Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)
About Amy Avery
My husband and I are avid travelers and have rented cottages through VRBO several times. We knew that when the time was right, we would own a vacation rental property that we could share with our potential clients. Let Summer Breeze become your 'home away from home'.
Amy Avery purchased this Cottage in 2011
Why Amy Avery chose Holland
After living in Florida for 7 years on a boat and traveling in the Bahamas and the East Coast of the US, we knew that our hearts still belonged in West Michigan. We have vacationed here for the last 7 years and just knew that someday we would end up back in Holland for good. Maybe someday we will become 'snowbirds' but for now we live in Summer Breeze in the winter and will gladly share it with you in the summer. This has been a labor of love, decorating it in my summer time theme. Holland is a wonderful vacation area with both a quiet family feel and with the activities and amenities to keep you busy.
What makes this Cottage unique
While living at Summer Breeze in the 'off season' we love to walk to Holland State Park, climb the 239 steps at Mount Pisgah, eat dinner at the Ottawa Beach Inn and watch the sail boat races on Lake Macatawa.
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Really enjoyed the cottage and surrounding area. Location is great, as well.
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed Summer Breeze and the Holland area. If West Michigan is in your travel plans for the future, we'd love to have you back!
This property is very clean and is in a good location. There is a good view of Lake Macatawa and it is within walking distance. Also close to other sites. We enjoyed our stay.
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the cottage to be very clean. If Holland is ever in your vacation plans, we'd love to have you back!
This house and owner were both amazing and perfect! We would return in a heartbeat.
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the cottage. It was such a pleasure to meet your family and friends and we'd love to have you back again!
Cute cottage but too stressful
I enjoyed the cottage itself and the location. My party and I had a fun week in Holland; however, I just hated the final interaction we had from the homeowner. Amy sent us an extremely long (4 pages), detailed list of rules for the stay which seemed a bit overbearing already; we are a group of seven 30 year olds having one last trip together before I have my baby in August. We aren’t children but felt like it with all the specific rules. However, we followed all her requests to a T and kept the house very clean throughout the stay. As an avid cook I was bothered that there was absolutely nothing to use in the kitchen- no oil, salt or pepper even. I bought and left these items for the next guest because it seems like a very basic thing to provide when there is a kitchen. The worst was after we left (having followed all her very specific check out directions) Amy sent me pictures of chips in the upstairs tub, saying we must’ve dropped sharp objects in there to cause the damage. It was ridiculous! There weren’t any sharp objects in the shower, of course, and some of the chips were by the plumbing so how would we have even gotten there? It was absolutely absurd. I have stayed all over the world with Air BnB and have never had an issue, been provided with a stocked kitchen and have been treated better. I will go back to using them exclusively. This interaction with Amy ruined my respect for VRBO. I won’t be back.
Thank you so much for your feedback. I was also very disappointed in how your stay ended. Upon entering my cottage my heart dropped to see that it had been left in such disarray. There was dirt and sand everywhere, the garbage had not been taken out and my beautiful newly re-glazed claw foot tub had been damaged. Since I clean the cottage myself, I am thorough on ensuring the cleanliness and condition of my rental. If the tub had been damaged prior to your arrival, the previous guests would've been notified.
My 4 page Welcome Letter is meant to give plentiful information regarding the cottage and our neighborhood. It also states the policies and procedures so there is no miscommunication. Since that was sent to you 2 months ago, I would hope that you'd ask questions if you had any.
My cottage is stocked with all paper products, cleaning and laundry supplies, storage bags, wraps and foils. I do not stock food items as those are highly personal choices.
I'm very sorry that your stay ended on such a sour note for both of us.
Mother /Daughter Weekend
Amy’s place was perfect! Close to shopping, eateries and the beach
So comfortable and clean
Enough room for the 6 of us
Backyard deck was great
We will definitely go back
It was great to correspond with you and I'm glad that you had a wonderful weekend with your family. If your travel plans include West Michigan, I'd love to have you back!
Adorable cottage right down the road from the beautiful beach at Holland state park.
This is a lovely cottage with all of the amenities included. Super close to the beach, but out of the main drag - very quiet and comfortable.
Lake Macatawa water access is at the end of our street, through the use of our dock. Holland State Park and Tunnel Park are just 1.4 miles away. Summer Breeze is within walking distance to Oak Grove Campground (.2 miles away), Yacht Basin Marina/Boat Services and LoLo's (.2 miles away), Anchorage Marina (.3 miles away), Kayak and Jet Ski rentals (.3 miles away), Ottawa Beach Inn (.5 miles away), The General Store, Dunz Dogs and Mount Pisgah (.8 miles away).