Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 1
Space 666 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

Isla Verde one bedroom apt. with a beautiful panoramic view close to everything.

Why the "5 Star rated" review headline claim? Easy, during last year 45% of our HomeAway/VRBO guests voluntarily reviewed their stay and gave us a top 5 Star review. This is a very high review percentage. Rather than try to explain it, we will allow verified guests speak for themselves.

We start with a visitor to Puerto Rico: “….once we arrived at the condo and took one look out the window, it was paradise again! And that was in the middle of the night. For the rest of the trip my wife asked me "How did you find this place?!" We shopped around while we were there and did not find a better priced condo, nor one with a better view, nor one in a better location. 10 out of 10 for this condo.”

Now comes the toughest guest.... a repeat, experienced visitor to Isla Verde, Puerto Rico: “…..with a clear conscience I can only write a stellar review. I have stayed in several VRBO and airbnb units in the San Juan area and this was my favorite by far. If you are looking for fancy, with bells and whistles...this is not for you. If you want clean, safe, great location, free parking, lovely beach, comfy bed, and not mildew smelling AT ALL (a big plus in these older waterfront Isla Verde condos) then this is the spot for you! The management company was easy to deal with and the owner was attentive to our questions.” Another lovely lady recently stated "We have traveled to San Juan a number of times and stayed in other condos, but this one was our favorite."

My Marbella apt.'s description now follows:

One bedroom oceanfront apt with a queen size bed and a brand new sleeper sofa suitable for 1-2 children or a third (maybe fourth) adult. It has a beautiful panoramic 17th floor ocean view. It is located in the middle of Isla Verde beach which is not only San Juan’s best but was recently rated by Travel and Leisure magazine as one of the top 10 best city beach in the world. Isla Verde beach is one of the most exciting areas of San Juan, alive with cafes, restaurants, nightlife as well as convenient supermarkets and drugstores. Kite surfing lessons, jet ski rentals, umbrella and beach chair rentals are available right on the beach.

This is a fully equipped self-catering apt. All linens, bath towels and beach towels, cooler as well as beach chairs are provided. It has Wi-Fi and a Cable TV Premium package plus eight Showtime channels . The apt. has three flat screen TV's including a spare one.

The unit is cleaned before your arrival and after you check out. For long term stays additional cleaning can be arranged for a $50 charge. The apt.'s Property manager is located in the same building and is available Monday to Friday during office hours and Saturday until noontime in case of any eventuality.

Marbella del Caribe is a popular and well maintained oceanfront two building complex with 24x7 security and is completely gated. The apt. has a very convenient designated underground free parking space. Even though the airport is less than 10 minutes there is no noise. The two building Marbellla complex has extensive grounds, a beautiful large 25 meter long pool, a large BBQ area and a basketball court.

Nearby, there are banks, souvenir shops and a Cyber cafe. Across the street you find Charlie's car rental and a 24 x 7 Walgreens that has just about everything one could need from food to beach gear. There are also two (Pueblo and Super Max) well stocked supermarkets nearby.

Several upscale hotels and casinos are found less than 5 minute walk away offering high end dining, casinos and other attractions to enjoy. These hotels include Wyndham El San Juan Hotel & Casino, The Water Club San Juan and the Inter Continental San Juan Resort & Casino. Also, there is a vast array of restaurants within a few blocks ranging from any possible type of Fast Food plus Italian, Japanese, Chinese, American-International, Cuban and the best Puertorican cuisine.

Isla Verde’s beach is a long and wide sandy beach located near Old San Juan and other tourist attractions. Aside from a beautiful beach, the Isla Verde area is very well located. Taxis, Uber and buses are always available on the 'main drag'. East of Isla Verde, beautiful Fajardo beach is found which also has a wonderful set of rustic kiosks serving tasty local food such as alcapurrias, bacalaítos, pasteles, and empanadillas. These meat and vegetable filled turnovers and fritters represent Puerto Rico's greasy, crispy, artery-clogging contribution to the world of fast food.

The apt. is close to many beautiful and historical places to visit as well as outdoor activities and challenging golf courses. El Yunque National Forest is a couple of miles inland from Fajardo and is the only tropical rain forest in the US. If you like to hike or kayak , PR is the place to go. The Island's interior has coffee plantations as well as an extensive cave system and the world famous Arecibo observatory. The NW corner has wonderful surfing.

A short flight away from San Juan you find the Virgin Islands with its duty free shopping. The Virgin Islands also offer the additional option to charter a crewed or bare boat sailboat and spend a week sailing the Virgins island. Another option is to take a Caribbean cruise departing from the San Juan seaport.

More Details

Argelio Maldonado
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2017

About Argelio Maldonado

For over 10 years, I worked exclusively with a Property Manager located in the same building whose primary target market are Corporations and the Catholic church. However, due to PR's economic downturn the Corporate demand for rentals dropped dramatically. Thus, a diversification rental strategy aimed at individuals was launched. In order to make sure that my guests' stay goes well, I have made arrangements (ie, pay an additional commission) with the same experienced Property manager to coordinate the renter's stay. He handles the keys, your check in and check out and can be approached Monday to Friday during office hours and Saturday until noon in case of any eventuality with the apt.

In order to be on any preferred corporate list an owner must be willing to: 1) offer very competitive rental rates (which I also offer you) and 2) maintain the apt.'s premises up to their standards, otherwise, you are not considered. I recently bought new high end artwork (Fanch Ledan,love his stuff) for the living and dining rooms. In addition, the bath was painted and repaired.

Why Argelio Maldonado chose Puerto Rico

Marbella del Caribe is a very well maintained building. I also try to do the same with my apt. I am not perfect but I do try. Also, as a renter to have the advantage of having access to an on-premises Property manager which is truly very important. His job is to make sure your stay goes well and that you enjoy your Puerto Rico stay.

The building has FREE parking. It also offers security guard 24 hours, 7 days a week, Coin Laundromat, tennis and large pool with BBQ and tables. The area offers a wide variety of restaurants and food delivery by some restaurants.

What makes this condo unique

-Location, location, location

-17th floor beautiful ocean view,

-Well maintained building

-Excellent reviews

-Free WIFI and very convenient free parking


Cangrejo Arriba Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 17
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 666 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Elevator
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Ocean view and includes its own TV set.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • coin laundry
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

average rating of 4.9069767 based on 43 reviews

5 star view and great customer service!

  • 4 of 5

First, Argelio was extremely helpful, accommodating and offered absolutely excellent on dining options as well as superb water sports, history, cultural and fun experiences. He adds a delightful personal touch, including the hand-written thank you note following our trip. The unit itself was nearly perfect for a couples trip, just enough room and the unit was stocked with kitchen supplies, beach chairs/umbrella, cooler, amongst other things. The only three areas in which I feel there could be improvement would be the bathroom as the toilet flushes SO loud and the bathing towels provided (only 2 each of wash cloths & bathing towels) that were mismatched, white washcloths with black & brown stains. There were beach towels supplied, so it wasn't really a big deal, and I'm positive Argelio would have replaced the towels if we asked, which we didn't. The closet didn't have much space for hanging clothes as the beach gear and cleaning/repair supplies were stored in the bedroom closet. But again, Argelios superb customer service, the well kept grounds, proximity to the beach (literally a 1-2 minute walk) and the included parking made up for everything. I would most definitely rent from Argelio in the future. Enjoy your stay & your trip!

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you had a good time and that you are planning to return. A happy repeat guest is truly the bedrock of a successful rental business. I truly wish you had brought the towel issue to my property manager's attention. Customer satisfaction is very important to me and that is why I have someone on site to address them. Anyway, four new sets of towels were just ordered.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

great place for a nice vacation

  • 4 of 5

Great view, clean, well furnished and close to what you need. Things for top notch rating would be hot tub, exercise facility and better laundry option.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you enjoyed my place. My property manager and I try hard to provide a nice place to stay. Your comment about the building provides me with a wonderful segway to comment about the Isla Verde rental market. Specifically, the older buildings (20-40 years) such as mine are better situated with large common grounds and varied facilities but fall short of having high end amenities. For instance, my building has a wonderful pool, playground, BBQ and even a tennis court but lacks other amenities such as a hot tub and its small exercise room is very limited. The newer buildings build in smaller lots when land was more expensive have more amenities but lack the other common facilities such as a tennis court etc. Furthermore, they rentals tend to be more expensive.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The property just as expected clean and neat.

  • 5 of 5

The three week stay at #1707 was just like our stay last year . Clean, well kept exact;y as we left it last year. The area is great all your needs are near your doorstep.

The surrounding area was great, we had a few glitches in the apartment which are not worth mentioning; anyway the managerial agent, Lorraine, corrected all almost immediately.

What can we say we already booked again for 2018 I guess that says it all.

Argelio, the owner, cannot be any better to work with any questions or needs are always quickly taken care of.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Little by little 1707 east Marbella is becoming a repeat business made up of folks such as you that appreciate a predictable and satisfying stay. The 17th floor view helps but my property manager and I also try hard to provide the best value for the money that we can possibly deliver.As requested, your 2018 lease was mailed today for your perusal. See you next year, 1707 east awaits..
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

The View is Amazing!

  • 4 of 5

When you first enter the condo, the ocean view is spectacular. The balcony is a comfortable size to sit and enjoy the view of the ocean and the beach. There is a massage tent set up just in front of the condo on the beach that is open TH-MO. I did not have a massage, but the posted prices seemed reasonable. Back to the condo...the living/dining area is nice and the sofa is comfortable. The kitchen is small, but I did no cooking while I was there. The bedroom was a good size and the bed was comfortable. Once again, the view from the bedroom window was great. However, only 2 of the 4 blinds would pull down and stay down, so if you don't want to wake up at the crack of dawn, this could be a problem. My biggest disappointment was with the bathroom. I expected it to be small, but I also expected it to be clean. It was not cleaned to my standards. There was dust/lint/mold along the baseboards which should have been removed. I was unable to get hold of the property manager while I was there to have this taken care of. The property managers did not return either of my phone calls. As for the location of the condo, it was great. There is a 24 hour Walgreens right across the street which was handy for buying water or snacks, etc. There is a bus stop right in front of the condo which I took to Old San Juan (75 cents)...took about 30 minutes. I took Uber back to the condo (about $10). was a useful website for info on the area. I did the ziplines at Campo Rico ( and the tour guide picked me up in front of the condo. This was a fun day....7 ziplines and 5 suspension bridges, plus lunch. I also did an El Yunque hiking tour (, and that guide picked me up just outside the condo as well. There is a lot of standing around time on this tour waiting for everyone to get pictures. The actual hiking portion of the tour is really just a descent from a parking lot down to La Mina Falls, and then the hike to the parking lot where the van picks you up again. All of that is hard surface, but it is wet, so you will have to be careful and watch where you are stepping. Overall, a nice vacation.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I pay my Property manager a premium vs market for my cleaning, thus, I was not pleased to hear about the dirty bathroom. Jose tells me that he already spoke with the maid responsible for my condo’s cleaning. I am now certain that if you were to return you will not find a dirty bathroom. Regarding the blinds, we always ask guests to let us know about any missed shortcomings upon arrival. We are always quick to remedy any issue. A word about my property manager.... I have been a satisfied customer for over 20 years. San Juan Vacations has survived in a very competitive market because they try hard. Usually, at least one of the four folks that work at the office is present. I do not know why the office was unattended but I have asked Jose. I am glad you enjoyed your vacation. PR has a great deal to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Spectacular 17th floor condo

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful condo just as described. The view was spectacular. Plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. The beach and pool were great and it was very nice to have beach chairs and towels. Laundry is a little expensive. We will certainly return here!

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear that you are planning to come back. PR is such a wonderful place to visit. My building is close to everything and with excellent transportation as well as car rental options......truly, a perfect location.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

I will return!

  • 5 of 5

I will begin by stating that the owner and all involved were available to answer any question I had and were very gracious. My girlfriend and I were vacationing in PR with another couple. Both condos were nice but I had the better view and better parking spot (in my opinion)! I was not able to use all of the amenities because we simply were not at the condo much. Every day was an ALL DAY adventure and we basically just came back to sleep. Everything worked and everything was as described. I read several reviews that complained about all the keys and gates. I did not see it as a problem...actually I felt safer when I was on the grounds. The beach was great and the security guard at the entrance was both friendly and knowledgeable about the area and suggested some non-touristy sites. I would definitely recommend this condo to anyone looking for a reasonable place to stay with a GREAT location.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: .....and Marbella 1707 will be awating! I am glad you enjoyed PR which has so much to offer the visitor. It is amazing how an island roughly 30x100 miles has such a wide variety of places to visit and things to do. Regarding the locks, they not only offer peace of mind but they prevent outsiders from using our facilities. Marbella has by far the largest and best kept common grounds in Isla Verde beach. Prior to implementing the limited access it was an ongoing problem havingoutsiders using our pool, BBQ, tennis and basketball courts etc.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0


Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Munoz Marin International
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Old San Juan to Catano(Bacardi)
Nearest Golf
13 Miles
Wyndham Rio Mar Resory
Nearest Train
6 Miles
Sagrado Corazon St.
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Baldorioty de Castro
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
1 Metres
Isla Verde beach
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Cangrejo Arriba Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Apr 17 2017 - May 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 10 2017
3 night minimum stay
Sep 11 2017 - Nov 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 2 2018
4 night minimum stay
Peak Winter
Jan 3 2018 - Apr 16 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $75 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 7.0%

Are you flexible with your vacation dates? See some empty dates in the next 30 days that fit your schedule?
Send us an email or call us. We can give you an attractive offer. You will be pleasantly surprised!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Ask a Question Ask a Question

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties