Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Wonderful Seaside House On The Amalfi Coast – Enjoy The Terrace & Sea View!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 807 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

The House is located in Conca dei Marini, a Cozy and characteristic town on the Amalfi Coast.

The town is 5 Km far from Amalfi, 10 km far from Ravello and 15 Km far from Positano, three of the most important touristic sites of South Italy.

You can easily reach those sites by Bus if you are not renting a car. Also , in the town, there is a company providing a shuttle service everywhere on the Amalfi Coast at any time. They also rent Scooters.

From Amalfi you can easily reach Capri Island by a Fast Boat service and Sorrento by Bus (or by boat as well).

There are also many tour operators which organize half-day trips to Ravello , Pompei and Vesuvio.

If you are renting a car you can reach Pompei or Sorrento in about 1 hour.

There are many nice beaches in the area.

In Conca dei Marini there is a very nice marina with a lovely small beach , a bar and 3 restaurants just above the sea.

The house is built on 2 levels.

On the first floor there is a living room , a kitchen and a bathroom with a shower. There is also a terrace with a stunning sea view!

On the mezzanine there is a double bedroom with a private bathroom and a sleeping area with a double bed separated from the other bedroom by an open corridor with 2 french screens.

In the living room there is a large and comfortable sofa bed, so up to 6 people can sleep in the house.

Towels and Bed Linen are provided!

Five minutes walking from local shops, supermarket, restaurant , bar and bus stop.

Small pets are welcome!

Please remember to bring your own beach towels as these are not provided!!

Unlike many houses on the Amalfi Coast which are accessible only by walking up or down many steps , our property is just on the street. You only need to walk up 20 steps to reach the entrance. So is very convenient and suitable also for the Children and the seniors.

Our House is fully authorized to be rented to tourists as we have a licence issued by the Town hall.

This licence is an important warranty for you as is released upon strict structure, hygienic and fire prevention controls!!!

More Details

Owner
Stefano Somma
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish, italian
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 29, 2017

About Stefano Somma

My name is Stefano, I am from Pompei and I am 37 years old.

I have a bachelor degree in International Management and I currently live in Florida with my family.

As we do not have too much time to enjoy this beautiful house on the Amalfi Coast we are renting it out!

Stefano Somma purchased this house in 2000

Why Stefano Somma chose Conca dei Marini

The house is very cozy and welcoming.

You will feel like at home.

It`s Tastefully decorated , very peaceful and from the terrace you have a stunning view of the sea.

It`s very well equipped and all the appliances are pretty new and funcional. I am sure you will love it!

What makes this house unique

Ideally located to visit the most important towns of the Coast such as Amalfi , Ravello , Positano, Sorrento and Capri!

Unlike many houses on the Amalfi Coast which are accesible only by walking up or down so many steps , our propery is just above the main street. You only need to walk up 20 steps to reach the entrance. So is very convenient and suitable also for the Children and the seniors.

Our House has an 'Official Licence' provided by the Town Hall to be rented to Tourists.

This license is an important warranty for you as is released upon strict hygienic and fire prevention controls!!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

It meets all the descriptions and more. Just 16 steps from the street where you can park the car. The terrace has an amazing view. Well furnished kitchen making home meals easy and fun and the washer was a gift of the heavens . The bedrooms were simple and comfortable. Simple checkin meeting with Fiorenzo at Le bonta' del Capo Restaurant, where we had 3 dinners in one week. Nice market in Town for food, drinks and wine. Again spectacular views and a good workout (millions of steps). The Town beach is fine but the adjacent beach at " La Vite" , to be reached ny a 2 minutes boat transfer is the best. Richard Gere was there the day before. Great swimming and views.

We'd love to come back and recommend it to all.
Jul 2017
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Conca dei Marini House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 807 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Village
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , bidet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Main - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • On the mezzanine there is one double bedroom with a bathroom and a double bed area separated by an open corridor with 2 French Screens. In the living room there is a sofa bed , so up to 6 people can be accomodated. Anyway...for 6 adults the house is a bit small!
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Terrace
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Wonderful Seaside House On The Amalfi Coast – Enjoy The Terrace & Sea View!
average rating of 4.59375 based on 36 reviews
5

The vacation of a lifetime!!!

  • 5 of 5

This wasn't our first visit to the Amalfi coast, having done the quick tour thing, so we thought that we knew what to expect, but the 2 weeks that we just spent in this charming, little house far surpassed those expectations. The house sits high upon a hill overlooking the breathtaking Mediterranean almost smack dab in the middle between Amalfi town and Positano. I cannot overstate the charm, beauty and tranquility of this property. While it might lack a few of the modern day conveniences we have come to expect, I actually managed to live quite well without my Quisinart, Keurig and huge kitchen!!! The coffee that we made in the stove top espresso pot was far superior to what we have back home, anyway. I have now purchased the same pot to use at home! The 4 burner gas cook-top was perfectly adequate, once we got the hang of getting it to stay lit. It is an automatic light, but you just have to hold in the knob a few more clicks for it to stay lit.

However, there are a few drawbacks of which you need to be aware. The steps up to the terrace can be a challenge if you are of a "certain age" and carrying luggage. There is a certain amount of fitness required, but we are both in our 70's and managed pretty well. Also, the second floor ceilings are quite low. I'm 5'8", no problem; my husband is 6'7", big problem!!! After several painful bumps on the head, lesson learned. The main bath with shower is on the main floor, so after the first few days, he only went upstairs to go to bed, therefore decreasing the probability of head trauma.

The village is unbelievably charming, but somewhat limited on choice of dining and shopping. Night life is non-existent, so if you're looking for a more exciting vacation, you will be disappointed, but if you want beauty, realism and warm, friendly folks, look no further. Be sure to try the restaurant down the road Le Bonta del Capo. The food is simply the best in all of Almafi and very reasonably priced. The chef is Fiore and he is who you will check in with upon arrival in Conca. He is wonderful and very helpful.

A few things to remember. This is not a 5-star hotel. Remember to pack your own wash cloths, bar soap and shampoo as well as beach towels. Almost everything else is supplied or you can purchase in the store next to the Le Bonta. Take the Sita buses everywhere you go on the coast. Talk to the locals - if you are friendly and outgoing, you will be blessed with a warm reception.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

In need of TLC and more..

  • 2 of 5

We are generally not fussy people, but the apartment definitely needs some attention to improve the comfort factor. The shower head in the upstairs shower room was missing, making it unusable. Only bath towels were available and not beach towels (so be prepared to rent at the beach club). The wifi is very sporadic and weak and there should be a 2nd fan for the bedroom upstairs as it does get very warm. The TV did not work and we would expected it to. A thoughtful touch would have been to include a small selection of DVDs too! The chef at the local restaurant (a fantastic place, btw) is the property manager, but honestly, he has his hands full and we did not feel like trying to find a convenient time to ask for his assistance with this and the other shortcomings. Outside of a few pamphlets which were not of much use, there was nothing to help a short term tenant with local diversions (beach options, restaurants, etc.). Nor an "operating manual" for navigating the features of the property, though to be fair, not much is needed as this is a bare bones place. The beach at the bottom of the hill was great fun and we did enjoy renting a boat from Amalfi to zip up to Positano for lunch. It's a good thing we're well travelled and resourceful (and could tap into 3G/4G for the internet without concern for cost), because otherwise this property would have been even less desirable. It does have great potential and the area is beautiful. Our 3 young boys didn't complain for a second about walking down to the beach either; in fact, it made for a good exercise and a great adventure.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kevin. I am really sorry that you did not find the apartment like you wished. If you sent me an email immediately I would have contacted Fiorenzo and everything would have been perfect. I have personally been at the house 2 days ago...as soon as I was back.from the States. The tv was not working as someone unplugged the antenna cable from the wall. It just needed to be plugged in. I purchased 2 new big fans and they were delivered at the restaurant few weeks ago. Fiorenzo forgot to bring them in the apt. The wifi sometimes was weak as it seems that a previous guest moved the hotspot from the correct place where it was getting the stronger signal. All these issues would have been solved in just 5 minutes if you contacted Fiorenzo or me by email. About the shower and the beach towels is specified in the house description that there is one full bath ( with shower) and an half bath ( We actually want to remove the shower upstair as the water will damage the wood floor) and also that beach towels were not provided. Right now TV is perfectly working in the house as well as wifi..even if sometimes the signal get lost expecially in july and August where there are many big boats which create interferences with their radio signals. ( The hotspot is portable anyway..so it can be placed also outsude the terrace or taken around with you in order to have wifi everywhere...also on the beach if you want to.) And two new fans are on the bedrooms upstairs. Anyway I hope you had a nice time in Conca dei Marini and you enjoyed the Amalfi Coast. Regards Stefano
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful and Peaceful Location

  • 5 of 5

If you want to see the Almafi coast, we would highly recommend this place in Conca dei Marini. The porch is exactly as the picture shows, and you have this view from every window in the house. It worked great for our family of four. The Almafi coast is not easy to get too, but beautiful once you are there! We loved Le Bontà del Capo restaurant and made reservations there each night. It was an easy walk from this location and there is a small market next door that we could buy things for breakfast or lunch. It was nice to have a kitchen. You need to be a confident driver to drive a car here, and in good physical shape if you plan to walk the many flights of steps to the nearest beach. We learned that July was a very hot month to visit all of Italy.....even on the coast.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

A very nice place with a wonderful seaview!

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely visit in Stefano's house and spent most of our "home-time" on the terrass, you can see in the picture. As Stefano, during our visit, was in the US we were well taken care of by Fiore. He works as a cook at the excellent restaurant "Le Bonta del Capo" nearby. Visit it and you will not be disappointed!

As the beach is many steps away, we recommend using the little white community bus down to hotel Belvedere and when you go back you can ask the driver to stop just outside the house. In each direction you just pay 1 €. A very good service!

All people in the village were very nice and we felt as a part of the community.

We recommend the place!!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

We had four nights here and loved the apartment. The apartment itself had everything we needed and was nice and cool, but the outside space and views were undoubtedly the standout features. What we loved most was the location. Away from the hustle and bustle of the main towns, the village is peaceful, relaxing and super friendly. We arrived on Sunday afternoon, and started to worry about not having rented a car, but the village has a great store, a small plaza with a few bars, and a wonderful restaurant so there is no real reason to leave. It is also very easy and cheap to catch the bus if you want to go further out, so I don't think we would have used a car much anyway. The restaurant, Le Bonta'del Capo, was a great place to eat, with a great atmosphere, especially on Sunday night, and they made us feel really welcome. So overall I'm really happy with the choice we made and would go back in a flash.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
West Palm Beach
5

Simply Incredible!

  • 5 of 5

I cannot say enough about this apartment. Well appointed, beautiful views from all windows and the terrace and "location, location, location." You should, however, have a car to enjoy the full value of this apartment. It comes with a parking pass for the area which makes having a car that much easier. The real value, in my mind, is the location. An hour or so in each direction are the more populated cities of the Coast, places that were great to visit, but that do not have the peace and tranquility you will find here. While visiting those places was fantastic, it was wonderful to return to the quiet and views from this apartment. If you chose to not travel for a day or two, no worries. There are several great places to eat in walking distance. Our favorite: Le Bonta del Capo. Food was the best we had on the Coast, prices were the best and, not to sound like a broke record -- the views, the views.... Chef and is staff are all great people. This is simply a magical place, one I will not hesitate to return to. Also within "walking" distance is the beach of Conca dei Marini. OK, I would not walk it from the apartment, but about 1/2 way down is a parking garage. This is the closest you are getting to the beach before you have no choice but to walk. From the garage you have roughly 400 stairs to go. It will take some time to get there, and get back, but there is plenty to do when you get there. A few eateries are there and from the beach you can take water taxis to other areas of the marina. Bring Euros with you as you will need to rent at least a chair, maybe umbrella. "Beach" is a lose term here. More like rock-covered-shore that leads into the water that has only more rocks underfoot. Bring water shoes or flipflops. You will not want to be walking barefoot!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

St. Andrew's Cathedral
Pasticceria Pansa
Villa Rufolo
Sentiero degli Dei
Le Bonta del Capo
"One of he best restaurant all over the Amalfi Coast. Best value for Money! "
Grotta di Smeraldo a Piedi, in Barca da Amalfi
Nearest Airport
55 Kilometres
Napoli
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Town center
Nearest Ferry
5 Kilometres
Amalfi
Nearest Train
30 Kilometres
Salerno
Nearest Restaurant
400 Metres
Town center
Nearest Beach
800 Metres
Conca dei Marini
Car: recommended

The House is located in Conca dei Marini, a very cozy and characteristic town on the Amalfi Coast.

The town is 5 Km far from Amalfi, 10 km far from Ravello and 15 Km far from Positano, three of the most important touristic sites of South Italy.

You can easily reach those sites by Bus if you are not renting a car.

Also , in the town, there is a company providing a shuttle service everywhere on the Amalfi Coast at any time. They also rent Scooters.

From Amalfi you can easily reach Capri Island by a Fast Boat service and Sorrento by Bus (or by boat as well). There are also many tour operators which organize half-day trips to Ravello , Pompei and Vesuvio.

If you are renting a car you can reach Pompei or Sorrento in about 1 hour.

There are many nice beaches in the area.

In Conca dei Marini there is a very nice marina with a lovely small beach , a bar and 3 restaurants just above the sea.

A boat service is offered at the Marina to reach other beaches.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $58.96
Cleaning Fee $94.33
Tax Rate 2.0%

In case of a cancellation the 25% deposit will not be refunded
Children between 0-4 years old will not be counted as additional guests and will be staying for free.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund