Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Apt 2Mi To DC & 15 Min To Georgetown

Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

Spacious, Sunny 1 Br Walk- In Apartment With Everything

The apartment has private entrance and is the whole first floor of our house. A 10 block/10 minute walk to metro bus stop taking you to Friendship Heights Metro Train Station. Free parking in front of house and all day right by metro bus stop as residential neighborhood. It is a very sunny above ground apt with large bright windows. It has easy access to C&O Canal and Potomac River for hiking/kayaking and is across street from Glen Echo Park. It's in a charming, tree-filled neighborhood, close-in to some of Washington DC's most charming neighborhoods and the surrounding tourist attractions. The apartment has two queen beds with high quality Ralph Lauren and Pottery Barn Linens, fireplace, a third bed is twin pull-out couch with real posturepedic mattress in living room next to cable TV, a full kitchen with stove, microwave, dishwasher, full size clothes washer/dryer, standard cable tv channels, high speed internet, large bathroom with separate sink area, large walk in closet, and comfy, charming furniture. Free street parking in front of apartment and also in front of Wash DC Metrobus or MD Ride On Bus stops which are ten walking blocks from apt and take you to metro train station from which to get to tourist areas in Wash DC. For further information on public transit please visit Washington Metro Area Transit Authority's (WMATA) website. Go to 'Trip Planner' to find the travel options between your desired destination and our house address.

Ideal And Idyllic Location: We are also 15 minutes by car from Georgetown where you take uber/taxi or can park your car for day for around $12 and catch the tourist hop on hop off trolley car at Old Stone House stop on M Street to all Smithsonian Museums and Monuments and over 20 other tourist stops. Check internet for several trolley companies that operate route & check for two day ticket prices at discount if purchased ahead of time. Trolley is very easy, convenient, fun for sightseeing families with kids. Apartment is kept very clean by our outstanding cleaning lady.

More Details

Property Manager
Denise Von Gersdorff
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2017

About Denise Von Gersdorff

I am a mom and former World Bank officer. My husband works for the Government and we live upstairs with our two girls, and are usually around in case you need anything but wont disturb you otherwise. Private entrance to your apt and private washing and drying laundry machines not shared with our family.

Why Denise Von Gersdorff chose Maryland - Washington DC

This area is one of the most charming areas close to Washington. We have lived in neighborhoods near the Potomac River for many years, where some of the most charming neighborhoods of DC are located. This house is two minutes drive from the DC line, so very easy to get into town in the morning!

What makes this apartment unique

This is a wonderfully appointed spot in a leafy and quiet neighborhood very close to Washington DC and all the sights. It's just outside historic Glen Echo, and a short walk to the Potomac River, C&O canal and other outdoor attractions. Full Kitchen with stove, microwave, toaster and coffee press and also private laundry with full size clothes washing and drying machines. Private entance to apartment. Above ground first floor of house so very sunny and bright.


Bethesda Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Twin pull out in living room comfy posturepedic mattress
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Apt 2Mi To DC & 15 Min To Georgetown
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews

Next time we are in the DC area we will stay here

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful place to stay. My wife and I and our two daughters stayed here for several days over spring break. The owners were very accommodating, the apartment was roomy, parking was convenient, and DC was very accessible whether via a drive in, or a trip to the Metro station.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Saxapahaw, NC

Pros and Cons

  • 2 of 5

The location of this apartment is enticingly appealing, but the condition of the refrigerator and the bedroom mattresses (added to many smaller problems), makes this apartment for us, frustrating and unacceptable. My husband and I are over 65 and have rented about 12 VRBO properties in the US and Europe over the past 10 years as well as having stayed in other VRBO properties owned by friends and family. All of our rentals were less expensive and had amenities in much better condition than this apartment. Based on our experience, we think our list reflects reasonable basic condition expectations.

Pros: Location was perfect for our purposes. In a heavily wooded neighborhood a few hundred yards above the Potomac River, it felt safe and was surprisingly quiet (other than airliners on their regular flight path to Reagan International Airport in D.C.) Satisfyingly dark when the lights were off. Nice pieces of art on the walls. Mostly pleasant furniture in good condition. Very clean and bright. Cons: There was rust on the outside of the refrigerator and on the lowest temp setting, food froze in the refrigerator. The mattress and box springs on the bed frame sagged in the middle. The mattress set on the floor gave more support but was not as comfortable at the 20+ year old mattress and box springs (also on the floor) that we sleep on at home. Kitchen has very little counter space. Dirty dishes were in the dishwasher when we arrived with no dishwasher detergent that we could find. We only found sugar, salt and pepper, about 8 teabags and Dawn dish liquid available as staples. Knobs were broken and removed from the range hood. There were badly scratched teflon coated fry/saute pans (as well as several usable stainless steel sauce pans). Had to ask the owners for a can opener and we re-aligned a bent corkscrew with pliers to make it usable. There is a broken coffee table in the living room as well as a visually unpleasant single bed; not the advertised "pull-out couch" nor the "sleep sofa/futon". The provided bath towels were heavily frayed, unraveling and stringy on the edges. We located 2 other towels in the linen closet; one with holes and one with dirty black marks. There is a broken towel rack in the bathroom and a tub with a shower, however for a bath, the drain would not close.

Parking is not always available "in front of the apartment". Although it was "free", we usually had to park down the street and one time on a connecting street.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We were dismayed that you didnt fully enjoy your stay in our apartment, and have fixed the issues you raised as soon as we read the review. In particular, we purchased a new high quality Simmons mattress to replace the Serta we had there. We were puzzled as to why this high quality bed would have worn out, but when we were moving it, we found that the frame had been improperly installed and had come apart, which accounted for the problem you had. We have purchased new (non-teflon) cookware, bath towels and other items. The green couch in the living room is a pull out bed; we put an extra bed in for the many guests who wanted it and can move out at any guests' requests. There is a fire hydrant at the street in front of our house, but there is plenty of street parking by the house next door and others right next to apt. For future guests, know that if you have any needs/issues, simply raise them and we will do our best to address them immediately. We want your experience to be the best it can be.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

The place was like it was advertised.

  • 4 of 5

We all enjoyed our stay at Denise and Trig's place. They were very friendly and helpful. The location was great, it was easy to get to the metro station to get where we wanted to go. Would go back.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome Experience

  • 5 of 5

The location was perfect for our family having 2 sons close to DC. Additionally, downtown DC was easy to get to in spite of the traffic. Bethesda had great amenities also including access to the bike trail which is a great trip to DC. We were able to entertain our family of six many of the days we spent there. For being a small 1-bedroom apartment, the rooms including the kitchen were spacious. This is our new favorite spot in the DC area!

  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Gloria. We were very happy to have such a lovely family stay with us and can recommend you to other hosts without reservation. Please come again. Warm regards, Denise and Trigg
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect location for us. All the amentities you can think of.

  • 5 of 5

Like others, we rented for 2 weeks last Spring and 2 weeks this October as the location is close to family -- close so we can take the grandkids to school. Ideal for family visiting DC area. Wonderful place to stay -out of the traffic and noise of the City, yet so close to the Nation's capital and all the sightseeing areas.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you you were great guests and we can recommend you without reservation to other hosts. Warm regards, Denise and Trigg
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect for us

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I rented for three weeks in May and had a lovely time being close to our family. So close that our daughter could just bicycle over with the kids and I got to take my granddaughter to school on numerous occasions. It was like living close to the kids without being around all the time. The accommodations worked very well. Room for family to come over for dinners, pizza ordered in, and even able to walk over. Easy to get to supermarket and loved walking to Glen Echo Park. The owners were lovely and easy to work with if anything was needed. We are coming back.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your positive review and we look forward to having you stay next time you visit your grandkids! Best regards, Denise and Trigg
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
dulles airport
Car: recommended

This is located off McArthur Boulevard, a picturesque and easy route into Washington DC and all its attractions such as Smithsonian Museums and Washington Monuments.


Rates & Availability

Bethesda Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer Vacation
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $150
Tax Rate 7.0%

Additional charge of $20 per night for additional person in apartment after 4 people which is included in standard price. A 7% temporary occupancy tax will be charged in accordance with Md state tax laws (in Washington DC proper it is 14.5% so double and staying with us you are on border with DC so only few minutes away). Please bring a valid identification document when you arrive. Like any temporary residence place we keep a xerox copy of your ID card or passport with us to identify each guest who stayed with us. We are required to do so for everyone. Thank you for your help!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Ask a Question Ask a Question