Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

HOT TUB!! POOL TABLE!! WIFI! 5 BEDRMs

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms. 4 bathrooms.

This home, Chestnut Villa, is professionally managed by Massanutten Vacation, a local vacation rental home company.

To book this home you need to complete one of our leases. We will send it to you once we have your home address, email address and cell phone number.

Home Description:

1 king bed. 5 queen beds. 1 queen sleep sofa.

HOT TUB, WIFI, CABLE TV, FIREPLACE, POOL TABLE, HUGE WINDOWS AND MOUNTAIN VIEWS!!!

This eclectic, 3-level, A-frame house is brimming with charm! Comfortably furnished and colorfully decorated. Paintings and vintage decor are in every room.

HOT TUB on the back deck off the middle level with views up into the George Washington National Forest!

Stone and marble floors, hardwood floors, beamed living room ceiling and walls of windows so you can enjoy the views year-round! The George Washington National Forest is your backyard.

Lounge and soak in the antique claw-foot bathtub, snuggle near the fireplace with a good book, lose yourself in the views, appreciate the artwork on the walls of every room. Chestnut Villa is a thoughtful blend of the antique, vintage and new.

High speed WIRELESS internet service, cable TVs in the living room and in the king bedroom.

1-3 minutes away are our Angle House, Massanutten's Serenity and Mountain Retreat homes. A 2-3 minute drive away are these homes of ours: Great Escape, Poplar Cottage, Gobbler's Roost, Bear's Den & Old Coot's Cabin.

SMOKING IS PERMITTED OUTSIDE, ONLY, ON THIS PROPERTY.

LINENS FOR ALL BEDS INCLUDED. GUESTS MUST BRING TOWELS, and LINENS FOR THE SLEEP SOFA.

LEGAL MAXIMUM OCCUPANCY: 14 PEOPLE

Enter the house from the ground level or go up the stairs to the deck on the middle level and enter the house.

Ground Level: This level of the house has a family room converted to a bedroom with a queen bed. There is also a full bathroom with a tub/shower combo, a laundry room, and the garage is now a game room with a pool table. Keep warm in the game room with the toasty space heater.

Upstairs (middle level): Go up the stairs into the kitchen. This cool eat-in kitchen is right next to the dining area in the great room. Patio doors take you from the kitchen to the deck. The deck wraps around the back, one side and the front of the house! The kitchen is outfitted with all major appliances (stove has 2 burners and a Jenn-Air-type grill. You can cook in pots on the grill section, too!) and quite a few small appliances. There is a hand-held food blender, and a food processor, and more. A breakfast bar and a tall bar table are in the kitchen. There is also a wine fridge!

Off the kitchen is the big, long great room. Closest to the kitchen is the dining area. A big table, several chairs and an antique church pew give your family room to eat together.

On the other side of the great room is the living room. 2 sofas and a recliner, flat screen cable TV, colorful paintings and lots of windows so you can really enjoy the view. Between the dining & living areas is a large stone gas log fireplace (for use Oct 1st through Mar 31st, only) with side windows so you can see the fire from anywhere in the room!

Off the living room, and also down the hall from the kitchen, is a bedroom with 2 queen sleigh beds. This bedroom has a full bathroom, and a door leads out to the hallway. The bathroom is quite large (all the bathrooms in the house are big) and it has a step-in shower AND an antique claw-foot bathtub!

A flight of stairs takes you to the Top Floor: 3 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms are on this level. The bedroom in the front of the house has a king bed and a flat screen cable TV. A door in this bedroom leads to another bedroom. That bedroom has a queen bed and has another door out to the hallway. A full bathroom with a tub/shower combo is in the hallway, just outside the king bedroom.

At the back of the house there is another bedroom with a queen bed, and a full bathroom with a tub/shower combo. This bedroom has patio doors that lead out to a deck. Stairs from the deck lead to the deck of the middle level of the house.

This Massanutten Vacation Home is approximately 2500 square feet, and is ready for your visit with the following items:

* Central air & heat

* Linens for all beds

* Pillows, Blankets

* Toaster or toaster oven

* Coffee maker and filters

* Cookware, bakeware and dinnerware

* Washing machine & dryer

* Microwave oven

* Cable TVs

* Dishwasher

Items you will need to bring:

* Bath towels, hand towels and washcloths

* Cell phone (no landline phone at this home) * Dishwasher & dish detergent

* Laundry detergent

* Camera & film

* Trash bags

* Paper goods (bathroom tissue & paper towels)

* Baby items

* Toiletries

***10% MILITARY DISCOUNT on the rental fee given when you reserve this home. Holidays are excluded. Thank you for your service!

Stipulations:

1) The reservation must be in the name of the person whose name is on the military ID.

2) A copy of your unexpired U.S. military ID card, current orders, or Veteran's Administration ID must be submitted with your signed rental contract to get this discount.

Mark through all social security numbers on the military ID copy.

Write MILITARY next to the Payment Details on page 1 of your rental contract.

Your rental contract will not show the discounted amount. Military discount will be applied once your rental agreement & military ID are received in our office.

3) Military IDs received after payment has been made will not be honored for the discount.

4) This discount is given to active duty, reservists and retired military persons.

5) Military discount is not given to civilians, civilian affiliates, contractors, Senior Executive Service (SES), Federal affiliates or Military affiliates accompanying the Armed Forces.

All Reservations: Refundable security deposit and cleaning fee additional.

ALL DISCOUNTS & SPECIALS:

1) Not valid in combination with any other discounts.

2) Not valid on reservations made previous to special rates being posted.

Please call 5402899033for more info.

More Details

Property Manager
Katrina, Laresa, and Kathy
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 12, 2017

Map

Car: necessary

In Massanutten: All the recreational facilities in Massanutten are a 10 minutes or less drive from this home!

Outdoor Swimming Pool, Skiing, Snowboarding, Snow Tubing, Arboretum, Playgrounds, Go-Kart Track, Summer Tubing, Tennis, Golf, Miniature Golf, Fishing, Hiking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Water Park, Large Arcade Room, Skate Park, Dining.

Outside Massanutten: Day Spa, Antiquing, Museums, Shenandoah River, Swimming, Fishing, Hunting, Canoeing, Kayaking, Scenic Train Rides, Skyline Drive, Wineries, Natural Bridge, Art and Pottery Galleries, Dining, Historic Downtowns, Caverns, Shopping, Colleges & Universities, Churches, Mosque and Synagogue.

Charlottesville, Harper's Ferry, Lexington, Richmond, Roanoke, Staunton, and Washington D.C. are all within a 1-3 hour drive.

Amenities

Massanutten House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , This bathroom is between ground floor bedroom & billiard rm.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , Clawfoot tub. Shower. Off 2 qn bedrm/down hall from kitchen.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Top floor, near King bedroom.
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Top floor back queen bedroom suite.
  • 4 full bathrooms. Bathroom(s) on each floor of the house.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Ground floor family room is now a bedroom. Full bath.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen , 2 queen beds off great rm on middle level.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , King bed in the top floor bedroom at the front of the house.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Queen bed. Room is accessible from hallway & king bedroom.
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Queen bed. Room is at back of house. Full bathroom.
  • 5 bedrooms. 1 on the ground floor, 1 on the middle floor, and 3 upstairs. The living room has a queen sleep sofa.
Entertainment:
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
16% Complete
8% Complete
8% Complete
16% Complete
HOT TUB!! POOL TABLE!! WIFI! 5 BEDRMs
average rating of 3.75 based on 12 reviews
Carlisle
5

Tons of Fun!!!

  • 5 of 5

Great house with lots of space. Very affordable. Love the hot tub and big deck!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your 5-star review. We are so happy you enjoyed our Chestnut Villa house! We look forward to having your family come stay with us, again. the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Just about what we expected and needed

  • 4 of 5

The listing was accurate in terms of the location, layout, and amenities. It was very clean when we arrived, and all the utilities (water, electricity, etc.) worked properly. I liked that it had central air conditioning (rather than window-installed air conditioning).

The house as well as its furniture is a little old-timey, but it wasn't bad by any means.

I think the main thing I might improve about our stay here is the directions we were given. Instead of giving us a map, the directions were along the lines of "Go down Aubrey Road for about five minutes, then when you see the second church, make an immediate right turn. Go down this road for another 10 minutes, and then once you pass a three-story house with red windows make an immediate left urn." These were mildly difficult to follow, and they were also sometimes written for cars starting out at the entrance to the resort but would neglect to mention that the directions are for cars starting out at the entrance.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of our Chestnut Villa house. We're very pleased you liked the house, and enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry you didn't appreciate the driving directions to the office or to the house. Our driving directions don't mention how many minutes you will drive on any roads, because we don't know what speed you'll be driving. The driving directions state how many miles you will drive on each road, before you make a turn. The driving directions from our rental office (where all our guests check in) explain the mileage to the Massanutten entrance, then tell you how to get to the house, with the mileage on each road before making any turns. I am wondering if you mentioned driving directions you received from someone else about some other place! Perhaps you rented a 2nd house from someone else and your comments are about the driving directions for that other property. Nevertheless, we hope you will come back to stay with us, again! Sincerely, Katrina Nelson- rental manager Massanutten Vacation
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Clinton, MD
2

Subpar

  • 2 of 5

We arrived after hours and tried to open the lock box to get the paperwork and keys and the code provided in the packet didn't work. Had to stand in the rain and call the number left on the office door to get the correct code. Cleanliness of house upon arrival was subpar. We had to clean the kitchen and bathrooms before use. House could use a little bit of updating. The pictures were deceiving to what I expected.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry you did not have an A+ experience with one of our rentals. I do not understand the problem with the lockbox code; it worked for all our other guests that weekend and it worked for us when we opened the lockbox to retrieve all the returned keys and pool passes on Sunday and Monday. The house was cleaned, by two of our housekeepers, the day of your arrival...for hours. It then passed our rigorous inspection. If anything had been missed, which it had not, the housekeepers would have had to re-clean with the inspector supervising. Expect exactly what is in the pictures of the house, because that is how it is furnished and decorated. If anything is replaced I take pictures and update the listing so our guests know what to expect when they arrive. The Chestnut Villa is one of our most popular homes, because of it's size, how many people it legally accommodates, the hot tub, pool table & WIFI, and it's lower than usual rental fee. Again, I am sorry the weather and house did not meet your expectations. I do hope you will come back to stay with us, again. Sincerely, Katrina Nelson- rental manager Massanutten Vacation 11566 Model Road Elkton VA 22827
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice stay at Chestnut Villa

  • 5 of 5

Overall the house was nice and had plenty of room. The room on the first floor was a little cold. The driveway is a bit steep but a majority of the driveways were steep...the house is on a mountain. Katrina and Laresa were great!

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review, and your kind words about Laresa and Katrina. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to having your family come stay with us, again! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Out of date but acceptable

  • 3 of 5

The most disappointing thing was the kitchen. We brought food to make breakfast and ended up ruining most of our food because the stove was impossible and the pans were so old so everything either immediately burned or didn't cook. The kitchen desperately needs an upgrade. Also only 2 people got hot showers. The water was then ice cold and some people just chose not to shower while others endured freezing showers. This was very disappointing and frustrating. All other accommodations were satisfactory but we would not stay at this house or recommend it to anyone else.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Chestnut Villa! We appreciate your feedback (and would have liked to have known about the issues while you were still here, so we could fix them) and will do what we can to make improvements in the home. We'll look into the kitchen issues, though families who stayed after you complimented the kitchen amenities and were able to cook & bake with no problems. As is standard knowledge, the conventional hot water heater needs as much time to heat water for everyone who wants to shower, just like the hot water heater in any other home (except for tankless water heaters). If 14 people, in a row want to shower they will not all have hot water unless they wait. When in your own home, or in a vacation home, showers should be planned so everyone has the hot water they need. Our goal, for all our guests, is for every one of them to have a wonderfully memorable stay. When this does not happen, we work hard to make certain the home is improved for everyone else who will be coming to stay. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation tea,
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Funky layout but great stay!

  • 4 of 5

Beds were comfy and the house was clean. Property is right on the resort so that made it really convienent. The stove should be replaced it doesnt heat well. They dont provide bath towels or even toilet tissue so be prepared. Overall it was fun.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We're so glad you had a fun stay! We have contacted the home owner about the stove. It has always worked before, but if it isn't working it'll be fixed or replaced! We do not provide bath towels so that we can give you a later check-out time. Having towels in the house means the housekeepers would need more time to do the laundry...meaning they'd need to get in the house at 9 a.m. instead of 11 a.m. We conducted a survey to see what guests would prefer and bringing their own towels so they can have a later check-out won. The lease, which can be read before signing & paying, explains to our guests to bring their own towels. Housekeepers leave toilet tissue when they have it, but we get phone calls all the time asking for different toilet tissue, so we just don't make it mandatory in the houses. If previous guests leave toilet tissue, the housekeepers leave it for the next guests. Guests know what toilet tissue they prefer and they can bring it, as the listing for each of our homes states they must. We hope you took time to relax in the hot tub, enjoy a fire in the unique fireplace, and shoot some pool! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $300

Low Rates apply during non-holiday dates and non-Mid rate dates.
Mid Rates apply Summer, Peak Fall, and Ski Season.
Low & Mid: 2 night minimum.
Holiday Rates apply:
MLK Jr, Presidents', Easter, JMU Graduation, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day, weekends AND Thanksgiving, and Christmas week to New Year's Day weekend.
Holidays: 3 night minimum.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties