check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ruth Lyerly

Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Perfect Art-filled Beach Cottage - 2BR, 1BA - Great Location!

13 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Anna Maria Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Welcome to Ruthie’s Retreat, a fabulous freshly updated cottage, conveniently located in the heart of Anna Maria's historic district. It's positioned within an easy stroll (2.5 blocks) to the gulf beach, Ginny and Jane E's and The Sandbar Restaurant. This enchanting mid-century 2 bedroom, 1 bath coastal cottage has undergone an extensive restoration resulting in a truly captivating island retreat.

The master BR has a king size bed with dually-controlled comfort settings and the second BR sleeps 2 with two twin beds. Comfortable, relaxed furnishings throughout include wicker, whimsical upholstered chairs and island flair accessories. This delightful cottage will surely capture your heart!

Some of the many amenities of this cottage include: sparkling terrazzo floors; numerous ceiling fans; 2 lg flat screen TVs w/cable and DVD with a large library of DVD films; secure WiFi Internet service; comfortable family room seating; an eat-in screened porch; a granite top kitchen island and all kinds of beach items to make your stay even more special. Towels, two adult bikes, beach chairs, sun umbrella, wagon, noodles, floats and beach toys are also included.

Enclosing the side yard, framed by a white picket fence, is a robust herb garden, a table and landscaping that offers color and tropical privacy. You can't ask for a better location! This is a great place to call your home away from home.

The free island trolley/bus runs every 20 min both north and southbound and takes you the length of the island and beyond.

Keywords: Fresh, clean, updated, beach cottage, comfortable, family and pet friendly, north end of AMI

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Ruth Lyerly (Property Manager)
Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Ruth Lyerly

We have four absolutely amazing sons and two precious grandchildren. Their favorite place to be is on the island with Mimi and Geepa. Cooking and spending time with friends and family are our passions...and maybe a little Tampa Bay Rays baseball and NFL games.

Ruth Lyerly purchased this cottage in 2011

Why Ruth Lyerly chose Anna Maria Island

My husband's work takes him all over the world and nothing is more relaxing for him than to drive 20 minutes from home and feel as though he's on vacation. Our middle son is a charter captain on the island, Captain Josh, which comes in quite handy for a fishing outing or supplies for a Friday night fish fry. We will retire on this island.

What makes this cottage unique

All of our out of town friends and family who have vacationed on AMI enjoy the quaint feel of the island and the ability to walk almost anywhere.....we couldn't agree more.

Reviews

5
based on 13 traveler reviews

Perfect Art-filled Beach Cottage - 2BR, 1BA - Great Location!
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
Safety Harbor
5

Very cute cottage.

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was very clean and well appointed. Only 2 blocks from the beach. And a short walk to Pine ave for restaurants. Bed was very comfortable. And my dogs loved the fenced in side yard. Would stay here again. Ruth the owner was very nice and pleasant even after I broke something. She was very understanding. Would recommend for anyone with dogs..

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Lexington Ky
5

Ky couple

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay in the cottage. Clean, comfortable, a real old Fl feel.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Hoffman Estates, IL
5

Ruthie's Retreat is the best!

  • 5 of 5

We arrived on June 9th and were delighted to see such a cute, well decorated cottage. The proximity to the beach, just 2 short blocks was wonderful, and we could walk to the Sandbar restaurant and Ginny and Janes. The small fenced in area outside was the favorite spot for our two small dogs! The cottage is very charming and very, very comfortable. We will be back as soon as we can arrange the time! Thanks for such a wonderfully relaxing place to spend our vacation!

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Louisville, Kentucky
5

Cozy retreat

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was perfect. The location was right in the heart of things. We walked almost everywhere we went. We loved the art work. Everything was just great.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Sackville, NB CANADA
5

Ruthie's Retreat has it all.

  • 5 of 5

Ruthie’s Retreat was the key factor in our wonderful stay on AMI. Its location is perfect.The Gulf, the shops on Pine Avenue, City Pier and lots of great restaurants are all just a short walk away. In addition to being as cute as the photos suggest, the cottage is amazingly well-equipped and offered plenty of space when our family grew to five during one week of our stay. I can’t think of a single thing we needed that was not provided. The owner even found us a ‘pack n play’ when she learned our granddaughter would be visiting. We really appreciated having the use of the bicycles and a full complement of beach accessories. The weather was perfect and we used them every day. The property manager and owner could not have been more helpful in making sure we enjoyed our stay. It was hard to leave. Ruthie’s is truly a gem.

  • Submitted: May 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Guilderland, NY, USA
5

Charming and Cozy Beach House

  • 5 of 5

I stayed with my partner John and dog Max for the month of February. The cottage offers everything you will need for a fabulous stay on Anna Maria Island. It is nicely decorated (beachy themed), extremely clean and well-stocked. We used the beach chairs, beach umbrellas and wagon. The town, the beach and great restaurants are just a few blocks away. No car needed. Free trolley service is also offered on the Island. We loved our stay on Anna Maria Island and especially in Ruthie's Retreat. Our only regret was that we could not get it for the following year.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Anna Maria Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
winter/Spring
Dec 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,450
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $275

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Anna Maria Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1080 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
  • Full with tub/shower combo
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master BR with ing (comfort controls for each side)
  • 1 King bed in master BR w/dual firmness controls for maximum comfort. Second BR has 2 twin beds. Cottage sleeps 4 max.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Two adult bikes, beach chairs, wagon, floating noodles, beach towels, beach mats, a cooler and assorted beach toys are available in the shed for your enjoyment.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties