Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Fabulous Gingerbread In The Heart Of OB!, AC, Outdoor Grill & Free Cable TV/WiFi

Bedrooms 5
Space 2,307 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

5 Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Spacious gingerbread directly across from Union Chapel. Sit and watch the action roll by from the comfort of large front porch or enjoy the quiet and private yard/patio on the side of the house. Even though there are 3 parking spots on the premises the location affords you the luxury to easily walk to everything in Oak Bluffs including the beaches. The first floor includes dining room, large living room, kitchen and sitting rooms. One of the sitting room facing the front porch has a daybed (twin size) that has a French door to separate from the main living room suitable fro guest who does not want to use stairs.The bedrooms are quintessential OB gingerbread. The 4 bedrooms on the second floor all have window a/c units. One of the bedrooms (Bedroom#3) that sleeps 3 is attached to the adjacent bedroom (Bedroom #4) that sleeps 2. There is a daybed (twin size_sleep 1) in one of the sitting room facing the front porch on the first floor (Bedroom #5) that has a french door partition between this room and the main living room. There is a full bath with shower on the 1st floor; full bath with large claw-foot tub on the 2nd floor and an outdoor shower.

Nopsaran Nui
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, Thai
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 22, 2018


Oak Bluffs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2307 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Please review carefully my rental agreement, sign it, and get it back to me in order to confirm your reservation.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - outdoor shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub
  • 2 Bathrooms Bathroom #1- outdoor shower Bathroom #2 - toilet, combination tub w/ shower on the 1st fl Bathroom #3 - toilet, tub on 2nd fl Upstairs bathroom has large claw foot tub only. Tub with shower is located in downstairs bathroom.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 1 twin/ single , Day bed on the 1st fl with French door
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10 Bedroom #1- 1 double, master bedroom overlooking Union Chapel, window A/C Bedroom #2 - 1 double, window A/C Bedroom #3 - 1 double, 1 twin (single), window A/C Bedroom #4 - 1 double, adjoins bedroom #3, has window A/C Bedroom #5 - 1 twin (single), has tower Fan (No window A/C)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
No children age under 6 years old. A Portable A/C on the 1st Floor Living Room. Two Balconies are not accessible but the inner door can be open from the bedroom#1 and #2 for fresh air. The screen doors that lead to the balconies are closed. All Windows facing Kennebec Ave are closed to minimize noise and pollution. Windows away from Kennebec Ave are operable. Tenant is required to sign a Short Term Lease.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Fabulous Gingerbread In The Heart Of OB!, AC, Outdoor Grill & Free Cable TV/WiFi
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews

2nd year and we will a back for a 3rd.

  • 5 of 5

this is the second year we have rented the home and it's perfect! The homeowner is more than professional and has all your needs in mind and is always acesable. The home its self is big enough for family and friends and close enough to all the best restaurants and most inportant beaches!! Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Fit

  • 4 of 5

This home was a great fit for us! Easy walk to the beach, bandstand and ocean. Plenty of room and the owner was very responsive if we had a question. We are seriously considering renting it again next year

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming House and Great Location

  • 5 of 5

This is our fourth year vacationing on Martha’s Vineyard. Our tradition has been to spend the last week together before the start of school. We stayed at this house last year and enjoyed it so much that we came back again this year. Both times we contact and book directly with the owner and the process is very easy. The house is very large for our family of two adults, 1 teenager and 1 child but we just love the house and location! My husband and I love sitting on the porch having our morning tea/coffee, doing some work on the laptop or just relaxing before the start of the day. The inside of the house and all the bedrooms are decorated in a way that you feel comfortable but still experience glimpses of the gingerbread cottage and the Vineyard past. The kitchen is well stock with everything I needed to cook and the outdoor grill is easy to use. There are toys, board games, magazines, books, Cable TV and internet for us when we had to stay in. The house is located at such a great spot that we walked or rode our bikes everywhere: to the beach, park, arcade, shops, campground, market and restaurants. Last year we left our car at the steamship parking lot and took the ferry over. This year we came with our car. Since the house has parking and is so close to the ferry, both experiences are good.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York, NY

Great Location, Poor Comfort Quality...Would Not Recommend in Summer

  • 1 of 5

I recently stayed at this home in Late July with my parents and sister's family consisting 3 young children. It was not the most comfortable or cleanest stay. The windows on the first floor are sealed/painted shut and the balcony doors on the second floor are locked and labeled not to be opened. You are not permitted to use the central air conditioning system that appeared to serve the first floor based on the condensing unit near the occupiable section of the home (one room is locked and not permitted to access which also appeared to have a split central AC system installed based on a separate condensing unit). If the porch didnt exist the house would be unbearable.

The porch stairs exit right into traffic of a busy thoroughfare. Not the most kid friendly location.

Also, the cleaning that was done prior to our arrival was second-rate. The kitchen and living areas need to be properly/thoroughly cleaned. Sweeping is all that appeared to have been done which is not sufficient.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry to hear that you have negative experience during your stay on a very hot week this past July. As you stated that our house is in a Great Location at the corner of Kennebec and Samoset Ave. Kennebec Ave is one of the busiest streets in Oak Bluffs and many cars pass thru in the summer. For our guests comfort, the windows facing Kennebec Ave are shut to minimize noise and pollution. The remaining windows facing away from Kennebec Ave are operable. Our house is a gingerbread cottage built in 1850. Over the years, previous owners had updated the house. The two balconies are original and are preserved for historical value. For our guests’ safety, the doors leading to the two balconies are closed. As listed on the amenities via HOMEAWAY and VRBO, neither central A/C nor the other room you mentioned are part of the rental agreement. The entrance you mentioned on the porch has a gate with latch. Our home has 4 entrances/exits. For safety of young children, the entrance/exit toward the private garden on Samoset Ave is more appropriate. Since our house is located in the center of the town, kids and family can enjoy many of the attraction sites, shops and restaurants within walking distance. But being located at the intersection of two busy streets, children must be supervised. We apologize that the level of cleanliness did not meet your own high standards.I wish I was notified and would let my cleaning lady to return to the house. We've created a housekeeping lists so that we can be certain to cover all spots we may miss. Thank You very much for your comments. We are continuing to improve our home to meet the needs of our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

In the Heart of Oak Bluffs--Walk Everywhere!

  • 5 of 5

Just back from a family gathering in lovely Martha's Vineyard. This house perfectly accommodated our group: Family of four with two adult children and two grandmothers for a total of six. The house is spacious and comfortable, with air conditioners in every bedroom for nights when needed. The large front porch was the highlight for our group. The house is directly across from iconic Union Chapel, a real cultural hub of Oak Bluffs. My daughter and I popped in on a gospel music rehearsal, and almost every day we heard beautiful music coming from the chapel while having a cold drink on the porch. The porch is also where you can watch the world go by, as it is a real crossroads in the neighborhood. The house is right around the corner from busy Circuit Ave., with lots of shops and restaurants. It is also an easy walk to the beach, ferry, and bus stop that can take you wherever you want to go on the island. The house is fully equipped with a working TV (cable channels), a spacious kitchen, a nice grill and patio area, and a useful outdoor shower for when you come home from the beach. It has a lovely garden in front of the porch and passersby came to compliment and photograph the beautiful hibiscus in full bloom.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fantastic Location and Charming House

  • 5 of 5

Our family had spent a summer vacation week here before our children school starts and we all enjoyed it greatly. The house is spacious. Sitting rooms have generous space for children and adult. The rooms are clean and have a lot of sun light especially the front sitting room facing the Union Chapel—we enjoy sitting there. The porch is roomy and facing Union Chapel. We enjoyed people walking by and the garden in front of the porch. The kitchen is full of kitchen-wares and we especially liked the flagstone patio with grill. The location couldn't be better; steps to Circuit Ave and Kennebec Ave and Inkwell Beach is about a 6-7 minutes walk. Although we drove but the house is only 5-6 minutes walk from the Oak Bluffs Steamship Port. There are 3 parking spaces for this house. We were worry at first how to gain access to the house but the House Instruction is very clear and self-explanatory with pictures. Owner is also very easy to work with and very responsive. We had a great vacation, and hope to rent this property again next summer.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: not necessary




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties