check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Roxanne

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

OCEANFRONT KONA: BEST PRICE- BOOK NOW FOR FALL/WINTER

17 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Captain Cook House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Welcome to Aloha Oceanfront vacation cottage by the sea! Please contact owner directly for last minute bookings and extended discounted stays.

Description:

This custom-built, Polynesian designed, fully-furnished, open-beamed, redwood home is situated absolute oceanfront on Papa Bay, Milolii. Aloha Ocean Hideaway is unique in comparison to other oceanfront homes in the area with regards to it's proximity to Papa Bay Cove and famous 'At Da Rock'. The location is truly a hidden gem and a diver's paradise. This property is located furthest north oceanfront and provides direct access to the cove right in front of the house! The property is also located near an ancient Hawaiian fishing village and private beaches. Hike ancient 'King' coastal trails and visit ruins. Watch dolphins and whale swim by from the enormous 50-foot wide deck. Wifi available!

Papa Bay cove offers clear, clean water for snorkeling, scuba diving, swimming, and kayaking. Don't forget to bring your underwater camera! For a sneak preview of the magnificent undersea world that exists directly in front of our beach cottage, please google and visit photos shared on atdarock website. As you will see and experience, this place is literally a divers mecca. We include boogie boards and snorkel gear for your use.

So what are you waiting for? Book now to secure your stay and enjoy your own oceanfront house in Kona.

Aloha Ocean Hideaway is just twelve miles to restaurants and shopping. We are located 40 miles south of Kailua-Kona town, and a one-hour drive to volcano village. This remote and private, hideaway provides a quiet retreat in which to get away from it all.

Available to rent minimum 3 night stay, weekly, or monthly. Please see rates.

Amenities:

BBQ grill, WIFI, boogie boards, beach chairs, linens, full kitchen: gas range, refrigerator, coffeemaker, blender, microwave, cookware, dishes/utensils provided, satellite T.V., DVD player, CD player, koawood bar, huge deck with lounge chairs, secluded location. 1 bedroom has a queen sized bed, another queen sized bed is located in the living room area for additional sleeping or lounging space. Enjoy dining inside or oceanfront on the enormous deck. Perfect location for celebrations or just relaxing at this private island getaway.

Activities:

Swimming

Snorkeling

Kayaking

Hiking

Ancient Coast Trails

Sight-Seeing

Whale-Watching

Groceries

Restaurants

Laundromat

Marina

Beaches

Beachcombing

Swimming

Reefs

Scuba-Diving

Boating

Sailing

Yachting

Wind-Surfing

ParaSailing

Water-Tubing

Kayaking

Deep-Sea-Fishing

Surf-Fishing

Sound/Bay-Fishing

Fly-Fishing

Bicycling/Biking

Hiking

Mountain-Climbing

Eco-Tourism

Caves

Forests

Rain-Forests

Ocean

Bay/Sound

Museums

Live-Theater

Cinemas

Churches

ATM/Bank

Hospital

Zoo

Ruins

Keywords: house

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Roxanne (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Roxanne

The owner of Aloha Ocean Hideaway is a published author and artist whose latest publication has recently been released, 'ISLAND WOMAN' and is available online and in major bookstores. She is a forty year resident of Hawaii and owns and operates an organic coffee farm in Capt. Cook.

Roxanne purchased this house in 1986

Why Roxanne chose Kona Coast

We purchased our lot and custom built this oceanfront cottage as our second home. We picked the location for its pristine ocean, privacy and clean environment. It is the perfect spot to write, paint, swim and relax by the sea.

What makes this house unique

Close proximity to the ocean, snorkeling and swimming. Incredibly clear water and abundance of tropical fish. Sounds of the ocean and gentle breeze. Quiet, private and a great relaxing getaway! Ideal for an artist or writer's retreat. A diver's dream come true.

Reviews

4.7
based on 17 traveler reviews

OCEANFRONT KONA: BEST PRICE- BOOK NOW FOR FALL/WINTER
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 17 reviews
New Zealand
5

Vacation at Aloha Ocean Hideaway, Kona, Hawaii 2012

  • 5 of 5

I was pleasantly surprised that the listing for Aloha Ocean Hideaway and pictures accurately depicted the home and environs. The house was sparkling clean and well-maintained. Everything was in good working order. Snorkeling and sunsets were amazing. Lots of dolphins and reef fish were swimming the the cove facing the house. This was the peaceful retreat we had been in search of. We will definitely return.

Stazia

Auckland, New Zealand

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Outstanding Piece of Paradise

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful place.

As other reviews have noted, the pictures are exactly what you get with this gem.

My wife and I loved every minute of our week here, with everything described in the overview coming true for us.

As frequent visitors to the state of Hawaii, it was a privilege to stay in a Hale that exceeded all of our expectations.

Although the home lacks air conditioning, the breezes flowing between efficient screened windows and lanai doors were more than enough to compensate.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Anchorage, Alaska
5

Our favorite place in the sun!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just returned from two weeks at Roxanne's place. We couldn't be happier with our choice (except maybe we need 3 weeks next time). We have stayed in Milolii before, but this was even better. Milolii is a bit off the beaten path (but still within an hour of Kona), but that is why we like it there. We had to make a couple runs to Kona, but were able to get by on the local fruit stands and an occasional beer run to nearby Oceanview. We love the solitude, sunny weather, access to snorkeling, and gracious hosts. The house itself is beautiful, sitting right on the ocean, and right next to the handy steps/handrail to get in for snorkeling. The first week was a bit rough to get in the water, but we just spent some time on the deck watching for whales and enjoying the sun. We were entertained by a small pod of whales and a rambunctious little calf slapping his tail on the water just in front of us from the deck. Second week was filled with snorkeling right out front. Super spot and we are recommending to all our Alaskan friends who enjoy the sun and solitude that this place is perfect for. Roxanne is super-fast at responding to any questions and is very easy to work with. We highly recommend this place and Roxanne!!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Idyllic

  • 5 of 5

This is an exceptional house. There's a gorgeous and interesting view that's all about the water and wild coastline, not other people's houses. The access to the water is the best in this area--you can be out snorkeling among scads of fish in about 60 seconds of walking. We loved the old Hawaii design with the wide-open, breezy interior, exactly as pictured. Sports equipment is great and kitchen equipment is ample. The owner is very helpful and responsive.

The house is really one very, very big room, so it's just perfect for a romantic couple or close family, possibly not so ideal for sharing with another couple unless you're on pretty intimate terms. And this is a place for people who love being at the end of the world and are content just hanging out locally, because the drive to the more famous areas of the island is not one you'll want to do every day. For us it was hard to beat.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We have enjoyed the peace and solitude of this getaway many times. The 30 minute+ drive to town keeps it isolated from the typical tourist scene. Many improvements since our last visit. Always enjoy the nearness of the ocean and it's inhabitants!

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Bloomington, IN
5

Quiet solitude right on the water front

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed this spacious place right on the ocean front. The beautiful turquoise water right off the oversized deck was breathtakingly beautiful. Homes are built on volcanic rock, so it is a kind of stark beauty in contrast the lush/rainy side of the island

Be advised that this property is very isolated in a neighborhood a good 30 minutes from restaurants and stores. But we like this quiet, tranquil type of vacation setting, so just perfect for us and very affordable!

Since it is often difficult to tell what a place is like from on-line photos, this place is true to its photos. On the water front. There is no house to the north; a parking area is utilized by some locals and tourists to access the water. A house very close on the south side blocks the view of the sunset from the deck, at least the way the sun tracks in December. However, all is private and screened from the neighbor. You can easily walk out to the front of the property to view the sunsets. There is an alcove that has curtains to drop down for privacy as opposed to a defined bedroom. Another bed is a part of the main living area. There is a separate dressing area with closable door for privacy.

One of our favorite parts was the availability of good snorkeling gear and a sea kayak. Despite sampling snorkeling sites up north, we realized that what we had just right off the house was just as good. Going north up the coast one day and south another day in the kayak gave us a different perspective from the shore. Loved it and beautiful to be out on the water. Just be sure it’s a calm day, as launching the boat can be trying with the waves.

Kitchen was well equipped with everything you need for food prep and storage. Given its 30+ minute distance from major stores, though, we stopped on our way from the airport at the Safeway in Kailua-Kona. The Choice Mart in Captain Cook is on the way too and appeared to be a nice store. There is another grocery store just south at Ocean View, about 15 minutes away.

Since mosquitoes are a problem, be sure to have plenty of good bug spray on hand. Geckos will visit you in the kitchen. The stars at night are about the brightest we’ve ever seen and the sound of the waves is continually soothing.

We would definitely stay here again. Owners were helpful and accommodating. I found out that it had been a family vacation home when built in 1983.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Captain Cook House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
3 night minimum
Apr 2 2016 - Dec 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,050
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100
Tax Rate 13.42%

For questions regarding rates for extended stays, please contact the owner.
Rates are based two person occupancy. An an additional charge of 100. per week or 25. per night per person will added to quoted rates.

To secure a reservation, payments to be made in full prior to arrival.
Cancellation policy is as follows:
30 days or more notice of cancellation, payment refunded minus a $200. re-booking fee. Less that 30 days notice of cancellation 50% payment nonrefundable plus $200. re-booking fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Captain Cook House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (2) Our oceanfront cottage sleeps 4 people. We offer two queen size beds. One bed is located in the bedroom and the second bed is in the living room area.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties