check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sue Ellen Waters

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

3 bedroom waterfront cottage! Kayaks, Paddle boards, and bikes, oh my!

31 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Newport Center House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 baths

Cancellation!! AUGUST 13-28 is now available!!

Waterfront property on Balboa Island's Grand Canal.

3 bedroom and 2 bath home accommodates 6 people. Use of 3 kayaks 2 paddle boards and 5 bikes. TV 's in each bedroom with Direct TV, great beds, wireless internet, books and games. Enjoy your own private dock for swimming, kayaking and fishing. Front patio is great for barbecues and entertaining. Easy access to Marine Avenue's shops, restaurants and local grocery store. 10 minute walk to ferry, 'fun zone' and ocean. Parking for one car in garage, all linens and washer and dryer. House rebuilt several years ago so kitchen and baths are all new. Great location from which to visit Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, Catalina Island, Laguna Beach, etc. House is well maintained and very clean. It is a wonderful place to unwind, relax and let the kids and adults play. Come to Balboa Island and let 'Island Fever' take over. New to the rental market, introductory price will not last long.

Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sue Ellen Waters (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 31 traveler reviews

3 bedroom waterfront cottage! Kayaks, Paddle boards, and bikes, oh my!
average rating of 4.967742 based on 31 reviews
5

Fast becoming a family tradition

  • 5 of 5

215 Canal St. on Balboa Island is very well equipped and maintained.

This was our second year there. We hope to make it a tradition. Last year we came for Spring Break, this year the week after school got out for our grandchildren, mid-June. We actually had better weather the spring break year!

We love being right on the canal, with easy access to kayaks and paddle board which come with the house. We also used the bikes to ride the ferry to the peninsula and beach. Being close to the main street made it easy to walk to the bakery or Starbucks in the morning, and to get Balboa bars after dinner! It also means you are comfortable letting older kids walk over there on their own.

Owners are very responsive. This year they were doing construction on the bridge to the little island, so traffic was worse and there was some construction noise. Sue Ellen notified us as soon as she found out and offered us either a refund or a discount. When we wanted to watch the NBA finals but found there was no HTMI cord on the living room TV, Sue Ellen went and bought one and brought it over.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Would rent this home again!

  • 5 of 5

This house was great! We went with 6 people and the house was the perfect size for us. It was spotless and perfectly located. We got so much use of all of the amenities that came with house, from the kayaks, to the washer and dryer. Sue Ellen has this rental thing down! She is very professional and her rental was just awesome!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grand Junction
5

Perfect family getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This Balboa cottage is a perfect family getaway! The home is even better than the pictures. The location is perfect on the canal with everything in close walking distance. The owners are very friendly & helpful. The house is set up perfectly with excellent use of space. We loved coffee on the deck in the warm sun. The kids loved kayak rides around the island. We have already referred friends here in CO for a perfect Coastal warm up location. Thank you for sharing your charming home, can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful 4 nights over Christmas

  • 5 of 5

We (2 couples) had a wonderful, relaxing stay at this charming beach cottage. The kitchen is exceptionally well equiped, the whole house very clean and comfortable. We used 2 kayaks and had a beautiful paddle around little Balboa. We absolutely loved walking around the island every night to see all the houses lit up with Christmas lights. Having Marine St right behind us and Pavilions grocery a quick walk away was SO convenient. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great as usual relaxing

  • 5 of 5

This is the second year in a row that we have stayed at this property. It does not disappoint. What you read about this property is exactly what you get. Clean, well maintained,well stocked charming Grand Canal home. We love the paddleboards,kayaks and bikes. Location is perfect just off main drag of Balboa Island. We love cooking in the well equipped kitchen . Sitting on the deck watching the world go by . Trying to decide on our dates for next year. Perfect for 3 couplels. Thanks again Sueellen and Loc. Mark and Joyce

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Splendid. We loved the location.

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying at this beautiful beach cottage! There is parking for two cars. There are three kayaks, two paddle boards and lots of beach cruiser bikes. The fully equipped kitchen is next to the living room in an open plan arrangement which is perfect for a family vacation. The large shower in the master bedroom is excellent! Everything was clean and well maintained.

The location is very convenient for shopping/eating on the main street of Balboa Island and there is a large supermarket nearby. We entertained friends and family on the wonderful deck overlooking the canal. We will definitely book this cottage again!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
John Wayne
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Balboa Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
several in the area
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Jamboree and 405
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Newport Beach

Photos

Rates & Availability

Newport Center House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
fall
Aug 28 2016 - Oct 30 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$300
$2,000
 
 
winter
Oct 31 2016 - Feb 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
$5,000
 
 
spring
Feb 27 2017 - May 27 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$300
$2,000
 
 
summer
May 28 2017 - Aug 26 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$450
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Cleaning $175 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Holidays are extra.

50% of weekly rent, balance due 2 weeks prior to arrival. Personal checks only.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Newport Center House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Master bath is off master bedroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • All beds are new and very comfortable. All beds freshly made, great linens.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 7 bicycles
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Newly built home, great for small family or couples. Lovely spot to unwind and enjoy the restaurants, shops, ocean, kayak and Balboa Bars! Wagon and sand toys for the little ones.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties