Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Executive lakefront Pool home featuring 2 master suites,Optional luxury pontoon

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 8 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Private Pool

Overview

About the property

Four bedroom, 3 bath ranch home with two master suites and large 18' X 40' pool

This elegant Executive home with two master suites is located in the quaint town of Chapin, SC and is conveniently located within 30 minutes of downtown Columbia with a perfect blend of country and city with close proximity to restaurants, movie theaters, golfing, etc. THE BIG CHILL is appropriately named because of all it has to offer and is the perfect place to 'drop off the grid' for your family vacation. Featuring stunning views of the big lake from a large covered deck, you will enjoy an enormous 18' X 40' in ground pool, boating and incredible fishing for largemouth bass, striped bass, crappie, bream and catfish from a 10' X 20' floating platform off the dock.

We also offer, for an additional fee, a 25' luxury pontoon with a Yamaha 150HP motor - perfect for water skiing, tubing, fishing or just a family cruise to one of several top notch restaurants - all only a short boat ride away. This boat comfortably seats up to 12 people with a built in fish finder, GPS to cruise the entire lake without fear of getting lost and a high end stereo system to complement your boat trip. The boat is conveniently moored at the dock in your back yard so it offers a hassle free experience - just load up your crew and take to the water!! For those of you unfamiliar to Lake Murray it is 41 miles long, 14 miles wide at its widest point, covers 78 square miles and has 649 miles of shoreline to explore - plenty to keep you busy for an entire week!

Additional in water amenities included are two kayaks and paddle boards for an early morning sunrise expedition to watch the world wake up. Also local striped bass guide is available and will pick you up on the dock for an awesome fishing experience. (Rocky Bottom Fishing Guide Service - see his Facebook page)

More Details

Property Manager
Ashley McDonald
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2017

Amenities

Chapin House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master suite #1
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Master suite #2
  • Four spacious bedrooms, three located on lake side with French doors that open to a large deck.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master suite #1 of 2
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Queen Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , 2 twin/ single , Two Double Beds, two single beds (Trundle)
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2 sleep sofa /futon , Master suite #2 of 2, sectional sleeper sofa, sleeps 2
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

Executive lakefront Pool home featuring 2 master suites,Optional luxury pontoon
average rating of 4.928571 based on 28 reviews
5

Great spot to vacation

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for a trip and loved every minute. The upgrades on the house were extremely nice. The house was fully stocked with everything you need. It had everything for cooking and grilling. Lots of extra towels for bathing and the pool. It is a place I'm sure we will stay at again. Beautiful views and neighborhood. Very happy with our stay. One of the best houses I have ever rented!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Canton, Ohio
4

Lots of room and Great Lake views

  • 4 of 5

Older home with lots of modern updates. Great space and lake views. Use of the pontoon boat is an added bonus to explore and visit nearby watering holes. Owners are very accommodating. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ladies Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. Enjoyed everyday at the Big Chill! The house was enjoyable and beautiful for 5 ladies to relax, enjoy the lake, built a fire every evening and had fun trying to fish. We shared a lot of laughter and love. It was fantastic! We wanted for nothing! Would definitely return to the Big Chill!

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Awesome...better than photos

  • 5 of 5

Best of everything with a spectacular kitchen, view, and accommodations. My family enjoyed the home and already have made plans to return. Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review Eric - we are very happy you will join us again in warmer weather when you can get out and enjoy the lake!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful home for our daughter's wedding weekend!

  • 5 of 5

The home was very well appointed with beautiful furnishings and comfortable beds! We spent our daughter's wedding weekend at this lovely home. There was plenty of room for everyone. It was a very relaxing setting with beautiful sunrises! We used the kayaks and paddle boards that were provided by the owners. We couldn't have asked for a better home to stay in over our special weekend. The kitchen was stocked with everything you would need. Would definitely return for another stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased The Big Chill worked out for you and your family for your daughter's wedding. Thank you for taking such good care of the home and please come visit us again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
long island ny
4

Great location, amenities & boat!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at this home for a week with two other couples. It was very nicely equipped. Virtually new, very well equipped kitchen. Home is very open with lots of windows in all the rooms, including the bedrooms. Big fireplace in the living room that works well! All the bedrooms had TV's & WIFI worked well in the entire home. Many water toys included for the lake or pool, including coolers, paddle boards, kayaks & inflatable loungers. We also chose the pontoon boat option. What a terrific boat! We pretty much lived on it. If you're knowledgeable of boats & are an experienced pilot, I highly recommend it!

The home had a couple warts & here they are:

The boat dock was in extremely poor condition and needs to be replaced. Ditto the covered deck on the back of the home. Both were old & in disrepair. The lack of maintenance creates a tripping hazard at a minimum. The stairs to the dock are of varying heights (luckily, there aren't many of them). These were built by someone who clearly had no experience at such projects. If you have folks with you that have any difficulty walking or with stability, I would be careful of their navigation on these surfaces, especially the dock.

The home also lacks some basic other basic preventive maintenance. A ceiling fan on the deck had a loose blade & "clanked" when you turned it on. We fixed it. The beautiful stainless steel stove hood with exhaust & lights had 3 of 4 of the lights that didn't work. We fixed those too, but they wouldn't stay fixed because the fixtures in the very expensive hood all had bad connections. You could wiggle the lamp enclosures & the lights would go out. Without the lights, the stove is poorly lit.

Some of these criticism's are minor; others not. That said, I'd rent this home & boat again in a heartbeat! I think the owner could benefit from a little more frequent "walk throughs" to test things out to assure they're working to their expectations, and to the expectations of renters.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Vincent, we always welcome constructive criticism because feedback from our customers is the best way to help us provide the best value as well as a guide to ensure we provide the best experience possible. With that said, I am pleased to let you know we just had the entire dock removed and a new one built (we had planned on doing that all along but had to wait until the end of the season.) Not only was the dock replaced but the staircase leading to the dock was replaced as well. All of the "warts" you mentioned have been addressed and I will add pictures of the new staircase and dock to our web site. Once again, thanks for the feedback and come visit us again at The Big Chill! Bill and Cindy, Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
22 Miles
Columbia, SC
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Chapin
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Timberlake
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Chapin Chop House
Nearest Beach
130 Miles
Charleston, SC

This is a boater's paradise featuring fantastic freshwater fishing, water sports including skiing, tubing, kayaking and paddle boarding. Travel by boat to a premier lakeside golf course and nearby restaurants and bars. Two hours to the Blue Ridge mountains and two hours to historic Charleston, SC. Enjoy the historic tour, fantastic culinary experiences and beautiful beaches.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Chapin House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Season
May 12 2017 - Sep 15 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$3,300
 
 
Off Season
Sep 16 2017 - May 9 2018
3 night minimum stay
From
$450
Fri,Sat
$2,700
 
 
Thanksgiving Week
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 25 2017
8 night minimum stay
$3,500
Flat fee
 
 
Christmas Week
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 29 2017
8 night minimum stay
$3,500
Flat fee
 
 
Peak Season
May 11 2018 - Sep 14 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$3,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
From
$450
Fri,Sat
$3,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $200 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $99
Tax Rate 8.0%

Luxury pontoon rental as follows: Rental available for length of stay only - no daily rentals.
Weekly in season pontoon rental is $1,450 /week.
Off season 3 day rate is $650.00.
Pricing includes life vests, towable, tow rope.
Daily Pontoon rental not available.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send Email Send Email
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers

You might like these similar properties