check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Ocean Front Beach Home

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
7
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

Description

West Grand Bahama House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleep 7 comfortably

This very well built home has a tranquil feeling.Great architectural detail, from the African Mahogany entry doors to the travertine floors and granite counters. As soon as you enter you feel as if you are a part of the ocean itself. The huge windows and sliding glass doors allows endless views of the ocean, in all its splendor. The house itself was designed to take advantage of the tranquil benefits of the ocean, but the interior also gives you the Tommy Bahama feel.

The home has all you need to make your vacation easy and complete. It has all appliances from a food processor, high end blender, microwave to many wine openers. It has blow dryers, straighteners anything extra that you would not want to have to pack. It has a beautiful gas stove and also has a large grill on the 60 foot back porch, to grill if you should so desire.

There are two identical large master suites at each end of the home, each with,large walk in marble showers and each has there own 16 jet 2 person Jacuzzi tub, along with his and her vanities.Each suite has a slider that opens on to the rear porch, with endless views of the Atlantic ocean.

The third room is spacious and has a guest bathroom, complete with a full shower.

The gourmet kitchen is great for entertaining, with a large granite counter top that seats 8 easily. It has refrigerator and also a drink refrigerator to stock your sodas and beers.

The family room has large screen tv, two leather couches, wall unit, and coffee table from Indonesia. Very inviting and comfortable.

It also has a full washer and dryer.

The back porch is where a glass of wine to watch the sunset is a must. Plenty of out door furniture along with a dining table and six chairs are in this 60 foot screened in back porch. We screened it in so no insects would ruin your outdoor experience. The back porch also has outdoor speakers with siruis satelite, so you can choose your music for your mood.

We have one of the most beautiful coral reefs in our back yard. Just put on your snorkeling gear (We have lots of extra if you dont bring your own) and swim out to see a magnificent aquarium. We have a sturdy blow up boat and other huge party blow up rafts that hold many people to enjoy the water and sun. The private beach itself is great for long walks. If you like to fish we have people who would take you fishing if you dont have your own boat. If you do have your own boat we have dockage available for an extra fee, within walking distance.Maid sevrice is available for your household needs and a local Bahamian chef can be arranged if you desire a night off. We are in walking distance to a great local Bahamian restaurant that cannot be missed.. Also you can experience true Bahamian living by driving into the West End Village (The oldest settlement on Grand Bahama) and experience the charming restaurants or you could drive or have a taxi take you 10 mins away to Old Bahama Bay for fine entertaining and other restaurants. You could also rent a car in the immediate area and drive 30 mins away to try your gambling luck in Lucaya where there is a casino and plenty of dining and dancing.

More Details

Owner
Kevin and Diane Floyd
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
December 2, 2016
Call Owner

About Kevin and Diane Floyd

We have always dreamed to have an island home and found a beautiful piece of property on an expansive private beach in a quaint Bahamian village. We spent 4 years traveling to and from the Bahamas in our own boat bringing building materials and supplies to create our beautiful dream home in the Bahamas. Much blood ,sweat and love went into the home. After the last four years of enjoying the home on a consistent basis we decided to start renting it this year. Now that the children have left we seem to be not using it as much and have decided to let others enjoy it.

Why Kevin and Diane Floyd chose Bahamas

If you are looking for privacy and to be able to walk on a deserted beach for five miles and not see a soul this is the place for you. Once you enter the house you have a panoramic view of the ocean. The tranquil feeling is over whelming.

What makes this house unique

Experience true Bahamian living. No hussle and bussle yet close enough to do all the commercial stuff if you want to.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

Ocean Front Beach Home
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 19 reviews
5

Amazing Home!

  • 5 of 5

Amazing vacation home. I will skip all the fantastic things about the house because you can read them in the other reviews. I will write about things that I was worried/concerned about and reassure you that you have NOTHING to be worried about.

1. Booking directly w/ Diane is fine. Initially I was concerned that booking direct w/ the owner and not the app or website that I was not secured or that this was somehow a scam. But this is 100% safe and secure. Everything that Diane promised is absolutely true.

2. Eric is amazing and will pick you up from the airport.

3. If you have small children; the rocks at the beach in front of the house can be dangerous. Walk down about 20 feet, nothing but sand.

I will for sure come to this island again and when I do I will 100% stay at the pineapple house.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yay!!!!!! Super unique and well said review. Thank you!!!!!Best to you and your beautiful family!! Per our text you did give me permission to use the picture you sent to me of your family playing on the beach. I am going to try to get that accomplished today. Thank you so much!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The BEST Vacation Home....EVER!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

This vacation home is a diamond in the rough! It will be the cleanest, most beautiful and easiest vacation ever due to the owners Diane and Kevin and their attention to detail. We are a family of five, our kids are 17, 15 and 12 and without a doubt there was something for everyone to enjoy!

First and foremost the house is meticulous in terms of cleanliness (this is coming from a bit of a germaphobe and neat freak) and decor. A quality home indeed. From the moment you walk in the door you will be impressed and pleased. My goodness, just thinking about it I want to go back!! The ENTIRE back part of the home is the ocean. You walk in and immediately you feel like you are on the ocean.

The kitchen is the most well stocked kitchens in any vacation home we have ever rented. Every kitchen gadget you can imagine is there. Along with the most well stocked spice cupboard ever with complimentary coffee and tea as well!

The bedrooms are spotless with beautiful new bedding and very comfortable beds and the sound of the ocean coming through the windows! The master bathrooms (2 ) are a thing of beauty all on their own. Large walk in showers, two vanities in each bathroom and the most unique hot tubs/whirlpool baths you have ever seen. A nice soak in the tub after a beautiful day on the beach rounded out each vacation day. You will also find a closet in each bathroom stocked with clean new towels and every kind of toiletry imaginable. You will want to bring your own toiletries but as you know you will inevitably forget something and no worries, it will be there either in full size or sample size.

One of our two favorite things by far was the enclosed porch on the entire back of the house with the ocean and beach just in front of it. We looked forward to coffee on the porch first thing in the morning as well as eating our meals there. It was a little piece of paradise for sure! Our second favorite part of this home was the beach right in the backyard! We spent many hours exploring the beach, snorkeling (a beautiful reef is literally right there)and just plain relaxing in the sun Every item needed for the beach you will find in the garage.

Finally, between the owners and Eric you will want for nothing! Diane will work with you in any capacity possible to ensure you and your family an outstanding vacation! We feel like we have made a friend just by renting from Diane and Kevin...they are special, caring people!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, you brought tears to my eyes! You appreciate our home as much as we do. Thank you so much for such a fabulous review. We care so much about our guest/friends we were so happy to have you stay in our home. Thank you Thank you Thank you!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely beautiful home

  • 5 of 5

My family had a wonderful time. Dianne was wonderful to work with. We had some unfortunate circumstances that caused us to cancel at the last minute back in Feb. She was very gracious in letting us reschedule for this past week. There is a nice gentleman in the Bahamas who looks after the home. He is a wonderful resource of information and can arrange pretty much anything your heart desires. Our only complaint was that we didn't stay long enough to experience everything this home offers. We didn't have time for the hammock, kayaks or to roast marshmallows on the beach. My wife says that just means we have to go back soon!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Excellent Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Proximity to beach was wonderful. House was very clean and well provisioned. I do very much recommend this place to families that are interested in being on the beach, and not very interested in tourist activities. (House is well away from "busy" areas.)

A couple things to consider:

1. Listing indicates that facilities at Old Bahama Bay are usable. Not really. We did go there for lunch. (Which was nice.) But staff made it _VERY_ clear that facilities were for guests only.

2. All of the living space is on the second floor. The stairs are quite steep. If anyone in your group is challenged by a "normal" flight of stairs this may not be the house for you.

We had a very nice vacation and brought great memories home.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: wow that is the first 4 star we received. Ouch. and that is the first I have heard of Old Bahama Bay saying you could not use their facilities. You MUST have been talking to someone who was miss informed. I certainly would not list that you could use their facilities to mislead anyone. I encourage everyone to at least spend a day there. Not one other guest mentioned that and did play at Old Bahama Bay. Im so sorry for that inconvenience if you would have notified me, I would have contacted them. Upstairs living is on purpose to take advantage of the incredible view. But Im very glad at least we got a B lol. Im very competitive even in my reviews. I aim to spoil everyone with our home and our incredible staff. You are very accurate in your comment regarding the stairs for disabled or very old, Im 56 and go up and down them with out a thought but that is a good tip.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

a true gem!

  • 5 of 5

Could not believe how much we enjoyed staying at the Pineapple House! It seemed to be a hike from the airport but the house and its beach was magnificent. We traveled with 2 little ones 2 and under and having a house right on the beach was a must. The girls were able to enjoy their days digging, building sand castles, and looking for sand dollars and shells. The house itself was incredibly stocked from previous visitors leaving what they didn't want to take back home. The pantry was filled with seasonings. The cabinets and drawers were filled with all the necessary tools to make eating at home every night possible. The screened-in porch allowed us to enjoy our dinners outside free from most bugs (there were annoying little gnats that are island residents that could not be avoided). Although there was central air, we enjoyed the natural breeze and the sound of the ocean waves throughout our entire stay. Diane was very informative and accommodating from the beginning. There are "info" books at the house giving you suggestions on essential topics (ie. Where to get the best conch fritters). We were also able to utilize the amenities at the Old Bahama Bay Resort. This place had a great tiki bar (excellent Pina Coladas and lunch items). The beach, pool, and outdoor games (shuffle board) were all included in our stay at the house.

Diane recommended Eric, who ultimately was our contact person at Freeport. His brother caught us a magnificent red snapper and Eric filleted the fish right on our kitchen counter. There is nothing better than fresh catch. We grilled that fish that same night and everyone in our family raved about how delicious it was and how we've never had anything that compared to the quality of that dish. A couple nights later Eric brought us crab claws that were also amazing!

Overall, our first vacation with two little kiddos was a success. The Pineapple House was clean and truly beautiful. The pictures will never do it justice. You'll just have to believe all the raving reviews about this magnificent property. If you do decide to book and stay, get ready to enjoy a relaxing and wonderful time. Don't worry about a thing. Even if it does rain, there's always that dart board that our family has grown to love! And I urge you to go or even get take out from the Pink Pearl down the street. They have amazing food and the bartender (I regretfully did not get her name) is exceptional.

Thank you Diane, Kevin, and Eric.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We feel so blessed to have such incredible guests. My heart is full of gratitude!! Diane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing home!!!!

  • 5 of 5

From the minute we arrived everything was perfect we were met at the airport by Eric who was waiting on us .A quick trip to the grocery store then drove out to the house every thing was quick and easy . House was immaculate with two large identical master suites each with their own master bath with a large Jacuzzi tub, large walk-in showers all done in marble . Large back porch with the view of the ocean. Standing on the back porch you feel like you are in the ocean . The reef was spectacular diving and snorkeling the reef we caught lobsters and speered fish while paddling on kayaks.The reef off the house is a must see whith it's millions of tropical fish and beautiful corals .One morning I took about a 2 mile walk down the beach and saw absolutely no one .Had the beach all to myself, it was so serene. If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle this is definitely the place to do it. .Also highly recommend you renting your car from Eric for he picks you up and takes you back to the airport and also provides wonderful fresh seafood if needed Stone crab lobster's etc. Also highly recommend going to dinner at the Pink Pearl only a couple hundred yards from the house , has awesome cracked conch and fish . Can't wait to go back next year .

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow Keith and Debra, Just wanted you to know Eric enjoyed you so much as well. Nice to know you feel the same as we do. Thank you so much for such a nice review. Best to you both and your extended family!! Diane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

Rates & Availability

West Grand Bahama House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Christmas Holiday
Dec 15 2016 - Jan 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,800
 
 
Winter
Jan 9 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$450
$2,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$450
$2,400
$8,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Due to the value of time and reserving your dates the minimum deposit of twenty percent will be happily refunded, if we can reserve the dates cancelled, with no exception. If you cancel with in a month of your arrival date refunds will be given if we can re reserve your dates. Because of the popularity of the property we have many inquiries and have to turn them away because of your reservation. There is a 30 non cancelation policy with zero refund unless we are able to get someone to reserve your dates. The final balance is due 1 month prior to your arrival. There will be a $50.00 fee that will be added to the balance each day it is received after due date. If the unfortunate case that something happens and you are unable to keep your vacation dates and the full sum has already been paid and we are unable to fill those dates, we will do our best to reshedule your vacation, however we would be unable to hold your dates, it most likely would have to be very impromptu. A $250.00 rescheduling fee will be expected upon your arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

West Grand Bahama House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • very spacious double vanities in each master suite
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers