check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Gary Hauler

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

Sixty feet from the Blue Pacific - Large Oceanfront Home!

4 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Hawaiian Paradise Park House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Enjoy a wonderful, Hawaiian vacation at our 'House of Sea Spray' (Hale Huna Kai) on the beautiful East Coast of Hawaii. Our two-bedroom vacation home comfortably accommodates parties of up to six people in a modern, cheerful, quiet, and relaxed setting. The listing is the entire upstairs of the house with incredible views looking toward Cape Kumakahi (known to have the cleanest air in the world) and also looking towards Kaloli Point. The lower one bedroom has a separate entrance and is often occupied. Convenient to Hilo Town, Kilauea (the world's most active volcano), the rain forest, world-class snorkeling, incredible hiking, and waterfalls, 'Hale Huna Kai' can make your dream vacation come true!

Hale Huna Kai is in the Puna district of the Big Island of Hawaii. Puna is located south of Hilo on the East Coast of the Island. The area is known for many things but one that stands out is Kalapana and Kaimu Bay where in late 1990, the on-going eruption of Kilauea's Kupaianaha vent covered the famous Black Sand Beach at Kaimu Bay.

The house is a 30-minute drive from Hilo Airport. It is situated at the edge of Kaloli Bay less than one-half mile from Kaloli Point. The surroundings are lush, verdant, and tropical. Palms, orchids, and plumeria plants abide. Flowering bougainvillea, poinsettia and hibiscus color the area. On most mornings you can look out the front door, over the driveway and see Mauna Kea ('White Mountain'), a dormant volcano. Step out in the yard and pick fresh bananas or citrus for breakfast.

Whales are abundant in the late fall through April and can be seen and heard from the bedrooms. They come close enough to the house you can see their eyes!

Wireless Internet and free local and US long distance calls included!

Keywords: large, private, oceanfront, bayfront, whales, internet, garden

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Gary Hauler (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

Why Gary Hauler chose Hawaii

I purchased this house as a primary residence and built a home down the coast so I am able to offer this wonderful home as a rental.

What makes this house unique

I love to hear the whales at night when they are in Hawaii waters. During the day they play and breach just out back. Dolphins can be seen in the morning and during certain conditions the glow from Pu'u O'o vent can be seen at night. A unique and special place, as is all of this island.

Reviews

4.8
based on 4 traveler reviews

Sixty feet from the Blue Pacific - Large Oceanfront Home!
average rating of 4.75 based on 4 reviews
5

Amazing Ocean Views!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at Gary's home. It was beautiful and very clean. The outdoor seating was nice and we had a full ocean view. Beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you need. The grounds were lovely both front and back. I would stay again and recommend it to anyone who can climb stairs to the home. They are not too steep but there are about 18 of them. Everything was screened nicely and wonderful trade winds were felt. The unit downstairs had a tenant who we got to know and liked. The drive to Hilo was about 15-20 minutes. We also went to Uncle Roberts in Pahoa about a 40 minute drive south, but worth the drive at night. Its a huge farmers market with vendors who sell their homemade crafts and many food vendors. There is a hawaiian band and a bar. The band was great! The home is centrally located between Hilo and Pahoa.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This property was absolutely beautiful.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed 6 nights at this property. We had.a wonderful time and the property is even more delightful and beautiful than advertised. I would definitely recommend this to any of my friends and family.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brisbane, Australia
5

Beautiful location and great house!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, two young children and I stayed here for a few nights and it was gorgeous. The house is in a fantastic spot with amazing views and it is wonderful to sit out on the balcony or on the lava rock and hear the ocean crashing in. We also really enjoyed wandering around the garden and up and down the lava rocks watching the water and dodging the occasional splash! We watched for dolphins, but sadly didn't see any.

The house itself is very large and the rooms were very well decorated and equipped (the photos don't really do it justice!). We loved staying here and used it as a base to explore Hilo and the Volcano National Park plus some of the beaches down the coast.

Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful home!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Silverton, British Columbia, Canada
4

Stunning locaation and views.

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful hale for 3 months and enjoyed every moment. It is tastefully furnished, rooms are large, bright and cheerful, with great views from every angle. It is located right on the lava bluffs overlooking the ocean and we never tired of watching the ever-changing weather and ocean patterns, seeing many, many whales, pods of dolphins and lots of turtles. There is a lovely garden on the non-ocean side of the house with bananas, breadfruit, coconuts and other mystery fruit. There is a small plot where you can "do your own thing" if you happen to stay long enough to watch it come to fruition. What we liked most was the peace and quiet, hearing only the occasional coqui frog at night and doves in the early morning. A great place to spend hours reading, sitting in the sun, or having an occasional social gathering. Of course, there are many, many things to do nearby on the island if you choose but always a delightful, calming place to return to at the end of the day.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Hilo
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hawaiian Paradise Park House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
september
Sep 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$149
$975
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$165
$975
$3,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Housecleaning $125
Tax Rate 13.42%

Longer term discounts available for over 2 months.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hawaiian Paradise Park House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 queen , Large room with en suite bathroom. Room to move around!
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Overlooking the water with shower in room.
  • Queen size Beds (3),
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
Notes:
This is the entire upstairs of my home on the water. The one bedroom downstairs is occupied. There is a separate entrance for the downstairs. Only the laundry room is a shared space.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties