check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Prime Gloucester Property - Overlooking Harbor with Private Pool

73 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights


Gloucester Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms , 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-6)

You can really have it all in Gloucester's inner harbor.

Private pool (OPEN: mid-May - mid-Sept & unheated), garden landscape, panoramic views of Gloucester harbor AND less than 1-mile walk to Good Harbor Beach.


This 2BR apartment comfortably accommodates four on vacation or in town for a graduation weekend, college visits, but it’s also a perfect getaway for anyone looking for a small slice of Heaven on Cape Ann during the off season.

Past guests repeatedly say this apartment is bigger in person and the space looks just like the pictures online. Several said this property is the very best VRBO/HomeAway accommodation they have ever rented. They also write about how cozy and comfy the apartment is, many feel right at home, right away. Just read our stellar reviews.

This apartment is on the second floor of our house, where we live, with our amazing views of Gloucester's Inner Harbor. Within this apartment, there are two bedrooms each with its own private bathroom. The master bedroom has a queen bed and a twin bed and a hidden trundle bed for young children with a full bathroom with soaking tub. The second bedroom, off of the living area, has a queen bed and a bathroom with a shower stall. Each bedroom is ideal for couples traveling together, but the twin & trundle bed make it flexible for up to 6 people. The living room couch is extra long and comfy for sleeping but it is not a sleep-sofa.

The apartment has its own separate entrance and our guests tell they feel they have a lot of privacy while staying with us, even though we share the same house. There is off-street parking for up to 3 cars. The open living-dining space has a dining room table that can seat 4, flat screen TV with basic cable, WiFi, a comfy sofa with coffee table, two over-sized chairs, and a breakfast bar with 4 stools at the kitchen counter. The well-equipped kitchen has an oven/stove, fridge with freezer, coffeemaker, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, and full set of dishes, pots & pans, flatware and many utensils. If anything is missing, just let us know. We’re right downstairs!

I am Rebecca and manage this property. I live on the first floor below this apartment with my retired mother, Dot, (aka 'Gloucester Quilter') who quilts and gardens at home. One of us is always on hand to attend to any question or concern.

We are very knowledgeable about how best to experience the North Shore and day trips in our region and towns across New England. PLEASE submit a property inquiry through this portal for a personalized quote. We will reply with a quote along with our comprehensive, 6-page, visitors guide which includes heaps of local do's and don'ts.


Our rates up to date.

Keywords: Cape Ann, Gloucester, Good Harbor Beach, Artists, Rocky Neck, Eastern Point, Restaurants, Pets OK

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Rebecca Borden
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 27, 2016
Call Owner

About Rebecca Borden

My mother has owned in this property since 2000. I moved back home in 2009 to help support her. We decided to join VRBO in Nov'11 after we had such a positive experience renting ourselves through VBRO. We have enjoyed hosting some great guests from all over the country and internationally!

This apartment is an 'in-law' apartment on the second floor of the house where we live on the first floor. We love sharing our property, pool (in summer) and landscape with our guests. As our reviews confirm, we have had many happy guests.

We do not rent for extended stays because, while we have had many amazing visitors, we did have a few bad apples . We are cautious about sharing our property with incompatible 'neighbors' for extended stays. Those are our terms and we hope you respect our perspective.

As a policy, we do not give out our address for privacy and security reasons. We live here along with our neighbors in one of the best kept secret locations on Cape Ann. We feel our online reviews speak for themselves.

Rebecca Borden purchased this apartment in 2000

Why Rebecca Borden chose Merrimack Valley & Essex County

Gloucester and Cape Ann are an hour from Boston. We have amazing beaches, rich history and cultural legacy and award winning restaurants. You can easily take a day trip to Boston by commuter rail and come back and see a glorious sunset over the harbor.

What makes this apartment unique

We love sharing our views, pool and property with guests. Gloucester is such a great area to visit and vacation!


based on 73 traveler reviews

Prime Gloucester Property - Overlooking Harbor with Private Pool
average rating of 4.8356166 based on 73 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Amazing ... I can't say enough good things about Rebecca and Dot . They thought of everything to make our stay just like home, only better. The house has the most amazing view . Quiet , clean, comfortable and just fantastic. I can't wait to go back

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Everything we hoped for and more.

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful view, roomy and comfortable accommodations. Friendly hostess's and well behaved pets. Dot and Rebecca were very informative with places to go and things to see and tasty and delicious foods to try. Area scenery is wonderful and the whale watching was exceptional. Gloucester Mass. is not only the oldest U.S. seaport but a wonderful place to visit and relax . Not only a good place to visit but also seems like an excellent place to live.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Frank and his friends were wonderful. We loved them because in the fall months, we really enjoy having retired couples traveling together stay with us while exploring New England. They are very curious. They ask questions about us, our property and our local history. This guest is a great example of how we want them to feel at home on our property and to use us as a local resource about what to do and see (whale-watching, Rockport), and most importantly, where to eat. We hope they come back again. Rebecca & Dot
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quaint and relaxing

  • 4 of 5

The home was very nice, clean and we enjoyed the stay. I do feel that the furnishings were old and needed to be replaced, for the price that was paid.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gloucester is the oldest working seaport - and the oldest art colony (Rocky Neck) - in America and my family has been in Massachusetts for over 300 years. Naturally, our property is furnished with antique furniture, some of which are family heirlooms. We are sorry this guest did not fully appreciate the true value of our decor. Many past guest have enjoyed the authenticity and coziness of our property, which we provide on many levels. As to this guest's reference about what he "paid for," please know our rates are well below what two retried couples would spend on two rooms in September at any hotel on Cape Ann - to say nothing about the added value we provide of having a kitchen to prepare breakfast, lunch or dinner as needed. We love hosting retired couples who like to travel together throughout New England in the fall. Just read Frank C's review about their stay on October 10, 2016. ~Rebecca & Dot
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable home in beautiful surroundings

  • 4 of 5

Lovely older home that accommodates four guests perfectly. We had the privacy we expected as well as the opportunity to visit with and ask questions of the owners. Gloucester was a perfection location for us to stay with good restaurants near to down town shops and ease of travel to nearby sights. Thanks Rebecca and Dot for your warm and friendly hospitality.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In the fall, we mainly get retired couples who like to tour New England (why not?). Our 2BR/2BA apartment is a great place for these type of guests. We love interacting with them on a personal level because they are so curious about our local history and about what to do and see in such a short time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gloucester, MA

Great View!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I really enjoyed this apartment. There was lots of room and it had everything we needed. We arranged beforehand with the gracious hosts, to have my aunt (who was coming down from Maine to spend a day with us) to spend the night in the second bedroom so she wouldn’t have to drive home in the dark. We made a few meals during our stay and the fact that there was some herbs, spices, and condiments to use was great! We didn’t have to buy things like olive oil, butter, or salt/pepper, which we couldn’t have taken home with us on the plane. The view was fantastic both from the apartment and from the chairs on the lawn. The place was comfortable, warm, and inviting, and we would definitely stay again. My husband (I don’t swim) really enjoyed the fact that the pool was there for him to do his daily laps.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest's review confirm how much we want to make each stay as perfect as possible for our guests, down to the little details like kitchen condiments to the big things like letting her mom come stay after they booked with us. They communicated how her mom wanted to come stay in advance so we were prepared - and our 2BR/2BA arrangement is great for in-law visits and joint stay. Yes! The pool is a plus! We look forward to them staying with is again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy...and what a view!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed with Rebecca and Dot just after Labor Day weekend. The upstairs space is roomy and private but Rebecca and Dot are available if you need any assistance. Property itself is quite lovely with an awesome view of the harbor (same view from the living room!). This was our fourth visit to Gloucester and we liked this location---quiet but close to everything. We can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I and my mother (Dot) love having guests who enjoy staying here as much as we do! They took full advantage of our local visitors guide, which really helped them make the most of their stort stay. They knew what they wanted to do when they arrived. Unfortunately, weather got the best of their plans. But, when we learned that two men's shirts were left behind, we mailed them back immediately - at no cost.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Boston [BOS] Logan International Airport
Nearest Golf
0.4 Miles
Bass Rocks Golf Club
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Gloucester Commuter Rail to Boston
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Rt 128
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Duckworth's Bistro (best dinner on Cape Ann)
Nearest Beach
0.7 Miles
Good Harbor Beach

Gloucester has some of the *best* whale watching in the world - operates May - Oct.


Rates & Availability

Gloucester Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Late October 2016
Oct 11 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
Early November 2016
Nov 1 2016 - Nov 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
Off Season Winter 2016/17
Nov 28 2016 - May 26 2017
2 night minimum stay
Early Summer Rates 2017
May 30 2017 - Jun 24 2017
2 night minimum stay
1-Peak Summer Rates 2017
Jun 25 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Summer Short Week 1
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 25 2017
6 night minimum stay
Summer Short Week 2
Aug 27 2017 - Sep 1 2017
5 night minimum stay
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 2 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Taxes and Cleaning Fee $50

If you cancel more than a month before your rental, there is a $100 fee.
If you cancel less than a month before your rental, there are no refunds.
Special agreements can be arranged if there is severe weather.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Gloucester Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2) each with private bathroom, Twin or Single Beds (1) in the master bedroom with a queen bed, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) single futons, inflatable double bed, extra large couch
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
Manicured garden landscape. Homegrown vegetable garden in summer.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties