Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Family cottage in peacefull location near Ballybofey, Donegal, Ireland

Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Located In Peaceful Scenic Rural Valley.

Sleeps 5, 3 bedroom, detached cottage, with garden front and rear. Set in remote secluded valley beside the River Finn, in scenic area at the foot of the Blue Stack Mountains.

'Kirke's cottage' is situated about 8 miles from the twin towns of Ballybofey and Stranlorlar in the picturesque Finn Valley surrounded by heather covered moorlands, wooded hillsides and rugged mountains. There are fine restaurants, traditional pubs, an 18 hole golf course and the Balor Theatre nearby. The river Finn is renowned for salmon and trout fishing. Your nearest pub is about 200 yards FREE wifi, and there are other pubs and restaurant within 2½ miles. Plenty of hill and mountain walks and ideal location for touring. Letterkenny 18 miles. Donegal 20 miles. You are only a 30 minute drive from the coast and some fabulous blue flagged beaches. See some of our hidden secret's i.e. historical towns cities beaches and wonderful settings in our photo's section Our location is central for touring so come and visit us in a location missed by most people

More Details

Property Manager
Dawn Freeman
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 22, 2017


Bindoo Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Lawn / Garden
  • wheelchair accessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • swimming


Good! 3.8/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Family cottage in peacefull location near Ballybofey, Donegal, Ireland
average rating of 3.8333333 based on 6 reviews

Clean, Comfortable and Warm

  • 4 of 5

The cottage is in a nice setting with the river running along the edge of the field opposite. We found it to be too hot for us, but by turning the heating off it was perfectly OK. The showers and the other facilities were good and more than adequate for our needs.

The property was very easy to find when using a satnav, took us straight to the pub and we just turned off there as shown on the directions.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Very nice setting but....

  • 3 of 5

The house sits above the River Finn with nice views in all directions and it was an easy drive back to Ballybofey for groceries (Lidl and Centra) and our favorite pub, Henney's U Drop Inn.

The furnishings and beds were adequate for our needs, since we didn't spend a whole lot of time there. We did day trips in every direction and would stop at Henney's for supper and drinks when we returned to Ballybofey in the evening. We really didn't use the kitchen appliances much, so, can't give an opinion on them. The house did have a problem and that is with the plumbing drainage. You could not take a shower and then do laundry right after that. We ended up taking showers in the morning and do the laundry in the evening when we would return. Also, the shower unit in the back bathroom did not work. That would have been a problem if there were more than two people in the house. It would have meant everyone would have to use the Master bathroom for showers.

Overall, if it's just two people staying there, it's a relaxing and quiet area and close enough to the main roads for day trips.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Left feeling angry and insulted

  • 1 of 5

I booked the cottage in July for myself, my husband and my elderly mother. I was expecting to get some information about how to access the property (directions, keys etc) and waited until the day before arrival for the information which did not come. Considering it was a three hour drive I wanted to be sure I could get in when I got there. The number provided to me went straight the to the answer phone, I left a message for 'John', who never returned my call. I made several anxious calls to Homeaway who dealt with my concerns promptly. 'John' phoned me to reassure me the key would be in the door upon arrival. I asked 'John' if I could contact him if I got lost as by this stage I had accessed the map. He said that would be fine however when I tried to ring him later there was no answer and I had to ask at the local post office who were very helpful. When we arrived at the house we found it adequately furnished and reasonably clean, there is a strong odour throughout the house, possibly from the turf fire but it was fine. We enjoyed our stay and found the property in a very nice location and well enough equipped. On our last day I decided to use the grill, we had not needed to until this point, it was found to be thick with fat which had dripped into all the trays and was covered in greasy tinfoil. I removed the foil and replaced it with my own which was clean so the grill could be used. Before leaving the property my husband had hoovered on two separate occasions and left the place nice and clean. Two days after our return we received an email from the owner to say we had left the place in 'a disgusting state' claiming that the place had to be deep cleaned which took 3 hours to do so therefore no refund was payable. I was furious with this given we had probably left the place as clean if not cleaner than we had found it. I contacted Homeaway again who gave me the property owners number, however it was not the owner but "john' again, I asked John to speak to the manager and he said she lived in England, I then asked to speak to the person who reported the poor condition of the property on our departure, John said I needed to speak to Dawn the manager, I reminded him that he had told me she lived in England so it was unlikely it was her who had made the claim. John hung up on me and his phone remained engaged for some time. He is not taking my calls. I am left feeling angry and insulted and would not return because of this poor treatment.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is unfortunate that you feel angry and insulted. The review left was also accompanied with a complaint and query on with-holding the security deposit. The property was not left in a suitable state after the stay and as a result the security deposit was with-held. Home and Away have closed the case with no further action. Deposit with-held.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

The property is lovely

  • 5 of 5

This cottage is wonderful and everything you need is provided. It´s in a very quiet location about 10km from the nearest shops. There is a local pub but there is no noise from it. The road past the cottage is very quiet.

The layout is very nice and spacious and has everything you would have at home.

The property is old and well used but very nice and modernised and has electric heating as well as 2 open fires.

It was very clean but the carpets show their age and the oven wasn´t spotless and the kitchen floor flooded twice during the heavy rain.

Except getting the confirmation and receiving directions to the property we didn´t have any contact with the owner which was a shame because when we arrived at 9pm we had to fumble around in the pouring rain looking for a key box which wasn´t were we was told it would be. Then entering the property we found it was freezing cold and had to read the information folder to find out how to operate the heating and wait for it to get warm which took 2 days before we felt comfortable because of the weather.

We saw the 2 open fires had been prepared so we lit one which was a mistake because the wind blew so hard down the chimney it blew the smoke into the room and we couldn´t use it anymore.

But all this aside we enjoyed our stay and we would happily stay there again, in better weather, and we recommend it if you are looking for a very quiet and peaceful retreat.

For all the ladies there are plenty of shoe shops in Ballybofey and loads of take away shops.

Letterkenny has really good stores and supermarkets and a very nice cinema where we watched Spectre. It´s only a 20 minute drive from the cottage.

Other nice places I recommend are the Sleave League mountains and the Glencolmcille Woolen Miill in Glencolmcille.

There is ferry from Burtonport to Aranmore Island which costs €42 with a car and takes 20 minutes.

We saw Glenveagh National Park and castle but because of the weather and time of the year it was closed.

If you like hiking you can climb Errigal mountain which is a lovely walk.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for rating us 5 stars. We did email you via Homeaway to say that we called twice to check on you but unfortunately you where out, and as you know you had out telephone number. Yes as we speak to you we are undergoing a little decorating and will be laying new carpet. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Irish Country Living

  • 5 of 5

Initially surprised at the location. Within a few hours I loved it. Like staying at your grandma's house. Very comfortable. I cooked breakfast every morning. Great kitchen and utensils. Road trips every day. Nightly visits to the neighborhood Pub. Very nice people. Plan on staying again. Only mistake I made was not arranging the fishing of the river Finn in advance. I'd give it 6 stars!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for taking the time to submitting a review, so gracious. We have now identified where to go to obtain daily fishing permits so good news. You can still obtain a permit on line as well. Thanks again hope to see you in the future. Alasdair
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Countryside cottage

  • 5 of 5

Kirke's Cottage is a very comfortable rural home

centrally located in Co. Donegal. I was there for four weeks and there was nothing I needed that was not available. It was a bit of a jaunt into town but easily gotten used to. The bakery and butcher shop made it well worth it. The area was perferct for me as I planned to see all parts of Donegal and it was so centrally located. Lovely to return and relax by a turf fire at night. Allistair and John are gems themselves. Nothing is too much to ask and their recommendations are superior to any guides. I would return and also recommend.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: WOW, many thanks much appreciated, its was a pleasure having you as our guest, Look forward to seeing you in the future. Dawn Alastair & John
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
49 Miles
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
The Rheelin
Nearest Ferry
100 Miles
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Ballybofey Golf Club
Nearest Train
89 Miles
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
N 15
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Villa Rose Ballbofey
Nearest Beach
31 Miles
Car: necessary

Kirke's based in the valley surrounded by peace and quite, its the ideal place for those you want a base that will enable them to tour as they wish. On the one hand the Rheelin pub is just a short walk from Kirkes, you can enjoy the local area, with local walks, fish the river or just laze about. On the other hand you can tour the area, visit historical Glencolmchile with stunning cliff top views and blue flag beaches thehome of traditional music and fiddlers. Killybeg's, one of Ireland's working deep sea fishing ports and bustling towns. Slieve League, sometimes known as Slieve Leag or Slieve Liag (Irish: Sliabh Liag), its a fantastic mountain on the Atlantic coast of County Donegal. The Glengesh Pass is a stunning mountain pass road in west Donegal. Donegal or Donegal Town or; DUN-ə-GAWL; Irish: Dún na nGall, meaning 'fort of the foreigners,' is a town in County Donegal, Ireland. The name was historically written in English as Dunnagall or Dunagall. Lovers of traditional music will be spoiled as numerous pubs have regular live sessions. Further afield there's Giants Causeway, Bushmills (home of the famous whiskey), Belfast where you can visit the Titanic festival, Doire (Derry or Londonderry) home of the walled city that circles the city which you can walk, a great day out, the Glenveagh national park. So you see a great base to get out and about from.


Rates & Availability

Bindoo Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $58.23

Add to rental payment, a security deposit of €50. Prices are based on 2 persons, for each additional person add €10. Payments by via HolidayAway accepted. We are flexible with dates so we can accommodate your needs, just talk to us.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager

You might like these similar properties