check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

2015 Special Pricing

15 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 28 nights


Minimum Stay
28 nights


Midtown House Rental Photos and Description

Beautifully Renovated Key West Compound With Very Private Pool.

Just pack your shorts and sandals, your Jimmy Buffet CD's, pick up a Hemmingway book, and head for this fantastic 4 bedroom, 3 bathroom abode in the heart of Key West.

When you walk through the 6' high private wall gateway you are in the front yard of this newly renovated compound. The crystal clear pool with waterfall is so inviting you won't want to leave the house, but you won't want to miss the beautiful beaches, the great restaurants, and the shopping (oh! the shopping) that are all nearby.

We are certain that once you spend a vacation at our White Street compound, it will be your vacation destination again, and again. We take great pride in providing the best experience possible for you and your family. Our reputation rests on our steadfast pursuit of accomplishing this goal.

Our rental time frames are flexible so don't hesitate to give us a call to work out your stay at our home.

Pet Friendly: : At the discretion of the owners. We love animals, but know that some situations are not suited to all pets.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Property Manager
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2016

About Alex

We have been successfully operating several vacation rentals for the past 10 years. Please check out our reviews at our other Key West a Property on Homeaway 224554.

Alex purchased this house in 2013

Why Alex chose Key West

We purchased the home to renovate and establish roots in the community. This is our second home in Key West. The concept of designing our retirement appealed to us on so many levels. Following the climate is part of our plan to live the lives we have dreamt about. Sharing our home with family and friends is one of the best rewards our home provides. You can do the same.

What makes this house unique

Unique Benefits: 6' wall surround the property provides complete privacy, crystal clear pool with waterfall, separate cottage/pool house, 2 car off street parking spaces, whole property was just renovated top to bottom


based on 15 traveler reviews

2015 Special Pricing
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 15 reviews

Impressive Property! Would definitely stay again!

  • 5 of 5

Property is beautiful, in a great part of town. The amount of beautiful foliage on every side of the house was gorgeous enough that we took family pictures here! So pretty to look at and it is obvious that the owner puts a lot of effort to keep it current. Two families of 4 each had plenty of room inside and out. We enjoyed the pool, grilling out and lots of family time. House was very well stocked with essentials, especially pantry. Property inside and out was very clean and updated. Would recommend to anyone for a great vacation and would stay here again. Wish we could have stayed for 2 weeks! It was perfect! Many thanks to the owner. He was easy to reach when needed.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Gal Pal Trip

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time with all my old college friends (6 total) from all over the US. The house and pool where just what we needed to relax and take in the Key West experience. Owners stopped by and were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this home and gladly stay again!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Flagler Beach, FL

Key West Paradise

  • 5 of 5

My family of 4 couples and two babies came to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary in Key West. This amazing property accommodated us beautifully! We enjoyed the pool everyday, ate outside when it cooled off, walked to the beach for sunrise with the early risers, and toasted our last sunset on the White Street pier our last evening. The location was convenient to good restaurants, shady neighborhoods for stroller walks or morning jogs, and a bike ride from Duval. The big grill was used most evenings for oysters or lobster or fish or shrimp. The property manager was very responsive, check in was easy, and it was the best stocked kitchen I've ever encountered. What else could you ask for your week in paradise?

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: A sincere thank you. We try very hard to make everyone's stay with us wonderful.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Propery and Location

  • 5 of 5

Our group consisted of several couples and friends in their mid-30’s and this was our 3rd consecutive year traveling for a fall vacation and get away in Key West, and it was hands down our best experience, largely due to the rental property. Our primary concerns when looking for a house in Key West to rent is proximately to Smathers and Higgs Beach, Duval Street and several favorite dining spots in Old Town. This property put us in perfect location for all of those items.

We arrived on Saturday to find the property in excellent condition, the landscaping, pool, patio and privacy offered by the fence and trees were great. I have rented privately owned properties in the Outer Banks of North Carolina for over a decade and I am always critical of the properties and how well kept and suitable they are for a second or third visit. I would certainly rent this property again and again, and recommend it to others traveling to the Keys.

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Elizabeth, CO

A great place

  • 5 of 5

We arrived at the house at the 4 pm check in time and the cleaning lady didn't finish until 5 pm. However, the place was immaculate!!! This house was fabulous to come home to after a day in the sun, shopping or biking around Key West. No problems with the house. Very comfortable!!!! Would most certainly stay again!!!! THE HOUSE IS VERY HANDICAPPED FRIENDLY!

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Miami fl

Hot summer

  • 1 of 5

I stayed in this home for a week long vacation in the summer. The pictures that are posted are true representation of how the home looks. However, I was not prepared to handle many of the inconveniences that I was faced with when I entered the property. The first thing I noticed was how dirty the pool was when we first arrived. It seemed like the pool was not cleaned in weeks. Although the management company did send a pool cleaning company to clean the pool, I spent the first few days without being able to enjoy the pool. Walking into the house, I noticed that it was extremely warm both in the main home and in the cottage next to the pool. It appears that the air conditioning units are not large enough to substantially cool this home and in the summer that is a big deal. It was unbearable to stay inside this home during the mid afternoon heat. I advised the maintence company about the issue and they said, I had the AC unit set too low and the system was freezing over. They defrosted the unit and set it at a higher temperature, but that did not correct the issue. The temperature in the home remained in the 80's throughout the day and would drop to the desired temperature in some areas of the home at night. The refrigerator was not cooling when we arrived. I had to purchase coolers and ice to keep our food from spoiling. Management sent a repair company for the refrigerator after about 5 days of staying at the home. He was able to repair it, but I had already spent a significant amount of money on ice.

When I placed my clothes on the hanger in the master bedroom the hanger system fell a part. Management fixed this issue on the next day. We also had an issue with the door handles being loose and coming off the doors. It seemed that every time you touched something in the home it would fail. Lastly, the management company did not want to return my deposit because of a missing knife and pot, that I could not verify was in the home prior to our arrival. I tried contacting the management company in regards to the deposit not being refunded, but they would not return my phone calls. I would never stay in this home again. There are too many other nice homes in key west in the same price range that could offer a much better experience. It's a true shame because we visit key West every year.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: If you open your home to renting invariably a guest will stay and take advantage. We have two homes in Key West that we rent. This is the first negative review in 8 years. Was it justified? I don't think so. The pool is on a service contract and is serviced each week. During the summer months the sun bakes off the chlorine. We allot for this however when the guest arrived more chlorine was needed. The pool company treated the pool the next morning on a Sunday. The refrigerator is only 6 months old. When the doors of the refrigerator are kept open the appliance doesn't have a chance to stay cold. The same thing with the home's air conditioning system. When the doors are open then the house will not stay cool. The way we know this is the aircondition system froze. It is also only 6 months old. The cloths rack in the master bedroom did fall with the weight they put on it. Our maintenance service repaired it the next day. The home just underwent a $300,000 renovation. The part this guest did not disclose is that they had a wedding at our home. Although we do not know how many people were there we do know and documented over $1,000 of damages. Pictures were provided to the guests for the reason they did not receive their security deposit.
Did you find this review helpful?
16 2


Nearest Airport
1 Miles
Key West National Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Mallory Square
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Key West National Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
Rt 1
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Smathers Beach
Car: not necessary

Old Town is a quiet neighborhood away from the craziness but close enough to walk to Duval St.


Rates & Availability

Midtown House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Fall 2016
Sep 3 2016 - Dec 16 2016
28 night minimum stay
Dec 17 2016 - Apr 28 2017
28 night minimum stay
Apr 29 2017 - Jun 30 2017
28 night minimum stay
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 15 2017
28 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 12.5%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Midtown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1949 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Resort
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , outdoor shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bathrooms With full showers
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Sofa Queen
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties