Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Authentic Red Farm House On Zephyr Lake, Beautiful In All Seasons!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

This is a unique rental opportunity in the heart of the beautiful Monadnock Region. The 18th century farm home/residence is located on beautiful Zephyr lake. The 600 ft. waterfront insures privacy for swimming and relaxation on the furnished deck. Large eat-in kitchen, full dining room, large living room with sitting area, family room, four double bedrooms, two full baths, washer/dryer. Sleeps 8. Kick back and relax at the lake or take a stroll near by. For a little more of a challenge Mt Monadnock is close by for the climbing enthusiasts. Nearby Crotched Mountain and Mount Sunapee is perfect for skiing in the winter and hiking in summer.

The Red House is a short scenic drive from picturesque Peterborough a lovely, typical New England town offering quaint shops, restaurants, and theater. In the summer there are the Peterborough Players, Monadnock Music, and many other cultural events.

More Details

Owner
Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 26, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Manchester, NH
Nearest Train
46 Miles
Brattleboro, VT
Nearest Ski
7 Miles
Crotched Mountain, Bennington, NH
Car: necessary

Amenities

Greenfield House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
  • New high end mattresses and box springs added in all bedrooms Aug 3, 2017.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
18% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Authentic Red Farm House On Zephyr Lake, Beautiful In All Seasons!
average rating of 4.5625 based on 16 reviews
4

Enjoyable

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

quaint cozy cabin on a small lake

  • 5 of 5

very nice cabin house on a small lake. Lake was beautiful, very clear and clean and easy access. Close to trails and outdoor activities. Well maintained for a historical house.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice historic vacation home

  • 4 of 5

Most lake houses I've stayed in are pretty rustic so this one was a step up. It was nice to have linens, beach towels and laundry included. The oven wasn't working during my stay but otherwise everything was in decent condition and all beds were very comfortable. They have a charcoal grill in the barn. The lake is very peaceful and we were probably the only people on it the week I visited. It is located on a busy road but if you walk down the dirt road across the street there are lots of quiet hiking trails to enjoy. I would definitely go back.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and sorry for the inconvenience of the pilot light. The stove is next on the list to be replaced next week! Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Lots of character, beds could be better

  • 3 of 5

The house is very old and interesting. Parts are apparently around 300 years old. It has lots of bedrooms and space. The kitchen worked fine for us, and has modern conveniences. The lake is beautiful and just a few steps away. The main difficulty we found is that the larger beds are very soft. My wife and I had to sleep separately as the smaller beds were better.

There is no AC, and I understand the bedrooms are not heated. But if the weather is good (as it was for us), it can make for a charming stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your feedback. So happy that you enjoyed your stay. I have just placed an order for firm mattresses for the larger beds at your suggestion and new ones all around while I was at it! Have a wonderful summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Decent

  • 3 of 5

We had a very nice time overall. Great lake access with paddleboard and little boats. Wonderful deck near the lake and nice 3 season porch. Large yard was nice for dogs. Kitchen well stocked with plates, cups, spices, etc. Laundry on site.

On the other hand, the house is quite old and did not check off all of our boxes. It's on a main road which was not great for the dogs. No dock at the lake. Beds not comfortable. Appliances outdated like whoa. We had a mouse one night... which the property manager quickly and kindly took care of for us.

We had a nice time but overall, the house was just decent. Not terrible, not bad but also not great or spectacular.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a very nice time Ben. Yes the house is a 17th century farmhouse and so it should be clear it is old and on the road. I accommodated your three dogs so I am happy they had fun. The refrigerator is brand new and the rest of kitchen is being updated. Some mattresses will be replaced for maximum guest comfort. However, the Red House is overall an amazing country summer guest home for families to relax and feel at home. The lake is a phenomenal open expanse to the universe with a view of Pack Monadnock and beautiful sunrises and sunsets. God is present at the Red House and if you missed Him I am sorry.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Hampshire
4

Beautiful location!

  • 4 of 5

Great New England period home and was a nice way for our children and grandchildren to experience their first visit to New England. There were two families of 4 and ample space in the home.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $250

All garbage must be taken to the Greenfield recycling center based on the schedule provided. A sticker will be provided in the house and must be left in the house when leaving.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties