check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Randy and Erica Merchant

Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beautiful views of Somes Sound and Sargent mountain Minutes to Acadia Natl Park

14 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Mount Desert Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Ocean/mountain views, peaceful, natural landscape, Sleeps 8, stone fireplace

We love where we live & what we do and it shows! Seascape is a quaint three season cottage set amidst natural landscaping with spectacular views of Somes Sound, the only natural 'Fjard' on the East Coast and beautiful Sargent mountain. Relax in the most private setting (no neighbors around you to be seen) while you sip your coffee on the spacious deck and enjoy the great views, watch the deer grazing all around you and soak in the tranquility. Seascape has 3 lovely bedrooms, a sleeping loft and two bathrooms. It will comfortably accommodate a total of 8, maximum 6 adults. It is delicately appointed with new and antique furnishings. This property provides you with everything you need. Just bring your toothbrushes! The beautiful Granite fireplace is a perfect setting for cooler evenings. On the first floor there is a galley kitchen opening up to the cathedral-beamed dining room/living room open floor plan with floor to ceiling double sliding glass doors to the deck and your beautiful view. Beautiful carpeting throughout for our 2016 season. There is a bedroom on the first level with a queen sized bed, as well as a second bedroom with two twin sized beds, both with brand new memory foam-gel infused mattresses. There is also a 1st floor bathroom with a tub and shower combination. Travel up the stairs to the sleeping loft which offers a twin day bed and twin trundle unit. Finally enter the Master bedroom suite, also with a queen sized bed , which leads to the full bathroom with a stall-shower unit. Perfect for two families traveling together or a family that would like to bring their extended family. There is a washer and dryer on the 1st floor for your convenience. This is a three season property, which allows for us, the great exposed beam look. (Please note, if you are looking for a home with insulation, sheet rock and sound proofing, this is not your cottage, as you will hear your family in the other rooms) We are minutes to Acadia National Park's great hiking and biking trails, as well as Echo Lake Beach. We are also within 8 miles of downtown Bar Harbor and everything that our beautiful Island has to offer, without having to endure the crowds and noise of staying downtown. Take a stroll in front of our cottage, which will lead you to one of our previously worked quarries. Please visit our other properties: Listing #4165895 Sound View sleeps 12 also in Hall Quarry. Listing # 3900896 Lilac Lane sleeps 8 or Listing # 3901266 Harbor View sleeps 4 both in the Village of Northeast Harbor on Mount Desert Island

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Randy and Erica Merchant (Owner)
Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Randy and Erica Merchant

My husband, myself and our two boys most recently acquired Seascape. My husband and children are natives to Hall Quarry and I am originally from Massachusetts. We live a few driveways away and saw the opportunity to own this quaint cottage on it's beautiful setting. Please visit our other properties: listing # 3900896 Lilac Lane sleeps 8 or listing # 3901266 Harbor View sleeps 4 both in the Village of Northeast Harbor on Mount Desert Island

Randy and Erica Merchant purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Randy and Erica Merchant chose Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island

Mount Desert Island and Acadia National Park is one of the most beautiful places in the United States.

What makes this cottage unique

Seascape's deck overlooking Somes Sound offers such tranquility.

Reviews

4.5
based on 14 traveler reviews

Beautiful views of Somes Sound and Sargent mountain Minutes to Acadia Natl Park
average rating of 4.5 based on 14 reviews
3

Nice Location

  • 3 of 5

We were two couples and we used the two queen bed rooms for nights in September.

With one exception, the furnishings were comfortable and great looking. We did not use the kitchen, but it appeared to be adequately stocked for cooking anything. The water pressure was good and the hot water plentiful. The mattresses, linens and towels were great.

Because I don't have a smart phone, or a phone at all, we didn't know the check in time. This wasn't a problem, however, because the owner arrived right after we did and told us it was fine to check in early. Check in time is 4pm, we arrived just after noon.

One of the window screens in the downstairs queen bed room was missing, so the window couldn't be opened without letting in bugs.

There were three closets in the home, all set up for curtains over them, but no curtains were present. This left clearly visible the vacuum cleaner, an extra lamp, and the breaker box. The curtains would have made a huge difference.

The upstairs furnishings appeared to be garage sale rejects. The three painted white chairs were missing paint-some on the seat, and the others on the legs. One of the night tables had the surface marred with glass rings. The downstairs bedrooms looked great, this one looked bad.

As advertised, the walls are thin. The floors creak. This makes sex upstairs, even silent sex, impossible!

We used the heater and the ceiling fan, and both worked well. The view is just like shown in the listing-beautiful, complete with deer at sunset.

Smell? Not for us! The owner obviously cares, because when we arrived a plumber was there to investigate earlier reports of sewer smell on the deck. He found nothing, and we smelled nothing.

The location was easy to find, private and centrally located.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Seascape is a lovely cottage perched above Somes Sound.

  • 5 of 5

My children and I had a wonderful time at Seascape. The house was clean, comfortable and had a spacious living area. The living area opened up to a back porch with views of the water. The cottage is only minutes away from several entrances to Acadia and 15 minutes to Bar Harbor.Overall, the cottage suited my family's needs perfectly and i would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable place to retreat.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your kind rating and review. We are full of joy knowing our clients enjoy their experiences of both our beautiful area and Seascape cottage. Please think of us again when you are visiting, for Seascape or any one of our four Mount Desert Island properties.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

No hot water, then no water. Septic smell. Owner nitpicked us when we left, sent rude texts

  • 1 of 5

We had a tough vacation because of this property. Here's why:

1. The septic tank is a few feet from deck, so we smelled sewage when we were trying to relax on the deck, and heard the toilet refuse going through the tank.

2. The master bedroom has no door, just a plastic thing that does not attach. No privacy and no peace and quiet. Throughout the house the walls are paper thin. We heard everything people said in the other rooms while in our room.

4. Day 1-no hot water. Day 2-water turned up so hot that it scalded our 12 year old (owner blamed our son). Day 3 or 4-water stopped working entirely. Owner calls plumber but does not bring us drinking water. We were dehydrated and missed our prepaid trip the next day because the we couldn't shower until 11 the next day. Owner agrees to refund a few nights, at my request. (Since we missed a prepaid boat trip this seems fair.)

3. We go to leave. Owner seems to want to retaliate for my asking for a refund of a few nights. Admittedly, we ran late (instead of leaving at 9, we probably left at 9:45). He then sent me several rude and nitpicky texts while I was driving, telling me things like we left a few items in a drawer in the fridge, etc. I had to ask him to stop. He is now claiming 3K in property damage for what he says is a burn mark on the carpet next to the fireplace. The photo was clearly magnified because we could see the texture of the carpet. It must have been a very small mark, like a cigarette burn (we do not smoke). We never saw it. There was a rug over that part of the fireplace. Good thing we bought the insurance. (I will be contacting the insurance company about this matter as this claim looks suspicious.) We suspect he is trying to recoup losses incurred when the water broke. We are obviously sorry that we left a bit late, and apparently we were supposed to strip beds that weren't used, ,but feel he is trying to make us look bad because he knows we are posting a negative review.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is impossible to smell sewage, as the sewage tank is on the other property far away and had just been checked and cleaned when the other tenant thought they might have smelled it. I imagine you got that idea from the previous tenant. We have been renting this property for over three years and it sleeps 8 people most of the time. Not one single time, have we ever had a complaint of lack of hot water, let alone with only 5. But per your demand to "turn up the hot water", my husband did so, only for you then to complain your teenager got burnt. Apparently you didn't see the cold water knob. The water did in fact stop working. It was very unfortunate and sadly things can occur. You notified me at 10:00 p.m. I immediately returned your text with a possible easy resolution of the breaker and asked you to let me know if that worked, as it takes 30 seconds. By 11:00, when I didn't hear back from you, I assumed it did. You then texted me at 12:45 a.m. telling me how the kids need showers and this is miserable. At 12:45, I was fast asleep and there certainly isn't a plumber to come out at that hour. The plumber was there first thing at 7:00 a.m. and rectified the issue immediately. I did refund you three whole days and nights per your demand, for essentially one evening (sleeping) without water. You did not follow the check out time nor instruction, as it seems rules don't apply to you. Once you had checked out, I received a phone call from my cleaner about the burn in the carpeting, which was just installed wall to wall in May. I came down immediately to check it out and in fact saw the condition in which you left the property aside from the burnt carpet. I have never experienced the condition I witnessed in any of our properties in the many years we have been renting our lovely homes. I did contact you regarding the damage to the carpet. That is my obligation. You stated that you were not sure, you would have to check with the children. We then found remnants of toasting marshmallows in the INDOOR fireplace, which is most likely how the carpet got burnt. No interest in retaliation or recouping as you say, you ruined our brand new carpeting. Invoice submitted to insurance for the cost of $1400. Our reviews of this property and our others speak for themselves. We pride ourselves on our properties and our great clients. I have never experienced a tenant such as yourself. Even your husband seemed embarrassed by your antics.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic location! We had the best time and the location is great for exploing the entire island.

  • 5 of 5

A great time and the property was nicely equipped with everything needed for a pleasant stay. An easy drive to all areas of the island. Great views and very clean. The only issue that we had was sometimes there was an unpleasant smell on the deck. I assume this was coming form the septic system. Other than that, we could not have been more pleased with our stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review. I am sorry you had to endure an unpleasant odor occasionally. I was surprised by this, as it isn't possible it is the septic system. I decided to check it out with my ultra sensitive nose and unfortunately found a a deceased bunny that a fox had gotten to in the woods to the side of the deck. He has mercifully been laid to rest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful cottage on a beautiful site.

  • 5 of 5

I really couldn't have been happier with this place. It is extremely clean, comfortable, and spacious. Now that I'm home I keep wishing I was back there.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We wish you were back as well! This vacation season is going way too quick.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Louisville TN
5

Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5

It is hard to say what we enjoyed most about the cottage, it seemed like home while we were there, and in fact it could be called home being that we stayed at the same cottage during the same time in July 2001. We rented from the previous owner during that time. It was great to see the improvements that Erica and Randy had made to the property which only added to the enjoyment of our time there. Over the last 15 years we have vacationed at a lot of different locations throughout the states East of the Mississippi from the North to the South of the US. During the last 15 years we never stayed in a location that was as thoroughly equipped and supplied from the Kitchen, Baths, and Bedrooms there has always something at the locations that we had to purchase during our stay, But not at this location, there was a more than adequate supply of items that we needed for our stay. The view, deer, chipmunks, squirrels and privacy was just as we had remembered it from 2001. If you had the desire to go to Maine for a vacation we would highly recommend this Location.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Bubble Rock
Acadia National Park
National Park Canoe & Kayak Rental
Quietside Cafe and Ice Cream Shop
Northeast Harbor
Beech Mountain
Echo Lake Beach
Jordan Pond House
C-Rays Lobster
Valley Cove
Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Bar Harbor Airport
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Northeast Harbor
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Echo Lake Beach
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mount Desert Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Fall/Leaf Peepers
Aug 27 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$220
$1,400
 
 
Late fall/Leaf Peepers
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$195
$1,300
 
 
Pre-season
Apr 15 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,250
 
 
Spring
May 27 2017 - Jun 23 2017
4 night minimum stay
$240
$1,600
 
 
Summer-PEAK
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,895
 
 
Fall-Leaf Peepers
Sep 2 2017 - Oct 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,450
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$224
$1,550
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $100
Cleaning Fee $120
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Mount Desert Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Upstairs sleeping loft with a day bed and pull out trundle
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2nd floor
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1st floor
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1st floor
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Private Chef Available at additional cost Maximum Occupancy 6 Adults and 2 children.

Partner Offers