check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Roy Hood

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Executive Home - Courtyard Pool Nestled on Lake with Bass

9 Reviews
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Burnt Store House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-9)

****SUMMER DEAL - $550 per week - 50% OF REGULAR PRICE *****

Bright Airy Lake Front Home

This is a waterfront courtyard pool home with a waterfall on Valmora Lake.

This home has great views from the livingroom and in the kitchen. Wherever you go in the house you are looking at either the courtyard with the pool or the lake.

The cherrywood kitchen is new with cherry cabinets and granite countertops.

The pool is in the centre of the house in an enclosed courtyard and extremely private.

There is a separate Guest House with its own ensuite washroom and kitchenette. The extends the # of bedrooms to 4 (main house has 3 bedrooms / 2 washrooms). Rental rate does not include the Guest Quarters.

What I love about this home:

Private enclosed pool

Lake Front

Georgeous Sunsets

Walking distance to Publix, Liquor Store, Walgreens, PIzza, Restaurant, Chinese Food etc.

Master bedroom has sliding patio doors to both the pool area and the lake

Everywhere you look you see either the lake or the pool

if this property is not available see VRBO# 495567

Keywords: pool, lake front, fish, bungalow, 3 bedroom, shopping, WIFI, BBQ, Satellite TV, Free Long distance USA

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Roy Hood (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Roy Hood

Roy is a retired pastor and I am self- employed in the IT Industry. We absolutely luv going to a warmer climate. The best part of Cape Coral is that our children do not want to do anything except stay in the pool all day. The best part for me is that from all the rooms I can keep an eye on them.

Roy Hood purchased this house in 2011

Why Roy Hood chose Cape Coral

Fishing in backyard

Proximity to Salt Water Fishing

Close to 4 famous beaches

Close to shopping

Enclosed private pool

Bright and airy house

What makes this house unique

Privacy yet close proximity to everything

Guestbook comments from the owner

perfect location, its in the subtropics so it does not cool down in the winter. The restaurants are close, shopping is close, beaches are all close enough. The house is on a lake and the pool is in a courtyard and very private.



We loved it so much we are coming back again. The owners were so nice and hospitable and checked up to make sure everything was ok.



We loved it
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.1
based on 9 traveler reviews

Executive Home - Courtyard Pool Nestled on Lake with Bass
average rating of 4.111111 based on 11 reviews
3

Needs some maintenance

  • 3 of 5

Owners were wonderful to work with. Lake location is beautiful but far from places we wanted to visit.

Broken globes around the pool landscape kept us from letting the dogs in that area. Furniture lacks comfort due to wear and tear. Had floors scrubbed and vacumned shortly after we arrived due to excess dirt.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

76 degrees in home all week

  • 1 of 5

Lovely home, pool is very nice very private. Owner were very nice until I had two issues. Within 50 minutes of our stay kids took pool cover off, pool was dirty with leaves n dirt. We cleaned it, and they went swimming. I go to grocery store and get a phone calle from my oldest (23) saying her brother was bit by spider. Thy killed it, and took pictures. I sent this picture to owner asking if they new what type and if it was poisonous. Thinking if it's my home, I'd for sure seen a spider in it . She had no idea sent me all kinds of great info, was very nice and helpful. She told me she was in hospital, I apologized had no idea. Well next day heat was in 80-85 area, house was 76. We turned down to 71 in hopes it would cool off, with no luck. We keep blinds close (no view we wanted so to enjoy) windows don't open or told not too wasn't going to risk damage to it more. Well come to find out they keep the thermostat on 75 and felt it perfectly cool enough for others I was only one to every complain. I told him had I know this when i was renting home I would've never rented it. We like to be able to sleep without sweating. Master bedroom had a ceiling fan, air didn't seem to go in that area well. We bought fans for rooms spent $60 more on trying to stay comfortable. Being told how I was the only one to Complain so much to them. Ask me to go by cheap thermometer to check air coming out vents. My husband is a licensed heating and air professional. Thy even asked for him to look at it on his vacation. I finally gave up begging for repair on air, said I'd deal with it Came for pool and ocean anyway. Had no view of lake all week. I loved the home, and owners were nice until they had to spend some money to repair something that needs to be replaced. I'm sure you'll hear them say how horrible we were to deal with.. I hope you can at least listen to some of what I said here, as its true. we paid in full, and house was very nice, was just hot, 76 degrees never got below 72 from time we got there. I would've paid lights..if given option to be cooler. If you don't mind the home being 72-76 degrees this is a perfect place. My kids hated sulfur smell from water too, as this home isn't lived in I'm sure that's why water smells. Just giving heads up on this rental, if someone would've said this in a review I wouldn't have rented this home. Good Luck maybe all would've went better if the wife wasn't in hospital.. Husband wasn't the nicest to deal with, she was.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were not notified of the sulfur smell by current renters. We will contact our water company to see if they can find the source. The last tenants just left prior to this rental and never mentioned that, so we were not aware. I personally was at the house a week or so prior to the arrival of this tenant and the house temperature was fine. I contacted the previous tenants who just left and they said that the AC was fine during their stay and the house was cool. We asked if the renters husband had any ideas of why the temp might not be going down as he worked in AC business. We did not ask him to fix but wanted to get some guidance as to what might cause the temp to stay at 75. There was no response to that. On the web there were many articles that indicate that it could be clogged filter, dirty condenser coils, thermostat etc. Unfortunately I was hospitalized and was limited to what I could do from my bed. I had no way of phoning renter. My husband tried to contact renter on several occasions and could not reach them. We asked them to purchase a cheap thermometer (which we said we would pay for) and see if the thermometer said it was 76 or if the thermometer said it has 86. A house at 76 generally does not feel hot, however everyone has their own tolerance for heat. Might have been that the thermostat was showing the wrong Temperature of 76 and in fact it was 86 . Had that been the case we would have paid the $300 to have an AC guy investigate. The renter finally said that they would just deal with it and were not going to get the thermostat. All we were trying to do is determine how severe the issue was and what we might want to have looked at by the AC people. We leave a note requesting that 1 kitchen window not be opened because most people have a problem closing it and then leave it open after they leave. In this case i would not have expected the renters to open the window when they felt that the house was too hot anyway, so not sure why that was mentioned in the review. If you read all of our reviews you will notice that when there are issues we resolve them as soon as we are able to. In this case I was limited with what i could deal with. I am sorry the tenant was not happy with their stay but I did what I could under the circumstances.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Flynn

  • 5 of 5

Lovely home and area to stay in. Owners are wonderful to deal with.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you come back again
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Hamilton
5

Fabulous property close to all restaurants and shopping - lotsa fish in that lake

  • 5 of 5

we had the most wonderful relaxing time at this house. The owners called to make sure everything was ok. We did not have an issue with the doors or the blinds. The icemaker was fixed - turned out that someone prior to our rental turned off the water to the fridge. The courtyard pools is visible from all rooms in the house and the other side is a huge lake with pelicans fishing daily.

We are DEFINATELY coming back

  • Submitted: May 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Hattiesburg MS
4

CAPE CORAL IN THE WINTER -GREAT

  • 4 of 5

It appears that a scheduling adjustment gave us the opportunity to spend a week in this house. The listing description was accurate and the lake view was to die for. Owners provided us with information concerning the house and a next door neighbor contact if we had problems. Upon arrival we encountered a couple of problems. The vertical blinds at the lake/patio door would not open so we could view the lake. The patio sliding glass door was very hard to open and I feared damaging it if pressure was applied to open it. As instructed went next door to neighbor to ask for assistance only to find that they too had rented out their home for the season. The winter tenant there was kind enough to come over and free the vertical blinds and discover that the rollers on the patio door needed replacement. Called owner, he offered to have door fixed, but we did not want to have to wait around the house for a repairman since we were there for only a week. As the week went on we found a couple of more maintenance issues including the fact that the ice-maker did not work and I am not sure I ever learned how to operate the heat on the thermostat as there were several chilly nights. I appreciate the harshness of Florida weather on wrought iron , but there was heavy peeling of paint on the wrought iron entrance door. The location of the house was very convenient to Pine Island and we visited a couple of times to restaurants on the island. We were convenient to both Fort Myers, Sanibel and a day visit down to Naples. We enjoyed our visit and think that maybe a one month winter stay in Southwest Florida might be a good idea.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Dunkirk, Md
5

PERFECT in EVERY WAY

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a unit that would be a home base and also be convenient and accessible to Fort Myers, Sanibel, Cape Coral for the purposes of searching for a new home. We found this home to be exactly that. The difficulty came with leaving the property to meet with our realtor. The view of the lake from anywhere in the house was so magnificent we didn't want to leave! The amenities were incredible. The courtyard location of the pool, the comfort of the queen beds, the spaciousness of the home were all amazing. Nothing. I repeat - nothing was missing. The best part of the entire rental experience was the owners and their graciousness and kindness. The good news is we found a home to purchase in the SW Florida area. The bad news is we won't have the need to rent in this location again. Because if we did this would be our favorite rental in Cape Coral!

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Red's Fresh Seafood House -- CLOSED
Pine Island
Bubba's Roadhouse & Saloon
Beef 'O'Brady's
Nearest Airport
27 Miles
FOrt Myers
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
in the mall - within walking distance
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Cape Coral Oaks
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
withing walking distance
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Cape Coral Beach
Car: recommended

Disney world 2.5 hours

Clearwater Aquarium where 'Winter' the dolphin lives 2.5 hours

Edison and Fords summer homes (available for touring) 1/2 hour

Photos

Rates & Availability

Burnt Store House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Low Season - May to November
May 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
1 night minimum stay
$130
$700
$2,100
 
 
High Season - Dec April 2015
Dec 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
$250
$4,900
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$125
$650
$2,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $99
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Burnt Store House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2050 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Queen size Beds (2) Master Bedroom has ensuite and has patio doors opening to the pool and another set opening to the lake, Twin or Single Beds (1) 2 twin beds in the 3rd bedroom, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) We have a queen size blowup air mattress that is very tall (like a bed)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach Chairs, Beach Towels

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties