Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Property Manager/Owner

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Diane's Beach House ~ On the Beach, Caye Caulker, BZE

13 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalize payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Belize House Rental Photos and Description

Sleeps 2: Beach Suite w/balcony overlooking sea

Diane's Beach House is a small cottage on the beach, located within walking distance of the water taxi docks, mini-marts, bakery, bank, restaurants, tour operators, the Split and more.

Our 1-BR / 1-BA Beach Suite is an upper level unit with kitchen, sitting room, A/C Bedroom with king size memory foam bed, and private balcony overlooking the Caribbean Sea. There is a sofa-bed in the living room (ceiling fan only). It is available as a vacation rental for the adventurous traveller who may be looking for some alone time, an escape from the bitter cold winter, or in need of a romantic getaway. Others come strictly for the superb SCUBA diving, fishing & snorkeling off the world's second largest barrier reef.

A long term tenant occupies the beach level unit, which adds a little life to the neighborhood and offers a bird's eye view of what the Caye Caulker full time lifestyle looks like. Who knows, one day you may want to move &/or retire here! We are also open to long term (1+ Yrs) leases and can assist with relocation and identifying future property purchase.

Caye Caulker is about community; village life; barefoot beach livin'. Yes, it is also a popular tourist destination - especially among Europeans and Canadians who embrace an outdoor pedestrian lifestyle, street side vendors and cafes, the natural ebb & flow of an island-village community unchanged by the tourism product. Indeed, it is a pristine, untouched paradise; unpretentious, effortless, raw & real. Walking bare feet, bicycle riding or golf cart exploring are the main modes of transportation.

There are no high rises here, no fancy restaurants or need for high heels and hair spray. Embrace the beauty within while you get back in touch with nature and all that is glorious about this spectacular land & seascape. Enjoy spectacular sunrises from the balcony of this beach house vacation rental, then later in the evening stroll on over to The Split where comparing Caye Caulker's amazing sunsets is a daily spectator sport. Bring your camera!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Property Manager/Owner (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Property Manager/Owner

Diane grew up on the island of Caye Caulker, Belize.

They were glorious years ~ Barefoot & Carefree!

Property Manager/Owner purchased this house in 1999

Why Property Manager/Owner chose Belize

This beachfront property has been in our family for over 40 years. Diane's Beach House was built in 1999.

What makes this house unique

On the Beach, with close proximity to restaurants, grocery stores, gift shops, snorkel & tour operators, scuba diving, windsurfing & kiteboarding...spectacular sun rises!

Reviews

4.2
based on 13 traveler reviews

Diane's Beach House ~ On the Beach, Caye Caulker, BZE
average rating of 4.1538463 based on 13 reviews
Windsor Colorado
3

Pros and Cons...

  • 3 of 5

PROS:

Nice and Roomy

Convenient Location, especially from water taxi

TV with movie channels

A/C in bedroom drowns out exterior noise

Sand Beach in front, but not for swimming

Ocean View, sunrises

Water Cooler with 5 gallons of water

CONS:

Noisy Area, including occasional barking from adjacent properties

No Hammocks (as shown in pictures)

18 step stairs to entry, especially with luggage.

Limited Furniture, Lighting and Decor

Ants on kitchen counters

Minimally Equipped kitchen- no spices, paper towels, S&P, etc.

Permanent Family resides downstairs rendering that area off limits... Not obvious from pictures.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for choosing us for your stay in Caye Caulker. #1. DBH is located on the beach, in the heart of an island village - population approximately 1,500. It is an authentic, outdoor lifestyle where children, pets, adults all explore freely in an engaging community-setting, eager to chat and exchange cultural experiences and stories in an effort to get to know the real you. #2. Belize has approximately 6 'tall' buildings in the entire country (most located in Belize City) that may be 4+ floors high with elevators - a couple banks & office buildings and maybe 2 hotels. If you are not staying or working in one of them, you are going to be hauling your luggage up stairs. Pack efficiently. # 3. We do have hammocks. They are in storage and can be provided upon request to guests who are willing to be responsible for themselves. The constant salt air inevitably corrodes the metal hooks that support the hammocks and poses a real safety hazard. We are not willing to take the risk, but if you are - we have a hammock. #4. We are minimalists; less is more type of hosts. If you need more than a king size bed w/memory foam mattress in a private A/C bedroom, a sofa-bed in separate living room with over 60 channels of FREE Cable TV, a functioning kitchen with full size stove, oven, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, electric tea kettle, toaster, water cooler w/5 Gals of fresh FREE water provided, FREE Wifi, a balcony overlooking the Caribbean Sea with 2 outdoor chairs, 5 restaurants within 1-2 blocks of your beach house (including a take out restaurant with plenty of food for less than $5 US) and a couple mini-marts incase you insist on cooking while on vacation rather than try the spices in local foods ........we can't really relate. Then again, we've visited over 31 countries, staying in places as rustic as The Tent in Munich, Germany (where $10 Euros gets you a blanket to spread on the wooden floor in a community tent) and hostels around the world, to a Penthouse Suite @ Caesar's Palace with butler service. In fact, our most recent stay in St. Barts ($700 US / Night) offered us a room big enough to hold a kingsize bed and a bathroom (the end); needless to say, it could not hold a candle to what we offer @ DBH for a fraction of the cost. “The use of traveling is to regulate imagination with reality, and instead of thinking of how things may be, see them as they are.” – Samuel Johnson
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

If you want peace and quiet avoid this unit!

  • 2 of 5

We stayed in this home last week. While the home itself was comfortable and clean and actually better than pictured, the outdoor space was horrific. This home is sandwiched between a youth hostel and a modern building that are less than 2 feet away. No privacy whatsoever. The downstairs tenant had noisy unsupervised children and constant comings and going's. All we wanted to do was sit and relax enjoy the beautiful view and that just was not an option. Would not recommend staying

  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We'd like to thank our guests - who stayed 2 nights with us - for complimenting the accommodations. Like most Caribbean islands with an abundance of opportunities for outdoor activities - snorkeling, scuba diving, swimming, kayaking, paddle-boarding, windsurfing, bike riding, the Split and other outdoor restaurants & beach bars - residents and visitors alike typically relish the outdoor island lifestyle Caye Caulker offers. As comfortable as our accommodations may be, we are confident that had our guests not gotten ill on their 2nd day they, too, would have been outdoors, laughing and having a good time, too busy soaking up island life and partaking of the treasure throve of activities available to concern themselves with the comings and goings of anyone else (especially between the hours of 2-5 PM). When you're on an island for only 2 days and you are both sick for one of those two days....it can't be much fun. We do hope that our guests are feeling much better and that they return to Caye Caulker in the near future for a re-do. As most visitors can attest "Caye Caulker grows on you." While here, remember to Go Slow. Everything's gonna be alright...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Clean and well kept - stay here!

  • 4 of 5

What a trip!! We arrived to Caye Caulker by water taxi and the beach house is about 3 houses down from where we were dropped off. I prefer to be further from the water taxi because we were always seeing people get on and off in large groups, but it was convenient. Very easy walk with suitcases. The beach house was a short walk (5 min) to all of the shops/restaurants! It was well kept, and the bathroom was really nice. There was plenty of hot water in the shower and the AC in the bedroom was amazing. There was a lady that came and changed our towels and took the trash. The island is so small that the beach house is never far away, no matter where you wander off to! This place was quiet (except for our party neighbors) and felt tucked away. Now looking at room pictures of other places we saw on the island, this beach house had the nicest interior, to me.

The locals were very friendly, we met lots of young couples, and we ate lobster every day. Drink Rum Punch everywhere you go!!

Pros:

Newly renovated bathroom and nice shower

Plenty of space and shelves inside for belongings/clothes

Fresh towels each day

Clean bed, kitchen, shower, toilet

Close to everything on the island

AC and drinking water

Reasonably priced

Perfect for a couple who likes to be in the center of everything the town offers

Diane was very accommodating when my flights and dates changed a few times. She responded very fast.

Cons:

Extremely close to water taxi (I like to be a bit further away)

House next door- dog was always barking

High rise next door had loud party people one night

check-in lady was a bit late to let us in so we sat outside the room for an hour (tell her the exact time you're getting there)

1/9/16

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We do appreciate the review and hope to see you back on the island sometime soon. Island Cheers, Management
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful property

  • 5 of 5

Very nice place. Perfect location and walking distance to everything. Diane was a wonderful host and provided everything we needed during our stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the positive review and are quite pleased you chose Diane's Beach House as your island home for your Caye Caulker, Belize vacation. Happy New Year to you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
South Florida, USA
4

Great Location!

  • 4 of 5

First off, this property is in an excellent location close to the water taxi, restaurants, bars, snorkeling/swimming, and shopping.

However, I am reviewing the property owner, rather than this particular property, as we did not actually stay at Diane's Beach House. Unfortunately, there was a very large construction project going on at the adjacent property (multiple floors of concrete being poured, etc.) and the place was just not at it's best. Diane let us know a bit ahead of time that the construction was still going on, so she would be able to provide alternate accommodation at another of her properties. However, it was further inland in a more residential area. It was a nice property, but we were really intent on an oceanfront property. She very graciously asked her property manager to work with us to find a property that was more suitable for us and promptly refunded our payment in full. We found a very nice place to stay and were very appreciative that we were able to work with Diane with no drama! We would definitely consider staying at one of her properties on our next visit to Caye Caulker.

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. We are glad you had an enjoyable time in Caye Caulker! Come back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

A bit of a surprise...

  • 3 of 5

The property was about as depicted in the photos and description but the surrounding area was a bit on the disappointing side. The biggest detractor was the construction immediately next door that resulted in noise pretty much every hour there was daylight to work. While we marveled at their work ethic the noise made it more difficult to relax and a conversation on the balcony wasn't possible. I'm certain that absent the construction we'd have enjoyed our stay in this property.

Dianne was very accommodating and moved us to another of the properties on the south end of the island. That property was tranquil and provided the relaxation we went to Caye Caulker to find.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were very pleased to host our guests. They were very understanding and kept in close communication with me throughout their stay with us. We offered them an alternative vacation rental on their first day and had them settled in at the new location on the day & time they chose. As an FYI to travelers: The tourism business in Caye Caulker has a seasonal flow, with the high season being: December - April (the very best weather!). The off-season is: September & October. The low season are the other months in between. Seasonal Rates apply at most accommodation establishments on the island. Most business establishments close completely during the off-season (September & October) to get renovations, maintenance & upkeep done. If it is a bigger construction project that requires 6 months or more to complete, then builders usually start in May and run all the way through until early December, with the hope that the business will be up & running in time for the Peak Holiday Season. That said, we do not personally have any construction projects going on at this time. Any construction taking place on the island is completely out of our control. We do hope our guests return to Caye Caulker and get the opportunity to experience the island during its more favorable months - when the weather is perfect and most places are done with their renovations & operating at full swing. Thanks again for choosing us! Island Cheers, D.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Snorkel & Scuba Dive the Belize Barrier Reef

~ The Largest in the Western Hemisphere

Photos

Rates & Availability

Caye Caulker House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer Rate
May 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$80
 
 
Pre-Holiday 2016
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 17 2016
3 night minimum stay
$99
$2,700
 
 
2016 PEAK Holiday
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 5 2017
5 night minimum stay
$149
 
 
2017 Rates
Jan 6 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$129
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $50
Tax Rate 15.0%

Rates are based on Double Occupancy (2 People) in beach unit.
* Discounts may apply for stays of 2 weeks or longer

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Belize House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Private Shower, Hot & Cold Water
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • 1 King size bed with memory foam mattress
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote