check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Palm Desert Mid Century Modern

4 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Palm Desert House Rental Photos and Description

gorgeous property steps away from El Paseo

Relaxation Awaits! Come and enjoy your own private desert oasis at this sun filled Palm Desert, CA midcentury vacation home. Located just a short walk from El Paseo the 'Rodeo Drive' of the desert, with designer shops, trendy restaurants and art galleries.

This Palm Desert vacation home was completely remodeled in 2013. Palm Desert Midcentury has a welcoming private yard with palm trees and hedges built around a central pool/spa. There is a wonderful entertaining area adjacent to the pool with a spacious patio, Gas BBQ and outdoor dining area.

Palm Desert Midcentury vacation home features a modern gourmet kitchen with quartz counters and is complete with all the amenities and utensils you will need to create your favorite meals. The updated kitchen features stainless appliances, modern wood cabinets with plenty of storage and generous counter space.

This Palm Desert midcentury vacation home has an open concept great room featuring a modern dining area, comfortable living room seating and a 46 inch HDTV for entertainment. Also enjoy high speed internet and wireless connectivity. The adjacent kitchen has bar seating and the peninsula counter for conversing or casual dining.

The master bedroom has a comfortable King bed, 32 inch HDTV/DVD, an ensuite bath with a large walk in shower and floating vanity. Attached to the master bedroom is a bonus bed room with a full/twin bunk configuration for added flexibility. The guest bedroom has two twin beds that can be converted to a king bed and hall bath with a tub/shower combination.

Palm Desert Midcentury features numerous patios, sliding glass doors, seating areas, sunning areas, palm trees, outdoor pool within a fully enclosed, gated courtyard. A totally private setting but still close to the action if that's more your style.

This centrally located Palm Desert vacation destination is just off Highway 111 and a few blocks from El Paseo and a few miles from the The River, Rancho Mirage's restaurant row. The new and improved Indian Wells Tennis Garden is located less than five miles away. You are also surrounded by over 100 golf courses many available for public play. Don't miss The Living Desert, Palm Desert's exceptional zoo, interesting and fun for the whole family.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Louisa Spring
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, french, italian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 23, 2016
Call Owner

About Louisa Spring

I love this house which I bought last year. It has new air conditioning and pool equipment as well as a resurfaced pool that is enormous!

Louisa Spring purchased this house in 2013

Why Louisa Spring chose California Desert

My parents always visited Palm Desert and I just love relaxing by the pool. I just could see myself by the pool with a martini when I walked through the door!

What makes this house unique

really a unique property as it has mid century architcture and what is known as a butterfly roof!

Guestbook comments from the owner

I stayed there with my family for three nights. The house is wonderful, it's just the right size for a family with small children. My little ones loved the 'secret' third bedroom with the bunkbeds. My husband and I were impressed with how clean and well maintained the house was, everything was impeccable. The house is well equipped with modern appliances that made our stay super easy. THE POOL is awesome, even though the house is in the middle of a neighborhood, the pool area feels so private and secluded. The owner has pool floats available for the guest which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 1


based on 4 traveler reviews

Palm Desert Mid Century Modern
average rating of 3.75 based on 5 reviews

Dirty House

  • 2 of 5

Although the house had a great location near El Paseo Drive, it was a huge disappointment. We arrived to find that the fridge had not been cleaned at all. Sour, spilled milk covered several of the shelves of the door and there were bits of food pieces and crumbs throughout the fridge. We also found bits of food stuck to the pots and pans in various drawers. The master bathroom had hair in the shower and on the floor from the previous guests. The patio doors looked like they hadn't been cleaned in at least 6 months. We suspect the owners do not live in Palm Springs and simply pay a maid service to come and clean the house. It looks like the maids gave the bathrooms and kitchen a quick very (and poor) wipe down, but that is about it. The wifi and the phone did not work. We managed to fix the wifi, but couldn't ever get a dial tone on the phone. This was frustrating as we are from Canada, so we ended up paying long distance fees to use our cell phone to make local calls.

The house and the yard both need some love. If the house was actually cleaned, it could be an okay place to stay. Unfortunately, my husband and I were both so turned off by what we did see, we often wondered what we weren't seeing and as a result, did not enjoy our stay. We gave this place 2 stars as it is in a good location and a quiet neighbourhood. The house is well equipped with dishes, etc, the master bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The major con as noted above is lack of cleanliness. Also, it's a very dark house as most of the light switches don't work.

We paid a lot of money to stay here, which added to our disappointment. For the same price, we could have stayed at the Marriott. The owner was pleasant and responsive when booking, but when it came time to get our deposit returned, we waited 2 weeks and didn't see anything returned. I emailed the owner, who promptly returned it, but it was a pain that I had to follow up with her and ask for it back. We would not stay here again (even if it was clean) and we do not recommend it. It was really overpriced for what you got.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have never had this kind of review ever happen before and I do not understand this guest's motivation. I have a house manager on call for guests and they can always call him or me during their stay with any problems. They did not call either of us. The cleaning service has also never had any problems before. The wifi and home line phone work as do the light switches. I always refund the deposit within a week. I am literally baffled by this renter and would certainly never rent to her again. Yes she can go to the Marriot but they would not have the same space, privacy or amenities. I have only had an amazing time at my house and I have never encountered any of these problems before.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great house with private pool

  • 4 of 5

Great house in Palm Desert. Ideal for families. My kids had a great time choosing which beds to sleep in (either the bunk beds or separate twin beds). The bunks in the adjoining room to the master are comfortable. The room itself appears to be a walk-in closet that was converted into a bonus room, but it has a dresser and air conditioning. Sleeping in there was fine. The shower in the master bathroom is amazing - great water pressure and very relaxing! Kitchen is upgraded, modern, and really nice - has lots of good working space and appliances. Huge counter with bar stools. Nice to sit and eat or prep meals. Great sight-line to backyard. Floor-to-ceiling windows that show the swimming pool. Open and bright. Private swimming pool is a definite highlight. Better than staying at a hotel because of the private pool, kitchen, and washer/dryer. Plenty of towels provided. Good location. Close to supermarkets and restaurants. Also, just down the road from The Living Desert and Zoo (5 min drive). Definitely worth checking out especially if you have kids. Overall, great house and will stay again!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Great Location. Cute Property

  • 4 of 5

The location of this property couldn't have been better. So close to El Paseo and a lot of other great things in Palm Desert. Design of the home was super cute. Great for pets because all the floors are tile. Bed was super comfy and sheets/bedding were high quality and super soft. On whatever small issues came up during our stay the owner was very open to suggestions and accommodating to make things right.

  • Submitted: May 26, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Clean comfortable home with a great pool

  • 5 of 5

Loved the house and the location. The pool and the yard were awesome and we had a hard time leaving the pool. The house is well equipped and comfortable.Will definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0


Car: not necessary

near to all major golf courses as well as the polo fields and tennis courts

Palm Desert City License number is 13-00037690


Rates & Availability

Palm Desert House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $180
Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $75
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Palm Desert House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - this is an extra room with bunk beds.
  • there is a 3rd room with bunk beds off the bathroom but you have to go through the master bedroom and the bathroom to get to it. It is really for kids but I have had friends stay in there. The bottom bunk is a full size mattress and the top bunk a single size mattress.
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
televisions and dvd players in 2 main bedrooms and a dvd player in family room as well.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties