Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

🇨🇴 Old City Studio: balcony, AC, hot water, great wifi! 😎

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 250 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

The magic of Cartagena is in wandering the streets of the beautiful colonial walled city. Choose one of our renovated apartments (studio, one bedroom, or two bedroom) and you are right in the heart of that magic each day of your stay.

In this listing we're highlighting the studio apartment, ideal for a single person or a couple (or two very close friends!). The highlight of this renovated studio apartment is that it has a balcony! There is a little bistro table where you may sit overlooking Calle de la Moneda, a street widely used by pedestrians, and people watch while enjoying a cup of Colombian coffee or Club Colombia beer!

APARTMENT HIGHLIGHTS:

*Balcony overlooking Calle de la Moneda

*Mini-kitchen: small refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, toaster, electric skillet

*Double bed

*Full bath (with rain showerhead)

APARTMENT AMENITIES:

*Air conditioning (mini-split)

*Fans: ceiling and floor

*Wifi/Internet (dedicated broadband!)

*Hot water in the shower and sinks -- not all places in Cartagena have this!

*DirecTV

*Bed linens

*Towels: dish, hand, bath & beach

*Personal soap

*Toilet paper

*Hair dryer

*Safe

*Tourist information

*Smoke detector

*First aid kit

*Fire extinguisher

ON REQUEST:

*Iron/ironing board

OPTIONAL SERVICES (at additional expense):

*Housekeeping during your stay

*Laundry service

*Tour guide services

This apartment is one of three located on the 2nd floor of a two-story building (a clothing store is on the ground floor); they are the only apartments in the building. There is a door from the street with stairs to the second floor which guests of the three apartments share. Guests will have the key to this main door as well as to their own individual apartment.

Once booked, guests receive a multi-page document and website with information on the apartments and Cartagena. I have lived in this city for more than two years, traveled around Colombia quite a bit and would be happy to answer any questions or give advice via email or phone prior to your trip.

Upon arrival in Cartagena, our multilingual (Spanish/English/French) apartment manager will meet you at the apartment at the agreed upon time to let you in, show you the place, and give you keys. Should you have a question about the apartment or you want tourism assistance, laundry service, a cook or cooking class while there, feel free to ask him!

If you’d like a bigger place, or if you’d like to book multiple apartments, please contact me. This studio apartment is for 1-2 guests, but it can be combined with one bedroom apartment next door to make a two bedroom/two bath unit for up to 6 guests. There's a separate two bedroom apartment listing for a quieter apartment in the back of this same building. You can “mix and match” the various apartments to accommodate up to 12 people, all in the same floor.

We partner with 'Pack for a Purpose', an organization that links travelers who'd like to help fulfill wish lists of non-profits in developing countries. We work with community organization Fundación Pescador de Letras in the Boquilla section of Cartagena, plus Cartagena Paws, supporting street animals, & would love to have your help!

We look forward to having you!

Thank you!

Barbara Smalley

More Details

Property Manager
Barbara Smalley, Vacation Rentals Cartagena
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, german, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2017

About Barbara Smalley, Vacation Rentals Cartagena

I've lived most of my life in the U.S. but have also lived for a couple of months to up to two years in different countries: Germany, Spain, Australia, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico & Belize. Since 2011 I've been living a somewhat nomadic lifestyle while exploring, working & volunteering in new & old places -- I've mostly been in Colombia & Belize but also exploring other areas. It's a great way to keep learning!

I was fortunate to meet a couple from Dallas, who own the Cartagena, Colombia, & Ambergris Caye, Belize, vacation rentals I'm listing. They asked me to help them out and I've fallen into doing something that I love -- helping people like you with their travels. Let me help you with your dream vacation! In the fall of 2015, I was lucky enough to be able to buy my own apartment in Cartagena, Colombia, and rent out the second bedroom when I'm there and the whole apartment when I'm not. I love playing direct host also!

I also partner with 'Pack for a Purpose', an organization that links travelers who'd like to help fulfill wish lists of non-profits in developing countries. We work with Fundación Pescador de Letras, a community organization in Cartagena, plus Cartagena Paws, supporting street animals; and in Belize we partner with Ambergris Caye Elementary School (ACES) and the Saga Humane Society in San Pedro. We'd love to have your help!

Thank you,

Barbara Smalley

Guestbook comments from the manager

The apartment was great - it was very high quality and clean. Everything worked well. The location was great and very central. It was a safe area and easy to walk around. Henry, our contact on site, always had a great attitude and was very helpful. I would definitely recommend this apartment.
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 12

Amenities

Centro Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Guests of renters are permitted if they do not pose a security threat but they cannot stay overnight.
  • Other renters are to be respected regarding noise level.
  • Renters are required to pay for any damages.
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Full bath with rain shower head
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , One room studio apartment
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

4.5/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
🇨🇴 Old City Studio: balcony, AC, hot water, great wifi! 😎
average rating of 4.5 based on 16 reviews
5

Amazing place

  • 5 of 5

It was an amazing place, excellent ubication and great treatment!

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gracias!! Hope you can come back sometime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Unbelievable studio

  • 5 of 5

Perfect location, middle of everything in the wall city and the property manager (Ben) was very helpful with getting us a tour of one of the islands. Also, getting a hold of Barbara was very easy. I would definitely stay here again and if I bring my kids next time I will stay in the 2 bedroom apartment that she also has available.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you liked it -- thank you for the nice review! We look forward to having your whole family stay with us in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect For My Needs

  • 5 of 5

This is my second stay in the Studio at calle moneda. Last year I stayed a week...this year my stay was shorter. The location is perfect...close to everything in el centro. The room was clean, the air conditioner was working great, and Henry met me to hand over the keys right on time. Check out went smoothly. If you stay there you will love sitting outside on the balcony and having a cool drink. There is a small kitchenette perfect for cooking light meals and the bathroom was clean and efficient. I will absolutely stay there again when I'm in Cartagena.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a nice review -- thank you, Michael! We are so glad you had such a great (return! :) stay & look forward to seeing you next time!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mexico DF
3

Apartment Studio in Cartagena COlombia

  • 3 of 5

Hola! We spent 4 days in beautiful Cartagena. Our experience at the studio apartment had mixed feelings.... We received the place and the floor was dirty and the bathroom needed some cleaning too. It is comfy and quaint. Every thing works well except for the bed squeaking constantly.... If you want a place without noise in the morning then this is not the place. It is right above a busy street and everything starts to move at 7am. The place is perfectly located within the walls of the old city so if you just need a place to rest and spend the day outdoors then this is it!

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry you had mixed feelings about your stay -- there is no excuse for the place not being clean for your arrival. And thank you for letting us know about the bed. That has been fixed & is being monitored on a regular basis. Glad otherwise all worked well for you. I hope you had an opportunity to enjoy watching the busy street life from the balcony; many have found it fun to watch (& the noise not disturbing when the balcony doors are closed)! Thank you for taking the time to write a review & hope you will come back & visit sometime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Cartagena Rafael Nuñez
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Bocagrande
Car: not necessary

These apartments are located in the San Diego section of the magical Old City of Cartagena, within the 500 year old Spanish colonial walls. Colonial architecture abounds!

The building is on Calle de la Moneda, which is a busy and lively street during the day but quiet at night. The street is lined with shops and a couple of small, inexpensive restaurants. Just about everything is closed by 8 pm, however, so you’re not disturbed by noise during the night.

At the far end of Calle de la Moneda is the Exito department store which sells everything from groceries to electronics plus has an ATM. One street away in the other direction you'll find the popular Juan Valdez coffee shop and the main University of Cartagena building. And a block around the corner is the beautiful Parque Fernández de Madrid surrounded by plenty of nice restaurants and cafes.

As transportation hubs for local buses and shared taxis are a couple of blocks straight down this street, Calle de la Moneda is widely used by Cartageneros as they go to and from work, school, etc. (and to shop!). You are in the heart of “real” Cartagena on Calle de la Moneda!

Walking is the best way to get around the Walled City – it’s great wandering the maze of quaint streets. But you are never far from the surrounding walls so you don’t have to worry about accidentally straying too far!

If you are in a hurry or want to venture outside the walls, taxis are inexpensive and easily flagged on the street. We are a 5-10 minute/US$6 taxi ride from the airport, and a 5-10 minute/US$3 taxi ride away from other sites/areas, such as San Felipe Castle (the huge old Spanish fort) or the tourist dock (for the boats to the Rosario Islands, where many prefer to go for the beach), or the beaches of Bocagrande, Laguito and Castillogrande.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

- Renters are required to pay for any damage to the apartments.
- Other renters are to be respected regarding noise level
- No drugs
- No non-registered guests without prior permission and then only if they do not pose a security threat to the apartments or other renters; non-registered guests may not stay the night
-Maximum of 2 guests, even if one is an infant
Thank you!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties