check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Jackie Weber

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Lakefront Fun on All Sports Bass Lake in Traverse City!!

21 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Traverse City Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Enjoy the Northern Michigan experience and 350 acres of beautiful all sports Bass Lake in this renovated lakefront cottage only ten feet from the water!!

Enjoy the serenity on our private dock and watch the sunrise over the lake with your morning coffee.

Please check out our video for a virtual tour!

Local waverunner, pontoon and other watercraft rental and free delivery to the cottage is available.

This beautiful Traverse City Cottage has it all!! Three bedrooms, two full baths and direct frontage on all sports sandy bottom Bass Lake. Come enjoy a week or more in the heart of all the Northern Michigan activities and yet only six miles from downtown Traverse City!

Bring your boat or rent one locally and feel free to use our 40 foot dock. Swimming is perfect here with a sandy gentle slope which is perfect for children and enjoy the warm lake water on this inland lake. Many of the locals think this is the best fishing lake in the area. Feel free to use our rowboat and pedalboat as well.

Just across the street you have access to hundreds of acres of beautiful Northern Michigan woods and hiking trails!

Countless upgrades have been completed on this property. Upgrades include cable TV, 45 inch Plasma in Living Room, TV in Master Suite with DVD & VCR as well. A washer and dryer are also available free of charge! This property is even serviced by ORKIN to avoid those unwanted up north critters.

This is a great location for all Northern Michigan activities and yet very secluded and quiet.

This property is unique as it is less than 10 foot from the waterfront. Watch the kids play on the shore or in the water while you relax on the screened in deck only a few feet away!

3 Bedrooms Include - Large Master with Queen, Second Bedroom with bunk beds and 3rd bedroom with one twin.

Keywords: Close to Sleeping Bear Dunes Voted Most Beautiful Place in America by Good Morning America!

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Jackie Weber (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Jackie Weber

I love dealing with the people that are excited about their vacations like our family is. We love going to Northern Michigan and enjoying the beautiful areas and attractions.

Jackie Weber purchased this cottage in 2003

Why Jackie Weber chose Northern Michigan

This is a fantastic location. Up North feeling, but Traverse City is only 6 miles away. Also, great restaurants, golf, malls, etc. within 3 miles.

Interlochen Center for the Arts very close as well with great concerts.

What makes this cottage unique

The cottage is unique in that it is very spacious and private on the inside and only 10' from the beautiful water through the screened in porch. This unique benefit has been grandfathered in and could not be re-built this way. It is a great relaxing place to be - on the water without the annoying mosquitoes and sipping your coffee or a cocktail.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Nicely repainted and updated! It was a beautiful weekend here and we enjoyed the stay. Loved the lake, the area and the town! We will definitely come back for fall color tour!

Love the new dishes in the kitchen and the new mattress also!
May 2014
  • 1 of 3


based on 21 traveler reviews

Lakefront Fun on All Sports Bass Lake in Traverse City!!
average rating of 4.3809524 based on 24 reviews

Great Location on this lake

  • 5 of 5

I have vacationed on Bass Lake before, but this is the ideal location. on the main part of the lake, not in the back section of the lake, not near the "wash up" area of leaves and stuff. Just beautiful clear Northern MI water! The cottage is literally 10' away from the lake and the screened in porch is awesome! Morning coffee and afternoon cocktails were great out there! Great updated TV's and fireplace and very large master! We will be reserving a week for next year! Great, helpful owners too! Try Boone's steakhouse right down the road. Amazing!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Getaway for 3 Colorado Teachers!

  • 4 of 5

We were very happy with our stay on Bass Lake! The cottage was cute and clean and we LOVED the screened in porch. It was nothing fancy, but was reasonably priced and perfect for what we needed. The location was wonderful as well. We spent a lot of time enjoying Bass Lake and we were able to get out and see some sights around Traverse City. I grew up coming to the area every summer and I wanted to show my friends how amazing Northern Michgan is and they were not disappointed!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Definitely a cottage meant for only one family

  • 3 of 5

Screened in porch facing the lake was my favorite part. Had many great cups of coffee with a beautiful scenery. Otherwise we had several issues. Ceiling leak in one room, toilets tubs all backed up and we were unable to use the house for one and a half days. I will admit Jackie was very responsive and there were people out trying to solve the problem the same day that it happened. However they were unable to solve it. Otherwise small kitchen and one bedroom that is very very small with one twin bed. Nice size master bedroom For a family with small children the cottage would be ideal. Short ride into Traverse City.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Cindy, Glad you enjoyed your stay on beautiful Bass Lake! I apologize again for the inconvenience that you experienced from the drainpipe incident. As you mentioned, we had service people out the same day, compensated you for the deficiency and had water delivered to you to provide minimal negative impact on your vacation. Unfortunately, unforeseen things can happen, We found out that the issue was due to someone flushing peach pits down the toilet and it caused the draining issues! We are all good now and pit free! I hope you will come back and enjoy the views and all that our up north lakefront cottage has to offer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Fall color weekend and awesome location!

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful cottage on Bass lake just outside of Traverse City. The location is phenomenal. Grocery stores and shopping nearby, yet a relaxing middle of the woods lakefront feeling is everywhere here. The cottage is very nicely decorated and very Comfortable. Nicely situated far off the road and very close to the actual water. Gas fireplace was great for the chilly fall evenings. Saw three deer in the road the first evenng. Large kitchen, utensils, clean and comfortable.

We will be booking next summer!

Great owner, super responsive and detail oriented!

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Lenox, Michigan

Labor Day Weekend

  • 1 of 5

I don't know what people are thinking when they are rating this place! I rented this place with my relatives and if I could have found another place to stay I would have! When I arrived the place smelled terrible and carpet had poop stains on the carpet! All windows had to be kept open and scented candles had to be kept burning. It still didn't help :l.

Place was dirty also! If I would have had the number I would have contacted owner but I didn't want to mention say that to my aunt who rented the place. I paid half of the cost! I would have gotten a refund. Place was so nasty slept with my clothes each day! Wouldn't walk barefoot in this place. Definitely, doesn't look like the pictures! They need to work on this place!!!!! They need to learn how to clean also!

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Disgruntled, I'm sorry you feel this way and unfortunately I don't even think you are reviewing the correct rental. We certainly have not had any reviews like this and if there was a problem, we would have addressed it immediately as we always do! My phone number and email are on display at the cottage, on the rental agreement and of course, right here on VRBO, so it is hard to believe that you wouldn't have contacted me until 2 full months after you rented. We don't allow pets and never have. If there was poop on the carpeting, I can assure you our cleaning crew that does a 52 point check with every rental and washes all towels and linens between each rental would have reported it. Again, I really believe you might have reviewed the wrong place. The fact that you couldn't find our contact info is disturbing since we are readily available and eager to help all of our valuable rental customers. If you have any pictures or anything that looks out of place, please forward them. It sounds like your Aunt had a good time wherever you stayed though! Again, a simple phone call and we would have made whatever your objections were go away. Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Midland, MI

A wonderful vacation setting

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at the Bass Lake cottage, and Jackie was an absolute pleasure to work with. My wife and I met our daughter and her husband for a too-rare family vacation, and the cottage proved the perfect setting. The cottage was cozy, providing plenty of togetherness and plenty of privacy. Everything was in good order and the lake setting was splendid. One felt far removed from busy Traverse City -- until one wanted to be there and it was just minutes away. The rowboat, the paddleboat, the dock -- everything was in great shape, just begging to be enjoyed. If there's a single feature that sets the place apart, it's the screen-in porch, where we seemed to spend much of our time, enjoying each other's company and the beautiful lake setting. Just writing this makes me want to go back!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Great location. True 'Up North' Cottage setting on beautiful Bass Lake, yet only a ten minute drive to downtown, shopping, wineries, casinos, and the Grand Traverse Bay.


Rates & Availability

Traverse City Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jul 10 2016 - Sep 6 2016
4 night minimum stay
Fall 2014
Sep 7 2016 - Oct 14 2016
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning fee less 1 wk $95
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Traverse City Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , This is a HUGE master, with plenty of floor room
    Bedroom 2 - 1 bunk bed , One set of bunk beds for two people
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
ORKIN (TM) Service to eliminate bugs, 2 - DVD/VCR Players, Washer & Dryer, No Pets

Partner Offers