders, centipedes, etc. that happen to make it past the walls, windows or doors die very soon after because they have crossed the lethal barrier the pest control company sprayed. Since we are not there 24 hours a day we can't clean up the dead and dying bugs 24 hours a day. We sent housekeepers to clean them up the afternoon of the day before your arrival. The day you checked out, they cleaned up about 8 dead bugs, so if you cleaned up any while you were in the house ONLY 8 more came in and died. That is a small amount for a 2500 square foot house in the woods. Yesterday there were 2 dead bugs. The pest control treatment is working to keep bugs away, and kill those that persist in entering the house. 2) The breaker for the air conditioning had tripped off, probably during a recent storm when the electric power flickered. One of our office staff tried explaining this to the sister of the woman who rented the house when she called. That person did not want to receive help on the phone and refused to go check the breaker. This meant you had to wait for the maintenance man to come to the house, check the breaker right away, and flip it back on. You would have had air conditioning much sooner if you'd allowed yourselves to receive the help we tried to give you on the phone. 3) Our housekeepers use Tide pods to launder the linens. White linens also have Clorox bleach used on them, colored linens have Clorox 2 used on them. All we can figure is you don't like that scent, and we apologise for that. There is no way we can know what combination of laundry scents each guest prefers. We just use what we know will work to properly clean the bed linens. Rest assured, we won't be charging you the additional $60 it took to clean every window children could reach and smear their hands all over with what looked to be Crisco shortening. Again, we are sorry you did not like the house that brings many families back over & over. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Raleigh, NC
5

Wonderful chalet with the National Forest in the backyard

  • 5 of 5

Massanutten was a central location for my family members who are scattered throughout the Mid-Atlantic states. I chose Chestnut villa based on the photos, description, and amenities. With the proximity to strenuous outdoor activities, we all knew we wanted a hot tub in which to soak at the end of the day. We also wanted a house with multiple levels to give us privacy when we wanted it. The house did not disappoint. In addition, it was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the multiple decks gave us great views front and back. If we come back to Massanutten for another weekend, we will definitely book this house if it is available.

  • Submitted: May 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We're all very pleased you enjoyed the house and had a wonderful stay. We welcome you back, any time. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation Team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

In Massanutten: All the recreational facilities in Massanutten are a 10 minutes or less drive from this home!

Outdoor Swimming Pool, Skiing, Snowboarding, Snow Tubing, Arboretum, Playgrounds, Go-Kart Track, Summer Tubing, Tennis, Golf, Miniature Golf, Fishing, Hiking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Water Park, Large Arcade Room, Skate Park, Dining.

Outside Massanutten: Day Spa, Antiquing, Museums, Shenandoah River, Swimming, Fishing, Hunting, Canoeing, Kayaking, Scenic Train Rides, Skyline Drive, Wineries, Natural Bridge, Art and Pottery Galleries, Dining, Historic Downtowns, Caverns, Shopping, Colleges & Universities, Churches, Mosque and Synagogue.

Charlottesville, Harper's Ferry, Lexington, Richmond, Roanoke, Staunton, and Washington D.C. are all within a 1-3 hour drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Massanutten House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Spring
May 8 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
Memorial Day wknd
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$375
$2,250
 
 
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$375
$2,250
 
 
Labor Day weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$375
$2,250
 
 
Early Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
Fall
Oct 30 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$375
$2,250
 
 
Late Fall
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 7 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
Christmas - New Year's
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$375
$2,250
 
 
MLK Jr wknd
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
$375
$2,250
 
 
Presidents' Day wknd
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 19 2018
3 night minimum stay
$375
$2,250
 
 
Early Spring
Mar 19 2018 - Mar 29 2018
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
Easter
Mar 30 2018 - Apr 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$375
$2,250
 
 
Spring
Apr 2 2018 - May 2 2018
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
JMU Graduation weekend
May 3 2018 - May 6 2018
3 night minimum stay
$375
$2,250
 
 
Spring
May 7 2018 - May 24 2018
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
Memorial Day weekend
May 25 2018 - May 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
$375
$2,250
 
 
4th of July
Jul 1 2018 - Jul 7 2018
3 night minimum stay
$375
$2,250
 
 
Labor Day weekend
Aug 31 2018 - Sep 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
$375
$2,250
 
 
Early Fall
Sep 4 2018 - Sep 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning fee $100

Low Rates apply during non-holiday dates and non-Mid rate dates.
Mid Rates apply Summer, Peak Fall, and Ski Season.
Low & Mid: 2 night minimum.
Holiday Rates apply:
MLK Jr, Presidents', Easter, JMU Graduation, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day, weekends AND Thanksgiving, and Christmas week to New Year's Day weekend.
Holidays: 3 night minimum.

Full amount must be paid one month prior to check-in.
If reservation is made well in advance, $200 is to be paid and the balance paid one month prior to check-in.
Massanutten Vacation accepts VISA, MasterCard, and Discover.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers

You might like these similar properties