check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

6500sf Luxury Ski Retreat with 1400sf great room near Heavenly/Casinos-amenities

Sleeps26
Bedrooms 11
Bathrooms6
Half Baths2
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
estate
Sleeps
26
Bedrooms
11
Bathrooms
6
Half Baths
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

11 bedrooms, 6 full baths, 2 half baths. Greatroom & separate tv/pool table room

Totally renovated in the summer of 2016 by the owner, Jim, who is a local high end builder of custom homes.

Our home offers 6500sf spread out on 4 levels with bedrooms and bathrooms on each, offering you and your guests lots of privacy, as well as, great entertaining spaces.

The 1400sf great room with cathedral ceiling is on the top floor, one floor up from the entry level. Beautiful hardwood walnut flooring throughout with cathedral, wood beamed ceilings. The kitchen is a chef's dream with custom alder cabinets and stainless steel appliances with double refrigerators, double dishwashers, double ovens, and double microwaves. The island with cooktop seats 10 and counters are a unique, beautiful leathered granite.

Jim, the owner, also made custom dining tables throughout including a 14 foot long dining table with long benches, 8 foot square dining table with 8 bar stools, and 10 bar stools at kitchen island. Additionally there's a custom dining table and commercial size bbq on the deck.

Separate pool table room with wet bar with full size refrigerator, pool table, and seating area with large screen tv.

11 bedrooms are spread throughout 4 floors. Each is decorated with modern mountain furniture, quality and comfortable bedding, and Tahoe/mountain art. Beds include 5 kings, 4 queens, 2 bunk bed sets (full and queen).

More Details

Owner
Jim
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2017

About Jim

Husband and wife team who lives in Tahoe. I'm Karen Packman and a real estate agent at Chase International. My husband, Jim Richter, is a local contractor who owns his own firm, Richter Construction. We find the properties together, he renovates them, we decorate them and I do all the marketing and rentals. Some people birth children; we birth vacation rentals.

Jim purchased this estate in 2016

Why Jim chose Lake Tahoe South Shore

Great location by the best beaches in Tahoe, as well as, the South Lake Tahoe casinos and Heavenly Ski Resort.

The house was very large with lots of potential but lots of work also! We splurged and are happy to see tenants enjoying it so much.

What makes this estate unique

Few homes in the area are this large. It's great for tenants to get the whole group in one house or for smaller groups/singles who want to spread out and have their privacy. The greatroom is truly great and can easily accommodate the entire group at once.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

6500sf Luxury Ski Retreat with 1400sf great room near Heavenly/Casinos-amenities
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
5

More than expected

  • 5 of 5

We rented this beautiful home for a company offsite, and were blown away. The home was very well done and well appointed. The kitchen was very well stocked, the beds were extremely comfortable, and it had plenty of entertainment space for our group. The location was also wonderful- just a short drive to everything near Heavenly. We were there during a 3-day blizzard, so that was beautiful, but couldn't enjoy the lake. Would highly recommend to others.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
sacramento ca usa
5

This house has it all!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for my 5 year old birthday and had 26 family members ranging from infants to seniors. The pictures listed do not do this home justice. The home is absolutely stunning and extremely clean/new. The kitchen was more than enough for our family to cook and store our food for the weekend. The 4 levels were a pain to walk but also helped separate our party so it was well worth it. Do not hesitate to rent this home. We've rented yearly in the area and this would be one of my top 3 rentals. If it had a indoor pool we may have never left. Thanks again JIM and KAREN!

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Exactly as advertized

  • 5 of 5

The home was everything i could expect.

Plenty of dishes,utensils,even many spices in the pantry. only glitch,couldn't find any chalk for the pool table cue sticks.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, Virginia, USA
5

True Luxury Vacation Rental

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 26 women spent 3 wonderful nights at this amazing home. As someone who used to rent vacation rentals as an owner and who currently rents them for my own vacations often, I feel comfortable saying that this is one of the nicest vacation rentals I have stayed in or seen. The home was immaculate when we checked in - clean and very well maintained. You can tell that the owners know what they are doing and take pride in their home(s). The level of finish (high quality) throughout really surprised me - everything was very well done - as nice or better than I would put in my own home: gorgeous leathered granite in the kitchen, beautiful light and bathroom fixtures, nice tiled showers, stone sinks, etc. The attention to detail in the finishes and decorating was impressive. This is a true luxury rental home and the description and photos, which are amazing, still don't do it justice. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this home or to stay in it again myself if I am in the Tahoe area. The only hesitation I would make would be in recommending the home to someone who has trouble with stairs (there are many as the home is on 4 levels) - there are, however, 2 bedrooms on the "main" floor that houses the main living room, the kitchen, and a deck, but there are still stairs to get into the home and up to that level.

The owners were very responsive to any questions or needs we had, both before our arrival and during our stay. We had one tiny issue that we could not fix ourselves, but the owners took care of it quickly, professionally, and with a smile. They provided very helpful information on the area (shopping, grocery, dining and beaches very close!).

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Spokane, WA
5

Lake Tahoe Towers

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful house. Impeccable taste. Modern conveniences and classic simplicity.

All that said, don't rent this property if you have poor balance, sweaty feet, slippery socks, no socks, gripping socks, or problems breathing. The four full flights of stairs were a surprise. I definitely burned off holiday calories.

Also, for a house that sleeps so many...the owners were prepared with two coffee makers, but only 5 coffee mugs. Bring your own.

Don't rent this property for a party weekend. The 10 curfew is enforced.

Everything else was perfect.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. We've added 20 coffee mugs after reading your review. Not sure where the others disappeared to... We also live nearby and can drop off such items. All of Tahoe has a 10pm noise ordinance (not curfew) and as we say, our neighbors need their beauty sleep. So thanks for reiterating that we do not want party groups! We've been offering Tahoe rentals for 16 years. My husband, Jim Richter of Richter Construction, has been building high-end homes for 25 years. This home was a total renovation project so we were able to design it and pick materials for a contemporary Mountain home, which at the same time would be able to be cleaned thoroughly for each guest. Thus we used hardwood floors and slate in the common, high traffic areas and carpet in the bedrooms. Our home offers 11 bedrooms encompassing 6500sf on 4 floors with bedrooms and baths on each floor. So bedrooms are spread out and private but only people on the lowest floor will have the advantage of getting their exercise in while on vacation!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles
5

Better than the pictures, this high end property won't disappoint

  • 5 of 5

Recently renovated as stated, this is a fantastic property located just a few minutes from Heavenly gondola, all the casinos, etc. If you have a large group, of ~20 or more people, this home is ideal! The sauna is much appreciated and necessary after a long day on the slopes and in the casino. Would recommend for a small company retreat, 2-4 families, a dozen couples, or just a large group of 16-20 individuals. Last but not least, the beds are heavenly...no pun intended. Miss the home already!

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We greatly appreciate it. Of course it rained the day we had professional photos taken so we need to get a few new ones taken including the deck and views of the mountains/Heavenly. We look forward to having you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Reno
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Heavenly
Car: necessary

Other Activities: Parasailing, Sledding, Boating, Snowboarding, Kayaking, Cross Country Skiing, Snowmobiling

Photos

Rates & Availability

South Lake Tahoe Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
President's Day
Feb 16 2017 - Feb 20 2017
4 night minimum stay
$2,700
 
 
Feb
Feb 23 2017 - Mar 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
May
May 1 2017 - May 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
 
Memorial Day
May 24 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
Summer
May 30 2017 - Sep 6 2017
2 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
Christmas
Dec 19 2017 - Dec 25 2017
6 night minimum stay
$2,800
 
 
New Years
Dec 26 2017 - Jan 3 2018
7 night minimum stay
$3,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $500 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 13.0%

We can accommodate a 2 night stay during the week but often have longer stay requirements on weekends. For example, winter weekends are usually 4 and summer weekends are 6 but these requirements also decrease as we get closer to the arrival date and also depending on other bookings. So please inquire and we'll respond quickly.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

South Lake Tahoe Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 6500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 26 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Full 1 - toilet , shower
    Full 2 - toilet , shower
    Full 3 - toilet , shower
    Full 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 7 - toilet
    Bathroom 8 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 11 Bedrooms, Sleeps 26
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , TV
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , tv
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 2 sleep sofa /futon , tv, own bath
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , tv
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , tv
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 7 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk bed
    Bedroom 8 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk bed
    Bedroom 9 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 10 - 1 king
    Bedroom 11 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Partner Offers