Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Delightful Hawaiian home with private pool Perfect for reunions! Walk to beach !

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 4,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful spacious home 6 bedrooms 3.5 baths open floor plan & private pool

Beautiful Hawaiian home in a wonderful location !! Chef`s Kitchen ! Centrally Air conditioned !

For 2018 bookings please book thru our new listing ID 4623480 on HomeAway & VRBO

6 Bedroom 3.5 bathrooms

This home comfortably sleeps 10-12 and has large open living spaces. Enjoy the trade winds while BBQ'ing on the gas grill located on the patio off the private pool Perfect retreat for a family looking to be out of the hustle and bustle of Waikiki but still close to all the activities for families & kids .

Enjoy the tranquil beauty of Hawaii while only minutes from Waikiki.

Take a short ride or even walk to Kokohead Shopping Center for local apparel shops & restaurants. A five minute drive will take you to another mall across the marina to a Safeway,Costco, and more restaurants from Italian to sushi or just buy your groceries from Wholefoods Market just 15 minutes away at Kahala Mall and make yourself a gourmet meal overlooking Kokohead.

You will enjoy a year round indoor-outdoor lifestyle with an open and spacious floor plan . Short 2 -3 min drive will take you to the breathtaking views of Moanalua Bay, Diamond Head and Koko Head craters.

Conveniently located off of Kalanianaole Hwy gives you fast access to destinations such as Hanauma Bay, shopping, restaurants, sightseeing, world-class golfing as well as Waikiki. Just a quick 3-5 minute drive will take you to the sandy beaches of Oahu's south shore & the most popular Waimanalo beach.

Very conveniently located: Five minutes to Roy’s restaurant, Five min to Costco, Safeway, Longs, etc. Two min to ocean activities. Minutes to Hawaii Kai Golf Course &10 min to Kahala Mall. Conveniently located for all your east side Honolulu life. Be in Waikiki in just 15-20 minutes. Take a 10 minute breathtaking drive to world famous surf spots Sandy Beach and Makapuu along Kalanianaole Hwy.With this conveniently located vacation home, you can take advantage of some great shopping at Kahala Mall, sunset sailing and canoe rides in Waikiki (5 minutes), snorkeling at world famous Hanauma Bay (10 minutes), great restaurants, beaches, surfing, tennis and golf.

An endless array of activities to do will keep you busy and making the most of your time spent in Hawaii. From walking the beach to hiking, snorkeling, surfing, windsurfing, and tennis to golfing, sailing, jogging, shopping, dining site seeing or just relaxing you'll never run out of activities to do. This beautiful Hawaiian vacation home are just minutes away from Diamond Head Crater, Doris Duke's Shangri La, Waikiki, Kapiolani Park, Honolulu Aquarium and Zoo, The Kahala Hotel and Resort, the Waialae Country Club (home of the Sony Open golf tournament). Other places to include while vacationing in Hawaii are Downtown Honolulu, Bishop Museum, Honolulu Museum of Arts, Hanauma Bay, Sandy Beach, Sea Life Park.

More Details

Property Manager
Sonya Serene
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 15, 2017

Map

Car: necessary

Situated in one of the most scenic neighborhoods in Honolulu Hawaii Kai is known for peace and quiet. But it is also close to Koko Marina where all the water sports equipment can be rented . Close to Hanuama Bay , the snorkeling heaven.

Amenities

Hawaii Kai House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 4500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Max. adults: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 23
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Contract to be signed prior to arrival . If no contract is signed no refund will be issued due to any circumstances.
  • Must disclose additional guests including children over 5 years of age if occupancy is over 10 People
  • No events or parties allowed without permission or disclosure .
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Master bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
8% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Delightful Hawaiian home with private pool Perfect for reunions! Walk to beach !
average rating of 4.826087 based on 23 reviews
5

Quality all the way. This property has to be seen to be believed. Sonya is a brilliant host too.

  • 5 of 5

We had a family holiday, which included a five night stay in Honolulu. We all agreed that Sonya's house suited our needs, so made our booking.

Wow, were we happy with our choice. Sonya was super helpful, and made us so very welcome. The house was amazing. Perfect for our needs. Plenty of room for a big family or group. Several areas where we could gather as a group and chill out. The pool was amazing too. Everything we needed was there. An amazing kitchen, and what a location!! Just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki, so we could relax in peace, but only a twenty minute trip in to the heart of everything.

Close to plenty of restaurants & shops, plus plenty to do for those who are active, including snorkeling & water sports.

If you stay anywhere else, you are doing yourself a disservice.

I, and my family, strongly recommend you stay here. You will not be disappointed.

Thank you Sonya, for making our family holiday so very very memorable. And thank you for being such a wonderfully welcoming host.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Peter What an awesome review !! Thank you so much for your kind words but most of all for sharing the joy you felt visiting Hawaii the magical paradise :) It was my absolute pleasure to host you and your family ! This is the reason we love what we do here in Hawaii because of all the wonderful memories families make in any house that can have everyone Stay & Play together ! Please contact me when ever you are ready to come back :) Mahalo Sonya Serene
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Royal Oak, Michigan
4

Great location and host, house needs some TLC

  • 4 of 5

I base all of my vacation rentals on the reviews from prior guests and I appreciate knowing what I am getting myself into, both good and bad. Most of the reviews I read prior to booking stated that the house is immaculate and the property manager is a gem. Indeed, Sonya is great to work with and very accommodating - quick to reply via text & allowed us late check out. The house however, did not meet expectations.

There are many good things about the house: Sonya is very welcoming. Location is perfect. There is space to spread out - we comfortably slept 10 - 6 adults, 4 children. The pool is nice and the kids enjoyed the floaty toys.

Unfortunately, most of the problems we encountered were in the Kitchen. It was Thanksgiving and we were looking forward to utilizing all the amenities it offered: 2refrigerators, 2dishwashers, 2ovens, a huge stovetop, and tons of counter space. We selected the house thinking we would have no problem heating up and serving a pre-cooked turkey dinner, but when we went to do so, we discovered only 1 oven worked. Sonya was willing to help us - even offered her personal oven, but we figured out a way to use the BBQ to indirectly heat the turkey. Only 1 dishwasher worked – there is a spare detachable one, it is awkward to use. The refrigerators had issues – beeping as if the door was ajar (even when shut) and woke us up in the middle of the night. The left freezer leaked after we used a tray of ice - never refilled.

Other minor things: inconsistent lighting, a leak/drywall damage in the ceiling above the center island, no oven trays or mitts, and sparse cabinets made it difficult to prepare/store food. Stovetop was glitchy too – probably on its last leg.

Bottom line, it was once a nice kitchen with top end appliances, but they are 10-15 years old now and in need of repairs/replacing.

Beyond the kitchen, only 1/6 mirror lights in the upstairs master bath worked & ~3 of the recessed lights. 1/ 2 garage door openers worked. The 1st floor bathrooms had running toilets, and a clogged sink. The BBQ should be replaced - igniters are broken. Also, you may want to note that the 6th bedroom isn’t really a separate bedroom – it has a curtain separating it from the dining room on one side, and is attached to another bedroom on the other side.

Overall, we had a great time in Hawaii. Sonya was very kind, the house met our needs for the most part, but I am not sure I could justify paying the same rate to stay here again

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Sarah for your kind words about my services and even though the house is beautiful we cannot call it luxurious for the reasons you mentioned and it needs some loving care to get back on track !! Thank you for your honest feedback though I must say the only way we come to know about the shortcoming is when the guests share their experience :) You are right about the wear and tear of appliances and sometime all we need is few weeks to get even the old appliances serviced in time for the next guests and I apologize that for your short stay these were the issues you experienced . That being said I have had every service guy out there to service each appliance , including dishwasher repair , the oven repair & have ordered a brand new BBQ grill which did not arrive on time for your stay because of Holiday rush ! As for the lights bulbs replacement I had a spare box full of light bulbs should they need replacement for all guests to use :) I do hope you consider coming back because all of these issues have been since resolved & taken care of ! I am hoping to replace some of these after the Holiday rush but I did spend a good amount of time and money to get repairs done this year to the best of my ability and availability of the service guys which are hard to find on this island during the Holiday season . Thank you once again for taking the time out to write a somewhat positive review :) Sending you ocean breeze and sunshine from paradise ! Aloha Sonya
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Hawaiian Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Great location in a quiet and upscale neighborhood. Beautiful house and grounds are well- maintained. Sonya was great and responded quickly to questions we had. Provided family of 13- 8 adults, 3 teenagers and 2 young children a relaxing place to come home to after nearby adventures such as Sandy Beach, Hanauma Bay and Koko Crater Botanical Garden. Close to convenience stores, shopping and restaurants. Highly recommend the Tranquility House.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Carol for a wonderful review ! It was my pleasure having you at The Tranquility House :) Please contact me whenever you decide to come back to make some more beautiful memories in paradise ! Aloha ! Sonya Serene
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Tranquility House

  • 3 of 5

Shows an avg per night and says that the property sleeps 14 but once you make the deal in the small print it's extra per person per nite over 10 people. We avg much more per night. Night before we arrived received list of requirements including no shoes taking out the trash cans to curb 2 nites etc. On the night before you depart you get another checklist that you're required to do all of the laundry, dishes and if there are more than four bags of trash you'll be charged $50 or you have to take everything to the dump etc. If the BBQ propane is empty you fill on your dime.The dishwashers did not work and had not worked for a very long time (power outage month previous was blamed) The freezer on the left did not work and leaked Almost every door knob on the exterior doors is broken and/or impossible to relock if you open that door The ants over took us, lost approx $300 in groceries my husband fought them off daily until finally rid of most of them. The front yard is a jungle, the outdoor dining table is a Costco folding table only room for plates not food , rust in freezer, fridge drawers cracked, 1 sm oven pan, 2 knives that cut, one TV in entire house ocean near but no beach per say. Not allowed to use the elevator. Due to early departure time damage to the house was implied, poor beds but I did get the mildew smell out of the towels! It's a big house just poorly maintained. Lovely back yard, pretty kitchen just needs maintenance.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Karen Thank you for your feed back as we value both negative and positive reviews. The listing clearly says that after 10 guests there will be an extra charge. There have been families with little 5-6 kids who have stayed at the house and once you informed me that one of the additional guest was 4 year old I promptly refunded the additional charge since you had booked thru the system that was the only way I could. And as for garbage you were not charged any thing as well and your full security deposited was refunded . It is important to inform the guests for garbage pick up days & I try and remind guests prior which is what I did :) The bugs , insects etc are part of the tropical weather and its unfortunate that you had to experience the ants before the rains finally came and stop their flow ! Also when tides are high on the south side of the island the small stretch of Portlock beach looses the sandy part ! I hope all in all you had a good time in paradise and next time if you choose to stay in any of the properties I manage I will try and make it up to you :) Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

Perfect house for our large family

  • 5 of 5

This house was absolutely beautiful, clean and perfect for our family of 9. A quick drive to grocery store, movies and restaurants. We could've walked to Koko Head and snorkeling. Sonya was such a pleasure to deal with. Our flight was severely delayed on our arrival and she had a much needed bottle of wine waiting for us and a cheese and meat plate for the kids.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Kat Thank you for your wonderful review :) It was my pleasure to host you and your beautiful family ! Please contact me whenever you are ready to come back to paradise ! Mahalo Sonya
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

My family vacation if I could rate this property o

  • 5 of 5

My family and I rented this property on May 15th through May 22nd 2017 we had an amazing time the property was very clean and well maintained the management provided great customer service I would recommend this property to friends and family we enjoy the activities and the restaurants we had an amazing time Sonya the owner has the best hospitality she was amazing we will be again

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Princess for your kind words and an awesome review :) Feel free to contact me when you are ready to come back to paradise ! Aloha Sonya
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,500
Cleaning $600 + Tax
$500 Block date deposit $0
Tax Rate 14.96%

Reservation will only be confirmed after a signed contract from the guests . There will be $500 cancellation fee for blocking the dates after 3 days of the initial deposit of $500 . This can also be paid along with the security deposit which is refundable after departure .

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.