check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Property Manager

Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Luxury Beachside Retreat in Cabo Matapalo

9 Reviews
Sleeps18
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

Puntarenas House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 11)

THE PROPERTY

Casa Grande

Come live the Costa Rica experience at “El Tumbo de las Olas” (the sound of the waves), a luxury private retreat set on three acres in the heart of the Osa Peninsula. El Tumbo’s Casa Grande, the heart of the property, is a two story lodge thoughtfully designed for communing with friends, family, and the natural world.

The first floor features a fully equipped kitchen, a comfortable living room, and a casual dining area in an open floor plan that allows guests to feel at one with the surrounding jungle. With two bedrooms, two master suites, a large open loft space, and three baths, the second floor of El Tumbo offers plenty of sleeping space with ample privacy for each guest. Each bedroom is equipped with mosquito netting and a heavy duty fan to keep the tropical air flowing.

Our favorite feature of Casa Grande without a doubt is the open air deck that wraps around the entire second floor. A perfect place to recline in a hammock and enjoy the stunning jungle-lined ocean views, expansive gardens, colorful wildlife, and mystic jungle from above.

Bungalow

The Bungalow, located slightly higher on the property offers unobstructed views into the beautiful jungle gardens. Enjoy the unique, umbrella fabric rooms that blend right in with the surroundings.

Creekside Cabina

A two room escape nestled next to the creek, perfect for those looking for a peaceful space to truly enjoy the natural surroundings. Our Cabina sleeps four and features a kitchenette, outdoor shower, and open-air deck perfect for afternoon siestas.

Property Features

While the interior of the home provides no shortage of luxury, it is the grounds and surrounding natural environment that make the El Tumbo experience truly unforgettable. El Tumbo features extensive outdoor lounge space that allows guests to commune with each other and the surrounding jungle simultaneously.

Hammocks scattered across the property, a bbq area, the pool deck, and lush gardens provide a variety of outside spaces perfect for “vacation mode”. Whether it’s sunrises on the beach or afternoon strolls through the jungle corridors, you are sure to experience the best that Costa Rica has to offer. For those who need to keep ties to the outside world, Casa Grande offers a high speed Wifi connection.

THE EXPERIENCE

Concierge Services

El Tumbo de las Olas is not only a dream physical space, it is also an all-inclusive private resort experience. Felipe and Angelica, El Tumbo’s caretakers, utilize their expertise and educations in the hotel management, tourism, and culinary fields to make guests’ stays both flawless and carefree. From the first fresh-brewed cup of coffee in the morning, to the last spoonful of dessert in the evening, no detail is overlooked.

Along with creating an atmosphere of relaxation, Felipe and Angelica will help arrange local flights, taxis, car rentals and tours. They perform all grocery shopping and are happy to meet any specific needs that may arise. Housekeeping is provided daily and laundry service can be arranged for an additional fee.

Cuisine

It’s often said that food is the heart of every culture, and here at Tumbo we take great pride in the rich aromas of Costa Rican culture. Our property caretakers and your personal chefs, Felipe and Angelica, prepare each meal from scratch. Felipe brings his culinary education to the kitchen and pairs it with Angelica’s rich home cooking legacy instilled by her mother and grandmothers before her. Each meal is prepared with sensitivity to personal tastes and dietary needs, making sure to add heaping portions of local flair. Traditional dishes with a culinary twist, served with the sounds of the jungle in the background, make dining at Tumbo truly a five-star experience.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 9 traveler reviews

Luxury Beachside Retreat in Cabo Matapalo
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
New York, New York
5

Trip of a Lifetime

  • 5 of 5

This was an absolute perfect getaway - from the food to the atmosphere. The house was absolutely incredible - every detail was clearly thought out from the outdoor dining area to the amazingly comfortable beds. This is truly a 5 star resort. The house is literally 5 minutes from 3 incredibly beautiful beaches - all with fantastic surfing waves. The water is easy to enter for kayakers and paddle boarders as well. Not to mention the crowning achievement of the house - the staff. Every single meal was absolutely delectable from fresh squeezed orange juice in the morning to perfectly cooked tuna steak - I have truly never experienced such consistently amazing food (all sourced locally). And as a new yorker, this is saying A LOT. The staff are some of the friendliest people in the world and are willing to go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Not to mention, they do an excellent job of cleaning your rooms every day making sure it is fresh for your arrival every night. I already have my next trip planned and cannot wait to return!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
5

PARADISE!

  • 5 of 5

This was the best vacation I have ever been on. The place is perfect. Not too fancy, real comfortable. Five star food. We are coming back - often! Love it! A and F are fantastic.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Five Star Jungle Resort in Cabo Matapalo

  • 5 of 5

On April 20, 2013, four couples arrived at this amazing house in Cabo Matapalo. We saw some pictures online and we received some information about the resort. As fellow travelers, you don't always know what your getting until you arrive and we were all amazed.. I rarely write reviews but I feel compelled to let you know about this little secret.

The Staff- the staff of Angelica, Felipe, Sandra and the Housekeeping staff were terrific. The House was always clean, cooking was continuous and Felipe arrange any local tours or other requests. The staff is so friendly and will make your stay very comfortable.

The Food- The food presentation of Mahi Mahi, Beef Tenderloin and many other dishes for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner rivaled many top restaurants in Los Angeles or San Francisco. The fish was fresh, most of the ingredients were fresh. You are in the jungle, beachfront, having gourmet meals served to you at a beautiful location as jungle animals such as Monkeys, McCaws and many other animals swing from the trees. You feel like you are in a movie....

The Beach- Some of the best waves I have ever seen. For boogy boarders, surfers, kayakers, paddle boards(all equipment at the resort), you probably will have the longest rides of your life. The water is 80 degrees.

The Pool- There is a pool on site and is very refreshing. It was needed throughout the day. Lot's of fun

Yoga Center- There is a separate Yoga Center on the property. Classes are arranged for the guests. We used the Yoga Center for daily early morning stretching when classes we not going on. The Yoga classes were excellent.

Massage- There is a local Massage Therapist from the United States that specializes in Thai Massage. She was fantastic.....

This experience was a highlight for the group as everyone had an exceptional time. We know we will all be back if there is any space on the calendar.

Chris

  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Highland, California
5

SoCal Travelers

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we arrived I we began to relax, the house is gorgeous and the grounds are beautifully maintained, looking at the pictures of the house can't tell the complete story of the experience that we had, from the sleeping areas, bar, hammocks and so many areas around the house to just relax to the rainforest and the beaches, their is never an end to all there is to do.The property has three different types of monkeys traveling through daily and to watch them never gets old, the birds are everywhere, Scarlet Macaws, Hawks, etc; to say that you feel like you are vacationing in a zoo isn't far off. The surfing and fishing at the beach is second to none and it's only a few steps away from the house. Felipe and Angelica manage the property and while we were there took care of our every need, from preparing the meals to making sure we had everything we needed for the day. We have been to many places around the world but this is one of the best we have experienced, can't wait for a trip back.

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing family vacation

  • 5 of 5

This was our second trip to the OSA. Last time we stayed at Bosque de Cabo. We thought wherever we stayed this time could not possibly top that experience. Fortunately, we were wrong. The property was beautiful. The house was well appointed. The caretakers were very friendly and our kids enjoyed hanging out with their youngsters. Our daughters where thoroughly impressed when their new friend, Marina, climbed a tree and picked a fresh star fruit for them to eat!

We had both relaxing and adventurous experiences from lounging at the dipping pool to taking a spontaneous swim in the middle of the gulf on our way back from the wildlife sanctuary-thanks Felipe!

Delicious home cooked meals were included which saved us a lot of hassle from having to do shopping in Puerto Jimenez.

We saw so much wildlife just from sitting on the balcony of house or on our walks along the road.

We were sad to leave and hope to come back soon to the unspoiled treasure of Cabo Matapalo.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Massachusetts
5

Great property in tropical paradise

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a wonderful family vacation at El Tumbo de los Olas. The property is beautiful: comfortable beds with small fans on the headboards, a second story porch with a view of the ocean, a bar and sitting area downstairs, comfortable lounge chairs by the pool. We had three generations, and everyone was had a great time. Sitting on the porch or by the pool, we saw three different types of monkeys passing by, scarlet macaws, toucans, and lots of other amazing wildlife. The caretakers are very friendly and took great care of us; the meals were delicious, with a great variety of dishes; the kids ate happily, as did the adults. We had fun on the beach, just a very short walk in front of the house, and made use of the kayaks, surf boards, boogie boards, and snorkel equipment provided. We enjoyed going out on the motor boat, and otherwise chose only to do excursions by foot--there was plenty to see and do right here, did not need a car. Several members of our party enjoyed massages and yoga classes in the beautiful new yoga studio. This is a great house, a wonderful location, and excellent caretakers. Very glad we chose it.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Our own private boat for inshore or outshore fishing, surfing trips (Pavones) or dolphin/whale watching (in season only).

3 world class surfing point breaks all in walking distance from the house. Surfing photography also available.

On site yoga and massages in our own new yoga deck.

Beautiful jungle hikes great for birdwatching and animal sightseeing.

Guided tours to Corcovado National Park.

Many more tours and activities available in the area, such as: waterfall rappelling and tree climbing, ziplining, sufing lessons, etc.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Puntarenas House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$1,600
$10,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $150 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

50% deposit to hold the dates. Remaining 50% due 30 prior to arrival.
Please inquire for payment information and cancellation policies.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Puntarenas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Included in Price
  • Lunch - Included in Price
  • Dinner - Included in Price
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower
  • We also have 2 outdoor showers
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Private bathrrom
    Masterbedrom - 1 queen , Private bathroom
    Rancho Room - 2 king , 4 twin/ single , 2 kings or 4 singles sharing a bathroom
    Creek Cabina - 2 king , 4 twin/ single , 2 kings or 4 singles sharing a bathroom
    Bungalow - 2 king , 4 twin/ single , 2 bedrooms in one structure with shared bathroom
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Beautiful manicured gardens, yoga deck. Lots of fun family games and activities such as: badminton, cornhole, horseshoes, ping pong table, croquet, kayaks, surfboards, boogie boards, poker chips.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties