check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Sophie Clarke

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english, italian

Vintage Cottage on Otsego Lake Golf Course Near Glimmerglass

8 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Central - Leatherstocking Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8) near Cooperstown

Just steps away from the Glimmerglass Opera Festival. At the head of Otsego Lake, a short drive away from the Dreams Park and all the museums and attractions of Cooperstown, enjoy this classic and exclusive location at a very affordable price.

Wifi, wide-screen Hi-def TV with premium cable, a great porch with barbecue: enjoy this spacious home on a large private property with family or friends. It's stocked with books, games and more.

A master suite with queen bed, and a two-twin bedroom, each with an en-suite bathroom, and a double and a single bedroom with shared en-suite bathroom, additional cot available. Full eat-in-kitchen and enormous loft-like great room with dining area, fireplace, piano and several seating areas.

Uniquely located on the only private property within the grounds of the Otsego Golf Club. There is ample outdoor room for games, parking or heading out for a hike or nature walk. The north end of the lake is a natural, protected wetlands with a wide variety of birds and other wildlife. Or take advantage of offers for golfing packages for you and your group.

Double sliding doors open onto a view of Mount Wellington and the ninth green while a stone-paved porch wraps around two sides of the house which backs directly onto woods.

High ceilings and fans keep the house cool all summer, enjoying breezes coming up from the lake, and baseboard heat and radiators warm the bedrooms and bathrooms on cooler days. Air-conditioning window units in each bedroom added in 2013.

Available mid-May through mid-September. Please check our calendar for available dates. Our other home on the property, Houghton House, may also be available for Hall of Fame weekend and Opera season rentals, please ask if you would like more information.

Keywords: Phoenix cottage, weekly rentals, Cooperstown, Glimmerglass Opera, Dream Park, Baseball, Summer Holiday Rental, Golf, Otsego Lake, Self-catering holidays, cultural tourism

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Sophie Clarke (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english, italian

About Sophie Clarke

I am a garden designer in Spoleto Italy but I grew up on the property and went to school in Cooperstown. The beauty of the lake and hills here make it a natural garden.

Sophie Clarke purchased this cottage in 1920

Why Sophie Clarke chose Central - Leatherstocking

The property has been in my family for several generations and has been used as both a summer holiday retreat and a year-round home. It is both a peaceful place to immerse oneself in nature as well as a stimulating cultural center.

What makes this cottage unique

Quiet days enjoying nature can be interspersed with world-class entertainment at the opera and visits to the fascinating museums of Cooperstown. And a stroll downhill brings you to the charms of the golf course, one of the 10 oldest in the US.

Reviews

4
based on 8 traveler reviews

Vintage Cottage on Otsego Lake Golf Course Near Glimmerglass
average rating of 4.0 based on 8 reviews
Los Angeles, CA
5

This is a MUST STAY!

  • 5 of 5

This charming cottage was perfect for our family and another family in Cooperstown for the tournament. It's a little further away than some of the other homes for rent for this purpose but by far was the best. All other players' families agreed. Situated on a golf course, the cottage (very large and roomy) is nearby the lake and the view from the property is gorgeous. Wildlife abounds (dear, fox, chipmunks galore) and the night sky exquisite. There is ample room for everyone and you'll feel like you really got away! This is a MUST STAY!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Phoenix Cottage. We're very happy to know that you and your friends enjoyed your time here and were able to relax and take advantage of the position of the house in the countryside during your visit to Cooperstown. We hope you'll be able to return before long and send you all our best wishes until then.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lousiana
1

STAY AWAY!!!!

  • 1 of 5

The worst place I have ever stayed. Air unit out in one bedroom and it never got fixed even though we told them of the problem the first day. Bugs everywhere - in the bed, on ceiling, all over the bathroom, in the furniture. TV never worked. Did not want to even sit on the furniture - needs some serious updating.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're disheartened that any guest would be so unhappy with their holiday as to leave these comments. However, to set the record straight, we did have an electrician at the cottage within 24 hours to repair the A/C unit which is working fine. We're sorry this guest was unable to get the TV to work--it was and is working fine and we would have been happy to explain how to use it had the guest taken a moment to contact us--we have now left more detailed instructions at the cottage to help future guests so we thank this guest for bringing the need for that to our attention. We're not sure what bugs are referred to: we have screens and a regular spraying schedule both indoors and out and our house cleaners are quite conscientious but apologize if they missed anything. It is a large country cottage and there are indeed insects in the countryside--we do our best to keep them outside but midges may have gotten in if they left screen doors open in the evening with the lights on inside. The house is filled with antiques and comfortable upholstered furniture, we replace items each season as they become worn by our guests but we seek to provide classic accommodations in a traditional local summer cottage style, not a modern motel room decor. We urge guests to contact us immediately during their visit with problems or questions as we strive to ensure all our guests fully enjoy their stay at Phoenix Cottage.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Connecticut
5

Surprisingly spacious

  • 5 of 5

Surprisingly large 'cottage' in a very convenient location with lovely views. Potential problem of a very cold early fall night was remedied by the arrival of space heaters for all the bed rooms. No complaints from our Cooperstown bound wedding crew. Although we did not try, it looked as if canoe access to the lake would be difficult. However, for golf lovers, one of the country's oldest courses is just outside the door. A car is essential.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Outstanding stay at Phoenix

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough positive things about our stay at Phoenix cottage. We stayed there this summer for my son's trip with his baseball team to Cooperstown Dreams Park. From the moment we booked the cottage, all throughout our stay, and through departure, the owners were an absolute pleasure to deal with. Four of us dads and 3 younger siblings shared the cottage and there was plenty of room. It was a convenient 20 minute drive to CPD, and only 10 minutes to downtown Cooperstown. The kids canoed, swam in the lake, and played outside the cottage every day. The dads enjoyed cooking out every night and hanging on the covered back patio. Played golf a couple of times and really enjoyed the 9 hole classic layout. We will be back in 3 years time for my youngest son to experience CPD, and I KNOW WHERE I WILL STAY! Thank you Sophie and Hyde for sharing your home.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so happy to hear how much your group enjoyed your stay at the cottage. We do try to make sure all our guests can relax in comfort amidst this unique natural setting and have everything they need to unwind at the end of a day at the baseball fields, visiting museums or before an evening at the opera. We'll look forward to your return visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Durham, North Carolina
4

WE LOVED PHOENIX COTTAGE

  • 4 of 5

If you're looking for central air and granite counters, don't stay here. If you want a wonderful piece of history surrounded by great scenery, people and coziness, this is the place. My grandson was playing at the Dream Park with some of us coming from California and some from North Carolina. We met up here and fell in love the the stories and the house. I had a personal crisis so ended up meeting more of the locals than usual. Everyone was wonderful and A.R. was such a help and so very kind. He installed a wheelchair ramp and bathroom grab bar which we had to have. I have very warm feelings for the cottage,the lake and the folks around it.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the cottage. Yes, it is certainly best enjoyed by guests who will appreciate the peace, beauty and very special history of this spot. We do hope you will be able to return some day and in the meanwhile send our warmest wishes to you and your family.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

We'd stay there again!

  • 4 of 5

My family visited Cooperstown this Summer. Our son played ball at the Dreams Park. Perfect location. We were about 20 minutes away. Perfect location from town, the Baseball Hall of Fame museum, and the Dreams Park. The house suited our needs perfectly. It is vintage, and very spacious. The views from the house are beautiful. The flowers, the golf course, the lake, etc. All such a wonderful sight! It reminded me of my great-grandmother's house. Brought back great memories. We would definitely stay there again. It was clean, only one television in the main room; but we didn't watch much tv anyway. It has a great porch too! The weather is so great there that you can open the barn doors, and leave the screen closed. Barely needed A/C while we were there. We actually needed heaters at night. This is a precious heirloom, and we appreciated it's historical location and accommodations. Owner addressed any concerns we had, as well.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, we're so glad to know you enjoyed your stay at our classic cottage. The great-grandmother reference is perfect as ours did indeed build this summer house and we try to maintain that spirit of a traditional old family holiday retreat. We have added the air-conditioners in the bedrooms but you are quite right that they are rarely needed as the Cooperstown area enjoys quite a cool and breezy summer. We think the attraction of our region lies in maintaining that old-time feeling of relaxed family gatherings in a beautiful natural setting--far from the bustle of most families' busy work and school lives and in contact with history and nature. We hope to see you and your family back here whenever you can get away for another vacation!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Portabello's
Brewery OMMEGANG
National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum
Hyde Hall
"This historic home at Glimmerglass State Park is an easy bike ride, a healthy hike or a shor..."
Lake Otsego Boat Tours
The Blue Mingo Grill
"Dine on the Lake and enjoy local and international cuisine. http://bluemingogrill.com/"
Cantina de Salsa
"Main Street in Cooperstown"
Glimmerglass Opera
"http://www.glimmerglass.org/ World class opera and cultural events"
Otsego Golf Club
"www.otsegogolf.com/ A historic 9-hole public golf course open daily with cart rentals and b..."
Erie Canal Cruises Inc.
"You don't need a mule to tour the historic Erie Canal"
The Farmers' Museum
"Great fun for the whole family! A recreation of a village featuring historic buildings and a..."
Fenimore Art Museum
"An excellent small museum of historic and contemporary American art with regularly changing ..."
Cooperstown Theater
Leatherstocking Theatre
http://www.cooperstowntheatrefestival.org/
"http://www.smithyarts.org/glimmer-globe-theatre"
Glimmerglass State Park
"Our recommendation for carefree swimming in Otsego Lake--supervised beach, baths, ample park..."
Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Albany International Airport
Nearest Golf
100 Metres
Otsego Golf Club
Nearest Train
34 Miles
Utica
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Otsego Golf Club
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Glimmerglass State Park
Car: necessary

Glimmerglass Opera 1 mile (20-minute walk), Cooperstown Dreams Park 14 miles (22-minute drive), Cooperstown 9 miles (15-minute drive).

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cooperstown Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Hall of Fame 2016
Jul 22 2016 - Jul 28 2016
2 night minimum stay
$1,600
$3,200
 
 
Late Summer 2016
Jul 29 2016 - Sep 8 2016
3 night minimum stay
$500
From
$550
Fri,Sat
$1,750
$6,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 2016
Sep 9 2016 - Oct 2 2016
2 night minimum stay
$300
$1,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
$1,750
$6,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Final Housecleaning $100
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 4.0%

Security deposit $200; returned within 7 days of end of rental period.

50% of rental cost to confirm booking. Balance of rental, housecleaning fee and security deposit due 60 days prior to start of rental.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Central - Leatherstocking Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • One is en suite to two-twin bedroom #4, one is both en suite to queen bedroom #1 and opens to great room (two doors), one is en suite to both double #3 and single #2 bedrooms (two doors).
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , wardrobe, dresser and shelves
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , closet, dressers
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , large closet and dressers, additional cot available
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (3), Folding Cot (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Immediate tee times available at Otsego Golf Club, walk just 400 feet down the hill--very reasonable rates and special offers for our guests. Enjoy lunch on the Club porch with enchanting lake views.

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...