Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The River Run Cottage: Historic Downtown & Deschutes River with HOT TUB

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

The River Run welcomes you to her warmth and comfort. This delightful craftsman style home beautifully blends old fashion charm with modern amenities.

This cottage is designed to make your Bend experience special in every way, and we highlight our personal commitment to excellence in our attention to details... from fresh coffee beans to classic DVDs, warm snuggle comforters and themed Central Oregon decor. Our goal is to make every Bend trip memorable in the very best way.

The River Run is in the perfect central location, just a short stroll to the Deschutes River and the Historic Downtown area... walk to everything that makes Bend so very Bend. This cottage is moments from downtown dining, shows, shopping, galleries, and local brew pubs... and just moments more to festivals, concerts at the Les Schwab amphitheater, the High Desert Museum, Mt Bachelor, Phil's Trail for mountain biking, and of course all the river fun.

Notably this cottage is five minutes from the spectacular River walking trail that follows the banks of the Deschutes River. At the end of your play day, relax in the quaint private backyard garden with gas BBQ, outdoor dining area, and private hot tub. If you want it all, come enjoy the freedom of vacationing in the comfort of a home.

Keywords: Craftsman style cottage

More Details

Owner
Lisa McDonald
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 13, 2017

What makes this cottage unique

The River Run finely blends the charm of Bend's historic craftsman houses, with modern ammenities. The vaulted ceilings and numerous windows let the gorgeous Bend sunshine flow into every room, and this home invites you to really relax...

Guestbook comments from the owner

First time in bend. What a great town! Checked out a good number of breweries. met our daughter and her boyfriend for the weekend. We enjoyed your house immensely. We played Scrabble and watched "Blair Thumb". The hot tub was relaxing too. We rolled around on the bikes too! Great location. Thoughtful amenities! Highly recommend this gem of a rental. Would stay here again if possible.
May 2014
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

River Terrace Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size Beds (1), Queen Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Large flat screen TV with BluRay / DVD player, iPod docking station, game cupboard, DVD library, outdoor eating area, crib / highchair available upon request, concierge grocery shopping available

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
15% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
The River Run Cottage: Historic Downtown & Deschutes River with HOT TUB
average rating of 4.736842 based on 26 reviews
5

Adorable and Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I rented this cottage for a minimoon after our wedding. We brought our dog with us and were so happy they allowed pets. The cottage was everything I expected based on the photos and description, no disappointments at all. The inside is spacious, clean and cozy. Favorite features were: Master bath huge walk in shower with dual shower heads, master bath wall heater, living room gas fireplace and the backyard with lots of seating options and hot tub! The location cannot be beat, its just a 10 min walk to downtown, the river and hiking trails. Short 10 min or so drive to other hot spots in Bend. Many of the breweries are walking distance or short drive also. We found a favorite breakfast/coffee/cocktail spot walking distance called Bad Wolf Cafe - excellent food, cold brew coffee on nitro tap, and home infused vodkas for a killer bloody as well as 6 mimosa offerings.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You had me at "no disappointments at all" ----we are always working hard and striving to make our places "just right". Love that you felt that while here.... Thank you so much!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Charming home and great location

  • 4 of 5

This home was perfect for a long weekend with my husband and folks. Two bedrooms with comfy beds and two big bathrooms, lovely living space with fireplace and big, well equipped kitchen. I would definitely book again. My only suggestions would be to make sure the oven is cleaned regularly as it was quite dirty and some of the dishes need replacing as they are significantly chipped. The living room floor was also insanely squeaky but not sure what can be done about that. Overall LOVED this place. It was within walking distance to almost everything. I'd stay here at any time during the year but it was especially lovely in the fall.

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad that your family loved the River Run---she has a personality of her own and we love her craftsman charm and great location too. Fall in Bend is a personal favorite time of mine as well---the beautiful colors, great discounts, slower pace, and relaxing vibe --- Glad your family had fun! The River Run stays fully booked much of the year, so we are always happy to have true off-season start in November, giving us more time to have fun shopping for new goodies for the house. We have ordered a nice new set of dishes for the kitchen to help modernize the feel, and are deep cleaning all our ovens before the holidays so they are sparkling fresh and shining for the feast prep. Sorry... nothing we can do about some creaks in the original awesome wood floors. I always think of the River Run as a fine old dame with a great personality dancing with creaky knees. Makes me smile. Thanks again and hope to see you in Bend again real soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great weekend with special friends at this home

  • 5 of 5

The house was everything that we would have wanted for a gathering of friends... very clean and well appointed--great location!!

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Cozy & Charming

  • 5 of 5

The River Run House was a quaint craftsman style home with modern amenities. The location was perfect to walk to town or use the bikes to ride. The yard with the deck was great to relax on with our canine kid. We hope to come back soon.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much---love hearing that the River Run was perfect for you. You are most welcome to "come back home" soon!! Happy Summer to you-----
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quaint, meets our needs when traveling

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time visiting Bend. The cottage meets our needs and we even had friends come over for dinner and really liked the cottage. Very close to town and one can walk to the river and mirror pond.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The location was great!

  • 3 of 5

The house was cute and quaint and close to downtown. This is only our 2nd time to Bend. We picked this house for location and because we LOVE to hot tub after a hard day up snowshoeing and tubing. The first night the hot tub was REALLY hot, so we asked if we could turn it down. Lisa was quick to respond to help us!

But after that the hot tub wouldn't heat. So we weren't able to use after the first night of our 5 day stay. After trying to work it out with Lisa, she basically wouldn't return our call regarding this issue. Apparently they don't have people to help or fix things on the weekend. Very disappointing.

Also, the house needed a really good deep cleaning. The kitchen was also very sparse.

We always love Bend and will be back, just not here.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I love that you started with the fact that The River Run was quaint and cute because that's so absolutely TRUE! I also understand that you were disappointed that the hot tub malfunctioned during your stay. I was disappointed as well -- we are very proud that all of our homes have such great ones. The fact is that it was working perfectly upon your arrival but unfortunately did have a pressure switch malfunction on Saturday afternoon. This was not due to anything we did or didn't do, or that we had any control over---it was merely a part that broke. As reasonable people we accept that things like this do happen occasionally. As you know, but perhaps have forgotten, I responded immediately and called in my maintenance man to check out the tub within an hour. He reported back that he could not tell what the internal problem was and that it needed an expert. I then called not just my hot tub company, but several others as well, in an effort to get an immediate repair. All responded that they didn't have staff to come out on weekends. Every effort was made over several hours, to assure you that everything that could be done , was being done. I am truly sorry I couldn't offer you the only answer you wanted to hear. No one appreciates a constructive review more than we do--- It enables us to do our job even better and we sincerely welcome that. I politely invite you, new potential guest, to read the many other --- honest--- reviews regarding this cute craftsman cottage. They speak to her wonderful spacious gourmet kitchen, her cleanliness and wonderful design, her attention to detail, her fantastic hot tub, her great location and our personal service. I'd like you to know that The River Run is a delight.....because she truly is...then come stay with us and judge for yourself. Please know that we will do anything we can to personally make sure your Bend vacation is as good as it can be!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Brewery tours and Bend Ale Trail, Old Mill Shopping, Historic downtown, 26 golf courses, Sisters Quilt Show, Masters Cycling Classic, Cascade Classic Horse Show

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.2%

All cancellations made within 24 hours of booking are subject to a $50 cancellation fee. Reservations booked and confirmed online are charged a nonrefundable 25% deposit. Cancellations made with less than 30 days notice may be completely non-refundable. Please consider trip insurance for your trip. See our rental agreement for full details on the cancellation policy as they pertain to your individual reservation. If you reserve at a 3rd party website, we are unable to refund your 3rd party fees.
--
When your arrival is less than 30 days in the future, 100% payment is due when making the reservation. When your arrival is more than 30 days in the future, 25% payment is required to confirm your reservation. The remaining balance due will be collected 30 days prior to your check-in date.

Please be aware that if you reserve through VRBO you will pay their service fee for their additional services in addition to the rate we quote for you. We are not able to refund/remove/deduct that fee for you if you reserve through VRBO. You may reserve with us directly without a fee at www.BendCottages.com.

Please check your VRBO instant quote for complete stay pricing and additional fees.


STANDARD WEEKEND BOOKINGS ARE A MINIMUM OF THREE NIGHTS.
Rates are based on length of stay, and number of guests.
They will vary for weekends, special events, and holidays.
Some restrictions on check-in and checkout days of the week may apply to certain date ranges.
DISCOUNTS may sometimes apply for multi-night, mid-week, and business stays.
There will be an 12.2% Lodging Tax applied to all bookings.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties