check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2001
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german

Ecological-Sustainable-Paradise-Ocean-Waterfallpools-Permitted

6 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

Huelo House Rental Photos and Description

2 Houses, 5 Bedroom, 4.5 Bath, (Sleeps 4-8) rooms are rented separately

This extraordinary place is full of genuine Hawaiian Mana (blessings). It can be felt the moment you set foot on our lush green land. Whether you are seeking sanctuary, looking to write the next chapter of your life, or are simply on vacation, come explore sustainable living on Maui's 5-star certified Eco-Retreat, voted 'The Greenest Spot on Maui' and the proud recipient of the 'Platinum Green Leadership Award’ since 2013 to today.

We offer Yoga classes in the morning and other spa treatments and our nature hiking trails is what makes our land so popular.

For over 25 years we have tended to this land and respected the Hawaiian nature and ancient way of living in harmony with Mother Earth. We are proud of our achievements in the past 25 years consciously carving and creating out of raw jungle a template for future sustainable living. Are you ready to embark on a journey off the beaten path and discover the elegance of sustainable living?

We are the Hidden Jewel on the North Shore of Huelo and once you find us ~ you have found Shangri-la ~ the lost paradise. Full license and permitted since 2009 (BBPH0003). Our Tax ID is 063-848-6J28-01.

Maui Retreat is a 10-acre, secluded oceanfront property with amazing waterfall trails ending at a lagoon for swimming. We are completely off-grid and you'll enjoy: solar power, delicious well water, temples to meditate, create or relax in. It is simply a very romantic setting. We offer luxurious and unique accommodations. Organic coconuts on-site and tropical fruits are available when in season.

Choosing our place means you automatically lower your carbon footprint. When staying with us, you are contributing to the sustainable green living movement, that is expanding daily.

Escape the tourist-filled places! This is the old Hawaii you have been looking for: exotic, wild, waterfalls, hiking trails, lush bamboo forests next to the ocean, and yet only 15 min drive away from Haiku shopping centers and restaurants, and 25 minutes from Pa’ia.

Note to Parents: We are not the perfect place for small children. Children older than 5 years enjoy learning 'living ecologically safe' and we welcome their participation in the garden.

OPUA GUEST HOUSE - (rooms are rented separately)

The Opua Guest house contains uniquely appointed and curated bedrooms. The shared fully appointed kitchen and dining space provides our guests a unique meeting place to sit and talk about their experiences while cooking or sharing delicious food. The kitchen bar is handcrafted from beautiful bamboo material and the large bamboo dining table hosts 8 people comfortably.

LOTUS ROOM

Our ground floor master bedroom is a spacious room with stunning ocean views, floor-to-ceiling windows that overlook a lotus pond. This room includes private bathroom with shower, and a large in-room closet. Sliding glass doors open to a large deck for sunning and meditation. Sleeps 1-2 people.

DOLPHIN ROOM

Our Dolphin Room, located on the first floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. Sliding glass doors open to a stunning Brazilian pepper tree, with views of the lotus pond and ocean. The uniquely designed bamboo canopy bed is perfect for couples or singles.

INDIAN ROOM

Our Indian Room, located on the second floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. With windows on both sides, providing views of the Haleakala crater, the ocean, and our jungle-like garden. The room is tastefully decorated with offerings from India and Tibet. Sleeps 1-2 people

BAMBOO ECO HOUSE:

Sustainable Elegance in Nature! The entry leads you over a masterfully bamboo crafted bridge over water into a wrap around covered lanai (porch) with multiple sitting areas. The entire house and furniture is custom designed from exotic wood and bamboo. Decorated with treasures from around the world, this place lets you experience the Hawaiian lifestyle. Let your senses be awakened with the exquisite taste of color and beauty with the additional unique location setting.

The fully equipped kitchen has all the amenities with a large living room and dining table. The upstairs has a queen size daybed and cozy sitting area featuring a panoramic view. The downstairs bedroom has a queens size bed and an entry to the dipping pond as well as a natural pond with exotic fishes and five majestic koi’s. There is a bathroom up stairs and downstairs. An out door shower awaits you with stain-glass panels dedicated to the Ocean creatures and a bathtub surrounded by artistically created water falls. Perfect for a honeymoon couple or a small family.

How to find our Maui Retreat:

We are only located 20 miles from Kahului airport on the North Shore near the towns of Haiku and Twin Falls.

What makes us sustainable:

We are caretakers of this sacred land since 1988 and consider ourselves environmentalists. We are specialized in structural bamboo - the lumber of the future. 50% of our buildings are constructed from Bamboo or recycled materials. Our bamboo farm is an invitation for agriculture tourism and contributing to the new consciousness of alternative energy and living organically and ecological sustainable. We invite you to watch our feature length movie called 'The Dance of Earth and Spirit'. We also invite you to watch our video on this page to get to know us better.

We are 100% organic and apply the Permaculture method (Permanent Agriculture for a Human Base Eco-System). We provide natural well water on property for drinking and use a water catchment system for landscaping. We recycle ours and our guests' waste including glass, cardboard, paper, plastic and aluminum cans. Food waste goes to the worms and chickens and the rest gets composted.

Maui Retreat’s elegant guest book contains more great information on how to be sustainable plus historical tips of the land and its surrounding.

We are mentors to many people who are interested in sustainable living. We are ready to serve you and provide you with an unforgettable experience of living elegantly green!

Take time to explore our website and call us when you are ready to book this magical journey. This will invite you to find out even more of what we have to offer as a spiritual, artistic, creative musical family of kindred spirits. We welcome the new dawn of the Eco-Traveler ~ YOU!

Keywords: House, perfect for singles, couples, and honeymooners who enjoy to be 'off the beaten path'

Yoga & Qigong Practitioners, Meditative Retreat Setting.

~Designed Elegantly for the Artist in You~

More Details
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • not suitable for children
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner
Member since: 2001
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german

About The Owner

Raphael is a world famous musician and composer. He is an Embodied Spirituality Teacher and offers Qigong classes and private sessions. Raphael especially loves to support those who seek to find their creative voice and talents. He is available for private session and he teaches once a week an evening class in his studio.

Kutira is an author, musician, spiritual environmental activist, social entrepreneur, teacher and creator of Embodied Spirituality and founder of the Kahua hawaiian Institute. She is a mentor to many students and teachers around the world. Kutira dedicates a big part of her life, empowering women and organizations, which support ecological awareness and health education. Her groundbreaking work in sustainable living is globally acknowledged.

Together they are a very dynamic team and have created many wonderful projects. Their land is scared and they guard the precious 'Aina' with their hearts. As famous artist Alex Grey once said: 'What I paint, Kutira and Raphael build. Truly magical temple builders of Mother Earth.'

The Owner purchased this house in 1988

Why The Owner chose Maui

This land was known as 'Resting Place of Mature Souls' by the ancient Hawaiians. This area has always been a special place to leave your daily schedule behind and escape into a world of fast manifestation, where spirit can hear you and your questions get answered.

And, we did not choose, the land chose us. We do not own ~ the land owns us!

We are only the care takers for our short time on this planet. We are committed to leave a legacy to our children so they can carry forward what we have been given from Mother Earth... the rights to have clean water, fresh air, healthy soil and living in harmony with nature and each other.

What makes this house unique

Exploring an elctro-magnetic free field lets you discover deeper and resting sleeps, dreams and you may experience an exhilarating feeling of wellbeing in a few days. Our bodies will receive the deserved rest from the hectic and constant buzz around us. Your soul can rest in a tranquil environment that has been held in a spiritual way for many years. Simply, come and experience. As Albert Einstein once said 'Knowingness is nothing but experience'. We are ready for you.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We thank you for sharing your home, wisdom and beautiful property with us. What a magical experience! Peace, relaxation and inner joy.

Many Blessings
Mar 2010
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

3
based on 6 traveler reviews

Ecological-Sustainable-Paradise-Ocean-Waterfallpools-Permitted
average rating of 3.0 based on 8 reviews
1

Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

My wife and I stayed at the (private Bamboo Temple). Which was not private. There is a cottage right in front of it. It was very disappointing. The view we had from our room was beautiful but that was about it. Rules everywhere. Don't use this don't touch that. More gecko's inside than outside. The place felt dirty. I felt like they collected our money and that was the end if it. It's to bad could be a nice place if managed properly.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sad to read this comment as we always strive to provide for each traveler a place of comfort and beauty. We try to understand your need for privacy and you are the first guests we ever had in the more than 15 years of hosting travelers from around the world who consider this location as "not private" - there are no dwellings in view from any window or porch on the Bamboo Temple, nobody comes by nor can see into it, and YES, the view is stunning. We are proud to share that we have received the "Platinum Leadership Award" by Trip Advisor for our green business practices - something that has become part of our lives. Living sustainable we do have to give some guidelines but certainly not with "don't touch this". We only can assume that this must be a misunderstanding. We do not spray our grounds and houses with pesticides for any insects. We use safe non pesticides methods and they work. However, our geckos are part of living on the North Shore and they are part of the Hawaiian lifestyle. We enjoy the natural sustainable resources such as the lumber bamboo and the geckos too. We have no air-conditioned and hermetically sealed rooms, we like the trade winds to refresh us. We certainly can't and don't want to compete with a large hotel on the South Shore. We strive for zero waste and we take pride to share our knowledge of green living, organic gardening and safe cleaning methods. We give our best to keep our place nice and clean and if something can be improved we listen and act. We may not be for everybody, but we hope with our website to be open and clear where we are located and what we provide and how our place looks. We even have a video posted. However, with all of that said we can happily report that most of our guests enjoy their stay and have a loving, unforgettable experience. As always, we shoot for 100% guest satisfaction and take any constructive criticism seriously, including all comments that are shared. We hope you choose to come and visit our piece of paradise - our land is truly beautiful. And, if your stay is not meeting your expectations, please let us know immediately so that we can handle any concerns. We are proud of our 98+% of good reviews we have on Trip Advisor, Flipkey, as well as the many hand written testimonials is our guest books in each room. We hope to see you soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Perfection on Maui

  • 5 of 5

I was trying to find the perfect location to make the day and night of my engagement to my fiancee something to remember... well I don't think I could have found anywhere in the world that compares to our experiences with Maui Retreat.

I was able to book my reservation with ease, and had my detailed questions answered over the phone. We stayed in the Eco Thai Hale Cottage and it excited my expectations. The pictures online don't do it justice. The love and care put into the property are apparent in the meticulous grounds and well kept Cottage. We were greeted and escorted to our Cottage and informed of all the things the Cottage and grounds of the Maui Eco Retreat had to offer. They knew my plans of getting engaged and provided a detailed map of the property. We hiked down to the ocean, walked to the secluded music temple, and explored the properties beauty. Our highlight however was a spectacular 150' waterfall, just a short hike from our cottage. It was the perfect setting for me to pop the question. Gorgeous views and two pools to swim in atop the waterfall.

While the grounds and hikes were breath taking we also soaked in our time at the Eco Thai Hale Cottage. Relaxing on the front porch over looking the Pacific, listening to wonderful music our friend (William works on the property and loaned us bug spray, took pictures for us when we got engaged at the waterfall, and was a joy to talk with and share such positive and amazing energy with, we love you William!!!!) strategically placed in the CD player for us, unwinding in the outdoor mermaid shower, meditating upstairs in the loft, and just taking in the tranquility of the Cottage. It also had a full kitchen that we only sparingly used.

I wish we never had to leave these sacred grounds, and unfortunately for use we stayed here first and none of the other properties we stayed at on the island came close.

We can't wait to come back!

from the bottom of your hearts, thank you Kutira and Raphael for sharing your property with us!!!!

All our love,

Sean & Sabrina

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

What I didn't know until I got there

  • 1 of 5

I did not know these things until I got to the property:

Guests are required to put all used toilet paper in the waste basket

I got lots of mosquito bites

The tags on my sheets read 100% polyester

The promised change of linens for guests staying seven days was not done for me.

I shared my bathroom with four other guests and four groundskeepers

No soap or shampoo is provided for the shower

No towel rack was provided for me in the bathroom or in my room.

The last mile of the access road is dirt, rocky, rutted and very unpleasant to drive.

Guests are asked to take short showers

A sign is posted saying the path down the cliff to the ocean is extremely dangerous

Tables and sitting areas were occupied by employees and often not available for my use.

Only one of the "temples" was available for my use. The rest were occupied by people associated with the "Eco Retreat"

Guests are asked to keep lights turned out unless necessary

There were nine signs posted on walls in my living area telling guests what they could and could not do.

I did sleep well here. If you are used to traveling in third-world countries, nothing here should bother you.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
Macon, GA, USA
5

Best place on Maui

  • 5 of 5

This is the definition of peaceful. You come here and really learn a lot about yourself and the land. In my opinion this is the nicest place on the island. I'm not a fan of the over crowded touristy side - this place really brings you closer to earth. The land is beautiful, there are scenic views everywhere you turn! Trails down to the ocean for those up to an adventure. One of the most beautiful places to truly be secluded from all of the madness in the world. I really can't say enough about my stay here!

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Eugene OR
1

Photos are Deceiving!

  • 1 of 5

We were so taken by the photos and thought we had found paradise. We were sorely disappointed. Our room smelled like mildew (no fans or good ventilation) and was tired looking with sub-standard mattress and bedding. Almost everything at this "retreat" center was either broken, dirty, unable to use or lacking in another way...plastic flowers, broken tile, peeling paint, stopped up bathrooms that are all shared, the list goes on.There is a communal kitchen with not enough fridge storage for more than a few days of groceries as it is shared by many others. We hardly ever saw the owners so it was difficult to get assistance. They have "woofers" (folks working for lodging) staying in the main house, meaning they are not paying guests, adding another element. Unfortunately a real beach is a long way away unless you want to try the challenging descent to the rocky beach at the retreat center. Yes, the setting is stunning but not worth it. We found it to be an unsettling experience that we would not repeat. It has taken me a long time to want to recall our stay here as it was that unpleasant. We would have asked for a refund but dealing with the owners was not worth it. We stayed away as much as we could and just used it as a place to sleep. We will never return.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We feel sad that these visitors never even made the attempt to talk to any of us while they were here. We take pride that we welcome our guests and care for them. Any suggestions and request we receive are attended to immediately. Below we address some of their concerns. “We were so taken by the photos and thought we had found paradise.” Yes, and we know that a picture says more than 1000 words. How can our place be so misrepresented where so many guests come and experience happiness and enjoy the North Shore of Maui with us. “…no fans or good ventilation…” We do not need any ventilation as we have always a trade wind that keeps our place almost 10 degree cooler then the South side of the island. “We hardly ever saw the owners so it was difficult to get assistance. They have "woofers" (folks working for lodging) staying…” We constantly upgrade and renovate and attend to our guests needs. The owners are available at anytime and often welcome people who arrive late at night. We have a caretaker couple, an office staff and students who are learning the art of living sustainable. They have their own space and are very helpful to any of the guests. Very often a kin bond is formed between guests and those who live here. “Unfortunately a real beach is a long way away unless you want to try the challenging descent to the rocky beach at the retreat center.” We have a video on our website that shows how we are located. We certainly have no interest to have visitors at our place who are not happy. We send clear information what can be expected and we have it in writing on our website that the ocean trail is for hiking. We actually tell people if they are looking for white sand beaches they will not find them on the North Shore. If they are looking for a more adventures, and off the beaten path holidays, we are the place. Well, one thing we learned in the many years we are in business here, a ‘bad’ report is written fast and displayed. It took these guests almost half a year to write this review. A good report is seldom posted and the memory of those guests stays in our hearts and many choose to return to our blessed land. Here is a lesson to be learned for us, we certainly now will encourage our guests to post reviews on Trip Advisor as they abundantly share their blissful visits in our guest books.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
canaroes
5

great place to szay

  • 5 of 5

It is defenitelty a great place to stay, houses and rooms are beautiful - clean, made with loving care and awareness for details just like the picture show. What I especially like is that the owners care for the environment and work sustainable. Our group had a great time there - just the way to the property is not so easy to drive.

It is a great start for the Hana Road. The owners have been helpful and the place can be recommend as the greenest spot on Maui.

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this wonderful review. Yes, we are "off the beaten path" and once you find us ~ you found Shangri-la, the lost paradise. Our roads are an adventure, magical and yet totally safe for normal compact rental vehicles. Our road is the beginning to celebrate your visit in the old Hawaiian style.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

This side of the island holds the lush jungle,the waterfalls, the agricultural part and the famous road to Hana. Certainly a must to see - the aliveness of Mother Nature and her bounty. Enjoy the world class surfers from around the word at Hookipa beach. Stroll through the picturesque town of Paia, visit the top of the line organic grown local shop called 'Mana' and get a feeling where the locals 'hang out'. The small shop owners are have all unique offerings, beauty saloons, coffee shops and great small restaurants are a pleasurable way to spend some time on our side. During winter time the whales are back and as this is a small island everything is easy to reach including the white sand beaches in Paia, As this part does not have any hotels only a few permitted B&B you will experience the lifestyle in Hawaii and get a real taste of what it means living here. Welcome to our side of the Paradise.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Huelo House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
HighSeason
Dec 15 2016 - Mar 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$185
$1,295
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
$1,050
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300

We are not able to keep the calendar up dated as you can book the entire house or only a room. Therefore you need to contact us for availability. We promise to get back to you within 24 hours.

Rates are subject to change till reservation is confirmed with a 50% deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Huelo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Shared Kitchen ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Lotus Room Bathroom - toilet , shower , The lotus room is the master bedroom.
    For Dolphin room guests - Has a shared shower and bathroom.
    Bamboo Eco House - toilet , tub , outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Lotus Room - 1 queen , Has it's own bathroom and shower. Great view of lotus pond.
    Dolphin Room - 1 queen , Bamboo post bed. Great access to gardens with an ocean view.
    Indian Room - 1 queen , Has a view of our garden as well as the ocean. Amazing.
    Bamboo Eco House Rooms - 2 queen , Upstairs Queen Sized Bed included
  • All our rooms have queen size beds. And views of the ocean.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets considered ...
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Natural swimming pools at our waterfalls, natural hiking trails to the ocean for diving and swimming, private temples for meditation.

Partner Offers