check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Krystof Litynski

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Waterfront House on Peaceful Private Lake

5 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Baldwin House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 8

Enjoy our charming home with 100 feet of quiet Basford Lake frontage and access to all sports Big Star Lake 100 yards away.

Our house offers beautiful views of Basford Lake, large detached deck, sandy beach and paddle boat for your use.

We have exceptionally big lot with parking spots for multiple cars and boats.

We are located 2 Mi from public golf course and restaurant, 3 Mi from North Country Hiking Trail, 5 Mi from scenic Pere-Marquette river with canoe, kayak, tube rentals.

In the area you can find 2 stores with complete line of sport fishing equipment, woodworking museum, free Saturday evening jazz and blue grass music in the park, grocery stores, movie rentals and famous ice cream store.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Krystof Litynski (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.2
based on 5 traveler reviews

Waterfront House on Peaceful Private Lake
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews
5

Spacious and private

  • 5 of 5

The other positive reviews sum it up well. The lot is very large and private, unlike all the houses you pass on the way. The lake is nice, we enjoyed paddle boating. There is a walkable access to Big Star lake across the street that was great for launching kayaks.

The house is actually quite spacious - 3 full bedrooms, two sets of bunks in one room, a queen in another and a queen and twin in another, so this accommodated our family getaway perfectly.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Pleasantly surprised 😊

  • 5 of 5

I was initially concerned that the property had few reviews and many open dates but the cottage was just what was needed. Not a lot of frills but everything was in good working order.

Cell phone coverage is VERY limited (not a bad idea) in the area.

The kids enjoyed swimming on the nice sandy beach, fishing was great, and the sunsets were unforgettable.

Would definitely rent again.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Detroit, Michigan
1

Beware!

  • 1 of 5

We decided to book this property for a last minute trip. We often must make last minute plans, given our daughter has health issues. In over 5 years of doing so, we have never had a problem... until now.

"Kris", the property owner, said it was still available but indicated we must pay via PayPal or in person, via cash, given it was so last minute. We opted for PayPal, given we are never comfortable exchanging funds without proof of payment.

Kris forwarded all the property information to us, complete with the address and lockbox info, prior to our departure. We spoke to him the morning of our arrival date to let him know we were leaving. He shared a few nice details about the area and wished us well.

Imagine our surprise when we arrived to an occupied home. The renters were as shocked as we were given they too had spoken to Kris that morning to confirm arrival. Additionally, that they had paid for the arrival nearly two weeks before. The renters were also concerned that they too were asked to pay via PayPal or cash but given a good history with VRBO renters, also decided to concede to the owner's request.

We contacted Kris immediately and he feigned surprise, asking us to wait 30 minutes while he "figured something out". No apologies. We explained we didn't have 30 minutes; that our daughter was not going to last that long in our van and would not understand the change. Desperate and without accommodations, we had no choice but to wait.

After 15 minutes, we called back and were told he was "working on" getting us a place in Muskegon, MI - a full hour away - and it was already nearly 6 p.m. Obviously, we were not about to continue waiting without a place to sleep at a time when local small town businesses were closing shop and trust this man with our fate. When I informed him that my husband and I were going to the local police station, he became condescending and told me, with a laugh, "that's not how things work". I told him his practices were reprehensible and unethical to which he replied, "this is not a matter of ethics, this is what happens when you wait until the last minute to make travel arrangements". He ended the call when I asked for an immediate refund.

We exchanged information with the other renters and left to find last minute accommodations. We ended up in a one room log cabin - a far cry from the home on the water we had anticipated.

We have our money and have filed a complaint with VRBO. BEWARE!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was unfortunate mistake we made during the last minute booking over the phone. We thought that we talked to two people from the same party. After receiving phone call that this was double booking our representative met with them within 20 minutes assisting with booking alternative accommodation. Not only we profoundly apologized for our mistake, we also immediately refunded the booking money and sent a gift of $ 200 via PayPal which was accepted. We thoroughly analyzed our mistake and took necessary steps to correct our booking process.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Weekend stay for a wedding

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I, along with our two adult sons, were in town for a family wedding. The house was perfect. Plenty of room for all of us and we had everything we needed. Great location at the quiet end of the road, very private with a beautiful view of the lake. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Baldwin.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
5

Lake house weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

The house was clean and well equipped. We went for a couples getaway but house is well suited for families. There were strollers available and a toddler bed. One room had 2 sets of bunk beds. Listing did show the kitchen was equipped with a dishwasher but none there. Old school dish soap and the sink did the trick. Plenty of space for a larger group. Seemed secluded for being on a lake. There were trees separating from direct neighbors and they were quiet for the most part. Lake was quiet and peaceful too. Utilized the paddle boat. House has plenty of cleaning supplies and laundry room. The open floor plan and large windows to view the lake were wonderful. The deck was nice and had a patio table sized for a family also. Newer stainless steel gas grill available also. Some may say a few of the amenities might be dated but everything worked and we were comfortable and safe. We would return here in the future and would recommend it to anyone looking for a getaway. Whether for a full week or just a weekend.

We did our dinners out at local restaurants. Barskis, Government Lake Lodge and Na-Tah-Ka. Na-Tah-Ka was the closest (across from golf course).

Barskis was our favorite. All were OK.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
12 1

Map

Other Activities: kayaking, boating, cross country skiing, snowboarding, snowmobiling, wildlife viewing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Baldwin House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$200
Fri,Sat,Sun
$910
$3,690
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Baldwin House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 - toilet , shower
    Full 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen Bed (2), Bunk Bed, Child Bed, Convertible Bed (2) Please notice that linen and towels ar not provided
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer; Minimum Age Limit for Renters.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties