check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Location Location and Location 4 blocks to Ocean Fisherman Wharf and Cannery Row

5 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house




Monterey House Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms 1 bathroom full-size living room, kitchen Front Deck with Ocean View.

Location, Location and Location!

My house is in GREAT LOCATION which is ONLY 4 blocks/10-15 minutes WALK to Old Fisherman Wharf and Cannery Row/Monterey Bay Aquarium.

This Ocean nearby house is a spacious 2 bedrooms with Queen size beds, 1 full bath, 1 full kitchen, and 1 bright living room. You can even see your car parked in front of my house when you are walking by the ocean. My house is in a historical Spanish style just COMPLETELY remolded in June, 2012 with all new painting and new carpet. Almost all the furniture and bedding are NEW. The house has two units; the host family lives in one unit (upper unit) and the guests live in another. The two units are separated with different gate and entrance. The guest will take the entire unit by your own.

Note: The listed price is for the using of 2 queen size beds for sleeping. Please let us know before booking if your group needs more than 2 queen size beds. Extra fee may be applicable in this case. After booking, if more people are coming or more beds are needed, please inform us ASAP so that new price can be negotiated. Failure to do so may result in the denial of service or increase of price.

In this unit, there are 2 quiet bedrooms and a laundry room with washer and dryer. There is a 40' LCD TV in the living room and A FOLDING DINING TABLE STORED UNDER THE BED for large groups. In the full-size bathroom, there is a shower, bathtub and toilet. Shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and a soap bar are provided. Wireless Internet access and Cable TV are available. Each bedroom is furnished with a queen-size bed, one night stand, lamps, and other furniture. Extra pull-out futon is also available in the living room for some extra fee. When needed, groups up to 8 peoples can be accommodated by combining rooms in this unit and the host’s unit. Please contact us regarding availability, arrangement and pricing.

Our vacation apartment is fully furnished with kitchenette, coffee, selection of teas. I have served breakfast for 2.5 year, while only less than 30% guests have eaten our continental breakfast since most of them prefer to buy their own. Since lots of food were wasted,I am NO longer to provide breakfast in 2015.

We do advertise at other places. Some dates may become unavailable, please contact us ASAP.

For families with babies, we have a pack and play for rent. ($5/night)

In the rare of the unit, there is a private parking lot for our guests. The parking lot can easily hold 3-4 cars/SUVs.

Two guest passes to Monterey Bay Aquarium ( $79.90 Value. available to groups with minimum 2 nights stay. If you do not leave the passes in the designated place after use, we may charge you up to $125 per pass for replacement. Due to popular demands, multiple groups of guests may want to use these passes on the same day. To accommodate most guests, each group can use these passes for only one day and please tell us the exact day that you wish to use these passes before booking to ensure that you will get these on your desired day.)

We can rent extra passes for $20 each. (Once you confirm to rent the extra passes, we need charge you even if you do not use these passes later since we actually need rent the passes from our friend.)

Guest Parking in back yard

TV + secured Wifi

Iron/ironing board

Hair dryer

All linens included, plus dishes, pots, pans, and basics like oil, spices, etc.

Rates slightly higher during weekends,major tourist events and holiday ($179-$229)

We request 2 nights minimum stay during weekend, and 3 nights minimum stay

during holiday weekend since our cleaning lady couldn't come twice in


2 night minimum required during major tourist events (i.e. AT&T, Concours d'Elegance, US Open, etc.)

We *LOVE* hosting our guests, and whether you opt to stay with us, or elsewhere, I'm confident you'll enjoy your trip to the stunning Monterey Peninsula with staying in this house in great location!

Please note activities within Pacific Grove, Monterey, Pebble Beach and Carmel-By-The-Sea are within one to ten minute drive.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 25, 2016

About Jean

We both are Professors at university/college. We are nice,friendly, warm-heart, and considerate couple. We love to host our guests. Welcome to the beautiful Monterey. Enjoy your stay at our place.

Jean purchased this house in 2012

Why Jean chose Central Coast California

We bought this duplex in 2012 since we love this house! We have 3 houses and this is our favorite one. I stay in this house normally in weekdays. I rent one unit all the year round and rent the other unit most of the weekend when I stay our other house in Bay Area. I love this house since it has Ocean View. You can see the stunning ocean view right after you get off from your car from our front gate. You can take drink on the front deck with beautiful ocean view.

The Location beat all other vacation house since my house is located in the heart of Monterey.

This house was built in 1920 so it has been selected as history property by Monterey. We are proud of having this gem in Monterey.

What makes this house unique

Two guest passes to Monterey Bay Aquarium ( $79.90 Value. available to groups with minimum 2 nights stay.

My guest can avoid trouble to park. Many my guests just park their car in my back yard and walk to famous scenery spots such as: Old Fisherman Wharf, Cannery Row, Monterey Bay Aquarium etc.


based on 5 traveler reviews

Location Location and Location 4 blocks to Ocean Fisherman Wharf and Cannery Row
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews
Los Angeles, CA

Ok place, if you don't care where you stay

  • 1 of 5

My family arrived around 8pm, to find a place that was not what we expected at all. I have little children, they found a broken light fixture in the living room (not in the ceiling, but a floor fixture they could REACH) almost immediately. Moldings on the floor between the kitchen and living space is half ripped up/coming off. The floor moldings leading into the bedrooms; my husband found a nail exposed. The direct TV didn't work. On the back of the couches were white towels placed to catch water drippings from the windows.... must have been there a while because they were brown. This was also the case in the bedrooms. For the life of me I can't figure out why someone wouldn't at least have done a walk through and at least tried to hide or fix these things.

We arrived at 8pm, we left at 830pm. Seriously we were there just long enough to look at it, spend that half hour trying to find alternate accommodations for our family (which you know is NOT easy and expensive at the last minute). Not to mention having driven 5 hours with children only to unpack them, have to re pack them and switch accommodations. Just a nightmare.

Jean will tell you none of this happened... I took video and pictures. Still only got my cleaning deposit back (for the 30 min. we were there) & had to haggle her to get one night refunded when we paid for 3.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a nightmare to have had such group of guests. Everything was very strange and wired. This group of guests was supposed to stay in my place for 3 nights. The last night of their stay at 9:24pm (May 21), I got an email from Maeva that said they “actually” left my place the first night since “We didn't stay longer than 30 minutes, enough time to find problems” (from Maeva’s email). And they asked for full money back! I replied her email in 6 minutes and asked them: “Why you just noticed me if you left my place the first night? “ and they answered: “I sent two messages during our stay, I am not sure why none went through. My phone fell and broke the first day of our vacation.” (from Maeva’s email). I have been using homeaway/VBRO for years, I have NEVER had email failed to go through both on my side and on my guest’s side. My house is duplex, I live one and rent one. I was in the upper unit the night when they checked in. I just have NO idea, why they didn’t talked to me about their complains if they REALLY found some problems the first night when they checked in. I also gave them my cell phone number in my check in instruction by email. I had NO idea, why they didn’t call or text me if they had complains and wanted to leave ! They was supposed to stay Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Summer weekend is always very popular, and I can very easily rent the house out even in last minute. If they really left the first night and notice me the first night, then I can easily rent out Friday and Saturday, then I can refund them, but they have never really explained why they noticed me until the last night. Everything is very strange and wired. I have NEVER had such strange guests ! Although Maeva said she would give me very negative review; report to my case, and even cursed me “stealing their money”. I still want to make things easier, so I refund her total about three hundred dollars and one hundred security deposit. Right after they got my MONEY, they posted a very negative review. I don’t want to reply or explain her comments/complains about my house. I have 5 star review in the past, which can explain EVERYTHING !. All other guests love my place and comments my place is comfortable and clean. I have to say this group of guests came to my place just for finding trouble and making trouble.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Sacramento, ca

Perfect location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with our 1 yr old and absolutely loved it! Clean and simple condo with parking was exactly what we were looking for. Walking distance to all the sights and the aquarium at an excellent value. We will be staying here again!

  • Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good location in Monterey, CA

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in the lower unit passing through Monterey on a vacation. The space was great - two big rooms, open kitchen and living room, clean bathroom etc...

The only downfall was the creaking from upstairs :/ I slept through most of it but anytime someone would take a step upstairs, I could hear it in the bedroom.

Jean was very nice and gave us passes to the aquarium 1/2 off! She was a bit late to refund me the deposit which I had to remind her of, but overall - I would definitely stay here! Monterey is a very cute town. If you're looking for a cozy, clean, and affordable place to stay - this is the one for you!

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Outstanding Location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the upper unit for an anniversary weekend in Monterey and as the title suggests, the location makes this place a real catch. We were walking distance from the aquarium, cannery row, and several good restaurants and bars. Also driving/biking distance from the best sandwich place ever (Compagnos). Parking is not an issue - plenty of space on the street and in the lot in the back of the unit. Go straight down Drake to meet up with the bike trail, which takes you through cannery row, past the aquarium and Lover's point, and eventually down to Asilomar beach and the turnoff for 17 mile drive. Highly recommend that bike ride. Jean was very responsive and the free aquarium passes really make this the ideal place to stay!

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Buffalo Center, IA

Great Monterey Rental

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the upper unit for 2 nights while on our way from San Diego to San Francisco. Pacific Coast Highway 1 was a very good route to catch a lot of coastal scenery. This rental is a nice roomy apartment. It is comfortably furnished. Location is a big plus since it is so close to Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and the aquarium. We walked to everything. The use of aquarium tickets was also great. Would highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
14 0


Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Monterey Airport, San Jose Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Pebble Beach
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Salinas Train
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Henry's BBQ
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Pebble Beach, Sant Carlos Beach.


Rates & Availability

Monterey House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 8.0%

House rules:
1. Shoes off in house.
2. Please no food (including snacks) or drink (excluding water) in beds.
3. Welcome to use kitchen and we provide kitchenware you needed. Please clean kitchen, wash dishes yourself after cooking since we only provide lodging. $25 for cleaning excluding dish washing. uncleaned kitchen, we have to deduct some money from your deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Monterey House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Building Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Downtown
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
  • Full-size bathroom, shower head, Tub etc.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen size pillow top mattress bed. Night Stand, Closet.
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers