check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Andrew

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, italian, Japanese

Green Eden - A Latin Quarter haven of peace

66 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Salpêtrière Studio Rental Photos and Description

Studio Apartment with Kitchen and Bathroom, (Sleeps 2)

NON-SMOKING apartment

Nestled in the Latin Quarter, on the 14th century street Rue du Fer a Moulin, who would ever guess there would be a bucolic paradise behind the big doors? Set into a private street accessible only by a coded entrance, it feels like walking into your own secret garden as you enter this charming studio.

Within easy walking distance of the bustling well known market street, Rue Mouffetard, yet bathed in delicious silence, the only thing to disturb your reveries are the birds in morning song.

This is a neighbourhood steeped in history, where you can feel the breath of the Musketeers flow out of Dumas’ pages and at the same time take advantage of all the services on offer: bakeries serving hot croissants and bread fresh from the oven, bistrots frequented by locals, cheese shops, right down to cinemas and theatres.

Only a hop, skip and a jump away are such world famous sites such as Notre Dame, Luxembourg Gardens, Jardin des Plantes with it’s renowned Natural History Museum. Only next door is the 1920s Paris Mosque and it’s tea-room straight from a Delacroix tableau. Around the corner, you can play petanque in the 1st century Roman amphitheatre – Arenes de Lutece or walk over to the Seine and dance tango at weekends while watching the boats pass up and down.

The studio is self-contained with everything from guides on Paris to wifi, free international phone calls, your own verdant window boxes and a kitchen-dining room.

Ideal for a couple with 1 queen-size bed. It has catered for 3 with a futon supplied extra.

The owner lives downstairs and will be delighted to help you, please do not hesitate to get in touch. Speaks English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, German & Japanese.

Keywords: Flat, apt, apartment, mews

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Andrew (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, italian, Japanese

About Andrew

I started my life as an engineer. I've been lucky enough to work in about 20 countries around the globe. I've lived in Paris for 16 years and now teach at university. In my spare time, the abundance of art in Paris has inspired me to do some of my own, so don't be surprised if you find me sculpting or painting next door where I live.

Andrew purchased this studio in 2003

Why Andrew chose 13th Arrondissement Gobelins

We have a great little community. We often eat together and socialise together. My neighbours are very international and speak many languages. We always enjoy the exchange with visitors to Paris

What makes this studio unique

A real community of eclectic Parisians, as Paris has always been. Come and join us.

Reviews

4.8
based on 66 traveler reviews

Green Eden - A Latin Quarter haven of peace
average rating of 4.787879 based on 66 reviews
5

Lovely flat and great location

  • 5 of 5

Great, centrally located apartment that's safe and quiet - save for birds that help usher in the morning and evening - but they only enhance the stay. Andrew is a wonderful host and his property is a great launching off point for adventures in Paris. Terrific neighborhood - only a short walk to the metro with great dining, sightseeing and shopping options nearby. I highly recommend!!

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Summer, It was a real joy to have both yourself and your daughter Ruby stay at my studio. Your timing was wonderful with a beautiful Spring week while you were here. I'm sure that Ruby had some great stories to tell her little brother & her dad when she got back home. You're all very welcome back in Paris whenever you feel like coming back to Europe. Your jasmine is blooming away and the perfume is just fantastic, Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Kleines aber feines Apartment im Herzen des Quartier Latin

  • 5 of 5

Wir haben die kurze, aber schöne Zeit in Paris sehr genossen. Das kleine Apartment ist mit allem ausgestattet, was man für einen Kurzurlaub in Paris braucht. Die Küchenecke ist perfekt um ein schönes Frühstück zuzubereiten und der Kühlschrank macht es möglich einen Wein kaltzustellen.

Die Lage in der Nähe der Rue Mouffetard ist toll um von da aus Paris zu erkunden, zu Fuß und der Metro oder aber auch mit dem Fahrrad. Aus dem Hinterhof kommend fühlt man sich fast ein bißchen "parisienne".

Der Gastgeber Andrew hat viele Tipps parat und Schlüsselübergabe u.ä. waren absolut unkompliziert.

Gerne wieder!

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Hanna, Thank you so much for your lovely recommendation. I am going to have to start brushing up on my German. You are very welcome back here anytime. . Ich kann alles verstehen. Vielen Dank. Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Hermosos dias en Paris en el Studio de Andrew.

  • 5 of 5

Hermoso studio en Barrio Latino, el cual es a nuestro criterio uno de los mejores lugares donde parar en Paris por unos dias. El Studio en planta alta de Andrew es pequeño pero eso lo hace aun mas especial. Tiene todo lo necesario para pasar unos.dias haciendote la estadia super comoda. Lo mejor de todo obviamente es Andy. Una persona espectacular, muy divertida q.disfruta de recibir visitas de todo el mundo. Se preocupa q todo lo q necesites sea satisfecho y brinda recomendaciones excelentes, tanto de Paris como del resto de las.ciudades q conoce. Es un ser humano espectacular. Sin dudas recomiendo reservar aqui. No se arrepentiran!

Nicolás y Micaela. (Rosario, Argentina)

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nicolas y Micaela, Fue un gran placer conocer ustedes en Paris! Espero poder visitarlos en Rosario un dia. Que ustedes siguen disfrutando de la vida con sus grandes sonrisas. Ustedes estan bienvenidos en Paris cuando quieren. Abrazos grandes, Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Jacqueline y Yolanda

  • 5 of 5

Hemos estado durante 5 días en Paris en este estudio. La experiencia ha sido muy buena. El estudio es muy cómodo para dos personas. Tiene todo lo necesario para pasar unos días en Paris. Es muy tranquilo para descansar y tiene un patio muy bonito. La ubicación es muy buena para visitar la ciudad, puedes ir andando a muchos sitios y además tienes el metro muy cerca.

El propietario es muy agradable y amable. Te facilita mucha información sobre como llegar el primer día y también te informa sobre la ciudad.

Muy recomendable

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jacqueline y Yolanda, Fue un gran placer poder acoger ustedes dos en mi studio en Paris. No fue la misma clima caliente Valenciana pero al menos hacia sol si me recuerdo bien. Ustedes estan bienvenidas en mi casa cuando quieren volver. La primavera comienza aca ahora con todos sus flores lindos. Abrazos grandes, Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Odlicna garsonjera na jos boljoj lokaciji

  • 5 of 5

Smestaj kod Endija je bio mnogo bolji nego sto smo ocekivali. Prostor je mali ali ima sve sto je potrebno za dvoje ljudi i ono sto je najbitnije, cisto je i odrzavano.

Lokacija je odlicna jer bukvalno do Sene vam treba 20tak min peske. Osim toga, u neposrednoj blizini je Rue Muffetard koja se vikendom pretvara u ulicnu pijacu sa odlicnom atmosferom, a nocu je glavno mesto za izlazak. Odlican fondue u La Grange bistrou.

Endi je opusten i vrlo predusretljiv. Neustrucavajte se da ga pitate za savet kad god vam zatreba.

Sve u svemu, Pariz je prelep ali sa Endijevom gostoljubivoscu i savetima, utisak je ostao mnogo jaci. Dolazimo kod Endija opet.

Andy, tnx once again.

Nenad

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Nenad, I'm delighted to get my first review in Serbian! It was lovely meeting both you and your wife. You're a very happy couple and I hope Paris made you even happier. I'd be delighted to host you here in Paris again anytime. Enjoy your next holidays in Spain or Portugal ;-) All my very best, Andrew PS. Serbian is one of the few languages I don't understand ;)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oregon, USA
5

A wonderful stay and host in Paris

  • 5 of 5

My son and I stayed in Paris for four days. This was the first time I'd rented an apartment for a vacation and leading up to the visit, I had great communications with Andrew and felt very comfortable with the situation. Andrew gave excellent directions to the apartment as well as helping us with directions for bus lines and the trip to the airport (as we came from a different city) to avoid as many stairs as possible with all our luggage. We loved the location which gave us a great home base to explore and visit the sites along with being quiet and feeling safe. The apartment is well stocked with dishes and pans and basically everything we could want. The towels Andrew provided were luxurious and the bed very comfortable with plenty of pillows and blankets. The Rue Mouffetard Market is right around the corner with a variety of foods available for purchase. It was a perfect apartment for my son and I for our trip. Thank you Andrew!

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jennifer, It was really lovely meeting both yourself & Scott. I'm delighted you enjoyed Paris & my studio so much. I have travelled a lot and I know what I like myself when I get to a place. Thank you for the compliment on the towels. To try and make the studio as comfortable as possible, I have on occasion gone upstairs and slept in it to see what people experience. I'm always trying to make it better. I'm sure you have many great memories to bring back to the West Coast. Anytime you or your friends want to come back to Paris, please feel free to contact me. All my best regards, Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
13 Kilometres
Orly
Nearest Ferry
200 Kilometres
Le Havre
Nearest Train
0.2 Kilometres
Censier Daubenton Metro Station
Nearest Motorway
4 Kilometres
A6
Nearest Beach
200 Kilometres
Etretat

Well located in the heart of Paris in the famous Latin Quarter, my studio is surrounded by good restaurants and food shops. If you like markets, there is also the famous Rue Mouffetard around the corner with it's fresh food beautifully laid out every day. You are within easy walking distance of Notre Dame, the Pantheon, Luxembourg Gardens, the Botanic Gardens among others. Discover my neighbours who, for the most part, also speak many languages, including English. It would be a delight to have you enrich our local neighbourhood with your tales. Come and join me in experiencing Paris the Parisian way.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Salpêtrière Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$84
$506
 

Additional information about rental rates

Deposit not required. Payment during your stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Salpêtrière Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 18 m²
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • Large shower, toilet, washhandbasin
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • bedroom / studio - 1 queen , Extra futon available on request
  • Queen size Beds (1) Futon upon request (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Stereo
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers