Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Animas River House - Cozy Historic Riverfront Home 4 Blocks To Downtown!

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

This newly remodeled victorian home on the banks of the Animas River is only a few blocks from Main Street. This riverfront home combines the best of what Silverton offers in views and location with an affordable, well appointed, newly remodeled in town rental. The home is an 800 sq ft 2 bedroom, 1 bath second level apartment at the base of Kendall Mountain, just steps from the Kendall Mountain Recreation Area. It is a clean and simple contemporary space perfect for singles, couples or a family. With a full kitchen, dinning area, living room and second-story deck overlooking the river, this unit affords incredible mountain and river sights and sounds with all the modern day amenities. One bedroom has a queen bed and the second bedroom has a twin over queen bunk bed. There is also very comfortable, full-size pull-out couch and an additional single mattress that can be placed on the floor making this unit able to accommodate up to 6 guests.

The Animas River House is a 5 minute walk, 4 blocks to downtown Silverton, yet off the beaten path. There is something wonderful about the combination of tall mountains, rushing rivers and small town hospitality. Silverton, Colorado offers these and much more. And when you seek a base from which to explore it all, or just relax and enjoy, the Animas River House vacation rental offers what you are seeking.

More Details

Owner
Dan Erwin
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2017

Map

Amenities

Silverton Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Additional twin mattress that can be placed on floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Twin over queen bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
30% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Animas River House - Cozy Historic Riverfront Home 4 Blocks To Downtown!
average rating of 4.7 based on 40 reviews
5

This is older property but well kept. Very comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Had a chance to meet the owner. Very nice gentlemen. Property had almost everything needed for the stay. There was a couple things we could of used but had no problem making due with all that was there. We would rent it again

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

We loved the cabin - it was comfortable and clean and the lady living downstairs was very welcoming. We would definitely be interested in staying there in the future. One thing we did want to mention - the bathroom sink drains very slowly so we usually avoided using it. I just wanted to tell you so you can get it fixed. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. So glad you had a great trip. Also, thank you for letting us know about the sink. We're not always there It's been taken care of and shouldn't be a problem anymore.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing! Best view in town!

  • 5 of 5

Had a blast! Very nice place. Don't be alarmed when you arrive that there is no air conditioning. We did buy a fan for the day to help the breeze during the day but not necessary. We are from Oklahoma so it was just a hard concept to understand that there was no air. Lol. Ensure not to park anywhere but north of house and not past fence. I felt bad we did because the owner received a call from someone to move our trailer we hauled our side by sides on from Oklahoma. Owner very nice and explained he didn't own past the fence. If you are staying more than a couple days, bring paper towels and toilet paper as with any vrbo. For those who like to workout utilizing an iPad, I worked out every morning on the deck with the best view ever! Teller House has the best Mexican food - yummy! Their jalepeno margaritas-best ever! You have to eat at the funnel cake place on Green Street - they offer not only sweet funnel cakes, but funnel cakes with beef and cheese and other hearty toppings. After my first workout on the deck, I decided to run for a couple miles - I saw a bear!!! Never experienced that! The bear was in someone's yard pilfering for food. He made eye contact with me but that was it!!! I freaked out at first and realized he was not interested in me, but only interested in what was in the garbage. (Thank God!) One evening, we sat on the roof top at the rum bar. Not any better view than the Animas House for sure. The water is hot in the shower for sure. You don't run out of hot water either! The Animas House has been remodeled and up to date for sure with a stainless refrigerator, big TV in LR, wood floor - awesome place!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. It sounds like you had a great trip with some fun new experiences. Definitely don't need air-conditioning in Silverton. The parking isn't a big deal at all. Don't feel bad. I just try to keep my neighbors happy. We actually just expanded the parking on the South side of the house and there should be plenty for cars and trailers now. So glad you have a great trip. Come back and visit again. Dan and Jill
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Awesome views in a comfy loft

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed my stay at Animas River house. Comfy bed, appreciated the electric heaters.......appreciated the awesome view of Kendal Mountain......

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. We're glad you enjoyed the stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great vacation property

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for 4 days. The apartment is completely remodeled, fresh, and has all the amenities anyone could ever want. A short, nice walk to town. The view from the balcony is unsurpassed....mountains and the Animas River. I gave a 4 star rating instead of 5 because there are a few things that should be corrected.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review and so glad you enjoyed Silverton and the Animas River House. We're always looking to make improvements. Please let us know your suggestions so we can improve our guests experience. Thanks. Hope to have you return. Dan and Jill
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable & clean!! Convenient location & gorgeous mountain views all around from the outside deck. Loved the sound of the Animas river running nearby! Great trip except for having to leave 2 days early for emergency situation back home. Loved your place!!

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed your trip and the Animas River House and sorry you had to leave early. Keep us in mind when you return. We'd love to have you stay with us again. Thanks for the review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties