check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Russ Gates

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Secluded Mountain Home in National Forest

25 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Downieville-Lawson-Dumont House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 11-12

Secluded Mountain Home in National Forest. Only 30 minutes from Loveland ski area on the Continental Divide and 45 minutes from Winter Park, one of Colorado's premier ski destinations. Pack lunches to take to the slopes. Cook at home in this fully equipped kitchen. Enjoy many restaurants within 15 minutes. This secluded mountain retreat is nestled up against the National Forest and bordered by a gorgeous mountain stream. In warmer weather you will enjoy this magnificent outdoor setting by relaxing on the 1500 sq.ft. bilevel wrap-around deck, which overlooks the creek. From this location at 9200 ft. altitude, there is easy access from the property to miles of hiking and great access to multiple ski areas.

This smartly remodeled home can accommodate up to 12 guests. The master bedroom with a king size bed has a private full bath and double doors out to the deck. The second bedroom has a queen size bed and the third bedroom has day bed (with an extra pull-out mattress). These two bedrooms have access to the second full bath. The downstairs bedroom with two bunk beds, sleeps four and has private deck with its own entrance. The living room sofa opens into a upgraded and comfortable queen size bed.The living room is accentuated by a soapstone wood stove and rustic mantel. Large picture windows bring the lovely outside setting into the home.

Though seemingly remote, this home is a 10 minute drive from Interstate 70, the major east/west highway through Colorado. It is 30 minutes from west Denver, where you can enjoy all the amenities of a large city, including restaurants, theaters, shopping, golf, amusement parks. Yet you are also within 15 minutes of three small mountain communities - Georgetown with its Georgetown Loop Scenic Railroad tour, Idaho Springs with its hot spring, grocery store, many restaurant including Beau Jo's Pizza, gold mine tours, white water rafting, Zip-lining and many tourist attractions and Empire with Jenny's Cafe and other restaurants.

Breckenridge, Copper Mountain, and Keystone provide a variety of skiing adventures as well as small mountain town charm, boutique shopping and factory outlet stores. Central City and Black Hawk, are Colorado's gambling meccas. While some may enjoy a performance at the Central City Opera House, others might take a gold mine tour.

If you are an outdoor enthusiast, you will be enthralled by the opportunities for hiking, biking, white water rafting, climbing, fishing, golfing, zip lining and many others close at hand.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
Russ Gates (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Russ Gates

My name is Russ Gates. I'm the proud owner of this lovely property. I'd love to share it with you. I'm 66, semi retired and have been in the office products industry for 40 years. I'm a devout Episcopalian. I grew up in Kansas City and moved to Colorado in 1976. I love the out of doors and this home provides me with so many outside activities.

Russ Gates purchased this house in 2008

Why Russ Gates chose Colorado

This is a cozy, newly remodeled home, close to a variety of activities. Many of my guests tell me they most enjoyed spending time on the 1500 square foot bi- level deck. Grilling, enjoying the spectacular scenery and the lovely sounding creek.

What makes this house unique

Secluded. Quiet. Tranquil. Yet close to a variety of activities.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a fabulous time in Colorado. Your house was wonderful. We have used VRBO many times for rentals all over the place, but yours was the best stocked of any place we have ever been. It was really nice to actually have enough silverware and dishes for 9 people and plenty of pats and pans to choose from. The bottle of wine upon our arrival was really a nice treat after a long day of driving and so very thoughtful. Thank you for everything.
Jul 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.8
based on 25 traveler reviews

Secluded Mountain Home in National Forest
average rating of 4.8 based on 26 reviews
West Point
5

Very nice, comfortable and clean. Highly recommended!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful mountain home in the trees. Awesome deck to hang out on. Very very comfortable home! Russ was extremely easy to communicate with!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great size and location

  • 5 of 5

The house is at the end of the block in a very private and secluded location. It's right next to a beautiful creek, which was just the ticket to relax and get a good night's rest after a day of activities in the area. Idaho Springs is about 20 minutes east and offers a major grocery store [Safeway], and plenty of other dining, gas, and shopping options. Russ was very easy to communicate with prior to the trip, and everything was as described upon and throughout our stay. Would recommend if you're looking to relax and enjoy the outdoor activities this part of CO has to offer.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful spot

  • 5 of 5

The house was amazing. Beautiful location, close to Idaho Springs and Central City as well as the mountains. I hosted a bachelor party here and it comfortably slept 10 grown men. We were far enough away from everyone that we weren't worried about being loud, but not so far off the beaten path that we couldn't do everything we wanted. Russ was such a gracious host. I would highly recommend for a mountain getaway.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Quiet retreat

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a week in this secluded mountain home & loved our time there. You can hear the stream running nearby. We were comfortable & enjoyed the wood stove & the big kitchen very much! We would highly recommend this house!

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Westminster
5

Beautiful Mountain Getaway With Kind, Reachable Host

  • 5 of 5

My fiance and I brought both of our families to this house over the holidays. A total of 11 of us! We loved waking up to snow-covered pine trees. We cooked a lot in the spacious kitchen and were all able to fit for family meals around the dining room table. If there is heavy snow, having a 4-wheel drive is important as the house is 3 miles up a side road. We went skiing at Loveland Ski Resort one day, which was about 25 min away. Russ was very available for questions both before our departure and while we were there. He made us feel welcome and as though it was our home for the days we were there. We would highly recommend going here and will return ourselves.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Illinois
5

Fantastic home, great owner, great location!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful setting, enjoyed the scenery, close to I 70 and ski areas. Stayed over Thanksgiving, had everything we needed (cooking utensils, pots and pans) to fix our Thanksgiving meal and other meals. We had a group of group of 7 adults and 2 children. Plenty of room for everyone. The owner was fantastic, made sure we knew where things were and left his contact information if case we needed to contact him. It was a pleasure to work with him. Prior to arriving if we had any questions he would respond quickly to our questions. The home was clean and well maintained. If the opportunity presents itself we would like to go back. Thanks for your hospitality!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Idaho Springs
Nearest Golf
22 Miles
Golden
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
I-70
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Empire
Nearest Ski
23 Miles
Loveland Ski Area
Car: necessary

Other Activities: Shopping, Kayaking, Cross Country Skiing, Downhill/Alpine Skiing, Snowboarding, Snowmobiling, Wildlife Viewing, Rock Climbing, Zipline

Photos

Rates & Availability

Downieville-Lawson-Dumont House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$325
$1,950
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 5.9%

$800.00 for 2 nights (2 night minimum stay)
$1050.00 for 3 nights
$1350.00 for 4 nights
$1650.00 for 5 nights
$1850.00 for 6 nights
$2000.00 for 7 nights
This price for up to 6 guests
$10.00 per person per night for additional guests
Pets allowed on occasion on approval by owner.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Downieville-Lawson-Dumont House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Tiled Stove
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , Plus day bed (with an extra pull-out mattress)
    Bedroom 4 - 4 twin/ single , 2 Bunk Beds
  • Pull out sofa in Living room with upgraded queen size mattress. Extra mattress under single bed would sleep an extra person for a total of 12 people.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer Waterfront, not Lake/Oceanfront. Ask for details Mountain View Free Long Distance Wrap-around deck over the creek Handicapped Accessible (may have limitations) Minimum Age Limit for Renters Alternative Lifestyle

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties