check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sisters Mary Barnum & Jeanne Barnum Josephson

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Pet Friendly Bungalow Seeks Sun, Sand and Seafood Lovers!

56 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Smyrna Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms-sleeps 4, 1 full bathroom,

This updated 1950’s Cottage is the perfect basecamp for exploring the Southern Outer Banks without breaking the bank. Located in Smyrna, 8 minutes to Harkers Island, the Cottage is in a great location to access several different adventure options: Cape Lookout, Core Banks, Davis & Cedar Island Ferries, Beaufort, Morehead City and Atlantic Beach. Enjoy central air, a well equipped kitchen with gas stove. There are two bedrooms, each accommodating 2 people (1 queen bed and 2 twin beds). On the screened-in porch, along with a delightful hammock, you will find an outside propane grill and wonderful sitting area. A fish cleaning station, ample boat parking and fenced-in back yard that is surrounding by pine, oak, and wax myrtle trees makes this a serene get away.

From mid-June to the end of August, rental is weekly from Saturday to Saturday. Please check calendar for availability.

Watersports: Free public ramps are minutes from the Cottage with access to kayaking, surfing, fishing, diving, sailing, beachcombing, birdwatching. If you don't have your own boat, access is quick and simple via the passenger ferry located at Cape Lookout Visitor's Center. They will drop you off on your own pristine part of the beach and haul all your gear as well (including surf boards) for no extra charge. Rates are reasonable and the captains will give you a history lesson on the way over! Interested in kayaking? You can tackle the 3 mile crossing from Harkers Island to the Cape or spend endless days exploring the many bays, rivers and inlets around Core Sound. Seeking flounder, wahoo, cobia, blues, kings, trout, snapper, puppy drum? You've come to the right place.There are also numerous diving opportunities found in this area, known as Graveyard of the Atlantic. Take your own boat to the dive site, or utilize the services of the dive shops in Morehead City, Beaufort or Harkers Island.

Shopping and Sightseeing: Historic Beaufort by the Sea, just 20 minutes away, has many specialty, antique and curio shops. Spend time on the board walk, people watching or take a boat tour of the harbor or one of the many historical homes. For the lover of history, the Old Burial Grounds, the Maritime Museum and Wooden Boat Building offer insight into the history and culture of this area.Beaufort also has many outstanding seafood resturants. (Fresh seafood is also available roadside, as many fisherman sell directly to the public from their own homes). The Morehead City waterfront, famous for its fleet of deepsea head boats and seafood resturants, art galleries and museums, is just over the bridge from Beaufort. And the NC Aquarium is located in Atlantic Beach.

Or, you may want to take the Cedar Island Ferry and expore the many small communities with varied and colorful histories! Head over to Harkers Island and visit the Core Sound Waterfowl & Heritage Museum or Cape Lookout National Seashore Visitor.

Landsports: A 3 minute drive takes you to the Smyrna recreational fields with tennis, soccer, softball/baseball and basketball courts that are open to the public.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Sisters Mary Barnum & Jeanne Barnum Josephson (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Sisters Mary Barnum & Jeanne Barnum Josephson

My sister Jeanne and I are joint owners of Sea Grace Cottage. We grew up in Morehead City, but have both moved out of state. We are from a very large family, most of which still live and work in Carteret County. We are both avid kayakers and truly love to be out-of-doors, exploring the natural world.

Sisters Mary Barnum & Jeanne Barnum Josephson purchased this cottage in 2010

Why Sisters Mary Barnum & Jeanne Barnum Josephson chose North Carolina

We purchased Sea Grace Cottage to have a place for our families to stay and relax while visiting our NC family. The Cottage is tucked away in a very peaceful hamlet but allows us quick access to the salt life that we loved as children.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Mary,

We're heading out now. We LOVE your cottage and hope to come back next year. One small thing you should know (not a problem for us). This morning, we turned the stove burner on; it worked; then when we tried to relight, nothing happened (except that it made that lighter clicking sound). We didn't have a chance to go to the store to buy matches to see if that would start it. You'll probably want to have your cleaning people check it out.

Thanks for letting us stay at your beautiful home. My husband will have to pry me of the porch now!
May 2015
  • 1 of 6

Reviews

4.7
based on 56 traveler reviews

Pet Friendly Bungalow Seeks Sun, Sand and Seafood Lovers!
average rating of 4.732143 based on 62 reviews
5

Wonderful experience in this lovely cottage!

  • 5 of 5

Sea Grace was cozy and inviting from the moment we walked in the door. It was the perfect place for rest and relaxation and as a base for adventures in the area. The cottage is clean and well kept. The decor is homey and simple. My husband and I enjoyed every minute of our stay there. I would recommend this rental to anyone who is looking for a peaceful, relaxing getaway in the Outer Banks!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Virginia Beach
5

Charming cottage, great location with easy access to local attractions, but in a quiet area!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was perfect for our needs. The screened porch and hammock was the favorite spot for our 13 year old daughter. The dogs loved the larges fenced in back yard. The Stars were amazing at night because we were away from the city lights! We had everything we needed to prepare our meals in the kitchen. The washer and dryer were a nice bonus. We enjoyed the games and puzzles, in the evenings. There were bed linens and towels which are not available at all VRBO homes, and the owners were very friendly and quick to respond to our inquiry. The information provided in the binder was very helpful pertaining to local places to visit, ferry stations, best places to go shelling and kayaking. We really had a great time and hope to visit again.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your time at Sea Grace Cottage! That hammock seems to be popular with all our guests, and that makes us happy. If you do return again to the Cottage next season, you will find a brand new outdoor shower waiting for you as we have scheduled construction to occur during the winter. Again, thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sea Grace, a wonderful retreat!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at Sea Grace. It is a quaint, cozy cottage located away from all the hustle and bustle of traffic and noise. It is very clean and well-maintained and has everything that you need to relax. We especially enjoyed the screened porch with the hammock! The fenced-in yard was perfect for our dog too. We liked exploring the area around Harkers Island and took a ride on the ferry.

The owner was very helpful with information and providing answers to any questions regarding our stay. She was wonderful to work with and helped make our trip more enjoyable! The neighbors are also very friendly. We would definitely recommend this property to others, especially to those who are looking for a peaceful retreat.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your time at Sea Grace! Thank you for your kind review. I was there shortly after your visit and added sheer curtains to the porch to keep it a little cooler for those lounging in the hammock!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relax @ Sea Grace

  • 5 of 5

Simply perfect.

This quaint cottage provided just the solitude that we were looking for with our busy lives. Sea Grace was a well equipped cottage that offered everything we needed; Beach chairs, beach toys, kites, plenty of towels and sheets. The kitchen has everything that you need as well- spices, oils, dishes and pans. Newer washer and dryer in the kitchen.

The screened in porch with hammock was such a welcoming touch. The cottage is very close to Harkers Iskand, which we took the ferry over to Camp Lookout. You can enjoy a beautiful day at the lighthouse on the most awesome beaches with very knowledgable Rangers.

Beaufort, Moreshead and Atlantic beach are just down the road. We enjoyed the beaches at Fort Macon,very clean and no parking fees. To sum up the week, in our 5 year Old granddaughter's words "can't we stay here forever?!"

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing and quiet

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at Sea Grace. It is in a quiet area. However, no water access. The screened in porch and hammock were great. The owners were very attentive to our needs and kept in touch via email.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

A No Frills But Peaceful Cottage

  • 3 of 5

The Sea Grace cottage is a no frills cottage, but we had an enjoyable stay just the same. The cottage was clean and had everything we needed including linens. And it is pet friendly so were able to bring our pup with us - he enjoyed the porch and yard a lot!!. No doubt we'd have enjoyed our stay more if it hadn't rained the majority of the week! We made a lot of day trips into surrounding areas like Harker's Island, Beaufort and even down to Topsail. My main complaint was the lack of TV reception. I knew there was no cable, which was no loss in my opinion, but I couldn't even get a local TV channel and felt cut-off from what was going on in the world. No weather . . .no news. We did have internet which was a plus.

If you're on a tight budget and looking for a comfortable and quiet place to stay, Sea Grace is your cottage.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
36 Miles
Coastal Carolina Regional Airport-New Bern NC
Nearest Ferry
4 Miles
Davis Shore Ferry to Core Banks
Nearest Golf
6.8 Miles
North River Golf Course-Beaufort NC
Nearest Train
128 Miles
Wilson, NC
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Highway 70
Car: necessary

Sea Grace Cottage, located in the Downeast fishing village of Smyrna, is situated on Core Sound, close to Cape Lookout National Seashore, Core and Shackelford Banks. Known for outstanding fishing, duck hunting, surfing, kayaking, sailing, snorkeling and diving, shelling and beachcombing, this area of the Southern Outer Banks is truly a nature lover’s paradise! Sea Grace Cottage makes the perfect basecamp for exploring the Southern Outer Banks and getting away from it all!

Other Activities: kayaking, beachcombing,

Golf: Located just seven miles from the Sea Grace Cottage, the North River Club is a world-class 18-hole Bob Moore-designed championship golf course.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Smyrna Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall Season
Aug 31 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$100
$650
$2,143
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2016 - Mar 3 2017
2 night minimum stay
$65
$400
$1,200
 
 
Spring
Mar 4 2017 - Jun 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$80
$500
$1,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$825
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Housekeeping (1-6 days) $50

Cleaning included for rentals of 1 week or longer.
Cleaning fee = $50.00

Pets are permitted with a $50.000 non-refundable fee. No more than 2 dogs (each under 65 pounds). All pets must be treated for fleas/ticks prior to staying at the Cottage. Until you have made a deposit, the rental dates you are requesting are still available for rent to other guests.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Smyrna Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 780 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • The Green Room - 1 queen
    The Blue Room - 2 twin/ single
  • Cottage is perfect fit for four. Each bedroom has chest of drawers, night stands and large closets.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
If you have young children, please contact owner with questions regarding suitability.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties