Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

**WATERFRONT**25 STEPS TO BEACH *KAYAKS**2ND BEACH 7 MILES LONG

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 3,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

SPACIOUS WITH SPECTACULAR VIEWS LARGE DECK, GRADUAL BEACH FOR TOTS AND GRANDMA

Spectacular views from the large great room & deck!!!**1st Beach -25 Steps Away* perfect for relaxing, fishing, kayaking or swim ( I have cut the price for fathers day, click on details for quote.

**2nd Beach - 5 minute walk/drive to beach that 7 miles long, great place to relax this summer ***owned & manage by a veteran, thanks for your support**Virginia Beach, Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown, Busch Gardens 25 minutes**fishing charter trips twice a day within walking distance.

*****Acoustic Café 2 minute walk for fabulous seafood, burgers, cocktails****Ocean view pier close w/good eats.

*****2 lighthouse 15 minutes, loads of site seeing from this houses central location****

****summers are cooler here due to oceans balmy breeze.

****downtown very close and lots to see and do in this small city***

*!* the heart of it all yet feel like your on an island***

Many boats can be seen with sail boat races in season seen from deck or living room*

**Cooking oils, spices, Linens provided**lots to do in 15 minute drive into downtown Norfolk, USS Wisconsin, Hermitage, Botanical Gardens (one of the best), Casemate Museum with a DRIVE through moat, cival war museum on Fort Monroe (free), 25 minute to the Mariners Museum, Virginia Beach Aquarium. Lighthouse commission by Pres. Lincoln on Cape Henry 20 minutes away, visit another lighthouse on Fort Monroe 8 minutes. All 5 cities are near & each with something fantastic & different to offer. ***Sit and relax under a 200 year live oak on our beach. No sharks here!

***GOLF: two courses 18 hole Golf courses ten minutes away! Hampton tennis is near.

__________________________

**Stair lifter** On site to help eliminate most of the stairs (there are 4 stairs after the chair lift ), call owner for details! The weight limit on stair lifter is 225lb max.

~ bedroom with king, sofa sleeper and attached bath (4 quests)

~bedroom with king bed with bath (2 quests)

~bedroom with queen and mattress twin on floor w/ shared bath (3 guests)

~bunk room 2 sets of bunk w/extra mattress for floor (5 quest) **all with TV Except bunk room**

~Two large sectionals in living room plus a sofa (2-4 guests).

Owner has apartment on premises with private entrance. Owner has multiple homes, may be on site or may not be present.

Pets welcome with a fee, not part of quote.

No events!!

More Details

Owner
Lisa Freeman
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 25, 2017

About Lisa Freeman

We find the water here as good as it gets after traveling extensively through U.S. Tidewater area has many activities to keep our interest. Norfolk also has great museums and some interesting architecture downtown and loads of unique restaurants. Bay is huge and right around the corner is the oceanfront. Largest naval Base makes for some great site seeing too. There is always something going on outside to watch on the water here.

Lisa Freeman purchased this house in 2014

Why Lisa Freeman chose Norfolk

It's all about the water! Once you arrive on this strip of land that juts out into the waters of Tidewater area, you feel as if you've landed on an island, but with easy to access to get around. Norfolk also has great museums and some interesting architecture downtown and loads of unique restaurants. The bay is huge and right around the corner is the oceanfront. Largest naval Base makes for some great site seeing too. There is always something going on outside to watch on the water here.

What makes this house unique

The house is situated on waterfront, and centrally for exploring the area. The kitchen, everything in great condition and everything you could or would possible need. Your can make a very large meal for your family. We are available should you need anything. cooler, high chair, pack and play, beach umbrellas,, and beach chairs, beach toys are all free and included. Just let us know if you need anything at all!!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our family of 8 thoroughly enjoyed the 2 beaches and the house was lovely. We had everything we needed at our disposal, cooler, beach chairs, beach umbrellas and toys. We highly recommend.
May 2017
  • 1 of 14

Amenities

Willoughby Spit House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 3400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Min. age of primary renter: 29
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Visitors and visiting pets are not allowed inside or outside of the property.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Bathroom on top level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , there are two bedroom that have attached bathrooms
  • 3 FULL BATHS, THERE IS ONE WITH A SHOWER THAT HAS A BUILT IN SEAT. SHOWER WITH GRIP HANDLE. I HAVE USED THIS TO BATH MY MOTHER WITH DEMENTIA AND WAS ABLE TO DO SO EASILY.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , with a master bath attached
    Bedroom three - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom four - 5 twin/ single , two sets of bunk & an additional mattress underneath bunk
    Bedroom two - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • 4 bedrooms, 2 of which have full attached baths. Also, sleeping on 2 large sectionals. There are spare twin mattresses in bunk room. Extra linen fees may apply for large families.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
THE BEACH IS RIGHT OUT YOUR DOOR (ABOUT 25 STEP) BEACH CHAIRS FOR THE BEACH IN FRONT OF THE HOUSE, OR TAKE TO VERY CLOSE LONG 7 MILE BEACH.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
29% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
**WATERFRONT**25 STEPS TO BEACH *KAYAKS**2ND BEACH 7 MILES LONG
average rating of 4.516129 based on 45 reviews
4

Great place for a family get away!

  • 4 of 5

My family vacationed at this property for the first time. It was very clean, comfortable and spacious. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy that you liked our vacation rental!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place for our reunion! Thank you!

  • 4 of 5

I would definitely come here again. Not good for folks who have trouble with stairs. I just wish the weather had cooperated more. But overall, it was the perfect place for our get together. All the amenities of home, except a washcloth or bath soap. And a visit from the ants - which was handled right away with the help of the owners. Don't hesitate to book this property - you will be happy you chose it! Thank you, Charlie and Lisa.

  • Submitted: May 8, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your 50th high school reunion! We do provide a chair lift for the stairs if needed. it takes you up, however the 13 stairs are usually not a problem for the majority. The elevated view is well worth the 13 stairs.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

Very nice accommodations.

  • 4 of 5

Had our own private beach that was well kept. Great if you have young kids. Just know that you are across from the naval base. Very cool to watch all the helicopters in training but it can be noisy at first after a day or so we didn't even notice. Clean and lots of room.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Banos, California
4

SIMPLY AMAZING!

  • 4 of 5

This house is all that is depicted and more! We were so pleased with its location, its functionality, as well as hospitable owner. Lisa went out of her way to make us feel at home. She was attentive and cooperative, and easy to deal with. The house is spacious, well equipped and beyond comfortable. We already can't wait to book for next year. Book this rental and you will NOT be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you and we are always happy to accommodate.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kailua, Hawaii
5

Best stay ever!!!

  • 5 of 5

We could tell by the surrounding neighborhood seaside area that we were missing out by visiting in the month of March, but despite the chill in the air, we truly were kept comfy and cozy in this amazing home. Although we didn't have any children to take advantage of the bunk beds, any kid would be happy for such accommodations and the all master-sized bedrooms provided ample space and privacy in the event of "too much of a good thing" (anyone spending extended time with extended family members). Upstairs bedroom doesn't have a door to it so any noise upstairs could potentially be heard downstairs. But otherwise, LOTS to do in the area, LOTS to see and of course, breath-taking sunrises/sunsets over the water and ample parking spaces. House is set back from the road and the driveway is easily missed the first time around, but after that, you'll be fine. Norfolk International Airport brings you right there and Richmond International is a little over an hour away. Some noise from the military base across the water but nothing overbearing and certainly not anything to complain about. Great place for R&R and we'd gladly stay here again!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed the home and surrounding area.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Los Banos, California
4

SPECTACULAR!!!

  • 4 of 5

Stay at this house and you will NOT be disappointed. Lisa is extremely courteous and accommodating. Her home is absolutely lovely, spacious and well-equipped.

We had an amazing time at this rental and cannot wait to book for next year!!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Virginia Air & Space Center
Virginia Living Museum
The Mariners' Museum
Casemate Museum of Fort Monroe
Capt. Groovy's Grill and Raw Bar
Sunset Grill
Nearest Airport
8 Miles
NORFOLK (ORF)
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Thirsty Camel
Nearest Ferry
18 Miles
Jamestown ferry
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
ocean view and or hampton
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Amtrac
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
64
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Sunset Grill
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
OCEAN VIEWS
Car: recommended

Located on a small beach where you can get to Busch Garden and Water Country USA or Virginia Beach in 25-30 minutes. There is a nice botanical Garden 12 minutes from the house.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Willoughby Spit House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
JUNE
Jun 22 2017 - Jun 24 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
JUNE SUMMER
Jun 30 2017 - Aug 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,200
 
 
aug
Aug 26 2017 - Aug 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$289
From
$345
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $28 per night, per additional guest
 
FALL
Sep 6 2017 - Oct 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$209
From
$329
Fri,Sat
$1,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
LATE FALL
Oct 10 2017 - Nov 21 2017
4 night minimum stay
$199
From
$249
Fri,Sat
 
 
November
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
$340
 
 
THANKSGIVING
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$109
From
$249
Fri,Sat
 
 
CHRISTMAS
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
5 night minimum stay
$399
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
winter 2018
Jan 2 2018 - Feb 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
$109
From
$199
Fri,Sat
$990
 
 
march 9 to 30 2018
Mar 1 2018 - Mar 28 2018
4 night minimum stay
$199
From
$239
Fri,Sat
$1,275
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
easter 2018
Mar 29 2018 - Apr 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
spring 18
Apr 3 2018 - May 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
$289
From
$329
Fri,Sat
$1,900
 
 
late spring
May 4 2018 - May 9 2018
3 night minimum stay
$269
From
$345
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
may
May 10 2018 - May 23 2018
3 night minimum stay
$345
From
$389
Fri,Sat
$1,900
 
 
Memorial
May 24 2018 - May 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
prime 2018
Jun 9 2018 - Jun 29 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
summer 2018
Jun 30 2018 - Jul 7 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,675
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
july 2018
Jul 8 2018 - Aug 11 2018
7 night minimum stay
$3,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
pre
Apr 6 2019 - May 3 2019
3 night minimum stay
$219
From
$249
Fri,Sat
 
 
july 4 2019
Jun 29 2019 - Jul 6 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$4,085
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

RENTAL FEE(SHOWN AS TAX) $0
HOUSEKEEPING $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

.A damage deposit is due by check. The check for $400 to $500.00 is held until just prior to arrival and refunded within 7 days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties