Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Hobbity Twin in luxury weekend B&B, Hove

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 450 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow

Overview

About the property

Quirky luxury, scandi-hobbity-chic

Our large bungalow is like a luxury hobbit house. Our guests love the convenience of the location, the quirkiness of the house and the peaceful surroundings. We have three rooms available for B&B at weekends, each sleeping two and with its own bathroom. On this site the three rooms are listed individually; to book all three rooms together there is a fourth listing to make it simple. Search for B&B Hove and all four listings should come up together. This listing is for the twin room.

The Twin Room

The Twin is a large ground floor room off the downstairs hallway. It has twin divan beds and bedside drawer unit and lamp, fold down table and wardrobes. The sheer quiet seems to surprise our guests! The private bathroom is opposite (bath and hand towels provided). Solid wooden floors, with red spot rugs make this big, bright, west facing red and white room a super comfortable home for two friends or a couple.

What else?

We have gardens are on all four sides. Access to three of them is by key as the gate needs to be kept locked, but do ask. You'll have full use of the guest facilities downstairs featuring a large guest lounge and the biggest bean bag you've probably seen and two bright red settees; in the adjacent open plan dining area is a six seater dining table just off the large traditional kitchen where you can help yourself to tea and coffee.

As your resident hosts we have a separate living space - so we each have privacy but we're on hand to point you to some great places, help with transport and suggest places to eat. We also serve you an inclusive breakfast. If you wish you can store your cold food or drinks in the fridge, so, please, make yourselves at home. Do remember that unless you have booked all three rooms, there may be other guests sharing the communal areas.

Please note that the boutique character of the space makes it better suited to adults.

Our simple but beautiful breakfast is continental style. It offers you a choice of cereals or porridge, toast, croissants and jams, a dozen varieties of tea and real coffee, as well as the best orange juice, all served at a time that suits you (but before 10.30am!).

Our neighbourhood is Hove Park. It's residential but only a mile from the sea front and not much further from the Brighton city centre, Hove is only half a mile. We're on several bus routes and very near all the main routes into and out of town. We have plenty of free parking on the street and we're walking distance from Hove station.

You'll have a key to come and go as you please. We only have a few rules: We respect others' privacy and come and go quietly after 10.30pm. We leave the kitchen as we find it - pristine! Guests may make hot drinks and use the fridge but cooking is not permitted. Landline phones are not for the use of guests. Please, no outdoor shoes to be worn in the house. Groups should note that we don't allow partying or loud music even if you've booked all three rooms, sorry! Nor do we accept visitors who are not staying (unless by prior arrangement) or pets, and we're a smoke free zone. Earliest check in is 2pm and check out by 11am.

We have free broadband wi-fi and each room is equipped with a guide to the area and a bus timetable. We also offer an indie guide to hundreds of local small businesses and literature supporting the best local places to visit.

More Details

Owner
Geoff
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 28, 2017

About Geoff

Our children have flown the nest and now we have this super, big house all to ourselves. Our kids both live in London now so we've established ourselves as weekend B&B hosts. We've been thrilled by the enthusiastic response of our guests over the last two plus years.

Geoff purchased this bungalow in 2005

Why Geoff chose Brighton & Hove

Our eccentric home appeals for its hobbity exterior and its surprisingly chic and spacious interior - Tardis-like to Dr Who fans. Every room has its own bathroom, all are different in character, one even has a big round bed.

What makes this bungalow unique

Character, peace, quiet and parking for free but only a mile from the sea and the sights of the city centre and not much further to the South Downs and the Sussex countryside. Very few B&Bs can match our quirky eclectic mix of luxury and character. As this is our home our guests receive a sense of genuine hospitality.

Amenities

Hove Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Included in Price
Floor Area:
  • 450 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , Retro styling - fun and fully functional!
  • For the twin room we have time travel included. This spacious retro bathroom will take you back and remind you that good plumbing can come in many strange colours (not avocado)!
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single , Twin + private bathroom. This is the room you are booking.
  • We have 3 rooms each sleeping 2. For more than 2 people you need to book more than 1 room. This listing is for the twin room only. Sleeping two, this is a spacious twin bedded room with lots of wardrobe space and an armchair. Duvets and 2 pillows each, an orchid, bottled water and tissues are standard issue. A bedside unit has a bedside lamp and the central light is operable from bed. Your private bathroom is opposite. We also offer a double and round bed double that are listed separately. Their bathrooms are private and one is en-suite. All rooms sleep 2. Do enquire about their availability. If you rent all 3 rooms we may be able to accommodate a 7th on a sofa bed for £30. Please enquire beforehand.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Guests can help themselves to a wide variety of teas and coffees and make use of the fridge to store cold drinks.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Hobbity Twin in luxury weekend B&B, Hove
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
5

Beautiful property.

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay here. Geoff and his wife couldn't have been any more friendly, the house was perfectly clean and the breakfast was very tasty. Very close to shops and the beach. We will definitely stay here again if we go back to Brighton!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! We'd love to have you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely, quiet, friendly.

  • 4 of 5

A very nice stay. Clean, attractive property with plenty of space and lovely communal areas. Very friendly and accommodating hosts and good continental breakfast offered. Very good value for money.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely home and warm welcome

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed two nights in the Hobbit House and it was a great experience. The property is very roomy and light and we had the twin room which was very comfortable with it's own bathroom two steps across the hall (great shower!). Geoff was very welcoming and friendly and the breakfast was delicious. It was also a real bonus to be able to use the kitchen for making hot drinks for ourselves - much appreciated. This location is ideal if you are visiting Brighton but want something a bit more tranquil as your base. I wouldn't hesitate to re-book or to recommend to others.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, we really appreciate your remarks and look forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Not at all what I had expected, but we had a lovely stay anyway.

The location of the property was quite good. It was in a residential area of Brighton with a bus stop less than 100 yards away, to take you straight into Brigton Town Centre. As an alternative, a taxi cost £8 one way. There was ample free on street parking, which is bonus as parking in Brighton is both expensive and difficult to find.

The property was immaculate, as you would expect when it is someone's home. We were allocated a twin room in the centre of the very spacious bungalow, with the bathroom straight across the hall. In my mind I has expected to be in a wing or annexe, rather than in the centre of things, but this did not spoil our stay. We were able to make use of the kitchen to make hot drinks, which were amply provided and had access to a living room, which looked very comfortable and had the biggest bean bag seat I have ever seen.

Geoff and his wife were very friendly and helpful. They were keen to make sure that we had everything we needed for our stay and provided lots of relevant advice.

Breakfast was a lovely affair. It was served in a spacious dining area, with lots of natural light. It was continental with everything you could want, cereals, fresh fruit, Greek yoghurt, toast, croissants......

I would certainly recommend the property to anyone needing a base in the Brighton area.

We ate in Browns, in Duke Street and could not fault anything that we had, lots of choice and good customer service.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Valerie. It was a pleasure to host you both and we'd welcome you back any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Owners are great

  • 5 of 5

Very happy will definitely be goin back! The Ower is a true gent, lots of advice from his wife and daughter too

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely house

  • 5 of 5

Really friendly and helpful hosts, the house is lovely and the rooms are spacious and comfy

Good value for money and I would definitely stay again

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We'd love to have you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hove Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Warm1
Mar 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$97
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$84
 

Additional information about rental rates

Rates for the RoundBed double and double rooms are given in their separate listings.

NB. Check out on July 31 is 10.30am

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties