Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The River Run Cottage: Historic Downtown & Deschutes River with HOT TUB

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

The River Run welcomes you to her warmth and comfort. This delightful craftsman style home beautifully blends old fashion charm with modern amenities.

This cottage is designed to make your Bend experience special in every way, and we highlight our personal commitment to excellence in our attention to details... from fresh coffee beans to classic DVDs, warm snuggle comforters and themed Central Oregon decor. Our goal is to make every Bend trip memorable in the very best way.

The River Run is in the perfect central location, just a short stroll to the Deschutes River and the Historic Downtown area... walk to everything that makes Bend so very Bend. This cottage is moments from downtown dining, shows, shopping, galleries, and local brew pubs... and just moments more to festivals, concerts at the Les Schwab amphitheater, the High Desert Museum, Mt Bachelor, Phil's Trail for mountain biking, and of course all the river fun.

Notably this cottage is five minutes from the spectacular River walking trail that follows the banks of the Deschutes River. At the end of your play day, relax in the quaint private backyard garden with gas BBQ, outdoor dining area, and private hot tub. If you want it all, come enjoy the freedom of vacationing in the comfort of a home.

Keywords: Craftsman style cottage

More Details

Owner
Lisa McDonald
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 21, 2017

What makes this cottage unique

The River Run finely blends the charm of Bend's historic craftsman houses, with modern ammenities. The vaulted ceilings and numerous windows let the gorgeous Bend sunshine flow into every room, and this home invites you to really relax...

Guestbook comments from the owner

First time in bend. What a great town! Checked out a good number of breweries. met our daughter and her boyfriend for the weekend. We enjoyed your house immensely. We played Scrabble and watched "Blair Thumb". The hot tub was relaxing too. We rolled around on the bikes too! Great location. Thoughtful amenities! Highly recommend this gem of a rental. Would stay here again if possible.
May 2014
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

River Terrace Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size Beds (1), Queen Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Large flat screen TV with BluRay / DVD player, iPod docking station, game cupboard, DVD library, outdoor eating area, crib / highchair available upon request, concierge grocery shopping available

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

The River Run Cottage: Historic Downtown & Deschutes River with HOT TUB
average rating of 4.75 based on 23 reviews
5

Adorable and Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I rented this cottage for a minimoon after our wedding. We brought our dog with us and were so happy they allowed pets. The cottage was everything I expected based on the photos and description, no disappointments at all. The inside is spacious, clean and cozy. Favorite features were: Master bath huge walk in shower with dual shower heads, master bath wall heater, living room gas fireplace and the backyard with lots of seating options and hot tub! The location cannot be beat, its just a 10 min walk to downtown, the river and hiking trails. Short 10 min or so drive to other hot spots in Bend. Many of the breweries are walking distance or short drive also. We found a favorite breakfast/coffee/cocktail spot walking distance called Bad Wolf Cafe - excellent food, cold brew coffee on nitro tap, and home infused vodkas for a killer bloody as well as 6 mimosa offerings.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You had me at "no disappointments at all" ----we are always working hard and striving to make our places "just right". Love that you felt that while here.... Thank you so much!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Quaint, meets our needs when traveling

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time visiting Bend. The cottage meets our needs and we even had friends come over for dinner and really liked the cottage. Very close to town and one can walk to the river and mirror pond.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The location was great!

  • 3 of 5

The house was cute and quaint and close to downtown. This is only our 2nd time to Bend. We picked this house for location and because we LOVE to hot tub after a hard day up snowshoeing and tubing. The first night the hot tub was REALLY hot, so we asked if we could turn it down. Lisa was quick to respond to help us!

But after that the hot tub wouldn't heat. So we weren't able to use after the first night of our 5 day stay. After trying to work it out with Lisa, she basically wouldn't return our call regarding this issue. Apparently they don't have people to help or fix things on the weekend. Very disappointing.

Also, the house needed a really good deep cleaning. The kitchen was also very sparse.

We always love Bend and will be back, just not here.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I love that you started with the fact that The River Run was quaint and cute because that's so absolutely TRUE! I also understand that you were disappointed that the hot tub malfunctioned during your stay. I was disappointed as well -- we are very proud that all of our homes have such great ones. The fact is that it was working perfectly upon your arrival but unfortunately did have a pressure switch malfunction on Saturday afternoon. This was not due to anything we did or didn't do, or that we had any control over---it was merely a part that broke. As reasonable people we accept that things like this do happen occasionally. As you know, but perhaps have forgotten, I responded immediately and called in my maintenance man to check out the tub within an hour. He reported back that he could not tell what the internal problem was and that it needed an expert. I then called not just my hot tub company, but several others as well, in an effort to get an immediate repair. All responded that they didn't have staff to come out on weekends. Every effort was made over several hours, to assure you that everything that could be done , was being done. I am truly sorry I couldn't offer you the only answer you wanted to hear. No one appreciates a constructive review more than we do--- It enables us to do our job even better and we sincerely welcome that. I politely invite you, new potential guest, to read the many other --- honest--- reviews regarding this cute craftsman cottage. They speak to her wonderful spacious gourmet kitchen, her cleanliness and wonderful design, her attention to detail, her fantastic hot tub, her great location and our personal service. I'd like you to know that The River Run is a delight.....because she truly is...then come stay with us and judge for yourself. Please know that we will do anything we can to personally make sure your Bend vacation is as good as it can be!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Perfectly Cozy!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first visit to Bend. We flew in from Atlanta, GA. Met our son and his girlfriend and had a fabulous time. Soooooo beautiful! And of course the house was amazing. Perfect location. We walked everywhere when in Bend. Used the hot tub as much as possible. Had breakfast every morning on the deck. So pleasant. One morning the coffee maker stopped pumping water. We called Lisa and she was there with a new one within the hour. Lisa is one of the best things about this rental. She is amazing. She keeps everything running smoothly and the house immaculate. We definitely plan on coming back. Our next trip is a house hunting trip. Can't wait. But in the mean time my son and all his friends and their families plan on checking this house out. Can't go wrong.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great house; great location in Bend!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed a long Halloween weekend in Bend while staying at River Run. The house was very clean and cozy (with charming decor!); the kitchen had everything we needed to make our meals; and the location was centrally located in Bend - right near the park and downtown shops and restaurants. We particularly enjoyed the fireplace and hot tub! We will totally come back here next time we're in Bend!

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Halloween in Bend is always spook-tacular (sorry-----I just couldn't resist) So glad you enjoyed the house and her great location. It really is such a treat to be able to easily stroll right into our wonderful historic downtown and all of Bend's great dining, galleries,shops, brew pubs and more....Come back soon and do it all over again....
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Nanaimo, B. C., Canada
5

Annette/Vancouver Island

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year to Bend for Mountain Biking and my friend was so fortunate to find this cottage shortly before our departure from B.C. The cottage was perfect for the two of us as we had lots of room for all our "stuff" and the kitchen was great for eating breakfast before riding and making lunches to take with us. Although we weren't around much to enjoy the beautiful, well kept yard, I did manage to make it into the hot tub one evening and was impressed with the size and jet action. We enjoyed being close to great shops, bike stores and parks along the river. Definitely we would recommend this cottage to others and hopefully we will be able to return on another biking trip. (some other members of our biking group were quite impressed with our comfortable, clean, and roomy accommodations)

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed Bend and The River Run Cottage for your Fall bike trip to Bend. Thank you so much for taking time to drop us a note too. We just love hearing that our guests are happy ones! We agree----September and October are wonderful months for enjoying the great outdoors here, with wonderful weather and smaller crowds. Hopefully we will see you back in The River Run very soon! Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Brewery tours and Bend Ale Trail, Old Mill Shopping, Historic downtown, 26 golf courses, Sisters Quilt Show, Masters Cycling Classic, Cascade Classic Horse Show

Photos

Rates & Availability

River Terrace Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 23 2017 - Jul 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$229
 
 
Summer
Jul 2 2017 - Jul 17 2017
5 night minimum stay
$319
 
 
Summer
Jul 18 2017 - Jul 24 2017
2 night minimum stay
$309
 
 
Summer
Jul 25 2017 - Jul 30 2017
6 night minimum stay
$309
 
 
Summer
Jul 31 2017 - Aug 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$309
 
 
Summer
Aug 16 2017 - Aug 24 2017
3 night minimum stay
$309
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 25 2017 - Aug 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$239
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Aug 31 2017 - Sep 5 2017
5 night minimum stay
$289
 
 
Fall
Sep 6 2017 - Oct 21 2017
5 night minimum stay
$209
 
 
Fall Discounts
Oct 22 2017 - Nov 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$159
 
 
Thanksgiving Break
Nov 19 2017 - Nov 27 2017
5 night minimum stay
$269
 
 
Winter Discounts
Nov 28 2017 - Dec 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$149
 
 
Winter Holiday
Dec 15 2017 - Jan 1 2018
5 night minimum stay
$289
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$289
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.2%

STANDARD WEEKEND BOOKINGS ARE A MINIMUM OF THREE NIGHTS.
Rates are based on length of stay, and number of guests.
They will vary for weekends, special events, and holidays.
Some restrictions on check-in and checkout days of the week may apply to certain date ranges.
DISCOUNTS may sometimes apply for multi-night, mid-week, and business stays.
There will be an 12.2% Lodging Tax applied to all bookings.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable